Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In Reference to Claim 1
Claim 1 recites “the water vapor sucked from the inlet is moved to the outlet” It is not clear which inlet and outlet the Applicant refer to, it can be the inlet / the outlet of the first pump or the inlet / outlet of the storage tank.
Claim 1 recites “the storage tank having an inlet”. According to specification, the storage tank is 126a, however, the Applicant does not describe what is the inlet of the storage tank. The Office interprets the storage inlet is the inlet where the pump inlet 121a enters the storage tank. The art rejection is made based on the above interpretation.
In Reference to Claims 2-13
Claims 2-13 are rejected due to their virtue dependency to Claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 10,427,084 to Rhodes in view of US Patent 4,148,731 to Brigante.
In Reference to Claim 1
Rhodes discloses a vacuum freeze-dryer for freeze-drying a sample in a pressure state of below the triple point of water, the vacuum freeze-dryer comprising: a freeze-drying chamber (Fig. 3A, 40) that is sealed and in which the sample is arranged; a first pump (Fig. 3A, 25) comprising an inlet (Fig. 3A, there is an inlet to the vane pump in the zoom in section of Fig. 3A) connected to the freeze-drying chamber and configured to suck water vapor vaporized from the sample, an outlet (Fig. 3A, 54) configured to discharge the water vapor sucked, a storage tank (Fig. 3A, annotated by the examiner) having an inlet (Fig. 3A, annotated by the examiner) and an outlet formed therein and accommodating oil for maintaining seal during when the water vapor sucked from the inlet is moved to the outlet; an apparatus for separating moisture (Fig. 3A, 13) from oil connected to the first pump and separating moisture from the oil in the first pump
Rhodes does not teach a second pump.
Brigante teaches a second pump (Fig. 1, 16a) connected to the apparatus for separating moisture from oil and generating a negative pressure in the apparatus for separating moisture from oil.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Brigante into the design of Rhodes. Doing so, would result in a pump positioned between separator to move working media in between. Both inventions of Rhodes and Brigante having separator filtering working media. Brigante teaches a pump at the outlet of the separator can facilitate the movement of working media (Col. 4, Line 50-55)
In Reference to Claim 2
Rhodes discloses the freeze-drying chamber comprises a rotation member for rotating the sample. (As showed in Fig. 3A, a rotatory vane pump)
In Reference to Claim 3
Rhodes discloses the apparatus for separating moisture from oil comprises a first suction portion (Fig. 3A, annotated by the examiner) connected to the outlet of the first pump.
In Reference to Claim 4
Rhodes discloses the apparatus for separating moisture (Fig. 3A, 13) from oil comprises a second suction portion connected to the storage tank of the first pump (Fig. 3A, 25).
In Reference to Claim 5
Rhodes discloses the apparatus for separating moisture from oil comprises a filter (Fig. 3A 13).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Rhodes and Brigante as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of US Patent 3,899,398 to Cole.
In Reference to Claim 11
The combination of Rhodes and Brigante as applied to Claim 1 teaches a second pump connected to the separator.
The combination of Rhodes and Briganet as applied to Claim 1 does not teach the type of the pump.
Cole teaches a piston pump (10) moves material between separator (10) and separator (26)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate teachings from Cole into the combination of Rhodes and Brigante as applied of Claim 1. Doing so, would result in a piston pump being used in the combination of Rhodes and Brigante as applied to Claim 1, since Cole teaches a method of working material between separators with predictable result of success.
Conclusion
DEMING . WAN
Examiner
Art Unit 3762
/DEMING WAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762 6/3/26