DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-3, 5, 8-9, 11-13, and 15-16 are amended. Claims 4, 6-7, 10, 14, and 17 are as previously presented. Claims 18-21 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1-17 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on August 18, 2026 has been entered. Applicant’s amendment overcomes the previously set-forth objection to the specification.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 08/18/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that primary reference Foret does not include an upper part with a first diameter D1 as the region described by the Examiner in Foret’s Figure 6 is tapered and continuously changing. The applicant argues that the amendment now distinguishes that there is a difference between a region with a constant diameter and a tapered region.
It is the Examiner’s position that the applicant’s arguments about there being a region with a constant diameter D1 and then a tapered region would overcome Foret. However, this is not what is disclosed in the applicant’s claim 1. Applicant’s claim 1 merely states “the cyclone reactor comprises an upper part with a first diameter (D1)…further comprises a first tapered part between the upper part and the middle part”. There is no language that describes the upper part has having a constant diameter. Instead, the claim language states that the reactor comprises an upper part with a first diameter and this is construed as meaning that as long as there is a first diameter within the upper part, the claim limitations are met.
In the interest of compact prosecution, additional prior art Detering (US 5749937 A1) has been found to show that a structure with a constant diameter upper part and a tapered part following an upper part is present in the prior art.
Foret can also be construed to have the upper part be the inlet port where the inlet includes a constant diameter which is then followed by the tapered part as shown below.
Modified Fig. 6A, Foret
The applicant further argues that Hung combined with Foret would be unreasonable as the method of operation is entirely different.
It is the Examiner’s position that this argument is not persuasive as Hung is used to only show that a specific temperature value for a cyclone reactor is achievable. Foret already discloses that temperatures can exceed 3000° C from, Para. 0187, “If the Plasma Whirl Reactor is operated at a temperature greater than 1000° C., the CO2 reforming reaction is exothermic.”, where Hung is only presented as additional support regarding specific temperature values.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. SE2150543-3, filed on 04/28/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foret (US 20100044477 A1) in view of Hung et al. (US 20100314788 A1, hereinafter Hung) and Detering et al. (US 5749937 A1, hereinafter Detering).
Regarding claim 1, Foret discloses a reactor wherein the reactor is a cyclone reactor (Para. 0128, “FIG. 6A is a diagrammatic, cross-sectional side view of another embodiment Hyper Plasma Jet Cyclone Separator Reactor”), and
wherein at least one volume (Vh) inside the reactor is adapted to be heated by a plasma torch (Para. 0117, “a first plasma source comprising a plasma torch connected to the first end and aligned with said longitudinal axis of said cylindrical portion, a second plasma source comprising a set of radio frequency coils disposed around or within said cylindrical portion, and two or more jets or slits within said cylindrical portion; (b) introducing a plasma into said interior using the first plasma source;”) to a temperature of at least 3000 °C (Para. 0187, “If the Plasma Whirl Reactor is operated at a temperature greater than 1000° C., the CO2 reforming reaction is exothermic.”),
wherein the cyclone reactor comprises an upper part with a first diameter (D1), a middle part with a second diameter (D2) and a lower part with a third diameter (D3), wherein the second diameter (D2) is larger than the first diameter (D1) and larger than the third diameter (D3) (Modified Fig. 6, where the first, second, and third diameters are shown; where the second diameter is larger than the first and third diameters),
wherein the cyclone reactor comprises a second tapered part between the middle part and the lower part (Modified Fig. 6, where the second diameter D2 of the middle part is shown and the third diameter D3 of the lower part can be at the location of the bottom outlet, where the tapered portion of the side walls between the middle and lower parts is construed as the second tapered part).
Modified Figure 6, Foret
Foret does not disclose:
explicitly stating that temperature has a range that includes 3000 °C;
wherein the cyclone reactor further comprises a first tapered part between the upper part and the middle part.
However, Hung discloses, in the similar field of cyclone reactors (Para. 0056, “The gas jets enter the reactor swirling in a clockwise direction with respect to the reactor axis.”, where the gases swirl in a cyclone within the reactor), where there is a volume inside the reactor that is heated to a temperature of at least 3000 °C (Para. 0027, “In accordance with certain methods of the present invention, the precursor is heated by means of a plasma as the precursor flows through the plasma chamber, yielding a gaseous product stream. In certain embodiments, the precursor is heated to a temperature ranging from 2,500° to 20,000° C., such as 1,700° to 8,000° C.”, and Para. 0028, “the gaseous product stream may be contacted with a reactant, such as a hydrogen-containing material, that may be injected into the plasma chamber.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the cyclone reactor that receives plasma in Foret to include the plasma heated to the temperatures as taught by Hung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use the reactor chamber to produce ultrafine particles from solid particles, where in order to use the solid precursor particles, they must be heated to a temperature that creates a gaseous or liquid state, as stated by Hung, Para. 0005, “First, in many cases, the use of solid precursors is not desirable in such processes because they vaporize too slowly for the desired chemical reactions to occur in the time before the vaporized stream cools. As a result, in many cases, if the use of a solid precursor is desired, it must be heated to a gaseous or liquid state before introduction into the vapor phase synthesis process.”.
Detering discloses, in the similar field of reactors (Abstract, “reactor chamber having a high temperature heating means”), where the reactor includes a first tapered part between an upper part and middle part and a second tapered part between a middle part and lower part (Modified Fig. 1, where the upper part is shown to include an constant diameter that is connected via a tapered part to a middle part). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the upper part in modified Foret to include the nozzle structure as taught by Detering.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of a divergent nozzle shape, which can allow for a temperature drop to occur and where the shape allows a user to control for the temperature, pressure, and velocity profiles of the gas, as stated by Detering, Section 9, lines 61-64, “the divergent quench chamber 12. The entrance angle to the throat area, the cross-sectional area of the throat, and the diverging angle after the throat all exert influence on the temperature. pressure, and velocity profiles of the plasma gas.”, and Section 9, lines 50-55, “To stabilize maximum conversion of the reaction product, it is necessary to rapidly cool the emerging gas below a selected cooling temperature to force it to a lower equilibrium state and thereby prevent decomposition of the end product.”.
Modified Figure 1, Detering
Regarding claim 2, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the at least one volume (Vh) is in the upper part of the reactor, wherein upper is in relation to the direction of gravity force (Foret, modified Fig. 6, where the first diameter location is the uppermost part of the reactor, where the volume at that uppermost part would be uppermost in relation to the downward direction of gravity).
Regarding claim 3, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the reactor is equipped with at least one inlet in the upper part of the reactor, and which inlet is directed tangentially in a circular cross section of the reactor (Foret, modified Fig. 6, where the inlets are shown by the labels of Coke, Sludge, Coal, Biomass…, where there are two inlets that enter into the reactor downwards, where this is tangential to the circular cross section of the reactor as the circular cross section would be in the x-axis).
Regarding claim 4, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the at least one volume (Vh) inside the reactor is adapted to be heated by a plasma torch to a temperature of at least 3250 °C (Foret, Para. 0187, “If the Plasma Whirl Reactor is operated at a temperature greater than 1000° C., the CO2 reforming reaction is exothermic.”, where greater than 1000 °C includes temperatures of 3250 °C; teaching from Hung, Para. 0027, “In certain embodiments, the precursor is heated to a temperature ranging from 2,500° to 20,000° C., such as 1,700° to 8,000° C.”).
Regarding claim 6, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the reactor is a calcination reactor (Foret, Para. 0283, “Although there are many reactions that occur in the recovery boiler, the primary goal is to maximize smelt production for transforming the smelt into green liquor and then into white liquor. Thus, the pulp and paper mill's caustic area has a main objective of converting sodium carbonate (NazSO3) to sodium hydroxide by slaking calcium oxide (CaO) to form calcium hydroxide (CaOH). The CaOH is then reacted with the Na2SO3 to form sodium hydroxide (NaOH). The calcium carbonate (CaCO3) also known as lime mud is converted to CaO and CO2 in a rotary kiln. This last step is known as calcination.”).
Claims 5 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foret (US 20100044477 A1) in view of Hung et al. (US 20100314788 A1, hereinafter Hung) and Detering et al. (US 5749937 A1, hereinafter Detering) in further view of Schwob (US 6358375 B1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the reactor is equipped with at least one outlet in the lower part of the reactor (Foret, modified Fig. 6, where the outlet is shown as labelled bottom outlet and is located in the bottom half of the reactor).
Modified Foret does not disclose:
the reactor is adapted so that an average temperature of a mixture of gas and particles in the at least one outlet is not more than 1300 °C.
However, Schwob discloses, in the similar field of plasma reactors (Abstract, “a plasma reactor”), where the reactor has an average temperature of gas and particles in the outlet of not more than 1300 °C (Section 2, lines 7-12, “first reaction chamber (A) further comprising a supply arrangement (5) for the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds delivering the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds centrally into the reaction zone; the plasma reactor (1) comprising a second reaction chamber (B)”, where the second reaction chamber is connected to the outlet of the first reaction chamber, where there is a temperature value in the second reaction chamber, Section 4, lines 6-8, “The reaction mixture formed in the reaction chamber (A) is, as already mentioned above, with a sufficient efficiency cooled in the second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor in modified Foret to include a second reaction chamber connected to the outlet of the reactor for cooling as taught by Schwob.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to allow gaseous molecules to recombine to the fullerenes within the reactor, where if a user desires to produce fullerenes then the secondary reactor for cooling allows this to occur, as stated by Schwob, Section 4, lines 6-12, “second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C…In this phase the gaseous carbon molecules exiting from the first reaction chamber (A) recombine to the fullerenes mentioned at the beginning.”.
Regarding claim 7, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Foret does not disclose:
wherein a cooling cyclone is connected in series after an outlet from the reactor.
However, Schwob discloses, where the reactor has a cooling cyclone connected in series after an outlet from the reactor (Section 2, lines 7-12, “first reaction chamber (A) further comprising a supply arrangement (5) for the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds delivering the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds centrally into the reaction zone; the plasma reactor (1) comprising a second reaction chamber (B)”, where the second reaction chamber is connected to the outlet of the first reaction chamber, where there is a temperature value in the second reaction chamber, Section 4, lines 6-8, “The reaction mixture formed in the reaction chamber (A) is, as already mentioned above, with a sufficient efficiency cooled in the second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C.”, and where the first reaction chamber has a higher temperature, Section 3, lines 41-42, “Generally the minimum of the temperature in the first reaction chamber (A) is 4000° C.”, where the two reactors can contain a cyclone, Section 2, lines 58-62, “In a preferred embodiment a supply device (8) may be provided thereto allowing for example by a cyclone effect a suitable distribution of, for example a plasma gas or, if needed, another cooling means.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor in modified Foret to include a second reaction chamber connected to the outlet of the reactor for cooling as taught by Schwob.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to allow gaseous molecules to recombine to the fullerenes within the reactor, where if a user desires to produce fullerenes then the secondary reactor for cooling allows this to occur, as stated by Schwob, Section 4, lines 6-12, “second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C…In this phase the gaseous carbon molecules exiting from the first reaction chamber (A) recombine to the fullerenes mentioned at the beginning.”.
Claims 8-11 and 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foret (US 20100044477 A1) in view of Hung et al. (US 20100314788 A1, hereinafter Hung) and Detering et al. (US 5749937 A1, hereinafter Detering) in further view of Boughton (US 20150274569 A1).
Regarding claim 8, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses a heat treatment method used in the reactor from claim 1 (Foret, Para. 0176, “centrifugal force the fluent material is comminuted by particle to particle collisions, heat and the high velocity plasma. In addition, the secondary large plasma 101B provides heat, wave energy, radicals and ions for chemically reacting reactants into products.”, where the reactor in Fig. 6 would include a heat treatment method of using plasma to heat up particles within the reactor),
wherein the reactor is a cyclone reactor (Foret, Para. 0127, “FIG. 6 is a diagrammatic, cross-sectional side view of a sixth embodiment Hyper Plasma Jet Cyclone Separator Reactor;”),
wherein at least one volume (Vh) inside the reactor is heated by a plasma torch to a temperature of at least 3000 °C (Foret, Para. 0187, “If the Plasma Whirl Reactor is operated at a temperature greater than 1000° C., the CO2 reforming reaction is exothermic.”), and
wherein heat is transferred from the at least one volume (Vh) to the material by at least thermal radiation (Foret, Para. 0116, “said plasma to form a plasma vortex that circulates around a central void substantially aligned with said longitudinal axis; and ( d) processing the material by directing the material into the plasma vortex via the inlet such that said plasma vortex reacts with said material.”, where the plasma is heated to a high temperature and is able to transfer heat via thermal radiation to the material),
wherein the material flows in a helical gas flow beginning at a top of the cyclone reactor, the flow is created by at least one inlet nozzle in the upper part of the reactor, the inlet nozzle being directed tangentially in a circular cross section of the reactor (Foret, modified Fig. 6, where the material is shown to enter from the inlet nozzle labeled with Coke, Sludge, Coal, Biomass…, where the material enters at the beginning at the top of the cyclone and is rotated within the reactor, where the inlet nozzle is in the y-axis which is tangent to the circular cross section of the reactor in the x-axis).
Modified Foret does not disclose:
wherein the material is provided as particles with an average particle in the interval from, 5 to 2000 µm, wherein the average particle size is calculated according to ISO 9276-2:2014 using the moment notation starting from a particle size distribution measured according to ISO 13320:2020.
However, Boughton discloses, in the similar field of plasma reactors (Title, “CYCLONIC PLASMA REACTOR”), where the material provided are particles with an average particle size between 10 to 1000 µm (Para. 0031, “The glass batch material 10 may have an average particle size of at least one of: (i) at least about 10 um, (ii) at least about 50 um, (iii) at least about 7 5 um, (iv) at least about 100 um, (v) at least about 150 um, (vi) at least about 200 um, (vii) at least about 500um, (viii) at least about 750 um, (ix) at least about 1000 um, and (x) from about 5 to about 1000 um. The glass batch material 10 (the flow of which is illustrated the arrows labeled 10 and 12) leaves the batch sifter 104 and enters the plasma containment vessel 200. The glass batch material 10 is exposed to a plasma plume 220 within the plasma containment vessel 200, whereby the plasma plume 220 is of sufficient thermal energy to cause at least a thermal reaction of the glass batch material 10 to produce thermally reacted glass batch material 12.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the particles used in the reactor in modified Foret to include the particles sizes as taught by Boughton.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of using an average particle size that is sufficient to be able to thermally react with plasma in order to produce a thermally reacted material, where a user chooses the particle size depending on the material used and a micrometer range of average particle size would allow for thermal reactions to occur, as stated by Boughton, Para. 0031, “The glass batch material 10 may have an average particle size of at least one of: (i) at least about 10 um…The glass batch material 10 is exposed to a plasma plume 220 within the plasma containment vessel 200, whereby the plasma plume 220 is of sufficient thermal energy to cause at least a thermal reaction of the glass batch material 10 to produce thermally reacted glass batch material 12.”.
Regarding the specific standard of particle size measurement used, it is the Examiner's position that one of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to try as there are numerous standards to measure particle sizes that are updated every few years. However, all particle size standards still output an average particle size number. Therefore, Boughton’s average particle size disclosure that includes an average particle size number would require that any standard meet this particle size. It is the Examiner’s position that a user could choose between any standards of particle measurement and the end result would still have to meet numbers disclosed by Boughton. As a result, choosing between the different standards used would be a mere matter of user design choice as the end particle size number would be the same.
Regarding claim 9, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein the material comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of CaCO3 (Foret, Para. 0283, “Although there are many reactions that occur in the recovery boiler, the primary goal is to maximize smelt production for transforming the smelt into green liquor and then into white liquor. Thus, the pulp and paper mill's caustic area has a main objective of converting sodium carbonate (NazSO3) to sodium hydroxide by slaking calcium oxide (CaO) to form calcium hydroxide (CaOH). The CaOH is then reacted with the Na2SO3 to form sodium hydroxide (NaOH). The calcium carbonate (CaCO3) also known as lime mud is converted to CaO and CO2 in a rotary kiln. This last step is known as calcination.”) or MgC03.
Regarding claim 10, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein the material comprises Ca(OH)2 (Foret, Para. 0283, “Thus, the pulp and paper mill's caustic area has a main objective of converting sodium carbonate (NazSO3) to sodium hydroxide by slaking calcium oxide (CaO) to form calcium hydroxide (CaOH). The CaOH is then reacted with the Na2SO3 to form sodium hydroxide (NaOH).”, where calcium hydroxide’s chemical formula is Ca(OH)2).
Regarding claim 11, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein the plasma comprises at least one selected from the group consisting of carbon dioxide, air or superheated steam (Foret, claims 21-22, “The method of claim 11, wherein each plasma source comprises a plasma jet nozzle fed by a fluid. 22. The method of claim 21, wherein said fluid comprises water, steam, carbon dioxide, air, oxygen, nitrogen, hydrogen, helium, volatile organic carbon, an ionizable fluid, an ionizable gas or a combination thereof.”).
Regarding claim 15, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein water is added in the reactor (Foret, claims 21-22, “21. The method of claim 11, wherein each plasma source comprises a plasma jet nozzle fed by a fluid. 22. The method of claim 21, wherein said fluid comprises water, steam, carbon dioxide, air, oxygen, nitrogen, hydrogen, helium, volatile organic carbon, an ionizable fluid, an ionizable gas or a combination thereof.”).
Regarding claim 16, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above, discloses wherein the heat treatment is at least one selected from calcination (Foret, Foret, Para. 0283, “Although there are many reactions that occur in the recovery boiler, the primary goal is to maximize smelt production for transforming the smelt into green liquor and then into white liquor. Thus, the pulp and paper mill's caustic area has a main objective of converting sodium carbonate (NazSO3) to sodium hydroxide by slaking calcium oxide (CaO) to form calcium hydroxide (CaOH). The CaOH is then reacted with the Na2SO3 to form sodium hydroxide (NaOH). The calcium carbonate (CaCO3) also known as lime mud is converted to CaO and CO2 in a rotary kiln. This last step is known as calcination.”), sintering, or heating.
Claims 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foret (US 20100044477 A1) in view of Hung et al. (US 20100314788 A1, hereinafter Hung) and Detering et al. (US 5749937 A1, hereinafter Detering) in further view of Boughton (US 20150274569 A1) and Buskens et al. (CN 107670606 B, hereinafter Buskens).
Regarding claim 12, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Modified Foret does not disclose:
wherein the material is provided in particles comprising a core, said core comprising the material, said core being coated with an outer layer comprising smaller particles (PSMALL) wherein the smaller particles (PSMALL) have an average particle size in the interval of 1-500 nm, wherein the average particle size is calculated according to ISO 9276-2:2014 using the moment notation starting from a particle size distribution measured according to ISO 13320:2020.
However, Buskens discloses, in the similar field of materials excited by plasma (Abstract, “plasma excimer particles”), where the material contains a core and an outer coating comprising smaller particles with an average particle size between 1-500 nm (Page 6, Para. 1, “The plasma excimer particles may include a shell containing such a metal and a core containing a material different from the shell. Examples of suitable plasma excimer particles include SiO2/Au nanoshells, metal-coated chalcogenide II-VI nanoparticles such as gold-coated CdTe nano-particles and gold-coated CdSe nano-particles. For example, suitable plasma excimer particles comprise SiO2/Au nano-shell prepared by the following process: the 120nm silica nanoparticles”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the material used in the plasma in modified Foret to be the core and outer coating particles as taught by Buskens.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use a plasma excimer particle that can contain two different materials, where this allows a user to customize what the particle contains and the reactions that are generated in order to improve control over the reaction processes with plasma, as stated by Buskens, Page 5, last Para., “The plasma excimer particles comprise a conductive material, such as metal or carbon. The plasma excimer particles may preferably comprise metal nanoparticles and/or nanoparticles having a metal nanoshell… Metal-metal core-shell particles are also possible.”, and Page 6, Para. 1, “The plasma excimer particles may include a shell containing such a metal and a core containing a material different from the shell.”.
Regarding claim 13, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 12, as set forth above, discloses wherein the smaller particles (PSMALL) comprise at least one material selected from the group consisting of SiO2 (Teaching from Buskens, Page 6, Para. 1, “The plasma excimer particles may include a shell containing such a metal and a core containing a material different from the shell. Examples of suitable plasma excimer particles include SiO2/Au nanoshells),SiO2 modified with at least one hydrophobic compound, graphite, graphite oxide, graphene oxide, or graphene.
Claims 14 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Foret (US 20100044477 A1) in view of Hung et al. (US 20100314788 A1, hereinafter Hung) and Detering et al. (US 5749937 A1, hereinafter Detering) in further view of Boughton (US 20150274569 A1) and Schwob (US 6358375 B1).
Regarding claim 14, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Modified Foret does not disclose:
wherein the material is allowed to be cooled to a temperature of not more than 1400 °C at an outlet of the reactor.
However, Schwob discloses, in the similar field of plasma reactors (Abstract, “a plasma reactor”), where the reactor has an average temperature of gas and particles in the outlet of not more than 1300 °C (Section 2, lines 7-12, “first reaction chamber (A) further comprising a supply arrangement (5) for the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds delivering the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds centrally into the reaction zone; the plasma reactor (1) comprising a second reaction chamber (B)”, where the second reaction chamber is connected to the outlet of the first reaction chamber, where there is a temperature value in the second reaction chamber, Section 4, lines 6-8, “The reaction mixture formed in the reaction chamber (A) is, as already mentioned above, with a sufficient efficiency cooled in the second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor in modified Foret to include a second reaction chamber connected to the outlet of the reactor for cooling as taught by Schwob.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to allow gaseous molecules to recombine to the fullerenes within the reactor, where if a user desires to produce fullerenes then the secondary reactor for cooling allows this to occur, as stated by Schwob, Section 4, lines 6-12, “second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C…In this phase the gaseous carbon molecules exiting from the first reaction chamber (A) recombine to the fullerenes mentioned at the beginning.”.
Regarding claim 17, modified Foret teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Modified Foret does not disclose:
wherein the material is cooled in a cooling cyclone directly after exiting the reactor.
However, Schwob discloses, where the reactor has a cooling cyclone connected in series after an outlet from the reactor (Section 2, lines 7-12, “first reaction chamber (A) further comprising a supply arrangement (5) for the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds delivering the plasma gas and the carbon-containing compounds centrally into the reaction zone; the plasma reactor (1) comprising a second reaction chamber (B)”, where the second reaction chamber is connected to the outlet of the first reaction chamber, where there is a temperature value in the second reaction chamber, Section 4, lines 6-8, “The reaction mixture formed in the reaction chamber (A) is, as already mentioned above, with a sufficient efficiency cooled in the second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C.”, and where the first reaction chamber has a higher temperature, Section 3, lines 41-42, “Generally the minimum of the temperature in the first reaction chamber (A) is 4000° C.”, where the two reactors can contain a cyclone, Section 2, lines 58-62, “In a preferred embodiment a supply device (8) may be provided thereto allowing for example by a cyclone effect a suitable distribution of, for example a plasma gas or, if needed, another cooling means.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the reactor in modified Foret to include a second reaction chamber connected to the outlet of the reactor for cooling as taught by Schwob.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to allow gaseous molecules to recombine to the fullerenes within the reactor, where if a user desires to produce fullerenes then the secondary reactor for cooling allows this to occur, as stated by Schwob, Section 4, lines 6-12, “second reaction chamber (B) to keep it at a temperature of preferably between 1000° C. and 2700° C…In this phase the gaseous carbon molecules exiting from the first reaction chamber (A) recombine to the fullerenes mentioned at the beginning.”.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
10/27/2026