DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claim(s) 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Liao et al. (WO 20201138124). It is noted that the disclosures of Liao et al. are based on US 2022/0073817 which is an English equivalent of the reference.
Regarding claims 1 and 3, Liao et al. teaches a quantum dot-containing film made from using a composition comprising quantum dots (A), a base component (C) (See Abstract, paragraph [0011]) wherein base component (C) includes photopolymerizable monomer and photopolymerizable polymer compound (paragraphs [0144]-[0147]). The film is cured (paragraph [0156]).
Liao et al. teaches the obtained film-forming composition is applied onto a glass substrate by a spin coating method to form a coating film having a film thickness of 5 um. Then, the coating film is baked at 100°C in air, and then the coating film is fully exposed and cured at an exposure amount of 50 mJ/cm². Further, the cured film is baked at 200°C for 60 minutes in a nitrogen atmosphere (paragraph [0441]). Given that the cured film in the present invention can be obtained if the exposure amount X (mJ/cm²) in the exposure step x (thermal curing temperature Y (° C) x (thermal curing time Z (hr))² in the thermal curing step is 6500 or more (claim 5), when the curing step of the cured film described in preparation example 6 of Liao et al. is substituted into the above formula, it is understood that 50 mJ/cm² x 200°C x (1 hr)² = 10,000 which falls within the range of 6500 or more. Therefore, given that the method for producing the cured film disclosed in Liao et al. corresponds to the method for producing the cured film of the invention of the present application, the cured film corresponds to the cured film of the invention as in claim 1 of the present application. That is, the cured film of Liao et al. would necessarily have a Martens hardness of greater than 0.10 GPa as presently claimed, absent evidence to the contrary.
Regarding claim 2, Liao et al. teaches further comprising a photopolymerization initiator (paragraph [0160]).
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liao et al. (WO 20201138124) in view of Kim et al. (JP 2019174804).
Liao et al. is relied upon as disclosed above.
Regarding claim 4, Liao et al. fails to teach wherein the curable composition further comprises a light scattering agent.
However, Kim teaches a light converting resin composition comprising quantum dots, scattering particles, a cardo-based binder resin, a thermosetting agent including an epoxy binder resin having curable groups (See Abstract, pages 6 and 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include scattering particles in the film of Liao et al. in order to improve light efficiency (pages 6-7).
Conclusion
/CHENG YUAN HUANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787