DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Kim et al. (JP 2019-109515), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 1-4; Kim et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a laminated structure comprising a photosensitive composition of a quantum dot binder dispersion of [1] (comprising a binder resin), hexaacrylate, oxime ester initiator (photoinitiator), and light diffusion A composition (herein referred to as a QDPR composition) prepared by mixing TiO2 (light scattering agent) and PGMEA (propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate), which is spin-coated on a formed silicon-containing layer, and heat treated (PRB). The PRB-treated film is photocured with 80 mJ, heat treated (POB) for 30 minutes at 180°C under nitrogen atmosphere, thus producing a cured film [0166-0168].
Kim et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the cured film has a Martens hardness of 0.10 GPa or more. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. According to the original specification, by carrying out the exposure step and the thermal curing step such that the formula (1) is satisfied (X*Y*Z2 ≥ 3000), a cured film having a high Martens hardness can be produced (0.10 GPa or more). Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. Martens hardness, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II. The Examiner makes note that the teachings of Kim et al. satisfy the formula (1), wherein 80 * 180 * 0.52 = 3600, thus satisfying a Martens hardness of 0.10 GPa or more.
Regarding claim 7; Kim et al. teaches a display device comprising the cured film [01-02, 011-015].
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Kim et al. (JP 2019-109515), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Regarding claims 5; Kim et al. teaches, in a preferred embodiment, a laminated structure comprising a photosensitive composition of a quantum dot binder dispersion of [1] (comprising a binder resin), hexaacrylate, oxime ester initiator (photoinitiator), and light diffusion A composition (herein referred to as a QDPR composition) prepared by mixing TiO2 (light scattering agent) and PGMEA (propylene glycol monomethyl ether acetate), which is spin-coated on a formed silicon-containing layer, and heat treated (PRB). The PRB-treated film is photocured with 80 mJ, heat treated (POB) for 30 minutes at 180°C under nitrogen atmosphere, thus producing a cured film [0166-0168].
Kim et al. does not explicitly teach wherein the cured film has a Martens hardness of 0.10 GPa or more. The Office realizes that all the claimed effects or physical properties are not positively stated by the reference. However, the reference teaches all of the claimed reagents, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. According to the original specification, by carrying out the exposure step and the thermal curing step such that the formula (1) is satisfied (X*Y*Z2 ≥ 3000), a cured film having a high Martens hardness can be produced (0.10 GPa or more). Therefore, the claimed effects and physical properties, i.e. Martens hardness, would necessarily be present in a composition with all the claimed ingredients. If it is the applicants' position that this wouldn’t be the case: (1) evidence would need to be presented to support applicants' position; and (2) it would be the Offices' position that the application contains inadequate disclosure that there is no teaching as to how to obtain the claimed properties and effects with only the claimed ingredients, claimed amounts, and substantially similar processes. See In re Spada, MPEP §2112.01, I and II. The Examiner makes note that the teachings of Kim et al. satisfy the formula (1), wherein 80 * 180 * 0.52 = 3600, thus satisfying a Martens hardness of 0.10 GPa or more.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)1 as being anticipated by Kim et al. (JP 2019-109515), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation, as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Fujita et al. (JP 2017-088876), wherein the machine English translation is used for citation.
Kim et al. teaches the basic claimed cured film, as set forth above, with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6; Kim et al. fails to teach wherein the thermal curing step is carried out under a vacuum atmosphere. Fujita et al. teaches a light-emitting composition comprising a wavelength converting material, a polymer material, and quantum dots. Fujita et al. teaches the composition is cured by irradiating or heating, wherein the curing step, the atmosphere during heating can be air, nitrogen or in a vacuum [017, 0090-0092, 0112]. Kim et al. and Fujita et al. are analogous art because they are both concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely compositions comprising quantum dots suitable for use in display devices. At the time of filing, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to conduct there thermal step in a vacuum, as taught by Fujita et al., in the method of Kim et al., and would have been motivated to do so in order to reduce internal distortion, as suggested by Fujita et al. [091].
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of copending Application No. 18/288362 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they are both directed to the same art specific subject matter, namely a cured film. The essential difference between the instant application and the copending application is that the copending application further comprising quantum dots. However, the instant application is directed to a film “comprising”, thus the additional, unrecited elements may be present in the composition. In addition, “quantum dots” necessarily possess the ability to scatter light.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Correspondence
/JESSICA M ROSWELL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767