DETAILED ACTION
Response to Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 16-30) in the reply filed on 07/29/2026 is acknowledge. Group II (claims 31-35) are withdrawn from consideration.
Status of claims: As directed, claims 16-30 are pending in this application, claims 31-35 are cancelled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/07/2023 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Inventorship
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because reference character “104a” in Fig. 8 is not in the specification, reference character should read “104b”. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
“The further item 104b” (Pg. 22, paragraph 0063), should read “the further unit 104b”.
“The communication unit 16b” (Pg. 22 paragraph 0065), should read “The communication unit 30b”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“Supply induction element” in claims 16 (line 3 of the claim). This limitation uses the generic placeholder “element” (Prong A); the term “element” is modified by functional language “designed to” (Prong B); and the term “element” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “supply induction element” will be interpreted as “at least one coil” and equivalents, as indicated by: “the supply unit has at least one supply induction element which has, in particular, at least one coil” (Pg. 3, paragraph 0009).
“Absorbing induction element” in claim 16 (line 5 of the claim). This limitation uses the generic placeholder “element” (Prong A); the term “element” is modified by functional language “designed to” (Prong B); and the term “element” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “absorbing induction element” will be interpreted as “at least one secondary coil” and equivalents, as indicated by: “The absorbing induction element of the placeable unit comprises at least one secondary coil and/or is designed as a secondary coil” (Pg. 5, paragraph 0011).
“Control unit” in claim 16 (line 7 of the claim). This limitation uses the generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “designed to” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “control unit” will be interpreted as any electronic unit that can control the supply unit and equivalents, as indicated by: “A "control unit" should be understood to mean an electronic unit which is intended to control and/or regulate at least the supply unit. Preferably, the control unit comprises a computing unit and, in particular, in addition to the computing unit, a storage unit with a control and/or regulating program stored therein which is intended to be executed by the computing unit” (Pg. 6, paragraph 0013).
“Communication unit” in claim 19 (line 2 of the claim). This limitation uses the generic placeholder “unit” (Prong A); the term “unit” is modified by functional language “designed to” (Prong B); and the term “unit” is not modified by sufficient structures, materials or acts for performing the claimed function (Prong C). Therefore, this limitation invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f). For examination purposes, the limitation “communication unit” will be interpreted as “NFC” (near field communications) and equivalents, as indicated by: “a communication unit for wireless data transmission, in particular via NFC…The communication unit could be intended for a wireless data transfer between the placeable unit and the control unit via RFID or via Wi-Fi or via Bluetooth or via ZigBee or for wireless data transfer according to another suitable standard” (Pg. 8, paragraph 0018).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "in particular" (line 1 of the claim) renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitations following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 17-30 are rejected for their dependence on an indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-21 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (U.S. 10608472).
Figure 20 (Lee)
Figure 21 (Lee)
Figure 22A (Lee)
Annotated Figure 1 (Lee)
Figure 23 (Lee)
Regarding claim 16, Lee discloses an induction energy transmission system (Fig. 20, “wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 29, lines 4-5] and Fig. 21, “wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 29, lines 14-15]), in particular an induction cooking system (Fig. 22a, “wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 29, lines 4-5] and Annotated Fig. 1, “wireless power reception device 200, 200a-b” [Col. 30, line 35]), comprising:
a supply unit (Fig. 20, “wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 29, lines 4-5]) comprising a supply induction element (Fig. 20, “transmission coil 1111a-n” [Col. 29, lines 24-28]) designed to inductively provide energy (“the wireless power transmission device 100 may transfer power in a wireless manner without mutual contact to the wireless power reception device 200 using one or more wireless power transmission schemes. In other words, the wireless power transmission device 100 may transfer power using at least one of an inductive coupling scheme based on magnetic induction phenomenon” [Col. 7, lines 20-26]; “Furthermore, the power conversion unit 111 may transfer power using the foregoing inductive coupling scheme” [Col. 29, lines 29-30]);
a placeable unit (Fig. 21, “wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 29, lines 14-15]) comprising an absorbing induction element (Fig. 21, “power supply unit 290” [Col. 33, lines 42-45] comprising “power reception unit 291” and “reception coil 2911a” [Col. 32, lines 49-56], and Annotated Fig. 1, base of “wireless power reception device 200”) designed to receive the inductively provided energy (“The power reception unit 291 receives power transferred from the wireless power transmission device 100 in a wireless manner” [Col. 33, lines 48-50]); and
a control unit (Fig. 20, “power transmission control unit 112” [Col. 29, lines 4-10]) designed to control the supply unit (Fig. 20, “wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 29, lines 4-5]), said control unit (Fig. 20, “power transmission control unit 112” [Col. 29, lines 4-10]) designed to receive an operating parameter set (“a power control message including at least one of rectified power amount information, charging state information and identification information” [Col. 31, lines 19-25] and “amount of power received” [Col. Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]) of the placeable unit (Fig. 21, “wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 29, lines 14-15]) and, based on the operating parameter set (“a power control message including at least one of rectified power amount information, charging state information and identification information” [Col. 31, lines 19-25] and “amount of power received” [Col. Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]), to control the energy provided inductively by the supply unit (Fig. 20, “wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 29, lines 4-5]). (“The control unit 112 may receive a power control message from the wireless power reception device 200. The control unit 112 may determine one or more characteristics of the frequency, voltage, and current of the power conversion unit 111 based on the received power control message, and may further perform another control operation based on the power control message” [Col. 31, lines 19-25]; “A wireless power signal formed by the power conversion unit 111 is received by the power reception unit 291. At this time, the power reception control unit 292 controls the modulation/demodulation unit 293 of the wireless power reception device 200 to modulate the wireless power signal. For instance, the power reception control unit 292 may change a reactance of the modulation/demodulation unit 293 connected to the power reception unit 291, thereby performing a modulation process to change an amount of power received from the wireless power signal according to the changed reactance. A change in the amount of power received from the wireless power signal results in a change in the current and/or voltage of the power conversion unit 111 forming the wireless power signal. At this time, the modulation and demodulation unit 113 of the wireless power transmission device 100 senses a change of the current and/or the voltage of the power conversion unit 111 to perform a demodulation process. In other words, the power reception control unit 292 generates a packet including a power control message to be transferred to the wireless power transmission device 100 to modulate the wireless power signal so as to include the packet, and the transmission control unit 112 may decode the packet based on a demodulation process result of the modulation/demodulation unit 113, thereby obtaining the power control message included in the packet” [Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]).
Regarding claim 17, Lee further discloses wherein the control unit (Fig. 20, “power transmission control unit 112” [Col. 29, lines 4-10]) is designed to receive the operating parameter set (“a power control message including at least one of rectified power amount information, charging state information and identification information” [Col. 31, lines 19-25] and “amount of power received” [Col. Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]) of the placeable unit (Fig. 21, “wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 29, lines 14-15]) on a temporally recurring basis (“the control unit may check whether the first wireless power reception device is located in the first power transmission area at preset periods using the first communication module in a state of transmitting wireless power to the first wireless power reception device” [Col. 3, lines 1-5]).
Regarding claim 18, Lee further discloses wherein the control unit (Fig. 20, “power transmission control unit 112” [Col. 29, lines 4-10]) is designed to automatically adapt the energy provided inductively by the supply unit (Fig. 20, “wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 29, lines 4-5]), when an operating parameter (“at least one of rectified power amount information” [Col. 31, lines 19-25] or “amount of power received” [Col. Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]) of the operating parameter set (“a power control message including at least one of rectified power amount information, charging state information and identification information” [Col. 31, lines 19-25] and “amount of power received” [Col. Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]) is adjusted (“A wireless power signal formed by the power conversion unit 111 is received by the power reception unit 291. At this time, the power reception control unit 292 controls the modulation/demodulation unit 293 of the wireless power reception device 200 to modulate the wireless power signal. For instance, the power reception control unit 292 may change a reactance of the modulation/demodulation unit 293 connected to the power reception unit 291, thereby performing a modulation process to change an amount of power received from the wireless power signal according to the changed reactance. A change in the amount of power received from the wireless power signal results in a change in the current and/or voltage of the power conversion unit 111 forming the wireless power signal. At this time, the modulation and demodulation unit 113 of the wireless power transmission device 100 senses a change of the current and/or the voltage of the power conversion unit 111 to perform a demodulation process. In other words, the power reception control unit 292 generates a packet including a power control message to be transferred to the wireless power transmission device 100 to modulate the wireless power signal so as to include the packet, and the transmission control unit 112 may decode the packet based on a demodulation process result of the modulation/demodulation unit 113, thereby obtaining the power control message included in the packet” [Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]).
Regarding claim 19, Lee discloses further comprising a communication unit (Fig. 22a, “communication module 1200a-b” [Col. 32, lines 4-16]) designed to wirelessly transfer data (“control messages” [Col. 32, lines 4-16]) between the placeable unit (Fig. 21, “wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 29, lines 14-15]) and the control unit (Fig. 20, “power transmission control unit 112” [Col. 29, lines 4-10]). (“On the other hand, the control unit 112 may sense whether a wireless power reception device exists in the power transmission area 1600a, 1600b through the first communication module, and transmit and receive control messages to and from the wireless power reception device in response to the sensed device through the second communication module. In other words, according to the present disclosure, a transmission coil may be used only to transfer wireless power to the wireless power reception device, and thus it may not be required to radiate a medium or high-power current to the transmission coil to perform an analog ping process and a digital ping process with the wireless power reception device” [Col. 32, lines 4-16]).
Regarding claim 20, Lee discloses further comprising a communication unit (Fig. 22a, “first communication module 1200a” [Col. 30, lines 9-11]) designed to wirelessly transfer data (“analog pings” [Col. 29, lines 63-67 and Col. 30, lines 1-8]) via NFC (Near Field Communication) (“NFC (Near Field Communication)” [Col. 30, lines 9-11]) between the placeable unit (Annotated Fig. 1, “wireless power reception devices 200a, 200b” [Col. 30, lines 1-8]) and the control unit (Fig. 20, “power transmission control unit 112” [Col. 29, lines 66-67]). (“According to the present disclosure, the control unit 112 may use the first communication module 1200a provided in the communication unit 1200 to detect whether the wireless power reception devices 200a, 200b is located in the power transmission area 1600a, 1600b as illustrated in FIG. 22B. In other words, the control unit 112 performs an analog ping process for sensing whether there exists a reception device capable of transmitting wireless power in the power transmission area 1600a, 1600b using the first communication module 1200a provided in the communication unit 1200. Here, the first communication module 1200a may be an NFC (Near Field Communication) communication module that performs short-range communication” [Col. 29, lines 66-67 and Col. 30, lines 1-11])
Regarding claim 21, Lee further discloses wherein the operating parameter set (“a power control message including at least one of rectified power amount information, charging state information and identification information” [Col. 31, lines 19-25] and “amount of power received” [Col. Col. 34, lines 52-67 and Col. 35, lines 1-10]) comprises an electrical characteristic variable (“rectified power amount information” [Col. 31, lines 26-33]) of the absorbing induction element (Fig. 21, “power supply unit 290” [Col. 33, lines 42-45] comprising “power reception unit 291” and “reception coil 2911a” [Col. 32, lines 49-56], and Annotated Fig. 1, base of “wireless power reception device 200”). (“For example, the control unit 112 may determine one or more characteristics of a frequency, a current, and a voltage used to form the wireless power signal according to a power control message including at least one of rectified power amount information, charging state information and identification information in the wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 31, lines 26-33])
Regarding claim 29 Lee further discloses wherein the placeable unit (Fig. 21, “wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 29, lines 14-15]) is designed as a small household appliance (Annotated Fig. 1, “wireless power reception devices 200a, 200b” [Col. 30, lines 1-8]). (“Another object of the present disclosure is to provide a wireless power transmission device, a wireless power reception device, and a wireless charging system that can be used in household appliances used at home” [Col. 2, lines 16-19]).
Regarding claim 30 Lee further discloses wherein the placeable unit (Fig. 21, “wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 29, lines 14-15]) is designed as a cooking equipment item (Annotated Fig. 1, “wireless power reception devices 200a, 200b” [Col. 30, lines 1-8]). (See Annotated Fig. 1, “An object of the present disclosure is to provide a wireless power transmission device, a wireless power reception device, and a wireless charging system for medium power” [Col. 2, lines 13-15]; “Here, medium power denotes electric power of several tens W or more, and appliances using such medium power may include a citrus press, a hand blender, a blender, a juicer, a smart pan, an electric kettle, a rice cooker, and the like” [Col. 27, lines 50-55]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 10608472) Figures 20-23 in view of Lee (U.S. 10608472) Figures 4a-5.
Figure 4A (Lee)
Figure 4B (Lee)
Figure 5 (Lee)
Regarding claim 22, Lee’s Figures 20-23 do not explicitly disclose wherein the operating parameter set comprises a geometric characteristic variable of the absorbing induction element.
However, Lee’s Figures 4A-5 disclose wherein the operating parameter set (“alignment and distance” [Col. 12, lines 21-26]) comprises a geometric characteristic variable (“alignment and distance” [Col. 12, lines 21-26]) of the absorbing induction element (Fig. 4B, “power supply unit 290” comprising “reception coil 2911a” [Col. 14, lines 24-26]). (“The efficiency of wireless power transmission by the inductive coupling scheme may be little affected by a frequency characteristic, but affected by an alignment and distance between the wireless power transmission device 100 and the wireless power reception device 200 including each coil” [Col. 12, lines21-26]; “Furthermore, an alignment indicator (not shown) indicating a location where the wireless power reception device 200 is to be placed at an upper portion of the interface surface. The alignment indicator indicates a location of the wireless power reception device 200 where an alignment between the transmission coil 1111a mounted at a lower portion of the interface surface and the reception coil 2911a can be suitably implemented. The alignment indicator may alternatively be simple marks, or may be formed in the form of a protrusion structure for guiding the location of the wireless power reception device 200. Otherwise, the alignment indicator may be formed in the form of a magnetic body such as a magnet mounted at a lower portion of the interface surface, thereby guiding the coils to be suitably arranged by mutual magnetism to a magnetic body having an opposite polarity mounted within the wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 12, lines 42-58]; “Furthermore, to this end, the power transmission control unit 112 may receive control information on an alignment or distance to the wireless power reception device 200 through the power communications modulation/demodulation unit 113, and control the positioning unit 1114 based on the received control information on the alignment or distance” [Col. 13, lines 59-64]).
Regarding claim 22, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s Figures 20-23 to incorporate the teachings of Lee’s Figures 4A-5 to have the control unit receive a geometric characteristic variable of the absorbing induction element. Doing so allows for enhanced effectiveness of the wireless transfer of power, as recognized by Lee in regards to Figures 4A-5, “The positioning unit 1114 may move or rotate the transmission coil 1111a to enhance the effectiveness of contactless power transfer using the inductive coupling scheme. As described above, it is because an alignment and distance between the wireless power transmission device 100 and the wireless power reception device 200 including a primary coil and a secondary coil may affect power transfer using the inductive coupling scheme. In particular, the positioning unit 1114 may be used when the wireless power reception device 200 does not exist within an active area of the wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 13, lines 32-42]).
Regarding claim 24, Lee’s Figures 20-23 does not explicitly disclose wherein the geometric characteristic variable denotes a spacing between the absorbing induction element and the supply induction element.
However, Lee’s Figures 4A-5 disclose wherein the geometric characteristic variable (“alignment and distance” [Col. 12, lines 21-26]) denotes a spacing between the absorbing induction element (Fig. 4B, “power supply unit 290” comprising “reception coil 2911a” [Col. 14, lines 24-26]) and the supply induction element (Fig. 4A “transmission coil 1111a” [Col. 12, lines 42-58]). (“Furthermore, an alignment indicator (not shown) indicating a location where the wireless power reception device 200 is to be placed at an upper portion of the interface surface. The alignment indicator indicates a location of the wireless power reception device 200 where an alignment between the transmission coil 1111a mounted at a lower portion of the interface surface and the reception coil 2911a can be suitably implemented. The alignment indicator may alternatively be simple marks, or may be formed in the form of a protrusion structure for guiding the location of the wireless power reception device 200. Otherwise, the alignment indicator may be formed in the form of a magnetic body such as a magnet mounted at a lower portion of the interface surface, thereby guiding the coils to be suitably arranged by mutual magnetism to a magnetic body having an opposite polarity mounted within the wireless power reception device 200” [Col. 12, lines 42-58]; “Furthermore, to this end, the power transmission control unit 112 may receive control information on an alignment or distance to the wireless power reception device 200 through the power communications modulation/demodulation unit 113, and control the positioning unit 1114 based on the received control information on the alignment or distance” [Col. 13, lines 59-64]).
Regarding claim 24, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Lee’s Figures 20-23 to incorporate the teachings of Lee’s Figures 4A-5 to have the control unit receive a geometric characteristic variable of a spacing between the absorbing induction element and the supply induction element. Doing so allows for enhanced effectiveness of the wireless transfer of power, as recognized by Lee in regards to Figures 4A-5, “The positioning unit 1114 may move or rotate the transmission coil 1111a to enhance the effectiveness of contactless power transfer using the inductive coupling scheme. As described above, it is because an alignment and distance between the wireless power transmission device 100 and the wireless power reception device 200 including a primary coil and a secondary coil may affect power transfer using the inductive coupling scheme. In particular, the positioning unit 1114 may be used when the wireless power reception device 200 does not exist within an active area of the wireless power transmission device 100” [Col. 13, lines 32-42]).
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 10608472) Figures 20-23 in view of Lee (U.S. 10608472) Figures 4a-5, further in view of Tsukada et al. (J.P. 2009245728), hereinafter Tsukada.
Figure 4A (Tsukada)
Regarding claim 23, Lee’s Figures 20-23 in view of Lee’s Figures 4A-5 disclose the absorbing induction element (Fig. 21, “power supply unit 290” [Col. 33, lines 42-45] comprising “power reception unit 291” and “reception coil 2911a” [Col. 32, lines 49-56], and Annotated Fig. 1, base of “wireless power reception device 200”).
Lee’s Figures 20-23 in view of Lee’s Figures 4A-5 do not explicitly disclose wherein the geometric characteristic variable denotes a diameter of the absorbing induction element.
However, Tsukada discloses an induction energy transmission system, in particular an induction cooking system (“automatic continuation of cooking… induction heating coils 17 and 18” [abstract]), wherein the geometric characteristic variable (“pot diameter” [Abstract”]) denotes a diameter (“pot diameter” [Abstract”]) of the absorbing induction element (Fig. 4A, “pot 30” [Abstract]). (“The control means 74 extracts the diameter of the pot” [Abstract]).
Regarding claim 23, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s Figures 20-23 in view of Lee’s Figures 4A-5 to incorporate the teachings of Tsukada to have the control unit receive a geometric characteristic variable of diameter of absorbing induction element. Doing so allows for movement of a kitchen item, such as a pot, from one heating appliance to another, without having to rely upon RFID technology, as recognized by Tsukada. (“To enable automatic continuation of cooking without using RFID technology when moving a pot between areas with different conditions on the top surface or between different types of heating appliances” [Abstract]). Additionally, the controller receiving information on the size of the appliance would be beneficial to the user as then the controller could inform the supply unit how much power should be outputted based upon the size of the pot or kitchen item.
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 10608472) Figures 20-23 in view of Smith et al. (U.S. 20150280444), hereinafter Smith.
Figure 2B (Smith)
Figure 4 (Smith)
Regarding claim 25, Lee’s Figures 20-23 do not explicitly disclose wherein the control unit is designed to determine a coupling coefficient between the supply induction element and the absorbing induction element based on the operating parameter set.
However, Smith discloses an induction energy transmission system (Fig. 2B, “impedance matching wireless power transfer system” [0019]) wherein the control unit (Fig. 4, “microcontroller 154” [0051]) is designed to determine a coupling coefficient (“coupling coefficient” [0053]) between the supply induction element (Fig. 2B, “MCR Tx coil 104” [0045]) and the absorbing induction element (Fig. 2B, “MCR Rx coil 106” [0045]) based on the operating parameter set (“distance between the coils 104, 106” [0053]). (“For example, the control algorithm may be configured to intelligently estimate the coupling coefficient between the two MCR coils, for example, by detecting the distance between the coils 104, 106” [0053]).
Regarding claim 25, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s Figures 20-23 to incorporate the teachings of Smith to have the control unit is designed to determine a coupling coefficient between the supply induction element and the absorbing induction element based on the operating parameter set. Doing so allows for optimal set capacitor settings in order to achieve more rapid switching in a dynamic environment, as recognized by Smith. (“It is also contemplated, and will be apparent to persons of skill in the art, that other approximate methods may be selected to arrive at an optimal set of capacitor settings, in order to achieve more rapid switching in a dynamic environment. For example, the control algorithm may be configured to intelligently estimate the coupling coefficient between the two MCR coils, for example, by detecting the distance between the coils 104, 106” [0053]).
Claims 26-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (U.S. 10608472) Figures 20-23 in view of Tezel (E.P. 2878169).
Figure 2 (Tezel)
Regarding claim 26, Lee’s Figures 20-23 do not explicitly disclose wherein the placeable unit comprises at least two switchable electrical loads.
However, Tezel discloses an induction energy transmission system, in particular an induction cooking system (“an induction heating cooktop and a wireless kitchen appliance” [0001]) wherein the placeable unit (Fig. 2, “wireless appliance 2” [0020]) comprises at least two switchable electrical loads (Fig. 2, “switching means 111” [0020]).
Regarding claim 26, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s Figures 20-23 to incorporate the teachings of Tezel to have the placeable unit comprises at least two switchable electrical loads. Doing so allows for the current and voltage received by the receiver coil to be changed, as recognized by Tezel. (“In another embodiment of the present invention, the wireless appliance comprises, in the encoding unit, resonant capacitors connected in parallel to the receiver coil and switching means that provide the current and the voltage received by the receiver coil to be changed by activating or deactivating the resonant capacitors” [0013]). Being able to alter the current and voltage of the placeable unit is beneficial as it allows the for precise control of the power being delivered to the receiver coil, which could increase energy efficiency and control of heat.
Regarding claim 27, Lee’s Figures 20-23 do not explicitly disclose wherein the operating parameter set comprises at least one characteristic variable of the at least two switchable electrical loads.
However, Tezel further discloses wherein the operating parameter set (Fig. 2, “current and voltage received by the receiver coil” [0013]) comprises at least one characteristic variable (Fig. 2, “current and voltage received by the receiver coil” [0013]) of the at least two switchable electrical loads (Fig. 2, “switching means 111” [0020]).
Regarding claim 27, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s Figures 20-23 to incorporate the teachings of Tezel to have the operating parameter set comprises at least one characteristic variable of the at least two switchable electrical loads. Doing so allows for the current and voltage received by the receiver coil to be changed, as recognized by Tezel. (“In another embodiment of the present invention, the wireless appliance comprises, in the encoding unit, resonant capacitors connected in parallel to the receiver coil and switching means that provide the current and the voltage received by the receiver coil to be changed by activating or deactivating the resonant capacitors” [0013]). Being able to alter the current and voltage of the placeable unit is beneficial as it allows the for precise control of the power being delivered to the receiver coil, which could increase energy efficiency and control of heat.
Regarding claim 28, Lee’s Figures 20-23 do not explicitly disclose wherein the operating parameter set comprises a switch-over time point between the at least two switchable electrical loads.
However, Tezel further discloses wherein the operating parameter set (Fig. 2, “current and voltage received by the receiver coil” [0013]) comprises a switch-over time point (activating or deactivating the resonant capacitors [0013]) between the at least two switchable electrical loads (Fig. 2, “switching means 111” [0020]). (“In another embodiment of the present invention, the wireless appliance comprises, in the encoding unit, resonant capacitors connected in parallel to the receiver coil and switching means that provide the current and the voltage received by the receiver coil to be changed by activating or deactivating the resonant capacitors” [0013]). Examiner note: the switch-over time point is when the resonant capacitors are activated or deactivated, as it is shared occurrence between the current and voltage.
Regarding claim 28, it would have been prima facia obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lee’s Figures 20-23 to incorporate the teachings of Tezel to have the operating parameter set comprises a switch-over time point between the at least two switchable electrical loads. Doing so allows for the current and voltage received by the receiver coil to be changed by activating or deactivating the resonant capacitors, as recognized by Tezel. (“In another embodiment of the present invention, the wireless appliance comprises, in the encoding unit, resonant capacitors connected in parallel to the receiver coil and switching means that provide the current and the voltage received by the receiver coil to be changed by activating or deactivating the resonant capacitors” [0013]). Being able to alter the current and voltage of the placeable unit via activation or deactivation of the capacitor is beneficial as it allows the for precise control of the power being delivered to the receiver coil, which could increase energy efficiency and control of heat.
Conclusion
/E.E.U./Examiner, Art Unit 3761 08/07/2026
/JUSTIN C DODSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761