DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The present application, filed October 26, 2023, is a national stage application of PCT/IB2022/053336, filed April 9, 2022, and claims priority to foreign priority application IN 202141019490, filed April 28, 2021.
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in the Republic of India on April 28, 2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of application IN 202141019490 as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Status of the Application
Applicant’s communication, received May 6, 2026, wherein claims 1-4 and 6-9 are amended, is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 are pending and examined on the merits herein.
Withdrawn Objections
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the objection to the specification for minor informalities, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the objection because a replacement specification with a higher resolution structure of cladribine has been received. Therefore the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the objection to the drawings for minor informalities, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the objection because replacement drawings with the informalities corrected have been received. Therefore the objection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the objection to claims 1-4 and 8-9 for minor informalities, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the objection because claims 1-4 and 8-9 are amended to correct these informalities. Therefore the objection is withdrawn.
Withdrawn Rejections
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 1 under 35 USC § 112(b) of claim 1 as indefinite over uncertainty regarding the required components of the cladribine complex, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because claim 1 is amended to clarify that the cladribine complex includes cladribine and least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as dispersing agent, which is not indefinite. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2 and 4-6 under 35 USC § 112(b) as lacking antecedent basis in step b), has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because claim 2 is amended to recite a solvent in step a), and thus the solvent in step b) does not lack antecedent basis. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 2 and 3 under 35 USC § 112(b) over the term “stable,” has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because claims 2 and 3 are amended to remove the term stable. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC § 112(b) as lacking antecedent basis, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because claim 6 is amended to recite “the isolated amorphous form of Cladribine of Formula (1) complex,” which does not lack antecedent basis. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claim 8 under 35 USC § 112(b) as indefinite over the scope of the limitation “and the like,” has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because claim 8 is amended to remove the term “and the like” from the claim. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 USC § 102 as anticipated by Bodor, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because the present claims are amended to require the cladribine complex has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC, which Bodor does not teach. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 9 under 35 USC § 102 as anticipated by Rost, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because the present claims are amended to require the cladribine complex has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC, which Rost does not teach. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1 and 3 under 35 USC § 103 as unpatentable over Bodor in view of Rost, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because the present claims are amended to require the cladribine complex has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC, which the combination of Bodor and Rost does not teach. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Applicant’s amendment, received May 6, 2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 1-2 and 6 under 35 USC § 103 as unpatentable over Rost, has been fully considered and found to be persuasive to remove the rejection because the present claims are amended to require the cladribine complex has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC, which Rost does not teach. Therefore the rejection is withdrawn.
Claim Interpretation
The present claims 1-9 require an amorphous cladribine complex. In the absence of an express definition provided in the specification, the term “complex” is interpreted consistent with its customary meaning in the art. Britannica (Brittanica entry for “complex” cited in previous office action) teaches that a complex, in chemistry, is a substance, formed by the union of simpler substances (as compounds or ions) and held together by forces that are chemical.
Therefore, any chemical interaction of two compounds in a composition, such as cladribine in composition with least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as a dispersing agent, is interpreted herein as a complex.
Response to Applicant’s arguments: Regarding the above claim interpretation section, Applicant submits that the claims now explicitly recite that the amorphous Cladribine of Formula (1) forms a complex with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as a dispersing agent. These amendments clarify the nature of the interaction between Cladribine and the excipient, consistent with the disclosure as originally filed.
The Office maintains that this amendment limits the pharmaceutically acceptable excipient permitted to be part of the complex, but that this amendment does not change the definition of complex recited above.
The following rejection is maintained from the previous office action, updated herein to remain consistent with amendments to the present claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 2-5 recite the terms “suitable pharmaceutically acceptable excipient,” “suitable solvent,” and “suitable anti-solvent.” The term “suitable” in these claims is a relative term which renders these claims indefinite. The term “suitable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For example, one of ordinary skill in the art would not recognize the specific properties a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, solvent, or anti-solvent must possess in order to be considered as “suitable.”
Because claim 6 depends from claim 2 and fails to cure the above deficiency, claim 6 is also indefinite.
Response to Applicant’s arguments: With respect to the term “suitable,” Applicant argues that the term suitable is commonly used in chemical applications and claims and would be readily understood by one of skill in the art having the benefit of Applicant's Specification.
Applicant’s argument has been fully considered but is not found persuasive. As stated, the specific properties that would make a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, solvent, or anti-solvent suitable is unclear. Stated differently, it is unclear what pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, solvent, or anti-solvent would not fall within the scope of these claims as being, for some reason, not suitable. Accordingly, it is unclear how the term suitable limits the pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, solvent, or anti-solvent recited in the claim.
The following are new and/or modified grounds of rejection, necessitated by Applicant’s amendment received May 6, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows:
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bodor (U.S. pre-grant publication no. US 20070197468 A1; cited in previous office action) in view of Rost (Publication no. EP 3628310 A1; cited in IDS received October 26, 2020) and Bari (Bari, S. B.; et al. Eurasian Journal of Analytical Chemistry 2007, vol. 2, pp. 32-53; cited in PTO-892).
Bodor teaches and claims a pharmaceutical composition obtainable by a process comprising the steps of: (i) combining cladribine and an amorphous cyclodextrin in water at a temperature of from about 40 to about 80° C and maintaining said temperature for a period of from about 6 to about 24 hours; (ii) cooling the resultant aqueous solution to room temperature; (iii) lyophilizing the cooled solution to afford an amorphous product; and (iv) formulating the amorphous product into a solid oral dosage form (p. 14, claim 82). Bodor further teaches and claims this pharmaceutical composition, wherein formulation step (iv) of the process comprises blending the complex with magnesium stearate and compressing into tablets (p. 14, claim 97). Step i) of the method of Bodor satisfies step a) of claim 3, and step iv) of the method of Bodor satisfies step b of claim 3).
Bodor teaches products FD04 and FD05, which were prepared by heating water, adding 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin and stirring until dissolution, adding cladribine, and stirring for approximately 9 hours with heating and 7 hours while the solution cooled (p. 9, [0082]). Bodor teaches that after cooling to room temperature and, for composition FD05, filtering, the solutions were filled into lyophilization vials and lyophilized (p. 9, [0084]). This method of preparing FD04 and FD05 includes steps (i)-(iii) recited in the method of Bodor above, and would satisfy the methods requirements of claim 3. In addition, the product of this method would satisfy all limitations of the amorphous cladribine complex of claim 1, except the required crystallinity and purity.
Bodor further teaches and claims a process for the preparation of a complex cladribine-cyclodextrin complex which comprises the steps of: (i) combining cladribine and an amorphous cyclodextrin in water at a temperature of from about 40 to about 80° C and maintaining said temperature for a period of from about 6 to about 24 hours; (ii) cooling the resultant aqueous solution to room temperature; and (iii) lyophilizing the cooled solution to afford an amorphous product (pp. 12-13, claim 67).
This process satisfies the methods steps of claim 2, includes water as a solvent as required by claim 4, and includes the step of lyophilization as required by claim 5.
Regarding claim 6, which requires the additional step of drying the isolated Cladribine with dispersing agent, Bodor teaches that their lyophilization method involves a secondary drying phase at 30 °C (p. 9, [0084], see lines 4-9 and Table 1). Because Bodor teaches lyophilizing their solution to afford an amorphous product as described above, and because Bodor teaches their method of lyophilization involves a secondary drying step, the method of Bodor, together with the lyophilization process disclosed by Bodor, would also satisfy the limitations of claim 6.
Moreover, as described above, Bodor teaches FD04 was prepared by heating water, adding 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin and stirring until dissolution, adding cladribine, and stirring for approximately 9 hours with heating and 7 hours while the solution cooled (p. 9, [0082]). Bodor teaches that after cooling to room temperature, the solutions were filled into lyophilization vials and lyophilized (p. 9, [0084]) using the lyophilization program outlined in Table 1 which includes the step of secondary drying (p. 9, [0084], Table 1). This method satisfies the methods limitations of claims 2 and 4-6, wherein the 2-hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin is the dispersing agent, water is the solvent, and the secondary drying step following lyophilization is the additional step of drying as recited in claim 6.
Finally, Bodor teaches and claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising a complex cladribine-cyclodextrin complex which is an amorphous admixture of (a) an amorphous inclusion complex of cladribine with an amorphous cyclodextrin and (b) amorphous free cladribine associated with amorphous cyclodextrin as a non-inclusion complex, formulated into a solid oral dosage form (p. 12, claim 1). Bodor further claims the amorphous cyclodextrin is selected from a group that includes hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin (p. 12, claim 3).
Regarding the requirement that cladribine forms a complex with a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient that acts as a dispersing agent, the present specification states that the pharmaceutically suitable excipient used in the present invention as dispersing agent is selected from a group that includes HPβCD (p. 8, lines 4-12). Therefore, the HPβCD taught by Bodor as an excipient is reasonably considered as a dispersing agent, as required by the present claims.
Bodor teaches that their products FD04 and FD05 were analyzed by DSC thermograms and X-ray diffraction methods to determine any free crystalline cladribine in the lyophilized material. Bodor teaches that, importantly, the samples exhibited no transitions in the region of 210° C to 230° C, which is associated with the melting of crystalline cladribine and that in both cases, no significant thermal activity was recorded in the range of 210° C to 230° C. Bodor teaches this suggests that the complexes obtained at the end of the lyophilization do not have any significant amount of free crystalline cladribine, considering the sensitivity of the analytical method (up to 3% w/w). Bodor teaches that this conclusion was supported by the absence of peaks for crystalline cladribine from X-ray diffraction traces for both complexes FD04 and FD05 (p. 9, [0086], lines 1-13).
Moreover, because FD04 and FD05 were prepared using steps (i)-(iii) recited in the method of Bodor, the amorphous product formulated in step (iv) by blending with magnesium stearate (as recited on 14, claim 97) would also have provided a pharmaceutical composition with a solid dispersion.
Bodor does not teach their amorphous cladribine complex as having a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w), as required by claims 1-9.
Rost teaches pharmaceutical compositions comprising a solid dispersion of amorphous cladribine and a water-soluble pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (cover page, Abstract, lines 57-58).
In addition, Rost teaches the benefits of solid dispersions and amorphous pharmaceutical formulations. Rost teaches that one of the underlying principles of formulations of solid dispersions is the generation of the amorphous state, which is considered to be more soluble than the crystalline state because in the amorphous state, no energy is required to break the crystal lattice found in the crystalline phase (p. 3, [0015], lines 1-3) (emphasis added).
Finally, Rost teaches that cladribine and its impurities may be analyzed using HPLC (p. 6, [0065]).
Bari teaches that regulatory authorities are emphasizing the purity requirements and identification of impurities in Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients (APIs) (p. 32, Abstract, lines 1-3). Bari teaches that a pharmaceutical impurity is considered as any other organic material, besides the drug substance, or ingredients, that arise during synthesis or that remains with API. (p. 33, Introduction section, lines 3-5). Bari teaches that the presence of these unwanted chemicals, even in small amount, may influence the efficacy and safety of the pharmaceutical products (p. 33, Introduction section, lines 8-10).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to prepare the pharmaceutical composition of Bodor comprising amorphous cladribine and amorphous hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin with as little crystalline material as possible. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the pharmaceutical composition of Bodor comprising amorphous cladribine and amorphous hydroxypropyl-β-cyclodextrin with as little crystalline material as possible because Bodor teaches their compositions do not have any significant amount of free crystalline cladribine, and because Rost teaches that solid dispersions in an amorphous state are considered to be more soluble than the crystalline state. Accordingly, because Rost teaches that amorphous solid dispersions as more soluble than crystalline solid dispersions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that crystalline material present in a composition may reduce the solubility of the cladribine complex taught by Bodor, and thus would have optimized the method of Bodor to minimize the crystallinity present in said composition or product, including to less than 2% w/w crystallinity.
Neither Bodor nor Rost disclose a purity greater than 99% by HPLC. However, because Rost teaches Cladribine and its impurities may be analyzed using HPLC, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered HPLC as a method to evaluate the purity of a cladribine complex.
Regarding the requirement that the complex has a purity greater than 99%, MPEP 2144.04 at VII states: “Pure materials are novel vis-à-vis less pure or impure materials because there is a difference between pure and impure materials. Therefore, the issue is whether claims to a pure material are nonobvious over the prior art. In re Bergstrom, 427 F.2d 1394, 166 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1970). Purer forms of known products may be patentable, but the mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product nonobvious.” (emphasis added)
In this instance, merely requiring a specific purity of a cladribine complex taught by the prior art would not render the present claims patentable, absent evidence of the criticality of the complex being greater than 99% pure. Moreover, because Bari recognizes that unwanted chemicals, even in small amount, may influence the efficacy and safety of the pharmaceutical products, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the purity of a pharmaceutical, such as the cladribine complex taught by Bodor, to avoid unwanted impurities that may affect the efficacy and safety of this complex.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Response to Applicant’s arguments: Regarding the previous rejection of claims 1-9 as anticipated by Bodor, Applicant presents the following arguments:
Applicant argues that claim 1 of the present application is directed to an amorphous
Cladribine of Formula (1) complex with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as
dispersing agent, wherein the complex is characterized by a purity greater than 99% by HPLC, and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w). Applicant respectfully submits that Bodor fails to disclose, either expressly or inherently, the claimed embodiments.
Relating to claim 3, Applicant argues that Bodor fails to disclose the parameters of amorphous Cladribine of Formula (1) complex, i.e., the amorphous cladribine complex has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w). In addition, Bodor explicitly discloses a solvent-based process, requiring dissolution of components in water at elevated temperatures, and subsequent lyophilization to obtain an amorphous product. In contrast, the process as claimed in claim 3 is a solvent-free process, relying solely on blending or grinding to form the amorphous Cladribine complex. Bodor neither discloses nor suggests the formation of the claimed amorphous complex in the absence of solvent.
Relating to claim 2, Applicant argues that Bodor fails to disclose the obtained product, i.e., the amorphous Cladribine complex that has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a % of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Regarding Applicant’s argument that Bodor fails to disclose a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w), Bodor does not disclose these specific limitations. However, as described above, the Office asserts that the above references render obvious a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w).
Regarding the solvent-free process of claim 3, Applicant is arguing limitations not recited in the claims. Because claim 3 recites the inclusive transitional phrase “comprising,” other steps are permitted by the method, including use of a solvent.
Regarding the previous rejection over Bodor in view of Rost, Applicant presents the following arguments:
Applicant argues that while Bodor and Rost generally disclose amorphous forms of cladribine compositions, neither reference teaches or suggests the specific combination of technical characteristics of the claimed complex as recited in claim 1.
Applicant argues that Bodor indicates the absence of "significant" crystalline cladribine within the detection limits of its analytical methods (approximately 3% w/w). This disclosure does not teach or suggest achieving crystallinity below 2% (w/w), as presently claimed, nor does it recognize the criticality of such low crystallinity. Applicant further argues that Rost discloses amorphous solid dispersions based on XRPD data, but does not quantify crystallinity to the claimed threshold, nor does it disclose or suggest purity greater than 99% by HPLC.
Applicant argues that none of the cited references teaches or directs one of skill in the art to form the novel complex as recited in currently amended independent claim 1, i.e., an amorphous Cladribine of Formula (1) complex with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as dispersing agent, wherein the amorphous cladribine complex has a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w).
Further, Applicant argues both Bodor and Rost are also silent on the purity of the obtained complex as recited in claim 1, i.e., wherein the amorphous cladribine complex has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC.
Relating to claim 3, Applicant argues that Both Bodor and Rost are directed to solvent-mediated processes, i.e., Bodor requires dissolution in water followed by lyophilization; while Rost requires dissolution in aqueous organic solvents followed by spray drying. In contrast, claim 3 recites a solvent-free process, relying on blending or grinding to form the amorphous complex. This represents a fundamentally different approach, and neither reference teaches or suggests eliminating solvent while still achieving high purity (>99% HPLC); and crystallinity
<2% (w/w).
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Regarding the crystallinity of the product of Bodor, because Bodor states that their product had a % crystallinity less than 3% w/w, and because Rost recognizes the value of pharmaceuticals in an amorphous form as having improved solubility compared to those in the crystalline form, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the value of minimizing crystallinity of the amorphous pharmaceutical taught by Bodor.
Regarding the purity of the product obvious over Bodor in view of Rost, because the prior art (Bari) recognizes that impurities may affect the efficacy and safety of a pharmaceutical, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the purity of the product obvious over Bodor in view of Rost, because the efficacy and safety of a pharmaceutical with greater purity and fewer impurities are less likely be affected than a pharmaceutical with lower purity and more impurities.
Regarding the solvent-free process of claim 3, as stated above, Applicant is arguing limitations not recited in the claims. Because claim 3 recites the inclusive transitional phrase comprising, other steps are permitted by the method, including use of a solvent. Moreover, arguments relating to purity and crystallinity of the product are not persuasive for the same reasons described above.
Therefore, for the reasons stated above, the present rejection of claims 1-9 under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over Bodor in view of Rost and Bari is maintained.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rost (Publication no. EP 3628310 A1; cited in IDS received October 26, 2020) in view of Bari (Bari, S. B.; et al. Eurasian Journal of Analytical Chemistry 2007, vol. 2, pp. 32-53; cited in PTO-892).
Rost teaches as described in the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103.
In addition, Rost teaches an embodiment in which 5.0 g of Linecaps was dissolved in 25 ml of distilled water under stirring conditions at room temperature, followed by addition of 10 ml of ethanol. Rost teaches 0.5 g cladribine was suspended in the Linecaps:water:ethanol solution and heated to 50°C. Rost teaches that once the solution was clear, the solution was pumped into the spray-drier, where the solvent was instantaneously evaporated and a solid product was collected (p. 6, [0071], lines 1-4). Rost teaches that an analogous process was performed using isopropanol instead of ethanol (p. 6, [0072], line 1). These steps satisfy the requirements of the method steps of claims 2, 4, and 5.
Rost teaches that Kleptose® Linecaps is maltodextrin from pea starch and is rich in linear and soluble amylose (p. 5, [0047], line 1).
Rost further teaches and claims a pharmaceutical composition comprising a solid dispersion of amorphous cladribine and a water-soluble pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (p. 7, claim 1), and teaches and claims the water-soluble pharmaceutically acceptable carrier is spray-dried high amylose pea maltodextrin (p. 7, claim 2). Linecaps is thus reasonably interpreted as a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient, as required by claims 1-2, and because it is used in preparation of a dispersion of amorphous cladribine, it is reasonably considered as a dispersing agent.
Regarding the solid dispersion of claims 7 and 9, Rost discloses their pharmaceutical composition as a solid dispersion of amorphous cladribine and a water-soluble carrier, wherein the water-soluble carrier may be in particular spray-dried high amylose pea maltodextrin (p. 2, [0001], lines 1-3). High amylose pea maltodextrin is reasonably considered as a dispersing agent, because it is present in the solid dispersion with cladribine disclosed by Rost.
In addition, Rost teaches their general method, which includes the steps of a) providing a solution containing cladribine and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier in a solvent or a mixture of solvents; b) removing the solvent from the solution of a); and c) optionally drying a solid formed in b) to afford the desired amorphous solid dispersion of cladribine (p. 4, lines 51-56) (emphasis added).
Regarding the requirement that the complex has a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w), Rost teaches that XRD data of sample b) and sample d) prepared from the method above (which correspond to the product of the above method prepared from water/ethanol and water/isopropanol, respectively; see p. 6, [0073]) show the isolated solid dispersion product was fully amorphous, and that same results were achieved when vacuum evaporation or spray drying were applied for drying/solvent removal (p. 6, [0074], lines 1-3) (emphasis added). Therefore, the samples of Rost are considered as fully amorphous.
Rost does not teach their amorphous cladribine complex as having a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w), as required by claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9. In addition, Rost does not teach a specific embodiment in which the pharmaceutical composition disclosed by Rost is prepared using the optional step c) above, as required by claim 6.
Bari teaches as described in the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to prepare the pharmaceutical composition of Rost comprising amorphous cladribine and high amylose pea maltodextrin with as little crystalline material as possible. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the pharmaceutical composition of Rost comprising amorphous cladribine and high amylose pea maltodextrin with as little crystalline material as possible because Rost teaches their compositions as fully amorphous, and because Rost teaches that solid dispersions in an amorphous state are considered to be more soluble than the crystalline state. Accordingly, because Rost teaches the increased solubility of amorphous solid dispersions compared with crystalline solid dispersions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that crystalline material present in their composition may reduce the solubility of cladribine, and thus would have optimized the method of Rost to minimize the crystallinity present in said composition or product, including producing a product with crystallinity of less than 2% (w/w).
Regarding the purity of the complex as greater than 99% by HPLC, because Rost teaches Cladribine and its impurities may be analyzed using HPLC, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered HPLC as a method to evaluate the purity of a cladribine complex product produced by Rost.
Regarding the requirement that the complex has a purity greater than 99%, MPEP 2144.04 at VII states: “Pure materials are novel vis-à-vis less pure or impure materials because there is a difference between pure and impure materials. Therefore, the issue is whether claims to a pure material are nonobvious over the prior art. In re Bergstrom, 427 F.2d 1394, 166 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1970). Purer forms of known products may be patentable, but the mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product nonobvious.” (emphasis added)
In this instance, merely requiring a specific purity of a Cladribine complex taught by the prior art would not render the present claims patentable, absent evidence of the criticality of the complex as greater than 99% pure. Moreover, because Bari recognizes that unwanted chemicals, even in small amount, may influence the efficacy and safety of the pharmaceutical products, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the purity of a pharmaceutical, such as the cladribine complex taught by Bodor, to avoid unwanted impurities that may affect the efficacy and safety of this complex.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been prima facie obvious to add the additional step of drying the obtained amorphous solid dispersion of cladribine when preparing the pharmaceutical composition taught by Rost, because Rost suggests an optional step c) of drying the solid performed by their method, and accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered adding this additional step to the method taught by Rost in order to obtain a fully dry amorphous solid dispersion of cladribine.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Response to Applicant’s arguments: Regarding the previous rejection of claims 1-2, 4-5, 7, and 9 as anticipated by Rost, Applicant presents the following arguments:
Applicant argues that an amorphous Cladribine of Formula (1) complex with at least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as dispersing agent, wherein the amorphous cladribine complex has a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w), as claimed in claim 1, is not disclosed or taught in Rost, and that these parameters define the claimed product and distinguish it from conventional solid dispersions. Applicant argues Rost is silent with respect to these limitations, and there is no basis for any argument of inherent disclosure. Further, the process for preparation of the complex as claimed in claim 2 is also novel over Rost.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. Insofar as these arguments are relevant to the present rejection, although the required purity and crystallinity are not anticipated by Rost, the purity and crystallinity are obvious over Rost in view of Bari, as described above. As stated, because Rost recognizes the value of pharmaceuticals in an amorphous form as having improved solubility compared to those in the crystalline form, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the value of minimizing crystallinity of the amorphous pharmaceutical taught by Rost.
Regarding the purity of the product obvious over Rost, because the prior art (Bari) recognizes that impurities may affect the efficacy and safety of a pharmaceutical, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the purity of the product obvious over Rost, because the efficacy and safety of a pharmaceutical with greater purity and fewer impurities are less likely be affected than a pharmaceutical with lower purity and more impurities.
Regarding the previous rejection of 1-2 and 6 as unpatentable over Rost, Applicant argues that the method of Rost (summarized by in pp. 17-18 of Applicants remarks) is distinct from the method of the present application. Applicant argues that as a result, the product of Rost is characterized as a solid dispersion, whereas the claimed embodiments yields a Cladribine-excipient complex with defined crystallinity (<2% w/w); and high purity (>99% HPLC). Rost neither teaches nor suggests these defining characteristics.
Thus, the method and the obtained product of Rost are completely different from those of the method and the obtained product of currently amended claim 2.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Regarding the product of Rost as a solid dispersion, as described in the above Claim Interpretation section, any chemical interaction of two compounds in a composition, such as cladribine in composition with least one pharmaceutically acceptable excipient as dispersing agent, is interpreted herein as a complex. Because the solid dispersion of cladribine taught by Rost satisfies this definition, the product of Rost satisfies the requirement of the cladribine complex of claim 1.
Regarding the method of claim 2, Applicant is arguing limitations not recited in the claims. Because claim 2 recites the inclusive transitional phrase comprising, other steps are permitted by the method. In addition, claim 2 does not require a specific solvent, only a suitable solvent, and Rost’s use of a different solvent system than embodiments of the present application does not render claim 2 patentable over Rost.
Moreover, arguments relating to purity and crystallinity of the product of claim 2 are not persuasive for the same reasons as described above.
Claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rost (Publication no. EP 3628310 A1; cited in IDS received October 26, 2020) in view of Bari (Bari, S. B.; et al. Eurasian Journal of Analytical Chemistry 2007, vol. 2, pp. 32-53; cited in PTO-892) and Flemmens (Publication no. US 20180255772 A1; cited in PTO-892).
The Office maintains that claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9 are unpatentable over Rost in view of Bari, as described in the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103. However, for the sake of argument, if claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9 are not unpatentable over Rost because, for example, Rost does not expressly name maltodextrin as a dispersing agent, then claims 1-2, 4-7 and 9 would have been obvious over Rost in view of Bari and Flemmens.
Rost teaches as described in the above rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Rost does not teach their amorphous cladribine complex as having a purity greater than 99% by HPLC and a percentage of crystallinity less than 2% (w/w), as required by claims 1-2, 4-7, and 9. In addition, Rost does not teach a specific embodiment in which the pharmaceutical composition disclosed by Rost is prepared using the optional step c) above, as required by claim 6. Finally, Rost does not teach maltodextrin as a dispersing agent, as required by the present claims.
Bari teaches as described in the above rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103.
Flemmens teaches adjuvant compositions for use with agrochemical solutions (cover page, Abstract, line 1). Specifically, Flemmens teaches that their composition may include maltodextrins (p. 14, [0097], lines 1-3), and that the maltodextrin may act as a dispersing
agent or dispersant (p. 14, [0097], lines 8-9) (emphasis added).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present application to prepare the pharmaceutical composition of Rost comprising amorphous cladribine and high amylose pea maltodextrin with as little crystalline material as possible. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare the pharmaceutical composition of Rost comprising amorphous cladribine and high amylose pea maltodextrin with as little crystalline material as possible because Rost teaches their compositions as fully amorphous, and because Rost teaches that solid dispersions in an amorphous state are considered to be more soluble than the crystalline state. Accordingly, because Rost teaches the increased solubility of amorphous solid dispersions compared with crystalline solid dispersions, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized crystalline material present in their composition may reduce the solubility of cladribine, and thus would have optimized the method of Rost to minimize the crystallinity present in said composition or product.
Regarding the purity of the complex as greater than 99% by HPLC, However, because Rost teaches Cladribine and its impurities may be analyzed using HPLC, one of ordinary skill in the art would have considered HPLC as a method to evaluate the purity of a cladribine complex. Regarding the requirement that the complex has a purity greater than 99%,
MPEP 2144.04 at VII states: “Pure materials are novel vis-à-vis less pure or impure materials because there is a difference between pure and impure materials. Therefore, the issue is whether claims to a pure material are nonobvious over the prior art. In re Bergstrom, 427 F.2d 1394, 166 USPQ 256 (CCPA 1970). Purer forms of known products may be patentable, but the mere purity of a product, by itself, does not render the product nonobvious.” (emphasis added)
In this instance, merely requiring a specific purity of a Cladribine complex taught by the prior art would not render the present claims patentable, absent evidence of the criticality of the complex as greater than 99% pure. Moreover, because Bari recognizes that unwanted chemicals, even in small amount, may influence the efficacy and safety of the pharmaceutical products, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to increase the purity of a pharmaceutical such as the cladribine complex taught by Bodor, to avoid unwanted impurities that may affect the efficacy and safety of this complex.
Regarding claim 6, it would have been prima facie obvious to add the additional step of drying the obtained amorphous solid dispersion of cladribine when preparing the pharmaceutical composition disclosed by Rost because Rost suggests an optional step c) of drying the solid prepared by their method, and accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonably considered adding this additional step to the method taught by Rost in order to obtain a fully dry amorphous solid dispersion of cladribine.
Moreover, it would have been to prepare the composition of Rost using maltodextrin as a dispersing agent. Because Rost teaches their composition as a dispersion comprising cladribine and maltodextrin, and Flemmens recognizes maltodextrin as a dispersing agent. Accordingly, in view of Flemmens, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the maltodextrin used in the composition of Rost as a dispersing agent.
Therefore the invention taken as a whole is prima facie obvious.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/B.M.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 1693
/ANDREA OLSON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1693