DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is made in response to the communication filed on December 1, 2025. Claims 1-16 are presented for examination. Claims 4-11 have been withdrawn from consideration.
Claims 1, 12, and 16 are objected to.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 USC 112(b).
Claims 1 and 12-16 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Ganesh in view of Katayama.
Claims 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 USC 103 over Ganesh in view of Katayama and Cook.
Response To Arguments/Amendments
Claim Objections: The Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered and are persuasive with regard to the objection to claim 2, but not with regard to the objections to claims 1, 12, and 16.
The Applicant asserts that the addition of the performing step “does not change the invention that was elected” but, instead, “more clearly defines the elected invention. This is not persuasive. The claimed method is “a method of designing a width of a weld bead in a tailored blank.” In the restriction requirement, the Applicant elected Group I (“Group I: Claims 1-3, drawn to a method of designing a width of a weld bead”), as opposed to Group II (“Group II: Claims 4-5, drawn to a method of making a tailored blank). The Applicant’s performing step is clearly directed to “a method of making a tailored blank.” The Applicant elected without traverse, conceding on the record that the that Group II claims drawn to a method of making a tailored blank are a separate invention that will not be examined in this application. Accordingly, the objections are maintained.
35 USC 101: The Applicant’s arguments and amendments have been considered and are persuasive. The rejections are withdrawn.
Art Rejections: The Applicant’s amendments and arguments have been considered and, in light of the new amendments, cast doubt onto the existing rejection. Therefore, a new art rejection is provided herein.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 16 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1, 12, and 16 are objected for being directed to restricted subject matter. In the election, the Applicant specifically elected Group I, directed to a method of designing a width of a weld bead, to the exclusion of Group II, directed to a method of making a tailored blank. Claims 1, 12, and 16 all recite steps directed to a method of making a tailored blank, which is restricted subject matter. The election was made without traverse.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Specifically, claims 12 recites, “the width,” but multiple widths are claimed in the independent claim. For example, the claim recites, “deciding on a design value of a width of the weld bead for each of positions along a longitudinal direction of the weld bead in the tailored blank prior to press forming based on a press-forming-induced change in a width relating to the elements for the weld bead obtained through calculation of the deformation of the elements for the first sheet, the second sheet, and the weld bead when the tailored blank is press-formed.” The claim later recites, “the width in the bead-width design data.” It is unclear to which instance of “a width” the latter “the width in the bead-with design data” applies. This leaves the ordinarily skilled artisan in doubt of the metes and bounds of the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 and 12-16: Ganesh and Katayama
Claim(s) 1 and 12-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL: “Determining the forming behavior of tailor welded blanks” by Ganesh et al. (Ganesh) in view of NPL: “Understanding and improving process control in pulsed and continuous wave laser welding” by Katayama (Katayama).
Claim 1
Regarding claim 1, Ganesh teaches:
A method of designing a width of a weld bead in a tailored blank, comprising: (Ganesh Page 13, First Column, Last Paragraph – Second Column, First Paragraph “The forming behavior of TWBs is influenced by several parameters, including thickness and strength differences between the sheets being welded; weld conditions such as weld properties, orientation, and location; number of welds; welding technique; and weld profile and microstructure. Predicting the TWB’s parameters in advance can help the fabricator determine its formability compared to that of unwelded base material. However, this prediction requires a lot of experimental and simulation trials for each case, which is time-consuming and resource-intensive” Page 13, Second Column, Third Paragraph “Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials” – This is a method of designing parameters, including width, of a weld bead in a tailor blank.)
acquiring analysis model data representing a tailored blank having a first sheet and a second sheet joined together, the analysis model data containing elements for the first sheet, elements for the second sheet, and elements for a weld bead between an edge of the first sheet and an edge of the second sheet; (Ganesh Page 13, First Column, First Paragraph “Tailor welded blanks (TWBs) (see Figure 1) are blanks with two or more sheets of different thicknesses, materials, or coatings welded in a single plane before forming. “ – The study concerns tailor welded blanks. TWBs that are formed by welds between two sheets, including the weld bead. Page 13, Third Column, Second-to-Last Paragraph – Page 14, First Paragraph “The tensile behavior, formability characteristics, and deep drawability of a TWB were simulated by standard formability tests. Different categories of industrial sheet parts were simulated, and an expert system was developed to predict their forming behavior. Figure 2 shows that the expert system was given inputs such as thickness ratio, strength ratio, weld orientation, weld location, weld properties, weld width, number of welds, and weld profile. Forming behavior, such as tensile behavior, deep drawability, and forming limit, was predicted. The expert system was updated with respect to base materials and formability prediction and criteria used for the prediction.” – All of these elements are used as inputs to the modeling. Page 14, Third Column, Expert System Development “For this work, the researchers used artificial neural network (ANN) to develop the expert system for predicting TWB forming behavior. ANN was trained to learn arbitrary nonlinear relationships between input and output parameters of TWBs, which can be used for obtaining deformation behavior of TWBs for any given input property combinations. The data required for ANN training was obtained from simulations using PAM STAMP® 2G, an elastoplastic finite element code.” – As part of the analysis to train the neural network, the entire system, including both of the sheets and the weld bead, are modeled using finite element analysis to determine final properties of part formed by pressing the tailored welded blank.
performing press-forming analysis using the analysis model data to calculate deformation of the elements for the first sheet, the second sheet and the weld bead when the tailored blank is press formed; (Ganesh Page 14, Forming Properties That Can Be Predicted “This research work involved aluminum sheet base material and weld region properties as shown in Figure 3. Seven significant TWB parameters were chosen as input to the expert system (see Figure 4) for deep-drawing behavior and tensile behavior prediction. The standard ASTM E646-98 sample was used for simulating the tensile behavior of TWBs. In the case of deep drawing of TWBs, a square-cup deep-drawing simulation was constructed as per the NUMISHEET ’93 benchmark specifications The tensile response of TWBs— namely, stress-strain curve, yield strength, ultimate tensile strength, uniform elongation, strain hardening exponent (n), and strength coefficient (K—was evaluated and predicted by the expert system. The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation. •Maximum weld line movement— considered of practical importance, as the weld region ideally should be located in the safe region of the drawn cup. •Draw depth—obtained after cup failure was witnessed. •Draw-in profile—quantified by the dimensions DX, DY, and DD. The draw-in profile is important and can be related to anisotropic sheet properties and earring behavior of sheet metal. In the case of steel TWBs, the initial shape of the blank also was considered as input to the expert system, and the entire weld line profile was predicted during deep drawing. In this case, the expert system was able to predict the forming limit strains of the TWBs. – The press-forming analysis is conducted using simulation, where the elements undergo stress and the representative drawn model updates the geometries of the sheets and the weld bead of the TWB. Again, this is performed using finite element analysis.)
deciding on a design value of a width of the weld bead for each of positions along a longitudinal direction of the weld bead in the tailored blank prior to press forming based on a press-forming-induced change in a width relating to the elements for the weld bead obtained through calculation of the deformation of the elements for the first sheet, the second sheet, and the weld bead when the tailored blank is press formed at the press-forming analysis step, to generate bead-width design data indicating a relationship between a position along the longitudinal direction of the weld bead and the design value of the width of the weld bead in the tailored blank prior to press forming, ; and (Ganesh Page 15, Figure 4 and Page 14, Forming Properties That Can Be Predicted “Seven significant TWB parameters were chosen as input to the expert system (see Figure 4) for deep-drawing behavior and tensile behavior prediction. The standard ASTM E646-98 sample was used for simulating the tensile behavior of TWBs. […] The tensile response of TWBs— namely, stress-strain curve, yield strength, ultimate tensile strength, uniform elongation, strain hardening exponent (n), and strength coefficient (K—was evaluated and predicted by the expert system. The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation. •Maximum weld line movement— considered of practical importance, as the weld region ideally should be located in the safe region of the drawn cup. •Draw depth—obtained after cup failure was witnessed. •Draw-in profile—quantified by the dimensions DX, DY, and DD. The draw-in profile is important and can be related to anisotropic sheet properties and earring behavior of sheet metal.” – The system is trained to output a weld line movement (“bead-width design data indicating a relationships between a position along the longitudinal direction of the weld bead and thee design value of the width of the weld bead”) based on an input of weld bead width (W) (“a design value of a width of the weld bead for each of positions along a longitudinal direction of the weld bead in the tailored blank prior to press-forming”) based on the FEM simulation of the weld line movement. Page 13, Expert System for TWB Formability “Automotive sheet forming engineers can use an expert system to determine a TWB’s forming behavior. An expert system is an intelligent computer program which, like a human consultant, aims to deliver accurate suggestions for solving a problem at any level, such as during planning, designing, manufacturing, and quality control. Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials.” See Also Figure 2 on Page 14 – The critical weld line movement depends on the weld thickness, so, when the model is deployed for inference, the model will be used to determine bead widths (when the other parameters are determined) that yield the appropriate weld line movement. When looking at the inputs in FIG. 2, they include an initial bead width. The output includes weld line movement, which is the difference between the initial width and the final width. This means the design is created to determine initial parameters (including initial bead width) to output a desired output width (represented by the initial bead width and accounting for the weld line movement). Further still, the weld line movement, when accounting for the initial input width, is the design width along all lengths of the welds, longitudinal or otherwise. This is a base function of finite element analysis and will be represented in a machine learning model designed to mimic the output of the finite element analysis.)
performing a welding process by welding the first sheet and the second sheet the width in the bead-width design data that was generated (Ganesh Page 1, Expert System for TWB Formability Prediction “The forming behavior of TWBs is influenced by several parameters, including thickness and strength differences between the sheets being welded; weld conditions such as weld properties, orientation, and location; number of welds; welding technique; and weld profile and microstructure. Predicting the TWB’s parameters in advance can help the fabricator determine its formability compared to that of unwelded base material. However, this prediction requires a lot of experimental and simulation trials for each case, which is time-consuming and resource intensive.” Page 13, Middle Column, Third Paragraph “Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials.”)
Ganesh likely implicitly teaches (Ganesh Page 13, Expert System for TWB Formability Prediction ““The forming behavior of TWBs is influenced by several parameters, including thickness and strength differences between the sheets being welded; weld conditions such as weld properties, orientation, and location; number of welds; welding technique; and weld profile and microstructure. Predicting the TWB’s parameters in advance can help the fabricator determine its formability compared to that of unwelded base material. However, this prediction requires a lot of experimental and simulation trials for each case, which is time-consuming and resource intensive.”), but does not appear to explicitly teach, but Ganesh in view of Leitao teaches:
wherein the design value of the width varies along the longitudinal direction; and
performing a welding process by welding the first sheet and the second sheet while controlling heat inputs at various positions along the weld line, the heat inputs at the various positions corresponding to the design values, for the respective positions along the longitudinal direction, of the width in the bead-width design data that was generated (Katayama Page 206, 7.3.4 Monitoring results and adaptive control during laser bead welding “Bead-on-plate welding of 0.1 mm-thick Type 304 stainless steel sheet was carried out on 1 mm-thick aluminum plate with f2 mm through-hole (for providing difference in thermal diffusivity or heat transfer) with a 75 W fibre laser beam at 10 mm/s welding speed. The obtained weld bead surface appearance is shown in Fig. 7.3040, 41. The bead width is 320 mm on the average on the plain plate, while it increases to 790 mm at the maximum on the through-hole position. A typical example of the monitoring results of laser power, heat radiation and high-speed observation images is shown in Fig. 7.3140, 41. a molten pool is observed to grow up to double size and then decreases into the normal size while the laser beam spot passes through the through-hole position. The reflected light is kept almost constant in spite of the through-hole. On the other hand, the heat radiation intensity increases more than twice as high as that measured on the aluminum plate, and then drops down to the normal level measured on the heat sink. A typical experimental result of monitoring during fibre laser welding under the adaptive control at 4 ms cycle time is shown in Fig. 7.3240, 41. the lower photos demonstrate that the molten pool size is widely reduced even at the through-hole position in comparison with that without adaptive control as shown in Fig. 7.30. Then the laser peak power showing such rapid and complicated changes is controlled under the adaptive control. Consequently, it is found that adaptively-controlled peak power in micro welding with CW fibre laser is beneficial to the stable production of a weld bead regardless of the existence of the heat sink area.” See Also Figure 7.30 (shown below) – The use of varying bead width is a common way to accommodate welds between elements that do not perfectly conform, or have gaps to be filled. For example, the weld in FIG. 7.30 is made on a through hole. The weld bead must be wider at the through hole, along the longitudinal direction, in order to fill the undesired gap. The design width for the weld beads at this position is higher by virtue of the nature of the weld. The reference also discloses dynamic control of the laser/heat inputs at various positions along the longitudinal length.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the weld processes of Ganesh by the weld processes of Katayama because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the aim of Ganesh to determine the best weld conditions, to look to Katayama, which teaches important items during welding in detail. (Ganesh Page 13, Middle Column, Third Paragraph “Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials.”; Katayama Pages 207-208, 7.4 Conclusions “Important items during PW or CW laser welding were described in detail. Especially, in spot welding, the welding conditions affecting weld geometry and penetration, laser-induced plume behaviour, the interaction between a laser beam and its induced plume, keyhole behaviour, and solidification cracking, bubble generation in the molten pool leading to the porosity formation in the weld fusion zones were summarized. Formation mechanisms and suppression procedures of porosity or pores and solidification cracking, and in-process monitoring and adaptive control during welding for the prevention of hole were also described. In bead welding, the factors affecting weld geometry or penetration, plume behaviour, interaction between laser beam and plume or plasma, formation mechanisms and suppression procedures of porosity or pores, in-process monitoring and adaptive control were described. Such data will be referred to every person relating to laser and its welding.”)
Claim 12
Regarding claim 12, Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches the features of claim 1, and further teaches:
further comprising: press forming the tailored blank to manufacture a press-formed product including weld beads having a width corresponding to the design value in the bead-width design data that was generated. (Ganesh Page 1, Left Column, First Paragraph – Middle Column, Third Paragraph “Tailor welded blanks (TWBs) (see Figure 1) are blanks with two or more sheets of different thicknesses, materials, or coatings welded in a single plane before forming. Aluminum TWBs are used commonly in the automotive sector, for which they are formed into sheet components for hoods, floor and door inner panels, and side frame rails. Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials.” – The design data is used to manufacture the TWBs. Page 2, Middle Column, Third-Fourth Paragraphs “The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation.” – The manufacture includes the press forming/punch force. Page 2, Figure 2 (Shown Below) – This shows that the initial width of the weld prior to pressing and the weld line movement, which represents the final width of the weld after pressing, in each iteration, are both design specifications. NOTE: As mentioned in the 35 USC 112(b) rejection, the claim is unclear as to which claimed width is claimed from claim 1. That said, in the interest of compact prosecution, this is presented with mapping that covers all widths of the weld bead represented in the claims.)
Claim 13
Regarding claim 13, Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches the features of claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein generating bead-width design data accounts for press-forming-induced changes in the width of the weld bead in the tailored blank to bring the width of the weld bead in the press-formed product closer to a target width. (Ganesh Page 2, Middle Column, Third Paragraphs – Right Column, First Three Bullets “The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation.” •Maximum weld line movement— considered of practical importance, as the weld region ideally should be located in the safe region of the drawn cup. •Draw depth—obtained after cup failure was witnessed. •Draw-in profile—quantified by the dimensions DX, DY, and DD. The draw-in profile is important and can be related to anisotropic sheet properties and earring behavior of sheet metal.– The design includes press-forming induced changes. Figure 2 – The press forces are modeled as stress-strain responses in all dimensions, including along the weld bead, in finite element. This is modeled for the machine learning training to train the model to mimic the analysis by the finite element model. Figure two demonstrates a design input of the weld bead width and a final design width based on the weld line movement.)
Claim 14
Regarding claim 14, Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches the features of claim 1, and further teaches:
bringing an edge of a tailored blank first sheet and an edge of a tailored blank second sheet into butt welding position and moving a fusion location forward along a butt line to weld the edge of the tailored blank first sheet and the edge of the tailored blank second sheet, the fusion location being moved forward while controlling an amount of heat input for fusing based on the bead-width design data that was generated. (Ganesh Page 1, Left Column, First Paragraph – Middle Column, Third Paragraph “Tailor welded blanks (TWBs) (see Figure 1) are blanks with two or more sheets of different thicknesses, materials, or coatings welded in a single plane before forming. Aluminum TWBs are used commonly in the automotive sector, for which they are formed into sheet components for hoods, floor and door inner panels, and side frame rails. Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials.” – The design data is used to manufacture the TWBs, which are formed by bringing an edge of a tailored blank first sheet and an edge of a tailored blank second sheet into butt welding position and moving a fusion location forward along a butt line to weld the edge of the tailored blank first sheet and the edge of the tailored blank second sheet, the fusion location being moved forward while controlling an amount of heat input for fusing, the product of which is shown in Figure 1. Page 2, Middle Column, Third-Fourth Paragraphs “The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation.” – The manufacture includes the press forming/punch force. Page 2, Figure 2 (Shown Below) – This shows that the initial width of the weld prior to pressing and the weld line movement, which represents the final width of the weld after pressing, in each iteration, are both design specifications. These are used to determine how a TWB is welded prior to press forming in the manufacturing process.)
Claim 15
Regarding claim 15, Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches the features of claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein the bead-width design data indicates a distribution of the design value of the width of the weld bead along the longitudinal direction of the weld bead. (Ganesh Page 1, Left Column, First Paragraph – Middle Column, Third Paragraph “Tailor welded blanks (TWBs) (see Figure 1) are blanks with two or more sheets of different thicknesses, materials, or coatings welded in a single plane before forming. Aluminum TWBs are used commonly in the automotive sector, for which they are formed into sheet components for hoods, floor and door inner panels, and side frame rails. Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials.” – The design data is used to manufacture the TWBs. Page 2, Middle Column, Third-Fourth Paragraphs “The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation.” – The manufacture includes the press forming/punch force. Page 2, Figure 2 (Shown Below) – This shows that the initial width of the weld prior to pressing and the weld line movement, which represents the final width of the weld after pressing, in each iteration, are both design specifications. The weld line movement, relative to the original thickness provides the relationship of the distribution of the design value of the bead along all directions of the weld bead, including a longitudinal direction, as modeled in the finite element process.)
Claim 16
Regarding claim 16, Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches the features of claim 1, and further teaches:
wherein the bead-width design data indicates how to set a width of the weld bead for each of positions along the longitudinal direction of the weld bead. (Ganesh Page 1, Left Column, First Paragraph – Middle Column, Third Paragraph “Tailor welded blanks (TWBs) (see Figure 1) are blanks with two or more sheets of different thicknesses, materials, or coatings welded in a single plane before forming. Aluminum TWBs are used commonly in the automotive sector, for which they are formed into sheet components for hoods, floor and door inner panels, and side frame rails. Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials.” – The design data is used to manufacture the TWBs. Page 2, Middle Column, Third-Fourth Paragraphs “The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation.” – The manufacture includes the press forming/punch force. Page 2, Figure 2 (Shown Below) – This shows that the initial width of the weld prior to pressing and the weld line movement, which represents the final width of the weld after pressing, in each iteration, are both design specifications. The weld line movement, relative to the original thickness provides the relationship of the distribution of the design value of the bead along all directions of the weld bead, including a longitudinal direction, as modeled in the finite element process.)
Claims 2-3: Ganesh, Katayama, and Cook
Claim(s) 2 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL: “Determining the forming behavior of tailor welded blanks” by Ganesh et al. (Ganesh) in view of NPL: “Understanding and improving process control in pulsed and continuous wave laser welding” by Katayama (Katayama) and NPL: “Iterative linear solvers as metaphor” by Cook (Cook).
Claim 2
Regarding claim 2, Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches the features of claim 1 and further teaches:
wherein the acquiring of the analysis model data, the performing of the press-forming analysis, and the deciding on the design value of the width of the weld bead, are repeatedly performed in two or more iterations; and (NOTE This is a mere repetition of the respective steps of the independent claim and is rejected for the same reasons as those steps.)
the acquiring of the analysis model data from a second iteration onward acquires analysis model data containing the elements for the weld bead with a width based on the bead width design data . (Ganesh Page 15, Figure 4 and Page 14, Forming Properties That Can Be Predicted “Seven significant TWB parameters were chosen as input to the expert system (see Figure 4) for deep-drawing behavior and tensile behavior prediction. The standard ASTM E646-98 sample was used for simulating the tensile behavior of TWBs. […] The tensile response of TWBs— namely, stress-strain curve, yield strength, ultimate tensile strength, uniform elongation, strain hardening exponent (n), and strength coefficient (K—was evaluated and predicted by the expert system. The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation. •Maximum weld line movement— considered of practical importance, as the weld region ideally should be located in the safe region of the drawn cup. •Draw depth—obtained after cup failure was witnessed. •Draw-in profile—quantified by the dimensions DX, DY, and DD. The draw-in profile is important and can be related to anisotropic sheet properties and earring behavior of sheet metal.” – The system is trained to output a weld line movement (“bead-width design data indicating a relationships between a position along the longitudinal direction of the weld bead and thee design value of the width of the weld bead”) based on an input of weld bead width (W) (“a design value of a width of the weld bead for each of positions along a longitudinal direction of the weld bead in the tailored blank prior to press-forming”) based on the FEM simulation of the weld line movement. Page 13, Expert System for TWB Formability “Automotive sheet forming engineers can use an expert system to determine a TWB’s forming behavior. An expert system is an intelligent computer program which, like a human consultant, aims to deliver accurate suggestions for solving a problem at any level, such as during planning, designing, manufacturing, and quality control. Researchers have been developing an expert system for TWBs that can predict their tensile, deep-drawing, and forming behaviors under varied base material and weld conditions using different formability tests and criteria and different material models. Expert systems might be used to determine the best material combinations and weld conditions for making successful TWBs, without the need for simulation and experimental trials. – The critical weld line movement depends on the weld thickness, so, when the model is deployed for inference, the model will be used to determine bead widths (when the other parameters are determined) that yield the appropriate weld line movement. Also, See Ganesh FIG. 2 for iterative approaches to design.)
Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches that a model can be used to predict the properties of a tailored blank after being pressed based on an input of the weld bead width and other factors and asserts that the model is useful for determining the design parameters prior to pressing, but it does not appear to specifically teach, but Ganesh in view of Katayama and Cook teaches:
the model acquisition step from a second round onward acquires analysis model data containing the elements for the weld bead with a width based on the bead width design data that was generated in a previous iteration. (Cook “Iterative methods start by taking a guess at the final solution. In some contexts, this guess may be fairly good. For example, when solving differential equations, the solution from one time step gives a good initial guess at the solution for the next time step. Similarly, in sequential Bayesian analysis the posterior distribution mode doesn’t move much as each observation arrives. Iterative methods can take advantage of a good starting guess while methods like Gaussian elimination cannot. Iterative methods take an initial guess and refine it to a better approximation to the solution. This sequence of approximations converges to the exact solution. In theory, Gaussian elimination produces an exact answer in a finite number of steps, but iterative methods never produce an exact solution after any finite number of steps. But in actual computation with finite precision arithmetic, no method, iterative or not, ever produces an exact answer. The question is not which method is exact but which method produces an acceptably accurate answer first. Often the iterative method wins.” – Cook discusses using a trial and error interactive approach to arrive at a solution. In combination with Ganesh, Cook teaches trying different values of weld bead width (and other parameters) to get a specific output of weld line movement.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the use of a rendered model for determining weld parameters of Ganesh by the trial and error method of determining a desired set of parameters of Cook because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the stated desire in Ganesh to make a functional model to determine parameters for a mathematical system to look to Cook to utilize the model through trial and error to determine acceptably accurate design specifications, including a weld bead width, that often beats other methods of determination. (Ganesh Page 13, First Column, Last Paragraph – Second Column, Second Paragraph “The forming behavior of TWBs is influenced by several parameters, including thickness and strength differences between the sheets being welded; weld conditions such as weld properties, orientation, and location; number of welds; welding technique; and weld profile and microstructure. Predicting the TWB’s parameters in advance can help the fabricator determine its formability compared to that of unwelded base material. However, this prediction requires a lot of experimental and simulation trials for each case, which is time-consuming and resource intensive. Automotive sheet forming engineers can use an expert system to determine a TWB’s forming behavior. An expert system is an intelligent computer program which, like a human consultant, aims to deliver accurate suggestions for solving a problem at any level, such as during planning, designing, manufacturing, and quality control.; Cook Page 1, Third-Fourth Paragraphs “Iterative methods start by taking a guess at the final solution. In some contexts, this guess may be fairly good. For example, when solving differential equations, the solution from one time step gives a good initial guess at the solution for the next time step. Similarly, in sequential Bayesian analysis the posterior distribution mode doesn’t move much as each observation arrives. Iterative methods can take advantage of a good starting guess while methods like Gaussian elimination cannot. Iterative methods take an initial guess and refine it to a better approximation to the solution. This sequence of approximations converges to the exact solution. In theory, Gaussian elimination produces an exact answer in a finite number of steps, but iterative methods never produce an exact solution after any finite number of steps. But in actual computation with finite precision arithmetic, no method, iterative or not, ever produces an exact answer. The question is not which method is exact but which method produces an acceptably accurate answer first. Often the iterative method wins.”)
Claim 3
Ganesh in view of Katayama teaches the features of claim 1, Ganesh in view of Katayama and Cook teaches the features of claim 2, and further teaches:
a join-line-containing-model acquisition step for acquiring join-line-containing analysis model data representing a tailored blank having a first sheet and a second sheet joined together, the join-line-containing model data containing elements for the first sheet and elements for the second sheet and including a join line for the first and second sheets, the elements for the first sheet and the elements for the second sheet being in contact along the join line; (Ganesh Page 14, Third Column, Expert System Development “For this work, the researchers used artificial neural network (ANN) to develop the expert system for predicting TWB forming behavior. ANN was trained to learn arbitrary nonlinear relationships between input and output parameters of TWBs, which can be used for obtaining deformation behavior of TWBs for any given input property combinations. The data required for ANN training was obtained from simulations using PAM STAMP® 2G, an elastoplastic finite element code. – The system models the deformation of the tailored blank along the join-line during pressing with finite element analysis.
a previous-press-forming analysis step for performing press-forming analysis using the join-line-containing analysis model data to calculate deformation of the elements for the first and second sheets when the tailored blank represented by the join-line-containing analysis model data is press formed; and (Ganesh “Page 14, Forming Properties That Can Be Predicted “This research work involved aluminum sheet base material and weld region properties as shown in Figure 3. Seven significant TWB parameters were chosen as input to the expert system (see Figure 4) for deep-drawing behavior and tensile behavior prediction. The standard ASTM E646-98 sample was used for simulating the tensile behavior of TWBs. In the case of deep drawing of TWBs, a square-cup deep-drawing simulation was constructed as per the NUMISHEET ’93 benchmark specifications The tensile response of TWBs— namely, stress-strain curve, yield strength, ultimate tensile strength, uniform elongation, strain hardening exponent (n), and strength coefficient (K—was evaluated and predicted by the expert system. The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation. •Maximum weld line movement— considered of practical importance, as the weld region ideally should be located in the safe region of the drawn cup. •Draw depth—obtained after cup failure was witnessed. •Draw-in profile—quantified by the dimensions DX, DY, and DD. The draw-in profile is important and can be related to anisotropic sheet properties and earring behavior of sheet metal. In the case of steel TWBs, the initial shape of the blank also was considered as input to the expert system, and the entire weld line profile was predicted during deep drawing. In this case, the expert system was able to predict the forming limit strains of the TWBs. – The press-forming analysis is conducted using simulation, where the elements undergo stress and the representative drawn model updates the geometries of the sheets and the weld bead of the TWB. Again, this is performed using finite element analysis.)
an initial value generation step for deciding on an initial value of the width of the weld bead corresponding to the join line based on a press-forming-induced change in a width relating to elements for the first and second sheets on both sides of the join line obtained through the calculation at the -press-forming analysis step to generate initial value data indicating a relationship between a position along the longitudinal direction of the weld bead and the initial value of the width of the weld bead, (Ganesh Page 15, Figure 4 and Page 14, Forming Properties That Can Be Predicted “Seven significant TWB parameters were chosen as input to the expert system (see Figure 4) for deep-drawing behavior and tensile behavior prediction. The standard ASTM E646-98 sample was used for simulating the tensile behavior of TWBs. […] The tensile response of TWBs— namely, stress-strain curve, yield strength, ultimate tensile strength, uniform elongation, strain hardening exponent (n), and strength coefficient (K—was evaluated and predicted by the expert system. The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation. •Maximum weld line movement— considered of practical importance, as the weld region ideally should be located in the safe region of the drawn cup. •Draw depth—obtained after cup failure was witnessed. •Draw-in profile—quantified by the dimensions DX, DY, and DD. The draw-in profile is important and can be related to anisotropic sheet properties and earring behavior of sheet metal.” – The study determined, as shown in Figure 4, that different weld bead widths were selected to try on the basis of determining weld line movement, among other parameters. The entirety of the system is drawn, including the sheets and the weld bead, which define the weld line. This includes a calculation that uses the weld bead width at each position along the longitudinal length of the weld.)
wherein the model acquisition step acquires the analysis model data containing the elements for the weld bead with a width . (Ganesh Page 15, Figure 4 and Page 14, Forming Properties That Can Be Predicted “Seven significant TWB parameters were chosen as input to the expert system (see Figure 4) for deep-drawing behavior and tensile behavior prediction. The standard ASTM E646-98 sample was used for simulating the tensile behavior of TWBs. […] The tensile response of TWBs— namely, stress-strain curve, yield strength, ultimate tensile strength, uniform elongation, strain hardening exponent (n), and strength coefficient (K—was evaluated and predicted by the expert system. The deep-drawing behaviors monitored were: •Maximum punch force—obtained from force-progression data during deep-drawing simulation. •Maximum weld line movement— considered of practical importance, as the weld region ideally should be located in the safe region of the drawn cup. •Draw depth—obtained after cup failure was witnessed. •Draw-in profile—quantified by the dimensions DX, DY, and DD. The draw-in profile is important and can be related to anisotropic sheet properties and earring behavior of sheet metal.” – The study determined, as shown in Figure 4, that different weld bead widths were selected to try on the basis of determining weld line movement, among other parameters. The entirety of the system is drawn, including the sheets and the weld bead, which define the weld line. This includes a calculation that uses the weld bead width at each position along the longitudinal length of the weld.)
Ganesh teaches that a model can be used to predict the properties of a tailored blank after being pressed based on an input of the weld bead width and other factors and asserts that the model is useful for determining the design parameters prior to pressing, but it does not specifically teach, but Ganesh in view of Cook teaches:
an initial value generation step for deciding on an initial value of the width of the weld bead corresponding to the join line based on a press-forming-induced change in a width relating to elements for the first and second sheets on both sides of the join line obtained through the calculation at the previous based on the initial value data generated at the initial value generation step. (Cook “Iterative methods start by taking a guess at the final solution. In some contexts, this guess may be fairly good. For example, when solving differential equations, the solution from one time step gives a good initial guess at the solution for the next time step. Similarly, in sequential Bayesian analysis the posterior distribution mode doesn’t move much as each observation arrives. Iterative methods can take advantage of a good starting guess while methods like Gaussian elimination cannot. Iterative methods take an initial guess and refine it to a better approximation to the solution. This sequence of approximations converges to the exact solution. In theory, Gaussian elimination produces an exact answer in a finite number of steps, but iterative methods never produce an exact solution after any finite number of steps. But in actual computation with finite precision arithmetic, no method, iterative or not, ever produces an exact answer. The question is not which method is exact but which method produces an acceptably accurate answer first. Often the iterative method wins.” – Cook discusses using a trial and error interactive approach to arrive at a solution. In combination with Ganesh, Cook teaches trying different values of weld bead width (and other parameters) to get a specific output of weld line movement.)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claims to modify the use of a rendered model for determining weld parameters of Ganesh by the trial and error method of determining a desired set of parameters of Cook because the person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated by the stated desire in Ganesh to make a functional model to determine parameters for a mathematical system to look to Cook to utilize the model through trial and error to determine acceptably accurate design specifications, including a weld bead width, that often beats other methods of determination. (Ganesh Page 13, First Column, Last Paragraph – Second Column, Second Paragraph “The forming behavior of TWBs is influenced by several parameters, including thickness and strength differences between the sheets being welded; weld conditions such as weld properties, orientation, and location; number of welds; welding technique; and weld profile and microstructure. Predicting the TWB’s parameters in advance can help the fabricator determine its formability compared to that of unwelded base material. However, this prediction requires a lot of experimental and simulation trials for each case, which is time-consuming and resource intensive. Automotive sheet forming engineers can use an expert system to determine a TWB’s forming behavior. An expert system is an intelligent computer program which, like a human consultant, aims to deliver accurate suggestions for solving a problem at any level, such as during planning, designing, manufacturing, and quality control.; Cook Page 1, Third-Fourth Paragraphs “Iterative methods start by taking a guess at the final solution. In some contexts, this guess may be fairly good. For example, when solving differential equations, the solution from one time step gives a good initial guess at the solution for the next time step. Similarly, in sequential Bayesian analysis the posterior distribution mode doesn’t move much as each observation arrives. Iterative methods can take advantage of a good starting guess while methods like Gaussian elimination cannot. Iterative methods take an initial guess and refine it to a better approximation to the solution. This sequence of approximations converges to the exact solution. In theory, Gaussian elimination produces an exact answer in a finite number of steps, but iterative methods never produce an exact solution after any finite number of steps. But in actual computation with finite precision arithmetic, no method, iterative or not, ever produces an exact answer. The question is not which method is exact but which method produces an acceptably accurate answer first. Often the iterative method wins.”)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
(From Current Office Action)
US 2021/0170512 A1 to KIMURA et al. (Teaches in [0009] variation of weld bead width due to dimensional variation)
US 2005/0091847 A1 to Beneteau et al. (Teaches in [0021] a weld bead with varying thickness that conforms to a minimum weld bead thickness)
US 2007/0007259 A1 to Mikhailov et al. (Teaches in [0013] designs with varying the width of a weld bead)
US 2019/0134731 A1 to Nakako et al. (Teaches methods to inhibit variation in weld bead width to prevent defects in [0025]-[0034])
US 2010/0317460 A1 to Hirano et al. (Teaches in [0063] and [0075] designing a longitudinal weld bead of varying widths in a golf club)
US 2021/0354248 A1 to Fujimoto et al. (Teaches general methods of welding and stamping tailored welded blanks)
NPL: “A method for establishing the plastic constitutive relationship of the weld bead and heat-affected zone of welded tubes based on the rule of mixtures and a microhardness test” by Zahn et al. (Teaches longitudinal welds with varying thicknesses)
NPL: “Influence of weld geometry and mismatch on formability of aluminium tailor welded blanks: numerical and experimental analysis” by Leitoa et al. (Teaches the influence of well bead geometry on formability of tailored welded blanks)
NPL: “Prediction of Bead Geometry with Changing Welding Speed Using Artificial Neural Network” by Li et al. (Teaches longitudinal control of weld bead width based on weld speed using ANNs)
NPL: “Influence of input process parameters on weld bead width of shielded metal arc welded joints for AISI 1010 plates” by Pathak et al. (Teaches how to control the weld bead width during a weld)
NPL: “Development of FSW to manufacture tailor welded blanks for lightweight transport applications.” By de Sousa Santos (Teaches significant details about welding of tailored welded blanks)
(From Prior Office Action)
NPL: “Estimation of Tailor-welded Blank Parameters for Acceptable Tensile Behaviour using ANN” by Dhumal et al. (Teaches the claim elements and is similar to Ganesh, who is also an author)
NPL: “A New Surface Inspection Method of TWBS Based on Active Laser-triangulation” by Zhang et al. (Teaches specific TWB design specifications present in the Applicant’s specification)
US 20210354248 A1 to Fujimoto et al. (Teaches general details of TWB manufacture and design)
NPL: “Spot-Weld Fatigue optimization” by Anderson et al. (Teaches different considerations for spot welds, including for tailored blanks)
NPL: “An inverse approach to the numerical design of the process sequence of tailored heat treated blanks” by Geiger et al. (Teaches modeling the effect of press-forming on a weld bead)
NPL: “Optimizing weld morphology and mechanical properties of laser welded Al-Si coated 22MnB5 by surface application of colloidal graphite” by Khan et al. (Teaches weld morphology optimization)
NPL: “Welding Methods and Forming Characteristics of Tailored Blanks (TBs)” by Miyazaki et al. (Teaches aspects of formation of tailored blanks)
NPL: “Prediction of weld bead geometry and penetration in shielded metal-arc welding using artificial neural networks” by Nagesh et al. (Teaches using neural networks to predict weld bead geometry)
NPL: “An Analytical Model to Predict Elongation of Tailor Welded Blanks [TWB]” by Patel et al. (Teaches predicting press forming effects based on the weld bead of a tailor welded blank)
NPL: “Forming of Tailor-Welded Blanks” by Saunders et al. (Teaches aspects of how tailor welded blanks are originally formed and pressed)
NPL: “Bead geometry prediction for robotic GMAW-based rapid manufacturing through a neural network and a second-order regression analysis” by Xiong et al. (Teaches using a neural network to predict weld bead geometry)
/J.M.W./Examiner, Art Unit 2188
/RYAN F PITARO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2188