DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al (US 2019/0152985, cited on IDS filed on 8/12/2025).
Regarding claim 1, Suh et al discloses an organic light emitting device comprising the following compound (Abstract and Page 36):
.
This compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where:
X1 and X2 are both O;
L1 to L3 are each single bonds;
Ar1 is a phenyl group, i.e. an unsubstituted C6 aryl group;
Ar2 is biphenyl group, i.e. a substituted C6 aryl group or a C12 aryl group;
R1 is hydrogen;
R2 is an unsubstituted C9 aryl;
m2 is one (1);
R3 is hydrogen;
m3 is two.
R4 is hydrogen;
m1 is four (4)
The difference between the compound disclosed by the reference and that claimed is position of the aromatic amine group, i.e. the compound disclosed by the reference possesses the aromatic amine on the fused naphthyl group, while claims require the presence of the aromatic amine of the benzene ring. Thus, the compound disclosed by reference and that claimed are isomers - compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus, and the courts have held, as found in In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977), that compounds which are isomers “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”.
In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound disclosed in the reference and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Suh et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses an isomer of Chemical Formula 1B:
.
Isomers are compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus, and the courts have held, as found in In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977), that compounds which are isomers “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”.
In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound disclosed in the reference and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 3, Suh et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses an isomer of Chemical Formulas 1A-1 to 1A-4. Isomers are compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus, and the courts have held, as found in In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977), that compounds which are isomers “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”.
In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound disclosed in the reference and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 4, Suh et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ar1 is an unsubstituted phenyl group and Ar2 is an unsubstituted biphenyl group.
Regarding claim 5, Suh et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Ar1 is:
and Ar2 is:
Regarding claim 6, Suh et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, L1, L2 and L3 are single bonds.
Regarding claim 7, Suh al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above the reference discloses an isomer of Compound 1-452:
.
Isomers are compounds having the same radicals in physically different positions on the same nucleus, and the courts have held, as found in In re Wilder, 563 F.2d 457, 195 USPQ 426 (CCPA 1977), that compounds which are isomers “are generally of sufficiently close structural similarity that there is a presumed expectation that such compounds possess similar properties”.
In light of the case law cited above, it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the compound disclosed in the present claims is but an obvious variant of the compound disclosed in the reference and thereby one of ordinary skill in the art would have arrived at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 14, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Suh et al discloses the following organic light emitting device ([0018] – Figure 1):
,
where device comprises: an anode (2) facing the cathode (4); and a light emitting layer (3), i.e. an organic layer, disposed between the anode (2) and cathode (3), and where light emitting layer (3) comprises the disclosed compound ([0017]).
Regarding claim 15, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Suh et al discloses that the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed compound ([0017]).
Claims 8-13 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Suh et al (US 2019/0152985, cited on IDS filed on 8/12/2025) as applied to claims 1-7 and 14-15 above, and in view of Moon et al (US 2022/0131081).
The discussion with respect to Suh et al as set forth in Paragraph 5 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 8, Suh et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. While the reference discloses that the light emitting layer, i.e. a composition, of the organic light emitting device comprises the disclosed compound, the reference does not disclose that the light emitting layer comprises the second compound as recited in the present claims.
Moon et al discloses an organic electroluminescent device where the light emitting layer comprises the following compound ([0006], [0048], and Page 7 – C-6):
.
This compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where X3 is S and R5 is hydrogen. Ring A corresponds to:
,
where R7 is hydrogen. R8 corresponds to Chemical Formula a:
,
where:
Z1 to Z3 are N;
L4 to L6 are single bonds;
Ar3 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; and
Ar4 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following compound (Page 7 – C-4):
.
This compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where X3 is S and R5 is hydrogen. Ring A corresponds to:
,
where R7 is hydrogen. R8 corresponds to Chemical Formula a:
,
where:
Z1 to Z3 are N;
L4 to L6 are single bonds;
Ar3 and A4 are unsubstituted C6 aryl groups.
The reference discloses the organic light emitting device utilizing the compound possesses a long lifetime and high luminous efficiency properties.
Given that both Suh et al and Moon et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices, and given that Suh et al does not explicitly prohibit other ingredients, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the compound as taught by Moon, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such compounds in the light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Suh et al, thereby obtaining a composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Moon et al discloses compounds corresponding to Chemical Formula 2-VI:
.
Regarding claim 10, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Moon et al discloses compounds corresponding to Chemical Formula 2-VI:
.
Regarding claim 11, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Moon et al discloses the compound:
,
corresponding to Chemical formula 2-VI-1:
.
Regarding claim 12, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compounds disclosed by Moon et al, Ar3 is an unsubstituted phenyl group and Ar4 is an unsubstituted biphenyl group; or Ar3 and Ar4 are unsubstituted phenyl groups,
Regarding claim 13, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Moon et al discloses the compound:
,
corresponding to Compound A-65 of the claims.
Regarding claim 17, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Suh et al discloses the following organic light emitting device ([0018] – Figure 1):
,
where device comprises an anode (2) facing the cathode (4); and a light emitting layer (3), i.e. an organic layer, disposed between the anode (2) and cathode (3), where light emitting layer (3) comprises the disclosed compound ([0017]).
Regarding claim 18, the combined disclosures of Suh et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Suh et al discloses that the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed compound ([0017]).
Claims 1-7 and 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2023/0406862).
Regarding claim 1, Lee et al discloses an organic electroluminescent device, i.e. an organic optoelectronic device, comprising the following compound (Page 14 – Compound 047):
.
This compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 1 of the claims:
,
where:
X1 and X2 are both O;
L1 to L3 are each single bonds;
Ar1 is a phenyl group, i.e. an unsubstituted C6 aryl group;
Ar2 is biphenyl group, i.e. a substituted C6 aryl group or a C12 aryl group;
R2 is an unsubstituted C9 aryl;
m2 is one (1); and
R3 is hydrogen; and m3 is two.
The difference between the compound disclosed by the reference and that claimed is that the compound disclosed by the reference does not possess a benzo-dibenzofuran group, i.e. the compound of the reference does not possess a second fused benzene ring as required by Chemical Formula 1A of the claims. However, the compound disclosed by the reference is but one embodiment and attention is directed to Formula 1 ([0011]):
,
where two (2) adjacent groups of R5 to R8 can join to form a C6 aromatic hydrocarbon ring ([0014]).
While the reference fails to exemplify the presently claimed compound nor can the claimed compound be "clearly envisaged" from the reference as required to meet the standard of anticipation, nevertheless, in light of the overlap between the claimed compound and the compound disclosed by the reference, absent a showing of criticality for the presently claimed compound, it is urged that it would have been within the skill level of one of ordinary skill in the art, to use the compound which is both disclosed by the reference and encompassed within the scope of the present claims and thereby arrive at the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 2, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound represented by one Formula 1A, 1B or 1C:
.
Regarding claim 3, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the reference discloses a compound represented by one Chemical formula 1A, 1A-2, 1A-3, or 1A-4.
Regarding claim 4, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Ar1 is an unsubstituted phenyl group and Ar2 is an unsubstituted biphenyl group.
Regarding claim 5, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Ar1 is:
and Ar2 is:
.
Regarding claim 6, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, L1, L2 and L3 are single bonds.
Regarding claim 7, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, the compound disclosed by the reference does not correspond to Compound 1-452:
.
However, attention is directed to Formula 1 ([0011]):
,
where m can be zero (0) and R1 can be hydrogen ([0014]). Accordingly, the disclosure of the reference encompasses Compound 1-452 of the claims.
Regarding claim 14, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses the following organic electroluminescent device ([0154] – Figure 1):
,
where the device comprises an anode (200) facing the cathode (400); and an organic layer (300) disposed between the anode and cathode, where organic layer comprises the disclosed compound ([0200]).
Regarding claim 15, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses that the organic layer comprises a light emitting layer, and the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed compound ([0026]).
Regarding claim 16, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the Background of the reference discloses that an organic light emitting device is a type of self-emission type display device and has advantages that the viewing angle is wide, the contract is excellent and the response speed is fast ([0003]). In light of this disclosure it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the organic light emitting device as a display with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 8-13 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al (US 2023/0406862) as applied to claims 1-7 and 14-16 above, and in view of Moon et al (US 2022/0131081).
The discussion with respect to Lee et al as set forth in Paragraph 7 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 8, Lee et al teaches all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the reference discloses a composition comprising the disclosed compound (Abstract). However, the reference does not disclose that the composition comprises the second compound as recited in the present claims.
Moon et al discloses an organic electroluminescent device where the light emitting layer comprises the following compound ([0006], [0048], and Page 7 – C-6):
.
This compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where X3 is S and R5 is hydrogen. Ring A corresponds to:
,
where R7 is hydrogen. R8 corresponds to Chemical Formula a:
,
where:
Z1 to Z3 are N;
L4 to L6 are single bonds;
Ar3 is an unsubstituted C6 aryl group; and
Ar4 is an unsubstituted C12 aryl group.
Alternatively, the reference discloses the following compound (Page 7 – C-4):
.
This compound corresponds to Chemical Formula 2 of the claims:
,
where X3 is S and R5 is hydrogen. Ring A corresponds to:
,
where R7 is hydrogen. R8 corresponds to Chemical Formula a:
,
where:
Z1 to Z3 are N;
L4 to L6 are single bonds;
Ar3 and A4 are unsubstituted C6 aryl groups.
The reference discloses the organic light emitting device utilizing the compound possesses a long lifetime and high luminous efficiency properties.
Given that both Lee et al and Moon et al are drawn to organic light emitting devices, and given that Suh et al does not explicitly prohibit other ingredients, in light of the particular advantages provided by the use and control of the compound as taught by Moon, it would therefore have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include such compounds in the light emitting layer of the device disclosed by Lee et al, thereby obtaining a composition with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 9, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Moon et al discloses compounds corresponding to Chemical Formula 2-VI:
.
Regarding claim 10, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Moon et al discloses compounds corresponding to Chemical Formula 2-VI:
.
Regarding claim 11, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. From the discussion above, Moon et al discloses the compound:
,
corresponding to Chemical Formula 2-VI-1:
.
Regarding claim 12, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, in the compounds disclosed by Moon et al, Ar3 is an unsubstituted phenyl group and Ar4 is an unsubstituted biphenyl group; or Ar3 and Ar4 are unsubstituted phenyl groups,
Regarding claim 13, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. As discussed above, Moon et al discloses the compound:
,
corresponding to Compound A-65 of the claims.
Regarding claim 17, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Lee et al discloses the following organic electroluminescent device ([0154] – Figure 1):
,
where the device comprises an anode (200) facing the cathode (400); and an organic layer (300) disposed between the anode and cathode, where organic layer comprises the disclosed compound ([0200]).
Regarding claim 18, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, Lee et al discloses that the organic layer comprises a light emitting layer and the light emitting layer comprises the disclosed compound ([0026]).
Regarding claim 19, the combined disclosures of Lee et al and Moon et al teach all the claim limitations as set forth above. Additionally, the Background of Lee et al discloses that an organic light emitting device is a type of self-emission type display device and has advantages that the viewing angle is wide, the contract is excellent and the response speed is fast ([003]). In light of this it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize the organic light emitting device disclosed by Lee et al as a display device with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
/ALEXANDER C KOLLIAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1786