DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-14 are amended in view of applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 10/26/2023. Therefore, claims 1-14 are currently under examination.
Claim Interpretation
The term “An aluminum casting alloy for near net shaped casting of structural or non-structural component” as recited in claim 1 is interpreted to mean an Al alloy that is casted into a product having a shape is very close to the desired final product shape, which is consistent with what is commonly known in the Al alloy casting art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the as-cast state" in line 3 and “the range of 280 to 300MPa” in lines 4-5. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the as-cast state" in line 3 and “the range of 300 to 340MPa” in lines 4-5. There are insufficient antecedent bases for these limitations in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the manufacture of a cast part" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, claim 13 recites “c) subjecting the cast part to a T4 temper treatment which involves a solution heat treatment at temperatures of 460 to 480 °C for 2 to 24 h optionally followed by a forced air or water quenching and natural aging for 7 to 75 days”. There are two steps after the phrase “optionally followed by”. First step is a forced air or water quenching step, and the second step is natural aging step. It is unclear if the forced air or water quenching step is optional, or the natural aging step is optional, or if both steps are optional. In other words, the scope of claimed natural aging is not well defined since it is unclear whether the natural aging step as claimed is a mandatory step or an optional step.
Claim 14 recites the limitation "the manufacture of a cast part" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Additionally, claim 14 recites “c.1) the heat treatment is a T4 temper treatment which involves a solution heat treatment at temperatures of 460 to 480 °C for 2 to 24 h optionally followed by a forced air or water quenching and natural aging for 7 to 75 days”. There are two steps after the phrase “optionally followed by”. First step is a forced air or water quenching step, and the second step is natural aging step. It is unclear if the forced air or water quenching step is optional, or the natural aging step is optional, or if both steps are optional. In other words, the scope of claimed natural aging is not well defined since it is unclear whether the natural aging step as claimed is a mandatory step or an optional step.
Claims 2-7 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 2 recites “the Zn content is not more than 5.5% by mass”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “Zn: 4.5-7.5%”(by mass). The scope of Zn content of claim 2 is broader than the scope of Zn content in parent claim 1, because the scope of Zn content of claim 2 does not include a lower limit.
Claim 3 recites “the Zn content is at least 4.6% by mass”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “Zn: 4.5-7.5%”(by mass). The scope of Zn content of claim 3 is broader than the scope of Zn content in parent claim 1, because the scope of Zn content of claim 3 does not include an upper limit.
Claim 4 recites “the Mg content is not more than 1.0 % by mass”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “Mg: 0.7-2.0%”(by mass). The scope of Mg content of claim 4 is broader than the scope of Mg content in parent claim 1, because the scope of Mn content of claim 4 does not include a lower limit.
Claim 5 recites “the Mg content is at least 0.8 % by mass”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “Mg: 0.7-2.0%”(by mass). The scope of Mg content of claim 5 is broader than the scope of Mg content in parent claim 1, because the scope of Mn content of claim 5 does not include an upper limit.
Claim 6 recites “the Fe content is not more than 1.5 % by mass”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “Fe: 0.8-2.0%”(by mass). The scope of Fe content of claim 6 is broader than the scope of Fe content in parent claim 1, because the scope of Fe content of claim 6 does not include a lower limit.
Claim 7 recites “the Fe content is at least 1.0 % by mass”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “Fe: 0.8-2.0%”(by mass). The scope of Fe content of claim 7 is broader than the scope of Fe content in parent claim 1, because the scope of Fe content of claim 7 does not include a upper limit.
Claim 9 recites “wherein the alloy contains at least 0.05 % by mass of Ti”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “Ti: ≤ 0.2%”(by mass). The scope of Ti content of claim 9 is broader than the scope of Ti content in parent claim 1, because the scope of Ti content of claim 9 does not include an upper limit.
Claim 10 recites “wherein the alloy contains at least 0.1 % by mass of V”. However, its parent claim 1 recites “V: ≤ 0.2%”(by mass). The scope of V content of claim 10 is broader than the scope of V content in parent claim 1, because the scope of V content of claim 10 does not include an upper limit.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shankar et al. US 2019/0376166(Shankar).
Shankar teaches an Al casting alloy for near net shaped casting of structural components, wherein the Al casting alloy having an alloy composition that applies to the instant claims as follows:
Al casting alloy
(mass%)
Instant Application
(mass%)
Shankar
(mass%)
Table 9 Alloy SIB #1
(mass%)
Zn
4.5-7.5
2-10 [0008]
5.0
Mg
0.7-2.0
0.5-5
2.0
Fe
0.8-2.0
0.5-5
1.5
Si
< 0.3
≤ 0.5
0
Cu
< 0.1
< 0.4
0
V
≤ 0.2
≤ 0.5
-
Ti
≤ 0.2
≤ 0.5
0
B
≤ 0.04
≤ 0.5
-
Unavoidable impurities
Sum ≤ 0.1
Impurities(claim 2)
-
Balance Al
Balance Al
Balance Al [0025]
Balance Al
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-8, the Al casting alloy SIB #1 in Table 9 of Shankar has the same chemical composition as claimed Al casting alloy.
Regarding claim 12, the amounts of Zn and Mn in the Al casting alloy of SIB #1 as taught by Shankar reads on the claimed amounts of Zn and Mg. Table 12 of Shankar further teaches at F21 temper(F-temper) the Al casting alloy has an ultimate tensile strength of 315 MPa, a yield strength of 200 and elongation of 3.80(i.e. rounds up to 4). Therefore, the Al casting alloy SIB #1 of Shankar has the same ultimate tensile strength, the same yield strength and the same elongation as claimed Al casting alloy.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 9-11 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shankar et al. US 2019/0376166(Shankar).
The teachings of Shankar are discussed in section 9 above.
Regarding claims 4-5 and 9-10, the broader scope of Shankar teaches an Al casting alloy having amounts of Mg, Ti and V that encompasses the claimed amounts of Mg, Ti and V. Therefore, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 11, the broader scope of Shankar teaches an Al casting alloy having an amount of Mg encompasses the claimed amount of Mg as recited in claim 11.
Regarding claims 13-14, Shankar further teaches a process for manufacturing a cast Al alloy part comprising providing an Al melt having a composition discussed above[0149], casting a cast part from the Al melt[0149-0150], subjecting the cast part to a T4 temper treatment comprising a solution heat treatment at 460° for 3.5 or 24 hrs followed by water quench, followed by aging at room temperature(Table 11, T4-1 and T4-2, and claim 8). The solution heat treatment temperature and duration in the process of Shankar read on the claimed solution heat treatment temperature and duration.
Additionally, although the natural aging as taught by Shankar is 1-24 hours rather than the claimed 7-75days, the examiner still concludes that the broadest scope of the process of Shankar encompasses the claimed natural aging since the Al casting alloy of Shankar, which would have been placed in storage prior to application, would have continued to age naturally at room temperature during storage for days until further processing, absent persuasive evidence that the claimed natural aging duration of 7-75 days is significant.
Lastly, since the Shankar teaches a process for manufacturing an Al casting alloy part that uses an Al alloy having a composition that is significantly similar to the claimed Al casting alloy composition and undergoing the significantly similar manufacturing steps as claimed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have expected that the cast Al alloy made by the process of Shankar to have significantly similar properties such as claimed ultimate tensile strength, yield strength and elongation, as showing in Tables 8 and 12 of Shankar.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,634,795. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,634,795 teaches an Al alloy having compositions that encompasses the claimed Al alloy composition and is manufactured by a process comprising casting and solution heat treatment at similar process conditions, wherein the tensile strength and yield strength of the produced Al alloy encompasses the claimed tensile strength and yield strength.
Conclusion
LOIS ZHENG
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1733
/LOIS L ZHENG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1733