DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 8/27/2026 was received. Claims 1-6, 8-10 were amended. Claim 11 was withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) on claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 10 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) in view of Yokoshima et al. (US 20170288275 A1) on claim 3 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) on claim 5 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) in view of Yokoshima et al. (US 20170288275 A1) on claims 8, 9 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) in view of Boa et al. (US 20160043361 A1) on claim 7 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) in view of Boa et al. (US 20160043361 A1)
Regarding claim 1: Nishino et al. disclose a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (par. 1). The nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery (equivalent to an electrochemical device) comprises
a strip-shaped positive electrode (10) (equivalent to a first electrode) (par. 54, fig. 4);
a strip-shaped negative electrode (20) (equivalent to a second electrode) (par. 54, fig. 4);
a separator (30) interposed between the positive electrode (10) and the negative electrode (20) (par. 54, fig. 4);
a non-aqueous electrolyte (par. 49);
a positive lead (13) (equivalent to a lead terminal) electrically connected to the positive electrode (10) (par. 54, fig. 1, 4), and
a positive electrode insulating tape (14) (equivalent to a protection tape) covering the positive lead (13) (par. 29, fig. 1), wherein
the positive electrode (10) includes a positive electrode current collector (10a) (equivalent to a current collecting foil) (par. 25, fig. 3) and a positive electrode active material layer (10b) (equivalent to a mixture layer) (par. 25, fig. 3) provided on the positive electrode current collector (10a),
the positive electrode current collector (10a) has a first region covered with the positive electrode active material layer (10b) (fig. 3), and a second region not covered with the positive electrode active material layer (10b) (fig. 3) and exposing a surface of the positive electrode current collector (10a) (fig. 3),
the positive electrode insulating tape (14) includes a substrate (14a) (equivalent to a substrate layer) and a first layer (14b) (equivalent to and an adhesion layer), which contains an adhesive (par. 30, 33, fig. 3), and
the positive electrode insulating tape (14) is allowed to adhere to the positive lead (13) provided at the second region of the positive electrode current collector (10a), and to at least a portion of a slit-shaped first exposed portion (10aa) (equivalent to a third region) (par. 25, fig. 1), the shaped first exposed portion (10aa) being a part of the second region not covered with the positive lead (13) (par. 33, fig. 1, 3).
Nishino et al. further disclose the entire surface of the first exposed portion (10aa) may also be covered by the positive electrode insulating tape (14) (par. 29) (As covering the entire surface of the of the first exposed portion (10aa) is an optional configuration, the positive electrode insulating tape (14) can adhere to a part surface of the first exposed portion (10aa). When the positive electrode insulating tape (14) adheres to the part surface of the first exposed portion (10aa), a first space surrounded by a side edge face of the positive lead (13) (the lead terminal), a part of the second region connected to the side edge face of the positive lead (13) (the lead terminal), and the positive electrode insulating tape (14) (the protection tape), and a second space surrounded by a side edge face of the positive electrode active material layer (10b) (the mixture layer), a part of the second region connected to the side edge face of the positive electrode active material layer (10b) (the mixture layer), and the positive electrode insulating tape (14) (the protection tape) are formed).
Nishino et al. fail to explicitly disclose the adhesion layer interposed between the current collecting foil and the substrate layer in the third region has an average thickness that is larger than an average thickness of the adhesion layer interposed between the lead terminal and the substrate layer. However, Boa et al. disclose an electrochemical energy storage device (abstract). The electrochemical energy storage device comprises a binding material (3) (par. 28). The binding material (3) comprises a substrate (33) (equivalent to the substrate layer) and a first adhesive layer (31) (equivalent to the adhesion layer) (par. 46, fig. 4). The first adhesive layer (31) has flowability. Under the pressure, since the first adhesive layer (31) has flowability, therefore a part of the adhesive material in the first adhesive layer (31) is extruded and overflowed out from the outer peripheral of the initial position of the first adhesive layer (31) under the pressure, thereby decreasing the thickness of the first adhesive layer (31) (par. 41). (It follows that the thickness of the first adhesive layer (31) not under pressure is thicker than the thickness of the first adhesive layer (31) under pressure.) (The first adhesive layer (31) under the pressure is equivalent to the adhesion layer interposed between the lead terminal and the substrate layer. The first adhesive layer (31) not under the pressure is equivalent to the adhesion layer interposed between the current collecting foil and the substrate layer in the third region.) It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the thinner of the first adhesive layer (31) under pressure of Boa et al. for the first layer (14b) interposed between the substrate (14a) and the positive electrode lead (13) of Nishino et al. because Boa et al. teach that a thinner adhesive layer can increase the adhesive area and create a stronger connection (par. 41).
Regarding claim 2: Nishino et al. disclose the positive lead (13) includes a columnar first portion, and a second portion that is continuous from the first portion and flatter than the first portion (see fig. below),
the second portion is fixed to the second region of the positive electrode current collector (10a) (fig. 3), and the thickness of the positive electrode lead (13) may be, for example, 10 μm to 200 μm (equivalent to a thickness of 450 μm or less) (par. 24).
Regarding claim 4: Nishino et al. disclose the width (Waa) of the first exposed portion (10aa) (equivalent to the second region) is usually greater than the width of the positive lead (13), and may be, for example, 5 mm to 16 mm (equivalent to a width of 5000 µm or more) (par. 26, fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5: Nishino et al. disclose the size of the strip-shaped positive electrode lead (13) is 2 mm to 8 mm in width (par. 24). Nishino et al. further disclose the width (Waa) of the first exposed portion (10aa) (equivalent to the second region) is usually greater than the width of the positive lead (13), and may be, for example, 5 mm to 16 mm (par. 26, fig. 1). It follows that the width of the third region interposed between the positive lead (13) and the positive electrode active material layer (10b) can be calculated to be 1.5 mm ((5-2)/2=1.5) (1.5 mm is equivalent to 1500 µm) to 4 mm ((16-8)/2=4) (4 mm is equivalent to 4000 µm). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 6: Nishino et al. disclose the positive electrode insulating tape (14) is provided on both surfaces of the positive electrode current collector (10a) (fig. 3), and
the positive electrode insulating tape (14) protrudes from the one electrode in a transverse direction of the positive electrode current collector (10a) (fig. 1), and the positive electrode insulating tape (14) provided on the both surfaces are adhered to each other at the protruding portion (par. 29).
Regarding claim 10: Nishino et al. disclose non-aqueous electrolytes includes a non-aqueous solvent. Examples of the non-aqueous solvent are lactones (par. 49). The base material (14a) of the positive electrode insulating tape (14) can be polypropylene (PP) (par. 31).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) in view of Boa et al. (US 20160043361 A1) as applied in claim 2 above and further in view of Yokoshima et al. (US 20170288275 A1).
Regarding claim 3: Nishino et al. in view of Boa et al. disclose a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery as described in paragraph 4 above. Nishino et al. also disclose at least a portion of the second portion of the positive lead (13) is overlapped with the positive electrode current collector (10a) of the second region (fig. 1). Nishino et al. and Boa et al. fail to explicitly disclose the current collecting foil has a through hole in a region overlapped with the at least a portion of the second portion, the lead terminal further includes a projection portion projecting from the second portion and penetrating the through hole, and the projection portion is crimped to the current collecting foil through the through hole. However, Yokoshima et al. disclose an electrochemical device (abstract). The electrochemical device comprises a negative electrode (130) (par. 56, fig. 6) and a negative-electrode terminal (131) (equivalent to a lead terminal) (par. 66, fig. 7). The negative electrode (130) has a negative-electrode collector (132) (equivalent to a current collecting foil), negative-electrode active material layers (133) (equivalent to a mixture layer) (par. 56, fig. 7), and a negative-electrode non-forming region (130a) (equivalent to a second region). The negative-electrode non-forming region (130a) is a region where the negative-electrode active material layer (133) is not provided (par. 63, fig. 6). The negative-electrode terminal (131) has a linear member (134) and a linear member (135) (par. 64). The negative-electrode terminal (131) can be joined to the negative-electrode collector (132) by pressing the linear member (135) against the negative-electrode collector (132), while crimping it using a needle (131a). The needle (131a) pierces through (equivalent to penetrating a through hole) the linear member (135) and negative-electrode collector (132), and fixes them together (par. 66, fig. 7) (the area that needle (131a) pierces is equivalent to a projection portion). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the through hole and the crimping of Yokoshima et al. to fix the positive lead (13) to the positive electrode current collector (10a) of Nishino et al. because Yokoshima et al. teach that the through hole and the crimping enable the negative-electrode terminal (131) to be joined to the negative-electrode collector (132) (par. 65).
Claims 8, 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nishino et al. (WO 2019044168 A1) in view of Boa et al. (US 20160043361 A1) as applied in claim 1 above and further in view of Yokoshima et al. (US 20170188275 A1).
Regarding claim 8: Nishino et al. in view of Boa et al. disclose a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery as described in paragraph 4 above. Nishino et al. and Boa et al. fail to explicitly disclose the one electrode is a polarizable electrode. However, Yokoshima et al. disclose an electrochemical device (abstract). The electrochemical device comprises a negative electrode (130) (par. 56, fig. 6). The negative electrode (130) has a protective tape which covers a negative-electrode terminal (131) (equivalent to a lead terminal) (par. 66, fig. 7) and a negative-electrode non-forming region (130a) (equivalent to a second region) (par. 63, fig. 6). Yokoshima et al. further disclose the electrochemical device can be a lithium ion capacitor, an electric double-layer capacitor, a lithium ion secondary battery, or other type of electrochemical device that can be charged and discharged (par. 51) (the electric double-layer capacitor has one or both electrodes being polarizable electrodes as evidenced by Koikawa et al. (US 20230111774 A1) in (par. 23)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polarizable electrode of Yokoshima et al. as one of the electrode of Nishino et al. because Yokoshima et al. teach that the polarizable electrode can remain capacitance ratio (par. 103).
Regarding claim 9: Nishino et al. in view of Boa et al. disclose a nonaqueous electrolyte secondary battery as described in paragraph 4 above. Nishino et al. and Boa et al. fail to explicitly disclose both of the first electrode and the second electrode are a polarizable electrode. However, Yokoshima et al. disclose an electrochemical device (abstract). The electrochemical device comprises a negative electrode (130) (par. 56, fig. 6). The negative electrode (130) has a protective tape which covers a negative-electrode terminal (131) (equivalent to a lead terminal) (par. 66, fig. 7) and a negative-electrode non-forming region (130a) (equivalent to a second region) (par. 63, fig. 6). Yokoshima et al. further disclose the electrochemical device can be a lithium ion capacitor, an electric double-layer capacitor, a lithium ion secondary battery, or other type of electrochemical device that can be charged and discharged (par. 51) (the electric double-layer capacitor has one or both electrodes being polarizable electrodes as evidenced by Koikawa et al. (US 20230111774 A1) in (par. 23)). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the polarizable electrode of Yokoshima et al. as one of the electrode of Nishino et al. because Yokoshima et al. teach that the polarizable electrode can remain capacitance ratio (par. 103).
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s arguments filed on 08/27/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
Nishino fails to disclose a first space and a second space.
Nishino and Boa fail to disclose the adhesion layer interposed between the current collecting foil and the substrate layer in the third region has an average thickness that is larger than an average thickness of the adhesion layer interposed between the lead terminal and the substrate layer.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Nishino discloses covering the entire surface of the of the first exposed portion (10aa) is an optional configuration. Thus, when the positive electrode insulating tape (14) adheres to the part surface of the first exposed portion (10aa), a first space and a second space are formed in Nishino’s configuration.
Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive. Nishino disclosesthe adhesion between the first layer (14b) and the positive electrode lead (13) should be maintained to prevent internal short circuits (par. 30). Thus, one of ordinary skill in the art would know the importance of the adhesion between the substrate (14a) and the positive electrode lead (13). Boa teaches that a thinner adhesive layer created by a pressure can increase the adhesive area and create a stronger connection (par. 41). Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to make a thinner adhesion layer interposed between the substrate (14a) and the positive electrode lead (13) of Nishino to increase the adhesion.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717