DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13, 20, 22 and 24-27 are pending in this office action.
Claims 1-13, 20, 22 and 24-27 have been amended.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment of 01/26/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 12, 13, 20, 21, 24, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guim Bernat et al (US 2021/0021533 A1) (hereinafter Guim) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0124526 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guim teaches a method performed by a first network entity (Guim: Fig. 11, central office CO/network entity), the method comprising:
obtaining information based on historical data of the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0126] obtaining historical movements of the device 1105/UE);
determining a mobility specific configuration for the UE based on the information (Guim: Fig. 1; [0126]-[0127], [0140] determining the mobility of the UE based on the historical data).
Guim does not explicitly disclose that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and providing configuration information for configuring the UE to perform the relaxed RRM measurement with the mobility specific configuration.
Lee teaches that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and providing configuration information for configuring the UE to perform the relaxed RRM measurement with the mobility specific configuration (Lee: [0017], [0193], [0247] configuring the UE for relaxed RRM measurement based mobility state of the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the system of Guim wherein the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and providing configuration information for configuring the UE to perform the relaxed RRM measurement with the mobility specific configuration as disclosed by Lee to provide a system for performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement or relaxed RRM measurement based on the configuration information and a result of measurement (Lee: Abstract).
Regarding claim 20, Guim teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) the method comprising:
receiving from the network entity, a mobility specific configuration, providing, to the network entity, information based on the mobility specific configuration (Guim: Fig. 1; [0115], based on request from a base station/network entity; [0126]-[0127], [0140] determining the mobility of the UE based on the historical data).
Guim does not explicitly disclose that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and performing the relaxed RRM measurement.
Lee teaches that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and performing the relaxed RRM measurement (Lee: [0017], [0193], [0247] configuring the UE for relaxed RRM measurement based mobility state of the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the system of Guim wherein the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and performing the relaxed RRM measurement as disclosed by Lee to provide a system for performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement or relaxed RRM measurement based on the configuration information and a result of measurement (Lee: Abstract).
Regarding claim 26, Guim teaches a first network entity (Guim: Fig. 11, central office CO/network entity), comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to:
obtain information based on historical data of the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0126] obtaining historical movements of the device 1105/UE);
determine a mobility specific configuration for the UE based on the information (Guim: Fig. 1; [0126]-[0127], [0140] determining the mobility of the UE based on the historical data).
Guim does not explicitly disclose that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and providing configuration information for configuring the UE to perform the relaxed RRM measurement with the mobility specific configuration.
Lee teaches that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and providing configuration information for configuring the UE to perform the relaxed RRM measurement with the mobility specific configuration (Lee: [0017], [0193], [0247] configuring the UE for relaxed RRM measurement based mobility state of the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the system of Guim wherein the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and providing configuration information for configuring the UE to perform the relaxed RRM measurement with the mobility specific configuration as disclosed by Lee to provide a system for performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement or relaxed RRM measurement based on the configuration information and a result of measurement (Lee: Abstract).
Regarding claim 27, Guim teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to:
receive from the network entity, a mobility specific configuration, provide, to the network entity, information based on the mobility specific configuration (Guim: Fig. 1; [0115], based on request from a base station/network entity; [0126]-[0127], [0140] determining the mobility of the UE based on the historical data).
Guim does not explicitly disclose that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and performing the relaxed RRM measurement.
Lee teaches that the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and performing the relaxed RRM measurement (Lee: [0017], [0193], [0247] configuring the UE for relaxed RRM measurement based mobility state of the UE).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed inventio to modify the system of Guim wherein the information related to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement and performing the relaxed RRM measurement as disclosed by Lee to provide a system for performing radio resource management (RRM) measurement or relaxed RRM measurement based on the configuration information and a result of measurement (Lee: Abstract).
Regarding claim 2, Guim teaches obtaining information relating to a mobility state of the UE based on the historical data of the UE (Guim: [0126]-[0127], [0140] determining the mobility of the UE based on the historical data) performing a verification of the information relating to the mobility state of the UE before determining the mobility specific configuration, wherein the determining is performed in a case where the verification is successful (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132]).
Regarding claim 3, Guim teaches wherein the performing the verification is performed based on a comparison of a predicted location or predicted movement of the UE with location information and/or measurement data for the UE collected from the UE (Guim: [0131]-[0132], [0140],[0145], [0148]).
Regarding claim 4, Guim teaches wherein the performing the verification is performed based on a comparison of the information relating to the mobility state of the UE with another information relating to a mobility state of the UE generated by the first network entity or another network entity (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132], [0140]).
Regarding claim 5, Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes information identifying at least one of a current or predicted mobility state for the UE, and the determining is performed based on the current and/or predicted mobility state for the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132], [0140], [0145]).
Regarding claim 6, Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes an indication for indicating whether or not the UE is stationary or near-stationary, or an indication for indicating one of a plurality of mobility categories into which movement of the UE has been categorized (Guim: Fig. 11:1160, [0124], different locations/categories at different base stations).
Regarding claim 7, Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes an indication for indicating a mobility related configuration preference (Guim: Fig. 11; [0126]-[0127] selecting a base station/configuration for the device to connect to next based on the historical movement and th mobility characteristic).
Regarding claim 8, Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE is included in at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) message; a UE Assistance Information Message (Guim: Figs. 9-11, [0098]-[0099] device providing data to assists in determining configuration); a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message; and a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message.
Regarding claim 9, Guim teaches wherein the mobility specific configuration for the UE includes one of, or a combination of, the following: a mobility specific measurement configuration (Guim: Fig. 1; [0126], [0140] determining the motion characteristic/mobility specific configuration of the device); a mobility specific power control (PC) configuration; a mobility specific power headroom reporting (PHR) configuration; a mobility specific time alignment timer (TAT) configuration; and/or a mobility specific paging area/tracking area configuration.
Regarding claim 12, Guim teaches wherein the obtaining includes receiving, from a second network entity, the information relating to the mobility state of the UE, and the providing includes providing the configuration information, to the UE or to a third network entity ((Guim: Fig. 11; [0126]-[0127] CO communicates with the device via a base station/second network entity; CO instruct the device to connect to another base station).
Regarding claim 13, Guim teaches wherein the obtaining includes receiving, from the UE, the information relating to the mobility state of the UE, and the providing includes providing the configuration information, to the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0126]-[0127] selecting a base station/configuration for the device to connect to next based on the historical movement and the mobility characteristic). or to a second network entity.
Regarding claim 24, Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes any one of, or combination of, the following: information identifying a time at, or time period within, which the UE is expected to be stationary; information identifying a location in which the UE is expected to be stationary (Guim: Fig. 11:1160, [0100], [0124], different locations/categories at different base stations) ; information identifying a time at, or time period within, which the UE is expected to be moving; information identifying a location to which, or from which, the UE is expected to be moving; information identifying a geographic area within which movement of the UE is expected to be confined; and/or information identifying a reliability of information in the information relating to the mobility state of the UE.
Regarding claim 25, Guim teaches wherein the determining is performed based on the reliability (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132] verification/reliability).
Claims 10, 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guim Bernat et al (US 2021/0021533 A1) (hereinafter Guim) in view of Lee et al (US 2022/0124526 A1) in further view of Xu et al (US 2019/0215750 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Guim does not explicitly disclose wherein the providing the configuration information is performed using one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signalling; and an RRC reconfiguration message.
Xu teaches wherein the providing the configuration information is performed using one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signalling; and an RRC reconfiguration message (Xu: Fig. 4; [0024]-[0029], [0067]-[0068], [0174]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Guim wherein the providing the configuration information is performed using one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signalling; and an RRC reconfiguration message as disclosed by Xu to provide a system for controlling or paging a user equipment (Xu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Guim in view Xu of teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE is included in a UE profile (Xu: Fig.4, [0030]-[0035], mobility level).
Regarding claim 22, Guim in view of Xu teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes information identifying a device type of the UE corresponding to the mobility status of the UE (Xu: Fig. 4, [0110]-[0111], [0124]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Laselva et al (US 2022/0174608) discloses relaxed RRM when a UE is in low mobility state.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478