DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-13, 20, 22, 24-27 are pending in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amendment of 07/16/2026 have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 20, 26 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaikkonen et al (US 2022/0007293 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kaikkonen teaches a method performed by a first network entity, the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), a mobility specific configuration (Kaikkonen: [0030], the network indicates to UE whether the UE is in stationary or low mobility or measurement adaptation state); and
receiving, from the UE, information relating to a relaxed radio resource
management (RRM) measurement of the UE, wherein the information corresponds to the mobility specific configuration (Kaikkonen: Fig. 13:1330; [0030], [0140], [0182], in response to the determining, the UE scaling or relaxing at least one of a radio resource management measurement period or a threshold condition of the mobility parameter).
Regarding claim 20, Kaikkonen teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, from a network entity, a mobility specific configuration (Kaikkonen: [0030], the network indicates to UE whether the UE is in stationary or low mobility or measurement adaptation state);
providing, to the network entity, information relating to a relaxed radio resource
management (RRM) measurement of the UE, wherein the information corresponds to based on the mobility specific configuration; and performing the relaxed RRM measurement (Kaikkonen: Fig. 13:1330; [0030], [0140], [0182], in response to the determining, the UE scaling or relaxing at least one of a radio resource management measurement period or a threshold condition of the mobility parameter).
Regarding claim 26, Kaikkonen teaches a first network entity comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a mobility specific configuration (Kaikkonen: [0030], the network indicates to UE whether the UE is in stationary or low mobility or measurement adaptation state); and
receive, from the UE, information relating to a relaxed radio resource management (RRM) measurement of the UE, wherein the information corresponds to the mobility specific configuration (Kaikkonen: Fig. 13:1330; [0030], [0140], [0182], in response to the determining, the UE scaling or relaxing at least one of a radio resource management measurement period or a threshold condition of the mobility parameter).
Regarding claim 27, Kaikkonen teaches a user equipment (UE) comprising: a memory storing instructions and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to:
receive, from a network entity, a mobility specific configuration (Kaikkonen: [0030], the network indicates to UE whether the UE is in stationary or low mobility or measurement adaptation state);
provide, to the network entity, information relating to a relaxed radio resource
management (RRM) measurement of the UE, wherein the information corresponds to based on the mobility specific configuration; and performing the relaxed RRM measurement (Kaikkonen: Fig. 13:1330; [0030], [0140], [0182], in response to the determining, the UE scaling or relaxing at least one of a radio resource management measurement period or a threshold condition of the mobility parameter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-13, 22, 24 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaikkonen et al (US 2022/0007293 A1) in view of Guim Bernat et al (US 2021/0021533 A1) (hereinafter Guim).
Regarding claim 2, Kaikkonen does not teach but Guim teaches obtaining information relating to a mobility state of the UE based on historical data of the UE (Guim: [0126]-[0127], [0140] determining the mobility of the UE based on the historical data) and performing a verification of the information relating to the mobility state of the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kaikkonen by obtaining information relating to a mobility state of the UE based on historical data of the UE and performing a verification of the information relating to the mobility state of the UE as disclosed by Guim to provide a system for intelligent data forwarding (Guim: Abstract).
Regarding claim 3, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the performing the verification is performed based on a comparison of a predicted location or predicted movement of the UE with location information and/or measurement data for the UE collected from the UE (Guim: [0131]-[0132], [0140],[0145], [0148]).
Regarding claim 4, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the performing the verification is performed based on a comparison of the information relating to the mobility state of the UE with another information relating to a mobility state of the UE generated by the first network entity or another network entity (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132], [0140]).
Regarding claim 5, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes information identifying at least one of a current mobility state for the UE or a predicted mobility state for the UE, and the determining is performed based on the current and/or predicted mobility state for the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132], [0140], [0145]).
Regarding claim 6, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes an indication for indicating whether or not the UE is stationary or near-stationary, or an indication for indicating one of a plurality of mobility categories into which movement of the UE has been categorized (Guim: Fig. 11:1160, [0124], different locations/categories at different base stations).
Regarding claim 7, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes an indication for indicating a mobility related configuration preference (Guim: Fig. 11; [0126]-[0127] selecting a base station/configuration for the device to connect to next based on the historical movement and th mobility characteristic).
Regarding claim 8, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE is included in at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) message; a UE Assistance Information Message (Guim: Figs. 9-11, [0098]-[0099] device providing data to assists in determining configuration); a media access control (MAC) control element (CE) message; and a Non-Access Stratum (NAS) message.
Regarding claim 9, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the mobility specific configuration for the UE includes one of, or a combination of, the following: a mobility specific measurement configuration (Guim: Fig. 1; [0126], [0140] determining the motion characteristic/mobility specific configuration of the device); a mobility specific power control (PC) configuration; a mobility specific power headroom reporting (PHR) configuration; a mobility specific time alignment timer (TAT) configuration; and/or a mobility specific paging area/tracking area configuration.
Regarding claim 12, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the obtaining includes receiving, from a second network entity, the information relating to the mobility state of the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0126]-[0127] CO communicates with the device via a base station/second network entity; CO instruct the device to connect to another base station).
Regarding claim 13, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the obtaining includes receiving, from the UE, the information relating to the mobility state of the UE (Guim: Fig. 11; [0126]-[0127] selecting a base station/configuration for the device to connect to next based on the historical movement and the mobility characteristic).
Regarding claim 24, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes any one of, or combination of, the following: information identifying a time at, or time period within, which the UE is expected to be stationary; information identifying a location in which the UE is expected to be stationary (Guim: Fig. 11:1160, [0100], [0124], different locations/categories at different base stations) ; information identifying a time at, or time period within, which the UE is expected to be moving; information identifying a location to which, or from which, the UE is expected to be moving; information identifying a geographic area within which movement of the UE is expected to be confined; and/or information identifying a reliability of information in the information relating to the mobility state of the UE.
Regarding claim 25, Kaikkonen in view of Guim teaches wherein the determining is performed based on the reliability (Guim: Fig. 11; [0131]-[0132] verification/reliability).
Claims 10, 11 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaikkonen et al (US 2022/0007293 A1) in view of Guim Bernat et al (US 2021/0021533 A1) (hereinafter Guim) in further view of Xu et al (US 2019/0215750 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Kaikkonen in view of Guim does not explicitly disclose wherein the transmitting the mobility specific configuration is performed using one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signalling; and an RRC reconfiguration message.
Xu teaches wherein the providing the configuration information is performed using one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signalling; and an RRC reconfiguration message (Xu: Fig. 4; [0024]-[0029], [0067]-[0068], [0174]).
It would have been obvious to a person having an ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the system of Kaikkonen in view of Guim wherein the providing the configuration information is performed using one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signalling; and an RRC reconfiguration message as disclosed by Xu to provide a system for controlling or paging a user equipment (Xu: Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, Kaikkonen in view of Guim in view Xu of teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE is included in a UE profile (Xu: Fig.4, [0030]-[0035], mobility level).
Regarding claim 22, Kaikkonen in view of Guim in view of Xu teaches wherein the information relating to the mobility state of the UE includes information identifying a device type of the UE corresponding to the mobility status of the UE (Xu: Fig. 4, [0110]-[0111], [0124]).
Conclusion
/KODZOVI ACOLATSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478