DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Claims 6-9 are withdrawn.
Claims 2, 4-5, 10-12 are cancelled.
Claims 1 and 3 are currently amended.
In view of the amendment, filed on 05/21/2026, the following new grounds of the rejections are necessitated:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Amended claim 1 recites “the protrusions and corresponding corners extending along a length of the screw parallel to a central axis of the screw”, in last two lines of claim which was not described in the specification. Even though specification provides written description support for the claimed limitation of “protrusions … extending along a length of the screw parallel to a central axis of the screw”, the disclosure of the invention fails to provide description support that “corresponding corners extending along a length of the screw parallel to a central axis of the screw”. Therefore, amended claim 1 fails to comply with the written description requirement and such limitation is treated as “new matter”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watada et al. (US 6,238,079) in view of Yasuaki (JP 10-109309).
Watada et al. (US ‘079) disclose a cylinder 2 is formed with an upper guide bore 10a and a lower guide bore 10b at a position corresponding to a gate part B. Gate rods 7 are rotatably inserted through the guide bores 10a, 10b, respectively. Each of the gate rods 7 is formed with opening degree changing recesses in a form of an opencut adjacent to each other in an axial direction in order to constitute opening degree variable channels S in combination with opening degree variable channel forming parts 14 of two screws 3. Each of the recesses 11 consists of a first semicircular face 12 and a second semicircular face 13 in such a shape that an upstream side end of the first semicircular face 12 is diagonally cut. By rotating the gate rods 7 in a positive direction and a reverse direction, the opening degree can be changed between a fully opened state wherein the first semicircular face 12 and the opening degree variable channel forming part 14 are in parallel and a fully closed position wherein the second semicircular face 13 is in abutment against the opening degree variable channel forming part 14. (see abstract)
As to claim 1, Watada et al. (US ‘079) disclose a granulator comprising: a flow path (a cylinder 2; col. 3, lines 1-7) through which molten resin is conveyed; a kneading section (kneading part A; col. 3, lines 1-15) provided on the flow path (a cylinder 2; col. 3, lines 1-7) and configured to convey the molten resin while kneading it; a kneading adjustment section (a gate part B; col. 3, lines 1-15) provided on a downstream side of the kneading section (A) on the flow path (2) and is configured to adjust a kneading degree of the molten resin and to knead the molten resin (col. 1, lines 51-55: a kneading degree adjusting device for a twin extruder in which the filling degree of the material can be stabilized); and a discharge section (a discharge port 9) provided on a downstream side of the kneading adjustment section (B) on the flow path (2) (col. 3, lines 4-7: a discharging part in order from a supply port 6 formed at one end of the cylinder 2 toward a discharge port 9 formed at the other end), wherein the kneading adjustment section (B) includes a kneading adjustment mechanism including: a pair of movable members (gate rods 7; col. 3, lines 20-30) each having a flow path forming surface (a first semicircular face 12 and a first semicircular face 13; col. 3, lines 35-40 and Fig. 2B) constituting a part of the flow path (2); and a screw (two screws 3; col. 2, lines 64-67) arranged between the flow path forming surfaces (12, 13) of the respective movable members (7), wherein at least one of the pair of movable members can operate such that a gap between the flow path forming surface (12, 13) and the screw (3) increases or decreases.
[AltContent: textbox (A kneading adjustment section (B))][AltContent: textbox (A kneading section (A))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A screw (3))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (A flow path (2))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
[AltContent: textbox (A flow path forming surface (12 and 13))][AltContent: textbox (A pair of movable members (7))]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
However, Watada et al. (US ‘079) fail to disclose a plurality of protrusions is provided on an outer periphery of the screw in the kneading adjustment section, wherein each of the protrusions has a corner, and the protrusions and corresponding corners extend along a length of the screw, as claimed in claim 1
In the analogous art, Yasuaki (JP ‘309) discloses a kneading extruder main body 2 in which a chamber 1 is formed, and two rotors 3 which are rotatably inserted into the chamber 1 in parallel with each other (¶ [0012]), wherein the kneading extruder main body 2 is formed by connecting a plurality of barrels 4 each having a fixed length in the axial direction. A material supply port 5 is provided on the upper surface of the rearmost barrel 4, and the frontmost barrel 4 is provided. (¶ [0013]) moreover, each of the two rotors 3 has a rotor shaft 9 spline-fitted inside a cylindrical rotor body 8. (¶ [0013])
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Rotor segments (15A, 15B))][AltContent: textbox (A plurality of protrusions (16))][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Further, Yasuaki (JP ‘309) teaches the rotor segments 15A and 15B are arranged at two positions in front and behind which are separated in the axial direction of the rotor 3. (¶ [0015])
Yasuaki (JP ‘309) discloses each rotor segment 15A, 15B has a substantially triangular cross section with each side bulging radially outward, and has three stirring edges 16 at each apex of the triangle. The stirring edge 16 is formed continuously along the axial direction of the rotor 3, that is, continuously so that the gap between the stirring edge 16 and the inner surface of the chamber 1 is constant in the axial direction of the rotor 3. (¶ [0016])
Moreover, Yasuaki (JP ‘309) teaches when the rotor segments 15A and 15B composed of the feed blade 13 and the return blade 14 rotate, the material to be kneaded is collected at the joint 17 of the two blades 13 and 14. (¶ [0017])
Therefore, as to claim 1, Yasuaki (JP ‘309) discloses a plurality of protrusions (stirring edges 16, ¶ [0016]) is provided on an outer periphery of the screw (the rotor segments 15A and 15B, ¶ [0015]) in the kneading adjustment section, wherein each of the protrusions (stirring edges 16, ¶ [0016]) has a corner, and the protrusions (stirring edges 16, ¶ [0016]) and corresponding corners extend along a length of the screw (the rotor segments 15A and 15B, ¶ [0015]).
Further, as to claim 1, Yasuaki (JP ‘309) discloses the protrusions and corresponding corners extend along a length of the screw parallel to a central axis (the cross-section of vertical lines) of the screw. (see figs. 2a and 2b) in at least Fig. 2b can be see that even though the surface of the protrusions (16) and corners are curvilinear and are positioned helically around a circumferential surface of the screw, neither of the protrusions nor corners cross-line a central axis of the screw and both are in fact parallel to a central axis of the screw along a length of the screw. See figs. 2a and 2b.
As to claim 3, Yasuaki (JP ‘309) teaches the line segments connecting vertices of the respective protrusions (the rotor segments 15A and 15B, ¶ [0015]) in a cross section of the screw (the rotor segments 15A and 15B, ¶ [0015]) orthogonal to a central axis form a polygon. (see the annotated figures 2(a), 2(b))
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the time of Applicant’s invention, to modify the kneading degree adjusting device for twin extruder, as suggested by Watada et al. (US ‘079), through a plurality of protrusions is provided on an outer periphery of the screw in the kneading adjustment section, wherein each of the protrusions has a corner, and the protrusions and corresponding corners extend along a length of the screw in order to provide a large shear force for the material to be kneaded, as suggested by Yasuaki (JP ‘309): see right above ¶ [0018].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed on 05/21/2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant arguments are mainly directed to the newly added limitations to claim 1 and that neither refences of Watada et al. (US 6,238,079) and Yasuaki (JP 10-109309) disclose the limitation that “the protrusions and corresponding corners extend along a length of the screw parallel to the central axis of the screw”, as now recited in claim 1.
They are not found persuasive. As it was discussed in detail in the body of the rejection, Yasuaki (JP ‘309) discloses the protrusions and corresponding corners extend along a length of the screw parallel to a central axis (the cross-section of vertical lines) of the screw. (see figs. 2a and 2b) in at least Fig. 2b can be see that even though the surface of the protrusions (16) and corners are curvilinear and are positioned helically around a circumferential surface of the screw, neither of the protrusions nor corners cross-line a central axis of the screw and both are in fact parallel to a central axis of the screw along a length of the screw. See figs. 2a and 2b.
Therefore, prior art rejections of claims 1 and 3 are maintained at this point.
Finally, after a full review of the submitted remarks in view of prior art rejections, it has been concluded that there are differences in interpreting the claimed subject matter and the cited references between the Applicant and the Office. Therefore, Examiner would like to suggest that if Applicant’s Counsel believes an interview can benefit the prosecution of the instant application, Applicant’s Counsel is kindly invited to contact the undersigned examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEYED MASOUD MALEKZADEH/Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1754
08/08/2026