DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claim(s) 1-5,7-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (US20190044097).
As to claim 1, Yu et al. discloses a three-electrode battery (figure 1) comprising: a main separator (18); a film-shaped reference electrode (34) on a first side of the main separator; an auxiliary separator (18) on the first side of the main separator with the reference electrode interposed therebetween; a first electrode (32) and a second electrode (32) disposed with the main separator (18), the reference electrode (34), and the auxiliary separator (18) interposed therebetween; and a battery case (figure 3 number 80) accommodating the main separator (18), the reference electrode (34), the auxiliary separator (18), the first electrode (32), and the second electrode (38) in an inner space therein.
As to claim 2, Yu et al. discloses wherein the reference electrode is formed with comprises a plurality of perforated holes (figure 1 number 46).
As to claim 3, Yu et al. wherein the reference electrode (figure 1 number 36) further comprises: a first region (46) facing the first electrode (32) or the second electrode; and a second region (other side of 46) protruding from one side of the first electrode or the second electrode, and wherein the plurality of perforated holes (46) are formed in the first region.
As to claim 4, Yu et al. discloses further comprising: a reference electrode lead having one end fused coupled to the second region of the reference electrode and the other end protruding out of the battery case (figure 1 number 46’).
As to claim 5, Yu et al. discloses wherein a total area of the plurality of perforated holes is formed to be 30% to 70% of the area of the first region (figure 1 number 46).
As to claim 7, Yu et al. discloses wherein the reference electrode comprises: a foil member forming a body, and a reference electrode active material coated on the foil member (paragraph 0061).
As to claim 8, Yu et al. discloses wherein a material of the foil member comprises at least one of Cu-foil and Al-foil (paragraph 0061).
As to claim 9, Yu et al. discloses wherein the reference electrode active material is selected from the group consisting of LTO (Li4Ti5Oi2),LFP (LiFePO4), Li metal, and a combination thereof (paragraph 0061).
As to claim 10, Yu et al. discloses a performance analysis system using the three-electrode battery of claim 1, comprising: a working electrode connecting part connected to the first electrode to measure an electrode potential of the first electrode; a counter electrode connecting part connected to the second electrode; a reference electrode connecting part connected to the reference electrode; and a measuring part connected to the working electrode connecting part, the counter electrode connecting part, and the reference electrode connecting part to measure the electrode potential of the first electrode (paragraph 0052-0053,0033).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. in view of Skwarek et al. (US20150214582).
Yu et al. discloses the three electrode battery described above. Yu et al. fail to disclose, wherein the first electrode or the second electrode has a rectangular shape having a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to each other as corners, and when a length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the first direction is formed to be longer than a length in the second directions a length of the first region of the reference electrode in the first direction is formed to be 1% to 3% of the length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the first direction, and a length of the first region of the reference electrode in the second direction is formed to be 5% to 95% of the length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the second direction.
Skwarek et al. teaches wherein the first electrode or the second electrode has a rectangular shape having a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to each other as corners, and when a length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the first direction is formed to be longer than a length in the second directions a length of the first region of the reference electrode in the first direction is formed to be 1% to 3% of the length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the first direction, and a length of the first region of the reference electrode in the second direction is formed to be 5% to 95% of the length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the second direction for the purpose of determining the aging state and the charge state of the battery (paragraph 0032 and figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Yu et al. with wherein the first electrode or the second electrode has a rectangular shape having a first direction and a second direction orthogonal to each other as corners, and when a length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the first direction is formed to be longer than a length in the second directions a length of the first region of the reference electrode in the first direction is formed to be 1% to 3% of the length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the first direction, and a length of the first region of the reference electrode in the second direction is formed to be 5% to 95% of the length of the first electrode or the second electrode in the second direction for the purpose of determining the aging state and the charge state of the battery (paragraph 0032 and figure 2).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724