DETAILED ACTION
Note
Applicant’s response along with the Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed on 04/21/2026 has been fully considered. Claim 1 is amended, claims 3-5 are cancelled, claims 26-27 are added and claims 1, 2 and 6-27 are pending.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 6-14, 22, 25 and 27 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of copending Application No. 18/557,186 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because combination of current claims 1 and 7 correspond to claims 1, 3, 4 and 6 of ‘186. Current claim 6 corresponds to claim 5 of ‘186. Current claim 8 corresponds to claim 7 of ‘186. Current claim 9 corresponds to claim 8 of ‘186. Current claim 10 corresponds to claim 9 of ‘186. Combination of current claims 11, 12 and 25 correspond to claim 10 of ‘186. Current claim 13 corresponds to claim 7 of ‘186. Current claim 14 corresponds to claim 12 of ‘186. Current claim 22 corresponds to claim 13 of ‘186. Current claim 27 corresponds to claim 11 of ‘186 where the powder is eliminated by sieving.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response To Double Patenting
Applicant has indicated that the obviousness-type double patenting rejection will address upon approaching allowance.
Claims 11, 12 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tadahito et al. (WO 2020/009178 A1).
Claims 11 and 27: Tadahito teaches a method for producing a powder [¶72] comprising a vinyl alcohol polymer (PVA herein after), the method comprising: a step (1) of obtaining a copolymer of a vinyl ester with at least one selected from the group consisting of: a monomer comprising a carboxy group; and a derivative of the monomer [¶36]; a step (2) of obtaining a saponification product of the copolymer [¶42]; and a step (3) of subjecting the saponification product to a heat treatment [¶44]. Tadahito teaches the heat treatment is at 50-200 ˚C for 10min-24hrs {instant claim 27} [¶44]. Tadahito teaches the produced PVA passes through sieve of a wire mesh {instant claim 27} [¶72], which indicates the PVA can be in a powder form. Since the heat treatment temperature and the time of heat treatment include the claimed invention range, fine powder would be eliminated, and this meets the claimed step (3) (ii) and (iii).
With respect to particle size, the experimental modification of this prior art in order to ascertain optimum operating conditions fails to render applicants’ claims patentable in the absence of unexpected results. In re Aller, 105 USPQ 233. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to adjust the particle size of the PVA powder or particle, and the motivation would be, to control mechanical strength, viscosity and stability. A prima facie case of obviousness may be rebutted, however, where the results of the optimizing variable, which is known to be result-effective, are unexpectedly good. In re Boesch and Slaney, 205 USPQ 215.
Claim 12: Tadahito teaches the heat treatment is at 50-200 ˚C for 10min-24hrs [¶44].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument is based on that the office has not explained why the heating temperature and duration disclosed in Tadahito would result in elimination of fine powder. This argument is not persuasive for the following reason. Tadahito teaches the produced PVA passes through sieve of a wire mesh ¶72.
For the above reason claims 11 and 12 stand rejected and claim 27 is included in the prior art rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 2, 6-10 and 13-26 are allowed.
Closest prior art Tadahito et al. (WO 2020/009178 A1) teaches a vinyl alcohol polymer (PVA hereinafter) comprising a monomer of maleic acid. Tadahito teaches the PVA has a degree of saponification of 68-99.9%; and a degree of polymerization of 200-3000. In this case, the molecular weight of the PVA can be calculated to be 23,214 to 348,210, wherein this range overlaps with the claimed 200,000 to 800,000. Tadahito teaches the PVA has a water insoluble content of 2000 ppm or less. Tadahito teaches the PVA has a content of side chain 0.01-0.5% which overlaps with the claimed 0.93 or less degree of branching. Tadahito teaches the PVA may comprises a monomer of maleic acid or fumaric acid. However, Tadahito does not teach the vinyl alcohol polymer satisfies the following inequality (I)
S x P > 250 (I)
where, in the inequality (I), S represents a percentage content (mol%), with respect to total structural units, of the structural unit derived from at least one selected from the group consisting of: the monomer comprising a carboxy group; and the derivative of the monomer; and P represents the viscosity-average degree of polymerization as recited in current claim 1.
Correspondence
BS
April 27, 2026
/BETELHEM SHEWAREGED/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1785