DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 02/24/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument that Valdivia does not disclose "receiving, after providing the respective sets of the interaction tools for presentation, a selection of data of one of the plurality of data types for presentation with the data visualization utility".
Applicant argues that “any data that is later displayed in the interface 1140 after the interface 1140 has been displayed, is not present or selectable before the interface 1140 is displayed,” and “thus, the cited portions of Valdivia do not disclose any "selection of data", as recited in claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
The claim recites “receiving, after providing the respective sets of the interaction tools for presentation, a selection of data of one of the plurality of data types for presentation with the data visualization utility”.
Valdivia et al. teaches data (see interface 1140 in Fig. 11B) is selected for presentation by selecting the social-network tool 1150, as claimed.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., presenting the data before the data is selected) is not recited in rejected claim 1.
Furthermore, in paragraph [0132], Valdivia et al. discloses “FIG. 11D also illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user may currently be using to view content, which may be edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180.”
Therefore, Valdivia et al. teaches “receiving, after providing the respective sets of the interaction tools for presentation, a selection of data of one of the plurality of data types for presentation with the data visualization utility ([0132]: As illustrated in FIG. 11A, the user is able to select any of the virtual tools. FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook)). Note that data (see interface 1140 in Fig. 11B) is selected for presentation by selecting the social-network tool 1150. FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools),” as claimed.
Applicant also argues that Valdivia et al. does not disclose "presenting the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility". Examiner respectfully disagrees. Valdivia et al. discloses presenting the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility ([0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (i.e. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content), as claimed.
In addition, applicant also asserts that “this citation of the virtual tools of FIGS. 11A-11D of Valdivia in connection with both the "interaction tools" and the "data" of claim 1 further clarifies that these features of Valdivia do not map to all of the various features of independent claim 1.” Examiner respectfully disagrees.
This citation of the virtual tools of FIGS. 11A-11D of Valdivia in connection with both the "interaction tools" and the "data" of claim 1 further clarifies that these features of Valdivia teach all of the various features of independent claim 1 as noted in the office action.
Furthermore, Valdivia discloses in paragraph [0115], “pause” button 540 (e.g. tool) in Fig. 5A which halts a timer associated with the time element 510, “previous” button 520 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding previous visual media item, “next” button 530 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding next visual media item.
Valdivia also discloses in paragraph [0133], the color-adjustor element 1230 is used to adjust the color of the marker tool 1210, and the size-adjustor element 1230 is used to adjust the size of the tip of the marker tool 1210.
In paragraph [0156], Valdivia et al. discloses the remote-control tool 2320 to select a particular content item (e.g., the content item 2330).
In addition, Examiner respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument that Valdivia does not disclose “while the data of the one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility, receiving, from at least one sensor of the computing device, an input corresponding to an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data being presented.”
Valdivia teaches while the data of the one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility, receiving, from at least one sensor of the computing device, an input corresponding to an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data being presented ([0005] discloses gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106] discloses gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze; [0132] discloses FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content (i.e. data) which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu).
Examiner also respectfully disagrees with the applicant’s argument that the mere presence of an operating system in Davis is insufficient to suggest that all of the operations of Valdivia would be performed by such an operating system. Applicant asserts that Davis would appear to suggest performing the operations of Valdivia with applications that leverage device hardware, instead of performing those operations with an operating system. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Paragraph [0077] of Valdivia et al. discloses client system 130 is an electronic device including hardware and software and includes a computer system such as augmented/virtual reality device. Davis discloses augmented reality (AR) tools 126 are provided by an operating system provider for an operating system on mobile device (col. 4, lines 38-41). Augmented reality (AR) tools 126 include toolkits, development environments, or other application programming interfaces (APIs) that allow applications to leverage hardware on the mobile device, such as image sensors 112, distance sensors 114, CPU 116, GPU, 118, and others to provide augmented reality (AR)-based user interfaces. Based on the teaching of Davis, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide with an operating system of a computing device, an extended reality environment of Valdivia. Using an operating system to provide an extended reality environment is well known in the art.
The combination of the cited references teaches all of the features of independent claim 1.
For at least some of the reasons described above regarding the applied references, the combination of the cited references teaches all of the features of independent claim 16.
For at least some of the reasons described above regarding the applied references, the combination of the cited reference teaches all of the features of independent claim 31.
Accordingly, the combination of the cited references teaches applicant’s claimed invention as noted in the office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-7, 9-18, 24-25, 28, 31-32, 39, 40, and 43 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Valdivia et al. (US 2018/0096506 A1) in view of Davis et al. (US 11494051).
As to claim 1, Valdivia et al. teaches a method, comprising: providing, with a computing device ([0077]: computer system such as augmented/virtual reality device) , an extended reality environment that comprises a data visualization utility which, when activated, provides for presenting data of a plurality of data types within the extended reality environment ([0005-0006]; rendering interactive virtual (or augmented) reality environment; [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (e.g. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); providing for presentation, in the extended reality environment and independently of the data visualization utility, a respective set of interaction tools for interacting with data of each respective data type of the plurality of data types ([0132]: FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu; [0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user) wherein more than one of the sets of interaction tools ([0132]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu;[0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user) and more than one of the interaction tools in each of the more than one of the sets of interaction tools are selectable for concurrent presentation in the extended reality environment ([0115]: FIG. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (e.g. tool) which halts a timer associated with the time element 510, “previous” button 520 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding previous visual media item, “next” button 530 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding next visual media item;[0132]: FIGS. 11A-11D illustrate example interfaces for selecting one or more virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180; [0133]: color-adjustor element 1230 (e.g. tool) used to adjust the color of the marker tool 1210, the size-adjustor element 1230 (e.g. tool) used to adjust the size of the tip of the marker tool 1210); receiving, after providing the respective sets of the interaction tools for presentation, a selection of data of one of the plurality of data types for presentation with the data visualization utility ([0132]: As illustrated in FIG. 11A, the user is able to select any of the virtual tools. FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook)). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools); activating the data visualization utility responsive to receiving the selection ([0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (i.e. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); presenting the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility ([0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (i.e. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); and while the data of the one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility, receiving, from at least one sensor of the computing device, an input corresponding to an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data being presented ([0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze; [0132]: FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu), but does not explicitly disclose an operating system of a computing device.
However, Davis et al. teaches an operating system of a computing device (col. 3, lines 31-34 and 59-63: mobile device 110 is any sort of electronic device (e.g. smart wearable device such as smart glasses). Mobile device 110 also includes one or more central processing units (CPUs) 116 that carry out the instructions of a computer program; col. 4, lines 38-41: operating system on mobile device 110) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Valdivia et al. with an operating system of a computing device as taught by Davis in order to manage hardware and software resources and provide an augmented reality user interface.
As to claim 2, Valdivia et al. teaches the method as discussed above, wherein the respective set of the interaction tools for interacting with the data of each respective data type of the plurality of data types ([0132]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu; [0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user), but does not explicitly disclose wherein first and second sets of the sets of interaction tools are, prior to the operating system providing the respective set of the interaction tools for presentation, provided to the computing device respectively by first and second interaction tool providers, at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system.
However, Davis et al. teaches wherein first and second sets of the sets of interaction tools are, prior to the operating system providing the respective set of the interaction tools for presentation, provided to the computing device respectively by first and second interaction tool providers, at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system (col. 4, lines 32-41: AR tools 126 provided by an operating system provider for an operating system, AR tools 126 may be a third-party provider). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Valdivia et al. such that at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system as taught by Davis et al. in order to provide an augmented reality user interface.
As to claim 3, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types is a first interaction tool of the first set (Valdivia et al., [0132-0133]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160), and wherein a second interaction tool of the second set is concurrently presented for use in interacting with the data of the one of the plurality of data types being presented by the data visualization utility (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (e.g. to browse or navigate through content);[0132-0133]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). In FIG. 11D, content is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180). As to claim 4, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the extended reality environment is a three-dimensional extended reality environment (Valdivia et al. [0004];[0135];[0151]:three-dimensional), and wherein the method further comprises presenting the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools with a three-dimensional appearance in the three-dimensional extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0004]: virtual objects are three-dimensional objects; [0132]: FIG. 11C shows marker in tray 1160; {0148]: Figs. 15 and 16A, virtual hair clippers 1550, virtual hair-dryer tool 1610) , the three-dimensional appearance corresponding to a physical shape of a corresponding physical tool (Valdivia et al., [0004]: virtual objects are three-dimensional objects; [0132]: FIG. 11C shows marker in tray 1160;[0148]: Figs. 15 and 16A, virtual hair clippers 1550, virtual hair-dryer tool 1610). As to claim 6, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 4, wherein receiving the selection of the data of one of the plurality of data types comprises receiving the selection with the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools that is later used for the user interaction with the data being presented (Valdivia et al., [0118]: select the movable scrubber and move it to a different location on the timeline, thereby moving to a different point in time in the video. User selects and move the movable scrubber to the left or right to navigate backward or forward, respectively, in the video. Scrubber elements being used to navigate through videos, slideshows, menu of items or document; [0125-0127]: user selects a desired reticle from a menu of reticles. Neutral reticle 950 changes into the highlighter-type reticle 970 in response to selecting the virtual object 960 (e.g., a representation of a book), which summons a view of text content associated with the virtual object 960 (e.g., a page of a book associated with the virtual object 960); [0123]: user aims highlighter-type reticle at text on a page, upon which the appropriate text is highlighted; [0132]: one or more virtual tools to interact with the virtual space. Content edited using one of the tools in the floating menu; [0133]: remote-control tool is used to change currently displayed content; [0156]: remote-control tool to select a particular content item (e.g., the content item 2330)). As to claim 7, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 6, further comprising concurrently presenting the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools and at least another of the interaction tools of the respective set of interaction tools in the extended reality environment for modifying the data of the one of the plurality of data types being presented by the data visualization utility (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180).
As to claim 9, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising, while presenting the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility at a first location in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (e.g. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); Fig. 11B shows the data (e.g. graphic showing a group of people) of the one of the plurality of data types in interface 1140; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type)), presenting data of another one of the plurality of data types with the data visualization utility at a second location in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations). As to claim 10, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising, while the data of the one of the other one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations): presenting an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool) to pick up a virtual object, to browse or navigate through content;[0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: eye-change tool, a virtual hair-dryer tool, a virtual hair-straightener tool, a virtual curling-iron tool, virtual hair gel, virtual makeup, virtual hair dye, virtual shaving cream, virtual beard trimmer, virtual hair clippers, virtual razor, virtual hair-growing cream); receiving a user selection of the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: change eye color by picking up an eye-change tool); and receiving, from the at least one sensor of the computing device, a user input corresponding to an interaction (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), using the selected interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: change eye color by picking up an eye-change tool), with the data of the one of the other one of the plurality of data types that is being presented by the data visualization utility at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0132];[0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations). As to claim 11, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types is the same as the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0005]; gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); Fig. 11B shows the data (e.g. graphic showing a group of people) of the one of the plurality of data types in interface 1140 and data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140). As to claim 12, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 10, wherein the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0148]: change eye color by picking up an eye-change tool; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations) is different from the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0148]: user using a virtual hair-dryer tool 1610 to modify the hair of the user's avatar, filter tool 1640) that overlays large eyes on the avatar). As to claim 13, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 9, further comprising: receiving, from the at least one sensor of the computing device (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), an input corresponding to the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data of the one of the plurality of data types at the first location (Valdivia et al., [0115]: show of visual media items, Fig. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (tool) halts a timer, “next” or a “previous” button (tool) to move forward or backward; [0132]: Fig. 11B shows the data (e.g. graphic showing a group of people) of the one of the plurality of data types in interface 1140. FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content, content is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu); and receiving, from the at least one sensor of the computing device (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), an input corresponding to the same interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data of the other one of the plurality of data types at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0115]: show of visual media items, Fig. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (tool) halts a timer, “next” or a “previous” button (tool) to move forward or backward; [0132]: 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140. FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content, content (e.g. other content line) is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu). As to claim 14, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 1, further comprising: deactivating the data visualization utility (Valdivia et al., [0013]: avatars and/or content disappear while in pause mode); and removing the respective set of interaction tools from presentation in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0013];[0199]: entire virtual space or content disappear). As to claim 15, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the method of claim 14, further comprising: receiving an additional selection of data of another one of the plurality of data types for presentation with the data visualization utility (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element; [0132]: a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); activating the data visualization utility responsive to receiving the additional selection (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element; [0132]: a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); presenting the data of the other one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element; [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (e.g. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); and providing, for presentation, at least one interaction tool for interaction with the data of the other one of the plurality of data types after presenting the data of the other one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (e.g. to browse or navigate through content);[0132]: FIG. 11D also illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user may currently be using to view content, which may be edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180). As to claim 16, Valdivia et al. teaches a computing device([0077]: computer system), comprising:a memory ([0225]: memory) and a plurality of sets of interaction tools ([0132]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160));at least one sensor ([0106-0107]: sensor); andat least one processor ([0224]: processor) configured to:provide an extended reality environment that comprises a data visualization utility which, when activated, provides for presenting data of a plurality of data types within the extended reality environment ([0005-0006]; rendering interactive virtual (or augmented) reality environment; [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (e.g. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content);provide for presentation, in the extended reality environment and independently of the data visualization utility, a respective set of the interaction tools for interacting with data of each respective data type of the plurality of data types ([0132]: FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu; [0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user)) , wherein more than one of the plurality of sets of interaction tools ([0132]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu;[0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user) and more than one of the interaction tools in each of the more than one of the sets of interaction tools are selectable for concurrent presentation in the extended reality environment ([0115]: FIG. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (e.g. tool) which halts a timer associated with the time element 510, “previous” button 520 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding previous visual media item, “next” button 530 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding next visual media item;[0132]: FIGS. 11A-11D illustrate example interfaces for selecting one or more virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180; [0133]: color-adjustor element 1230 (e.g. tool) used to adjust the color of the marker tool 1210, the size-adjustor element 1230 (e.g. tool) used to adjust the size of the tip of the marker tool 1210);receive, after providing the respective sets of the interaction tools for presentation, a selection of data of one of the plurality of data types for presentation with the data visualization utility([0132]: As illustrated in FIG. 11A, the user is able to select any of the virtual tools. FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook)). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools);activate the data visualization utility responsive to receiving the selection ([0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (i.e. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content);present the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility ([0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (i.e. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); andwhile the data of the one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility, receive, from the at least one sensor, an input corresponding to an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data being presented ([0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze; [0132]: FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu), but does not explicitly disclose storing an operating system, and provide with the operating system, an extended reality environment.
However, Davis et al. teaches storing an operating system (col. 4, lines 12-23: Memory 122; col. 4, lines 38-41: operating system on mobile device 110) and provide with the operating system, an extended reality environment (col. 3, lines 31-34: mobile device 110 is any sort of electronic device (e.g. smart wearable device such as smart glasses); col. 4, lines 29-31: display augmented reality data; col. 4, lines 38-41: operating system on mobile device 110) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Valdivia et al by storing an operating system and provide with the operating system, an extended reality environment as taught by Davis in order to manage hardware and software resources and provide an augmented reality user interface.
As to claim 17, Valdivia et al. teaches the computing device of as discussed above, providing the respective set of the interaction tools for interacting with the data of each respective data type of the plurality of data types for presentation ([0132]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu; [0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user), but does not explicitly disclose prior to the operating system providing the respective set of the interaction tools, first and second sets of the sets of interaction tools are obtained by the computing device, respectively, from first and second interaction tool providers, at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system. However, Davis et al. teaches prior to the operating system providing the respective set of the interaction tools, first and second sets of the sets of interaction tools are obtained by the computing device, respectively, from first and second interaction tool providers, at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system (col. 4, lines 32-41: AR tools 126 provided by an operating system provider for an operating system, AR tools 126 may be a third-party provider). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Valdivia et al. such that at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system as taught by Davis et al. in order to provide an augmented reality user interface.
As to claim 18, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the computing device of claim 17, wherein the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types is a first interaction tool of the first set (Valdivia et al., [0132-0133]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160), and wherein a second interaction tool of the second set is concurrently presented for use in interacting with the data of the one of the plurality of data types being presented by the data visualization utility (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (e.g. to browse or navigate through content; [0132-0133]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). In FIG. 11D, content is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180). As to claim 24, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the computing device of claim 16, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, while presenting the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility at a first location in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (e.g. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); Fig. 11B shows the data (e.g. graphic showing a group of people) of the one of the plurality of data types in interface 1140; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type)), present data of another one of the plurality of data types with the data visualization utility at a second location in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140;[0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations). As to claim 25, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the computing device of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to, while the data of the one of the other one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations):present an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool) to pick up a virtual object, to browse or navigate through content;[0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: eye-change tool, a virtual hair-dryer tool, a virtual hair-straightener tool, a virtual curling-iron tool, virtual hair gel, virtual makeup, virtual hair dye, virtual shaving cream, virtual beard trimmer, virtual hair clippers, virtual razor, virtual hair-growing cream);receive a user selection of the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: change eye color by picking up an eye-change tool); andreceive, from the at least one sensor, an input corresponding to an interaction (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), using the selected interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: change eye color by picking up an eye-change tool), with the data of the one of the other one of the plurality of data types that is being presented by the data visualization utility at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0132];[0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations). As to claim 28, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the computing device of claim 24, wherein the at least one processor is further configured to: receive, from the at least one sensor (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), an input corresponding to the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data of the one of the plurality of data types at the first location (Valdivia et al., [0115]: show of visual media items, Fig. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (tool) halts a timer, “next” or a “previous” button (tool) to move forward or backward; [0132]: Fig. 11B shows the data (e.g. graphic showing a group of people) of the one of the plurality of data types in interface 1140. FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content, content is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu); and receive, from the at least one sensor (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), an input corresponding to the same interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data of the other one of the plurality of data types at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0115]: show of visual media items, Fig. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (tool) halts a timer, “next” or a “previous” button (tool) to move forward or backward; [0132]: 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140. FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content, content (e.g. other content line) is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu).
As to claim 31, Valdivia et al. teaches a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions which, when executed by one or more processors ([0226]: memory storing instructions for processor to execute), cause the one or more processors to perform operations, comprising: providing, with a computing device ([0077]: computer system such as augmented/virtual reality device) , an extended reality environment that comprises a data visualization utility which, when activated, provides for presenting data of a plurality of data types within the extended reality environment ([0005-0006]; rendering interactive virtual (or augmented) reality environment; [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (e.g. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); providing for presentation, in the extended reality environment and independently of the data visualization utility, a respective set of interaction tools for interacting with data of each respective data type of the plurality of data types ([0132]: FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu; [0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user) wherein more than one of the sets of interaction tools ([0132]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu;[0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user) and more than one of the interaction tools in each of the more than one of the sets of interaction tools are selectable for concurrent presentation in the extended reality environment ([0115]: FIG. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (e.g. tool) which halts a timer associated with the time element 510, “previous” button 520 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding previous visual media item, “next” button 530 (e.g. tool) to switch to a corresponding next visual media item;[0132]: FIGS. 11A-11D illustrate example interfaces for selecting one or more virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu 1180; [0133]: color-adjustor element 1230 (e.g. tool) used to adjust the color of the marker tool 1210, the size-adjustor element 1230 (e.g. tool) used to adjust the size of the tip of the marker tool 1210); receiving, after providing the respective sets of the interaction tools for presentation, a selection of data of one of the plurality of data types for presentation with the data visualization utility ([0132]: As illustrated in FIG. 11A, the user is able to select any of the virtual tools. FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook)). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content which is edited using one of the tools); activating the data visualization utility responsive to receiving the selection ([0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (i.e. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content) ; presenting the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility ([0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (i.e. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user uses to view content); and while the data of the one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility, receiving, from at least one sensor of the computing device, an input corresponding to an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data being presented ([0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze; [0132]: FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu), but does not explicitly disclose an operating system of a computing device.
However, Davis et al. teaches an operating system of a computing device (col. 3, lines 31-34 and 59-63: mobile device 110 is any sort of electronic device (e.g. smart wearable device such as smart glasses) . Mobile device 110 also includes one or more central processing units (CPUs) 116 that carry out the instructions of a computer program; col. 4, lines 38-41: operating system on mobile device 110) .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Valdivia et al. with an operating system of a computing device as taught by Davis in order to manage hardware and software resources and provide an augmented reality user interface.
As to claim 32, Valdivia et al. teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, wherein, providing the respective set of the interaction tools for interacting with the data of each respective data type of the plurality of data types for presentation ([0132]: Figs. 11A and 11D illustrate sets of virtual tools. FIG. 11C illustrates an interface where sets of tools appear on different trays (e.g., the tray 1160). FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content which is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu; [0155-0156]: interactive surface is altered based on tool selected by user), but does not explicitly disclose prior to the operating system providing the respective set of the interaction tools, first and second sets of the sets of interaction tools are obtained by the computing device, respectively, by first and second interaction tool providers, at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system. However, Davis et al. teaches prior to the operating system providing the respective set of the interaction tools, first and second sets of the sets of interaction tools are obtained by the computing device, respectively, by first and second interaction tool providers, at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system (col. 4, lines 32-42: AR tools 126 provided by an operating system provider for an operating system, AR tools 126 may be a third-party provider). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Valdivia et al. such that at least one of the first and second interaction tool providers being different from a provider of the operating system as taught by Davis et al. in order to provide an augmented reality user interface.
As to claim 39, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 31, the operations further comprising, while presenting the data of the one of the plurality of data types with the activated data visualization utility at a first location in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 (e.g. data visualization utility) of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); Fig. 11B shows the data (e.g. graphic showing a group of people) of the one of the plurality of data types in interface 1140; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type)), presenting data of another one of the plurality of data types with the data visualization utility at a second location in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140;[0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations). As to claim 40, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 39, the operations further comprising, while the data of the one of the other one of the plurality of data types is being presented by the data visualization utility at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0132]: FIG. 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140; [0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations): presenting an interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types in the extended reality environment (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool) to pick up a virtual object, to browse or navigate through content;[0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: eye-change tool, a virtual hair-dryer tool, a virtual hair-straightener tool, a virtual curling-iron tool, virtual hair gel, virtual makeup, virtual hair dye, virtual shaving cream, virtual beard trimmer, virtual hair clippers, virtual razor, virtual hair-growing cream); receiving a user selection of the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: change eye color by picking up an eye-change tool); and receiving, from the at least one sensor, an input corresponding to an interaction (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), using the selected interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the other one of the plurality of data types (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0132]: FIG. 11B illustrates the result of selecting the social-network tool 1150, which causes the display of an interface 1140 of an online social network (e.g., Facebook); [0148]: change eye color by picking up an eye-change tool), with the data of the one of the other one of the plurality of data types that is being presented by the data visualization utility at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0132];[0148]: features (e.g., nose, mouth, jaw line, skin color, eye color, facial hair type) located at different locations). As to claim 43, Valdivia et al. in view of Davis et al. teaches the non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 39, the operations further comprising: receiving, from the at least one sensor (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), an input corresponding to the interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data of the one of the plurality of data types at the first location (Valdivia et al., [0115]: show of visual media items, Fig. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (tool) halts a timer, “next” or a “previous” button (tool) to move forward or backward; [0132]: Fig. 11B shows the data (e.g. graphic showing a group of people) of the one of the plurality of data types in interface 1140. FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content, content is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu); and receiving, from the at least one sensor (Valdivia et al., [0005]: gaze input used to activate “hit targets,” or regions associated with a virtual object or an interactive element (i.e. tool); [0106]: gaze-tracking mechanism (e.g., employing one or more sensor devices) that allow for the tracking of the user's gaze;[0164]: detection mechanism), an input corresponding to the same interaction tool of the respective set of interaction tools for the one of the plurality of data types, for user interaction with the data of the other one of the plurality of data types at the second location (Valdivia et al., [0115]: show of visual media items, Fig. 5A shows “pause” button 540 (tool) halts a timer, “next” or a “previous” button (tool) to move forward or backward; [0132]: 11B shows data of another one of the plurality of data types (e.g. data other than a group of people) at a first column of interface 1140. FIG. 11D illustrates a desktop or tablet tool that the user is using to view content, content (e.g. other content line) is edited using one of the tools in the floating menu).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/STACY KHOO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2624