DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, filed with respect to the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive in view of the Amendment. Accordingly, the previously set forth rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed with respect to the prior art rejections have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that Hashimoto fails to teach “a thickness of a part where the first main body surface- side channel is formed is less than an overall thickness of the wick sheet”, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that Hashimoto teaches, in Figure 26, within the at least one of the lands (84), a thickness of a part where the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a) is formed is less than an overall thickness of the wick sheet (see in Figure 26 where a thickness of a part where (41 on 30a) is formed is less than an overall thickness of 30).
Applicant’s arguments regarding DAKEMACHU with respect to the above limitation have been considered but are moot because DAKEMACHU was not relied upon to teach the above limitation.
Accordingly, the previous rejection is maintained, modified as necessitated by Amendment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 22-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO (JP 2019039662 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) in view of DAKEMACHU (WO 2019065969 A1: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 1, HASHIMOTO teaches a wick sheet for a vapor chamber (see Figures 25-31), the wick sheet (30) comprising:
a first main body surface (30a);
a second main body surface (30b) on an opposite side to the first main body surface (30a: see Figure 31);
a frame (83); and
a plurality of lands (84) provided inside the frame so as to be spaced apart from each other (see Figure 31), wherein
a vapor passage (81 and/or 82: see Figures 25 and 27) extending through from the first main body surface (30a) to the second main body surface (30b) and through which vapor of a working fluid passes is formed between the frame and at least one of the lands (see ¶ [0212] and cf. Figures 25-31),
a liquid channel (41 of 99) that communicates with the vapor passage (81 and/or 82) and through which the liquid working fluid passes is formed on the second main body surface side (30b) of at least one of the lands (84: see ¶ [0212] and cf. Figures 27-31),
a first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a) that communicates with the vapor passage (81 and/or 82) is formed on the first main body surface side (30a) of at least one of the lands (84: see Figures 25-31), and within the at least one of the lands (84), a thickness of a part where the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a) is formed is less than an overall thickness of the wick sheet (see in Figure 26 where a thickness of a part where (41 on 30a) is formed is less than an overall thickness of 30).
HASHIMOTO does not teach an end of the vapor passage in an extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, and a first main body surface-side channel that communicates with the vapor passage is formed in a connection region in which the end of the vapor passage in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, and the connection region is thinned from the first main body surface side.
However, it’s old and well known for vapor chambers to have their side channels that formed on the lower side of a plurality of lands to intersect with vapor passage(s) in a connection region, as evidenced by DAKEMACHU, see in DAKEMACHU’s Figures 74-77 where the wick sheet of (73) comprises a plurality of lands (74) that comprises side channels (30), and a vapor passage (177) that is between the plurality of lands (74), wherein an end of the vapor passage (177) is in contact with at least one of the plurality of lands (74: see Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77) which necessitate the side channels (30) of a plurality of lands (74) to intersect with the vapor passage (177) in a connection region (middle section of the vapor chamber 1H where the area D is located: see Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first main body surface-side channel of HASHIMOTO’s lands to intersect with the vapor passages in a connection region so that an end of the vapor passage in an extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, and a first main body surface-side channel that communicates with the vapor passage is formed in a connection region in which the end of the vapor passage in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, since as evidenced by DAKEMACHU, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the working fluid circulation by merging the flow into portion of the lands.
HASHIMOTO in view of DAKEMACHU further teaches the connection region is thinned from the first main body surface side (see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77 where the connection region is thinned (in the Y direction) from the first main body surface side (i.e. lower surface of 73)).
Regarding claim 2, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein another vapor passage (81 and/or 82): see HASHIMOTO’s Figure 25) is present on an opposite side of the connection region to a side where the end of the vapor passage in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands (HASHIMOTO as modified by DAKEMACHU necessitate to have another one of 81 and/or 82 to be present on an opposite side of DAKEMACHU’s connection region: see DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77 where another 177 must be present on an opposite side of the connection region).
Regarding claim 3, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein a vaporization region (11 of HASHIMOTO, see Figure 25: 11 of DAKEMACHU: see Figure 74) in which a heat source (D of HASHIMOTO and DAKEMACHU) is disposed is present on the wick sheet (30 of HASHIMOTO), and the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a of HASHIMOTO) is continuously formed up to the vaporization region along at least one of the lands (see HASHIMOTO’s ¶ [0196]).
Regarding claim 4, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a) is also formed in another one of the lands (84) extending along the vapor passage (see Figure 31 and ¶ [0196]).
Regarding claim 5, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein in the connection region (DAKEMACHU’s middle section of the vapor chamber 1H where the area D is located) in which the end of the vapor passage in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, the at least one of the lands and the vapor passage intersect at an angle that is not a right angle in a plan view (see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77 where the side channels (30) of a plurality of lands (74) is intersecting with the vapor passage (177) at an angle not a right angle in a plan view)
Regarding claim 6, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein the connection region (DAKEMACHU’s middle section of the vapor chamber 1H where the area D is located: see DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74) is located at a part where at least one of the lands is curved (see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 where the connection region is located at a part where the land is curved (i.e. around 22b and 13b)).
Regarding claim 7, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein at least two of the lands merge, and the end of the vapor passage in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the at least two of the lands at the merged part (see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77 where the plurality of lands 74 merge and the end of the vapor passage 177 is in contact with the land at the merged part).
Regarding claim 8, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein at a location where the end of the vapor passage in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, the vapor passage and the at least one of the lands are orthogonal to each other in a plan view part (see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 76 and cf. Figure 77 where the vapor passage 177 and the land 74 are orthogonal to each other in a plan view part).
Regarding claim 22, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a: see Figure 31) comprises a plurality of first main body surface-side main stream grooves (the plurality of 41) and a plurality of protrusion arrays (protrusion (43) between 41 on 30a).
Regarding claim 23, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein the first main body surface-side main stream grooves (the plurality of 41) and the protrusion arrays (protrusion (43) between 41 on 30a) extend in a flow direction of the vapor of the working fluid (see 41 in Figures 30 and 31).
Regarding claim 24, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a: see Figure 31) comprises a first main body surface-side main stream groove (one the plurality of 41 on 30a) and a pair of protrusions located at both ends of the first main body surface-side main stream groove in the width direction (see the pair of the protrusion (43) between 41 on 30a in Figures 30 and 31).
Regarding claim 25, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a: see Figure 31) comprises a flat surface (see in Figure 30 where 41 is flat in the plan view).
Regarding claim 26, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein at least two lands of the plurality of lands (84 of HASHIMOTO: 74 of DAKEMACHU) are connected to each other (see DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77 where at least two lands of 74 of DAKEMACHU are connected to each other), and the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a of HASHIMOTO: 30 of DAKEMACHU) is formed at a connecting portion of the at least two connected lands (see 30 in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77).
Regarding claim 27, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein another first main body surface-side channel (another one of 41 on 30a of HASHIMOTO: another one of 30 of DAKEMACHU), not thinned from the first main body surface side, is formed at a position adjacent to the first main body surface-side channel (see in HASHIMOTO’s Figure 31 where another one of 41 on 30a is formed at a position adjacent to the other 41: see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 77 where another one of 30 is formed at a position adjacent to the other 30).
Regarding claim 28, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches wherein a vaporization region (11 of HASHIMOTO, see Figure 25: 11 of DAKEMACHU: see Figure 74), in which a heat source is disposed (D of HASHIMOTO and DAKEMACHU), is present on the wick sheet (30 of HASHIMOTO), another first main body surface-side channel (another one of 41 on 30a of HASHIMOTO: another one of 30 of DAKEMACHU), not thinned from the first main body surface side, is formed at a position adjacent to the connection region (see in HASHIMOTO’s Figure 31 where another one of 41 on 30a is formed at a position adjacent to the other 41: see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 77 where another one of 30 is formed at a position adjacent to the other 30), and the another first main body surface-side channel, not thinned from the first main body surface side, is continuously formed up to the vaporization region along at least one of the lands (see DAKEMACHU’s ¶[484] where all of 30 continuously formed up to the vaporization region).
Claims 29 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO (JP 2019039662 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) in view of DAKEMACHU (WO 2019065969 A1: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 29, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches a vapor chamber (1: see Figure 25) filled with a working fluid (2: see Figure 31), the vapor chamber comprising: a first sheet (10); a second sheet (20); and the wick sheet (30) according to claim 1, interposed between the first sheet and the second sheet (see Figure 31 and the rejection of claim 1).
Regarding claim 30, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches an electronic apparatus (E: see Figure 1) comprising: a housing (H); a device (D) accommodated in the housing (H); and the vapor chamber according to claim 29, being in thermal contact with the device (see Figures 1, 31, and the rejection of claim 29).
Claims 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO (JP 2019039662 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) in view of DAKEMACHU (WO 2019065969 A1: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 10, HASHIMOTO teaches a wick sheet for a vapor chamber (see Figures 25-31), the wick sheet (30) comprising:
a first main body surface (30a);
a second main body surface (30b) on an opposite side to the first main body surface (30a: see Figure 31);
a frame (83); and
a plurality of lands (84) provided inside the frame so as to be spaced apart from each other (see Figure 31), wherein
a through-space (81 and/or 82: see Figures 25 and 27) extending through from the first main body surface (30a) to the second main body surface (30b) is formed between the frame (83) and at least one of the lands (84: see ¶ [0212] and cf. Figures 25-31),
a second main body surface groove (41 of 99) that communicates with the through-space (81 and/or 82) is formed on the second main body surface (30b) side of at least one of the lands (84: see ¶ [0212] and cf. Figures 27-31),
a first main body surface-side groove (41 on 30a) that communicates with the through-space (81 and/or 82) is formed on the first main body surface side (30a) of the land (84: see Figures 25-31), and within the at least one of the lands (84), a thickness of a part where the first main body surface-side channel (41 on 30a) is formed is less than an overall thickness of the wick sheet (see in Figure 26 where a thickness of a part where (41 on 30a) is formed is less than an overall thickness of 30).
HASHIMOTO does not teach an end of the through-space in an extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, and a first main body surface-side groove that communicates with the through-space is formed on the first main body surface side of at least one of the lands in a connection region in which the end of the through-space in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, and the connection region is thinned from the first main body surface side.
However, it’s old and well known for vapor chambers to have their side channels that formed on the lower side of a plurality of lands to intersect with vapor passage(s) in a connection region, as evidenced by DAKEMACHU, see in DAKEMACHU’s Figures 74-77 where the wick sheet of (73) comprises a plurality of lands (74) that comprises side groove (30), and a through-space (177) that is between the plurality of lands (74), wherein an end of through-space (177) is in contact with at least one of the plurality of lands (74: see Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77) which necessitate the side groove (30) of a plurality of lands (74) to intersect with the through-space (177) in a connection region (middle section of the vapor chamber 1H where the area D is located: see Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77).
It would, therefore, have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the first main body surface-side channel of HASHIMOTO’s lands to intersect with the vapor passages in a connection region so that an end of the through-space in an extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, and a first main body surface-side groove that communicates with the through-space is formed in a connection region in which the end of the through-space in the extension direction is in contact with at least one of the lands, since as evidenced by DAKEMACHU, such provision was old and well-known in the art, and would provide the predictable benefit of increasing the working fluid circulation by merging the flow into portion of the lands.
HASHIMOTO in view of DAKEMACHU further teaches the connection region is thinned from the first main body surface side (see in DAKEMACHU’s Figure 74 and cf. Figure 77 where the connection region is thinned (in the Y direction) from the first main body surface side (i.e. lower surface of 73)).
Claims 31 and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over HASHIMOTO (JP 2019039662 A: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner) in view of DAKEMACHU (WO 2019065969 A1: Machine Translation was previously provided by Examiner).
Regarding claim 31, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches a vapor chamber (1: see Figure 25) filled with a working fluid (2: see Figure 31), the vapor chamber comprising: a first sheet (10); a second sheet (20); and the wick sheet (30) according to claim 10, interposed between the first sheet and the second sheet (see Figure 31 and the rejection of claim 10).
Regarding claim 32, HASHIMOTO as modified further teaches an electronic apparatus (E: see Figure 1) comprising: a housing (H); a device (D) accommodated in the housing (H); and the vapor chamber according to claim 31, being in thermal contact with the device (see Figures 1, 31, and the rejection of claim 31).
Conclusion
/KHALED AHMED ALI AL SAMIRI/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JIANYING C ATKISSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763