DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 9/21//2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1- under section 103 under Rodriguez and Sullivan have been fully considered but are unpersuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the brake pad is for performing intermittent braking activation, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. In this case Sullivan provides a teaching for utilizing PTFE for brake pads, (PTFE is defined in applicant’s specification as a material having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3.). The combined apparatus would be capable of performing the claimed intended use.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually with respect to claim 6 (which appears to be actually addressing claim 5), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant's arguments and amendments filed 9/21/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to claims 9 and 11 and 13-19. The rejections have been modified to reflect the amendments, but otherwise substantially maintained.
With respect to claim 11, the examiner has previously gone into further detail as to the rejection but left the analysis of obviousness substantially similar. Verrall does not disclose wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head, although Verrall does disclose a cutting section, a brake assembly, and the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head. Additionally, Verrall teaches that these elements are functionally related, teaching in paragraph 0055 and 0086 that:
[0055] The tape brake comprises the first brake 501 and the second brake 502. The tape brake is arranged to brake the tape when the tape cutter is at or near the cutting position. The braking force is sufficient to bring the tape to a standstill or at least to decrease the tape speed (compared to its regular dispensing speed) to a desired speed to allow a cleaner cut. The brake has the effect of reducing the tape speed as the cutter reaches the cutting position (i.e. first engages the tape during the cutting operation), or before the cutter reaches the cutting position.
…
[0086] The invention relies on co-ordination of movement between the tape launcher, the tape cutter and the tape brake, and this will now be described in detail.
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller as such an arrangement would also achieve co-ordination of movement between the tape launcher, the tape cutter and the tape brake.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks and amendments, filed 9/21/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 12 and 20 under Verrrall under either section 102 or 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of previously applied Verrall and the newly applied Samson-himmelstjerna reference.
Samson-Himmelsterjerna would disclose and make obvious the full limitation of a cutting section located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively severing the adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path, wherein a length, L, of a cutting blade in the cutting section is effective to only partially severe a width, W, of the adhesive tape such that an uncut portion of the width W remains intact. Samson-Himmelsterjerna teaches that “with two gaps in the cutting edge, which ensure that the adhesive tape remains intact at these locations” and that “During the cutting process, the cutting edge of the knife presses the adhesive tape together with release paper into these notches so that there is no cut through of the adhesive tape at this point.”
See the translation, disclosing:
The knife and / or the bearing surface are preferably shaped such that, when cut into the adhesive tape, in particular two narrow webs of the adhesive tape remain in relation to the width of the adhesive tape, preferably with a width of one millimeter each, whereby the release paper is not or not substantially cut becomes. The knife can also have the shape of a razor blade, with two gaps in the cutting edge, which ensure that the adhesive tape remains intact at these locations. In another embodiment, the knife has a smooth continuous cutting edge, while in the support surface one, two or more circumferential notches are present. During the cutting process, the cutting edge of the knife presses the adhesive tape together with release paper into these notches so that there is no cut through of the adhesive tape at this point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of a cutting section located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively severing the adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path, wherein a length, L, of a cutting blade in the cutting section is effective to only partially severe a width, W, of the adhesive tape such that an uncut portion of the width W remains intact as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement and in order to enable a cut of the adhesive tape partially as taught by Samson-Himmelstjerna by the use of a cutter that can also have the shape of a razor blade, with two gaps in the cutting edge, which ensure that the adhesive tape remains intact at these locations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez (US 5456792 A) in view of Sullivan (US 20050056991 A1).
As to claim 1, Rodriguez discloses a tape applicator comprising:
an adhesive tape spool unwind (“supply roll 14”);
an adhesive tape path (tape 15 in channel 17) from the adhesive tape spool unwind to a tape applicator head (pressure roller 28);
an intermittent brake assembly (arm 44, brake level 23, friction face 24 and pivot point 25) located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively applying a braking force to an adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path (“The brake mechanism shown here includes a pivotable brake lever 23 having a pivot point 25 and a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating.”); and
a tape span between the intermittent brake assembly and the applicator head for adhesive tape elongation (around the edge of roller 16).
See column 2, line 20, disclosing:
In FIG. 1 there is shown a horizontal track 11 for guiding a cutting tape 10 from left to right in the direction of arrow 12. As the tape 10 passes by the device of this invention in a cartridge or cassette container 13 it applies a strip of adhesive to the bottom surface of tape 10 by contact with transfer roller 16. The adhesive is supplied from a composite tape 15 which includes a double-sided strip of pressure sensitive adhesive adhered to a layer of strippable backing tape 19. A supply roll 14 of the composite tape 15 feeds tape 15 to transfer roller 16 with contact between tape 15 and roller 16 being made at the tip 21 of a stationary nose built into the container 13. Nose tip 21 separates a first channel 17, leading from supply roll 14 to transfer roller 16, and a second channel 18 leading from transfer roller 16 to a disposal site for backing layer 19. Nose tip 21 is a sharp reverse bend so as to enhance the separation of backing layer 19 from the double-sided pressure-sensitive adhesive clinging to transfer roller 16. In order to assure this separation a doctor knife edge 22 is positioned closely adjacent to nose tip 21 and slightly downstream of it. Knife edge 22 is positioned very close to the surface of transfer roller 16 such that the adhesive layer on roller 16 will pass by knife edge 22 but the backing layer 19 will be deflected. Backing layer 19 is stripped away from the adhesive layer on transfer roller 16 and falls into second channel 18 where it eventually, by gravity and/or the force of backing layer 19 pushing on previously stripped backing layer 19, passes through exit port 20 to a waste receptacle or merely hangs downwardly until gathered by an operator for waste disposal. Backing layer 19 is normally a silicone treated paper having poor adherence to the pressure-sensitive adhesive, but may also be a plastic film such as a polyolefin, such as polyethylene or polypropylene, polyacetal, polyvinyl halide, polyvinyl ester, rubbers of various types, such as silicone rubber, etc. Transfer roller 16, likewise, is a material of poor affinity to the adhesive and preferably has a cylindrical surface of silicone rubber.
A brake mechanism is employed to stop the application of adhesive when desired. The brake mechanism shown here includes a pivotable brake lever 23 having a pivot point 25 and a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating. The embodiments illustrated are based on a friction face 24, spring biased against applicator roll 16, but the braking action may be accomplished by engagement of teeth arranged as a rack and pinion. Spring 26 bears against arm 44 of brake lever 23 so as to bias friction face against roller 16. Thus, at rest, the brake mechanism is spring biased to prevent rotation and prevent application of adhesive to tape 10. In order for the device to operate brake lever 23 must be forced to release friction face 24 from contact with transfer roller 16. This is accomplished in FIG. 1 by the downward movement of plunger 27, which is not an element of this device, but rather is a part of the paper windup machine to which the device of this invention is attached. Plunger 27 moves up and down as member 43 moves up and down. Pressure roller 28 is also carried by member 43. Pressure roller 28 in its down position bears against the upper surface of cutting tape 10 directly opposed to transfer roller 16, and provides the force to transfer the strip of adhesive from transfer roller 16 to tape 10 by reason of the fact that the adhesive sticks much more firmly to tape 10 than it does to transfer roller 16. By enabling automatic controls the operator may cause the movement of member 43, which normally is up with no contact between pressure roller 28 and tape 10. When the machine is to prepare a length of tape 10 with adhesive thereon, member 43 automatically moves downwardly to apply the force of pressure roller 28 to tape 10 and to release the brake mechanism by pushing downwardly on brake lever arm 23 so as to disengage friction face 24 from transfer roller 16. The position of brake member 23 and friction face 24 at rest is shown in solid lines in FIG. 1, and when pushed downwardly by plunger 27 to release the brake, their positions are shown in dotted lines.
One step in the operation of using the cutting tape to cut a moving web of paper and to transfer the cut web to a new windup roll is to push the forward end of the cutting tape, with adhesive on its bottom surface, across the width of the moving web of paper and have the forward end near to the new windup roll. In order to be sure that the forward end of the tape has adhesive on it, an adhesive detector roll 32 is employed on the tape transfer machinery to which the device 13 of this invention is attached. Adhesive detector roll is positioned very close to the lower surface of tape 10 which moves by from left to right. Roll 32 has a surface which has a slight affinity to the pressure-sensitive adhesive and will, therefore, be moved by the contact with the adhesive Strip in tape 10. This will cause roll 32 to rotate which, in turn, is detected by rotation sensor 33. If roll 32 fails to rotate, sensor 33 will signal a control (not shown) to divert tape 10 away from the track that leads it across the width of the travelling web of paper to the vicinity of the new wind up roll. The operator is signaled with that information so that he may abort the faulty tape 10 and begin a new cycle to apply adhesive to tape 10 and send it across the web to the new wind up roll. It is emphasized that adhesive detector roll 32 and rotation detector 33 are not part of this invention. The present invention includes all that is within the bounds of container 13 and including transfer roller 16 which has a small portion of its perimeter extending outwardly of container 13 so as to contact the surface to which adhesive is to be applied, in this case the lower surface of tape 10.
FIGS. 2-4 depict an adhesive dispenser having all of the components and features of the device of FIG. 1 except that the device of FIGS. 2-4 is designed to be used manually to apply adhesive to a surface rather than be attached to a machine to do the same. The device of FIG. 2 is an embodiment that includes a collection space 35 to collect the backing tape stripped from its adhesive layer. In FIGS. 3-4 the backing layer is discharged to the outside of the device, as in FIG. 1, with no specific receptacle to collect the backing tape.
See both Figures 1 and 2, below:
However, Rodriguez discloses a brake pad (friction face 24) but does not disclose wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake pad for intermittent braking activation, and the brake pad having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3.
However, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake pad for intermittent braking activation, and the brake pad having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3 would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Additionally, Sullivan discloses in paragraph 0038 that it is known to use a brake with PTFE contacting surfaces, “which has sufficiently low friction to reduce wear while affording sufficient braking”, and teaches in paragraph 0065 that the material may be continuous and used with cross-cutting tools or tools for severing. See paragraph 0038 and 0065, disclosing:
[0038] Referring back to FIG. 1, the restraint provided by the vacuum chamber 30 to prevent misfeed of the next lowermost sheet may be supplemented by brake means for damping rotation of rollers 14 so that once the sheet being fed has clears each set of freewheeling rollers, their rotation is rapidly arrested to prevent any premature advance of the next lowermost sheet in the stack. The brake means 40 may comprise any suitable mechanism to arrest the rollers once they are no longer driven by their engagement with the sheet being fed. For instance, the brake means 40 may comprise friction pads or more elaborate mechanically, electrically or pneumatically operable means for resisting rotation of the rollers 14. In one embodiment of the invention, the brake means may be arranged to constantly bear against the rollers or a component which rotates with the rollers when the latter are driven or when they freewheel. In this instance, the contacting surfaces may be provided with material such as a PTFE which has sufficiently low friction to reduce wear while affording sufficient braking to prevent freewheeling once the rollers when this could otherwise affect accurate positioning of the blanks. More specifically, after the departing sheet has cleared the rollers 14, the latter are required to be substantially static with respect to the next sheet to be fed so that that sheet is not advanced by an indeterminate amount (thereby causing misregistration) as could otherwise happen if the rollers 14 are allowed to over run upon disengagement with the previously fed sheet. The rollers 14 remain static until driven by the servomotor 21 when feed of the next sheet is required.
…
[0065] Although the invention is described above with reference primarily to the treatment of blanks of sheet material, the possibility is not excluded of feeding a continuous web of material to the rolls 12 and controlling web passage through the nip in the manner described above. Thus, for example, the rolls 12 may include tooling for severing, e.g. by cross-cutting, the continuous web fed thereto into discrete sheets of length up to or exceeding the circumference of the tool-carrying roll or rolls. In addition to the severing tool, the rolls 12 may be provided with one or more circumferentially spaced tools for performing other operations on the web.
(Applicant’s specification discloses that PTFE is a material having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3, as PTFE has a static coefficient of about 0.08 in page 17, line 12)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake pad for intermittent braking activation, and the brake pad having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3 as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller, and because Sullivan teaches that a PTFE brake pad, which is a material disclosed in applicant’s own specification as having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3, is useful as a brake material for roller operations as it has sufficiently low friction to reduce wear while affording sufficient braking.
As to claim 2, Rodriguez discloses a guide wheel (transfer roller 16) in the adhesive tape path that is located between the adhesive spool unwind and the tape applicator head such that an adhesive tape moving along the adhesive tape path will wrap at least a portion of an outer circumference of the guide wheel (see column 2, line 28, disclosing “A supply roll 14 of the composite tape 15 feeds tape 15 to transfer roller 16 with contact between tape 15 and roller 16 being made at the tip 21 of a stationary nose built into the container 13.”, see also Figure 1).
As to claim 3, Rodriguez discloses wherein the intermittent brake assembly acts on the guide wheel. See column 3, line 1, disclosing “In order for the device to operate brake lever 23 must be forced to release friction face 24 from contact with transfer roller 16.”
As to claim 4, Rodriguez discloses wherein a brake pad presses on the outer circumference of the guide wheel (see column 2, line 60, disclosing “a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating”).
As to claim 5, Rodriguez discloses wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference (see column 2, line 60, disclosing “a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating”).
As to claim 6, Rodriguez does not disclose wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference.
However, as noted in claim 5, Rodriguez does disclose wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference (see column 2, line 60, disclosing “a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating”).
Additionally, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference as an obvious rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference.
As to claim 7, Rodriguez does not disclose wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake shoe having a radius of curvature RS, and the guide wheel has a radius of curvature RW, and RS is greater than RW. Rodriguez does disclose wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference (see column 2, line 60, disclosing “a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating”), which would make obvious a compatible shape.
However, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake shoe having a radius of curvature RS, and the guide wheel has a radius of curvature RW, and RS is greater than RW would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake shoe having a radius of curvature RS, and the guide wheel has a radius of curvature RW, and RS is greater than RW as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
As to claim 8, Rodriguez does not disclose wherein a ratio of RS/RW is from 1000 to 1.5.
However, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein a ratio of RS/RW is from 1000 to 1.5 would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts. Rodriguez does disclose wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference (see column 2, line 60, disclosing “a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating”), which would make obvious a compatible shape.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a ratio of RS/RW is from 1000 to 1.5 as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
As to claim 10, Rodriguez does not disclose wherein the tape span has a length TS, and TS is from 0.5 inch to 20 inches.
However, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the tape span has a length TS, and TS is from 0.5 inch to 20 inches would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the tape span has a length TS, and TS is from 0.5 inch to 20 inches as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
Claim(s) 6 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rodriguez (US 5456792 A) and Sullivan (US 20050056991 A1) as applied to claims 1-8 and 10 above, and further in view of Verrall (US 20210130121 A1)
As to claim 6, Rodriguez does not disclose wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference.
However, as noted in claim 5, Rodriguez does disclose wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference (see column 2, line 60, disclosing “a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating”).
However, Verrall discloses wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference. See paragraph 0074, disclosing “The first brake applies sufficient pressure to the tape to keep the tape pressed against the launch roller when the launch roller 21 moves from its braked position when the first brake is applied to the point at which the first brake is no longer applied.” Additionally, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference as taught in Verrall as an obvious rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference.
Claim(s) 1-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verrall (US 20210130121 A1) and Sullivan (US 20050056991 A1).
As to claim 1, Verrall discloses tape applicator (“adhesive tape dispenser”) comprising:
an adhesive tape spool unwind (see paragraph 0043, disclosing “a feed spool 16 arranged to hold the adhesive tape 12.”);
an adhesive tape path (by roller 26)from the adhesive tape spool unwind to a tape applicator head (including deposition zone 8 and press roller 30; see paragraphs 0082-83, disclosing:
[0082] Once the tape has made initial contact with the object (passing through the deposition zone in a neatly presented manner in this embodiment), the tape adheres to the object.
[0083] In this embodiment, the assembly also comprises a second press roller 30, which is located downstream of the deposition zone 8. The second press roller 30 presses the recently adhered tape piece against the object 6 to facilitate reliable and consistent adhesion therebetween. In other embodiments, no press mechanism may be provided, or a different press mechanism may be provided, e.g. a non-roller presser.
) ;
an intermittent brake assembly located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively applying a braking force to an adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path (see paragraph 0050, disclosing “The tape brake comprises a first brake 501 and a second brake 502—the first brake 501 is arranged to engage the tape from the other side of the tape to co-operate with the first launch member to provide the launch operation—both of the first launch member and the first brake are movable and are arranged to cooperatively launch the tape during the launching operation.”); and
a tape span between the intermittent brake assembly (brake 501) and the applicator head (at press roller 30) for adhesive tape elongation.
See Figures 1 and 2, below:
Verrall discloses a brake pad (friction face 24) but does not disclose wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake pad for intermittent braking activation, and the brake pad having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3. However, Verrall does disclose that the brake pad can be made of aluminium alloy. See paragraph 0057:
[0057] The first brake comprises a mechanical brake in the form of a brake pad 504. The brake pad 504 is made of a strong, light metal alloy in this embodiment—in this case, the alloy is an aluminium alloy, such as ERGAL. Using a mechanical brake facilitates consistent, repeatable braking at precisely the correct moment (relative to the cutting operation).
However, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement w wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake pad for intermittent braking activation, and the brake pad having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3 would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Additionally, Sullivan discloses in paragraph 0038 that it is known to use a brake with PTFE contacting surfaces, “which has sufficiently low friction to reduce wear while affording sufficient braking”, and teaches in paragraph 0065 that the material may be continuous and used with cross-cutting tools or tools for severing. See paragraph 0038 and 0065, disclosing:
[0038] Referring back to FIG. 1, the restraint provided by the vacuum chamber 30 to prevent misfeed of the next lowermost sheet may be supplemented by brake means for damping rotation of rollers 14 so that once the sheet being fed has clears each set of freewheeling rollers, their rotation is rapidly arrested to prevent any premature advance of the next lowermost sheet in the stack. The brake means 40 may comprise any suitable mechanism to arrest the rollers once they are no longer driven by their engagement with the sheet being fed. For instance, the brake means 40 may comprise friction pads or more elaborate mechanically, electrically or pneumatically operable means for resisting rotation of the rollers 14. In one embodiment of the invention, the brake means may be arranged to constantly bear against the rollers or a component which rotates with the rollers when the latter are driven or when they freewheel. In this instance, the contacting surfaces may be provided with material such as a PTFE which has sufficiently low friction to reduce wear while affording sufficient braking to prevent freewheeling once the rollers when this could otherwise affect accurate positioning of the blanks. More specifically, after the departing sheet has cleared the rollers 14, the latter are required to be substantially static with respect to the next sheet to be fed so that that sheet is not advanced by an indeterminate amount (thereby causing misregistration) as could otherwise happen if the rollers 14 are allowed to over run upon disengagement with the previously fed sheet. The rollers 14 remain static until driven by the servomotor 21 when feed of the next sheet is required.
…
[0065] Although the invention is described above with reference primarily to the treatment of blanks of sheet material, the possibility is not excluded of feeding a continuous web of material to the rolls 12 and controlling web passage through the nip in the manner described above. Thus, for example, the rolls 12 may include tooling for severing, e.g. by cross-cutting, the continuous web fed thereto into discrete sheets of length up to or exceeding the circumference of the tool-carrying roll or rolls. In addition to the severing tool, the rolls 12 may be provided with one or more circumferentially spaced tools for performing other operations on the web.
(Applicant’s specification discloses that PTFE is a material having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3, as PTFE has a static coefficient of about 0.08 in page 17, line 12)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake pad for intermittent braking activation, and the brake pad having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3 as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller, and because Sullivan teaches that a PTFE brake pad, which is a material disclosed in applicant’s own specification as having a static coefficient of friction greater than 0.0 and less than 0.3, is useful as a brake material for roller operations as it has sufficiently low friction to reduce wear while affording sufficient braking.
As to claim 2, Verrall discloses comprising a guide wheel (launch roller 21) in the adhesive tape path that is located between the adhesive spool unwind and the tape applicator head such that an adhesive tape moving along the adhesive tape path will wrap at least a portion of an outer circumference of the guide wheel. See paragraph 0063, disclosing:
[0063] As previously described, in this embodiment, the first brake assists in the launching operation. The first brake and the tape launcher together form a launch module. The launch module comprises a launch frame 508. The launch roller 21 and the first brake 501 are both mounted to the launch frame 508. The first brake 501 is pivotally mounted to the launch frame 508 such that it pivots relative to the roller 21 and between its applied (FIG. 5b) and unapplied (FIG. 5a) positions.
See also Figures 5a-d below:
As to claim 3, Verrall discloses wherein the intermittent brake assembly acts on the guide wheel. See paragraph 0063, disclosing:
[0063] As previously described, in this embodiment, the first brake assists in the launching operation. The first brake and the tape launcher together form a launch module. The launch module comprises a launch frame 508. The launch roller 21 and the first brake 501 are both mounted to the launch frame 508. The first brake 501 is pivotally mounted to the launch frame 508 such that it pivots relative to the roller 21 and between its applied (FIG. 5b) and unapplied (FIG. 5a) positions.
See also Figures 5a-d below:
As to claim 4, Verrall discloses wherein a brake pad presses on the outer circumference of the guide wheel. See paragraph 0057, disclosing:
[0057] The first brake comprises a mechanical brake in the form of a brake pad 504. The brake pad 504 is made of a strong, light metal alloy in this embodiment—in this case, the alloy is an aluminium alloy, such as ERGAL. Using a mechanical brake facilitates consistent, repeatable braking at precisely the correct moment (relative to the cutting operation).
As to claim 5, Verrall does not disclose wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference
However, as noted in claim 6, Verrall does disclose wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference. See paragraph 0074, disclosing “The first brake applies sufficient pressure to the tape to keep the tape pressed against the launch roller when the launch roller 21 moves from its braked position when the first brake is applied to the point at which the first brake is no longer applied.”
Additionally, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized w wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference as an obvious rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference.
As to claim 6, Verrall discloses wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference. See paragraph 0074, disclosing “The first brake applies sufficient pressure to the tape to keep the tape pressed against the launch roller when the launch roller 21 moves from its braked position when the first brake is applied to the point at which the first brake is no longer applied.”
As to claim 7, Verrall does not disclose wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake shoe having a radius of curvature RS, and the guide wheel has a radius of curvature RW, and RS is greater than RW. Verrall does disclose wherein a brake pad presses on the outer circumference of the guide wheel, which makes obvious a compatible shape.
Additionally, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake shoe having a radius of curvature RS, and the guide wheel has a radius of curvature RW, and RS is greater than RW would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the intermittent brake assembly comprises a brake shoe having a radius of curvature RS, and the guide wheel has a radius of curvature RW, and RS is greater than RW as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
As to claim 8, Verrall does not disclose wherein a ratio of RS/RW is from 1000 to 1.5.
However, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein a ratio of RS/RW is from 1000 to 1.5 would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts. Verrall does disclose wherein a brake pad presses on the outer circumference of the guide wheel, which makes obvious a compatible shape.
Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein a ratio of RS/RW is from 1000 to 1.5 as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
As to claim 10, Verrall does not disclose wherein the tape span has a length TS, and TS is from 0.5 inch to 20 inches.
However, changes in size and shape, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the tape span has a length TS, and TS is from 0.5 inch to 20 inches would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the tape span has a length TS, and TS is from 0.5 inch to 20 inches as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
Claim(s) 5 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verrall (US 20210130121 A1) and Sullivan (US 20050056991 A1) as applied to claims 1-8 and 10 above, and further in view of Rodriguez (US 5456792 A).
As to claim 5, Verrall does not disclose wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference.
Verrall does disclose wherein the brake pad presses indirectly on the outer circumference and the adhesive tape path positions an adhesive tape between the brake pad and the outer circumference. See paragraph 0074, disclosing “The first brake applies sufficient pressure to the tape to keep the tape pressed against the launch roller when the launch roller 21 moves from its braked position when the first brake is applied to the point at which the first brake is no longer applied.”
However, Rodriguez discloses wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference (see column 2, line 60, disclosing “a friction face 24 to bear against transfer roller 16 so as to prevent it from rotating”).
Additionally, rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference would have been an obvious rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference as in Rodriguez as an obvious rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference.
Claim(s) 11 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verrall (US 20210130121 A1).
As to claim 11, Verrall discloses tape applicator (“adhesive tape dispenser”) comprising:
an adhesive tape spool unwind (see paragraph 0043, disclosing “a feed spool 16 arranged to hold the adhesive tape 12.”);
an adhesive tape path (by roller 26)from the adhesive tape spool unwind to a tape applicator head (including deposition zone 8 and press roller 30; see paragraphs 0082-83, disclosing:
[0082] Once the tape has made initial contact with the object (passing through the deposition zone in a neatly presented manner in this embodiment), the tape adheres to the object.
[0083] In this embodiment, the assembly also comprises a second press roller 30, which is located downstream of the deposition zone 8. The second press roller 30 presses the recently adhered tape piece against the object 6 to facilitate reliable and consistent adhesion therebetween. In other embodiments, no press mechanism may be provided, or a different press mechanism may be provided, e.g. a non-roller presser.
) ;
a cutting section (see “sheath 222 and a retractable blade 22 therein”) located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively severing an adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path. See paragraphs 0076-79, disclosing:
[0076] In this embodiment, the tape cutter is movable between a cutting position, in which the tape cutter is arranged to cut the tape to a desired length, and a non-cutting position. The tape cutter comprises a sheath 222 and a retractable blade 22 therein. The movement of the blade and sheath are controlled such that the blade is retracted in the sheath in the non-cutting position. As the tape cutter moves from the non-cutting position to the cutting position: initially the blade is retracted in the sheath; and subsequently, prior and near to the cutting position, the blade is arranged to exit the sheath to cut the tape. As the tape cutter moves from the cutting position to the non-cutting position immediately after cutting the tape, the blade is arranged to retract into the sheath and subsequently the blade remains retracted in the sheath as the tape cutter moves to the non-cutting position.
[0077] In this embodiment, the blade comprises a spring-loaded retractable blade, wherein the blade is exposed from the sheath only near the cutting position immediately before and after cutting the tape.
[0078] The assembly frame comprises a cutting sheath slot 512 in the back plate. The cutting sheath 222 is slidably mounted in the cutting sheath slot 512.
[0079] Movement of the tape cutter is driven by the motor 24 as previously described. The motor is linked to the blade 22 via drive shaft 25. The motor is a servomotor (or similar actuator) and drives between two extreme positions (e.g. Top Dead Centre and Bottom Dead Centre) that correspond to the cutting and non-cutting positions. In this example, the non-cutting position is at one extreme motor position. As the motor moves to the other extreme position, the sheath 222 is driven to slide through the cutting sheath slot 512. The sheath 222 reaches the end of the slot before the motor reaches its extreme position. The slot 512 thereby provides a mechanical stop against further movement of the sheath. Therefore, further movement of the motor towards its extreme position drives movement only of the blade 22 (not the sheath). The spring-loaded blade is therefore driven (against the action of the spring) out of the sheath 222 until the extreme motor position, which aligns with the cutting position (see FIGS. 4b, 6c and 7). (In this position, note that the tape launcher is in the braked position as described in more detail later.) Whilst the blade is in the sheath, it is not exposed; the blade is exposed only when needed—risk of injury to users is thereby reduced.
an intermittent brake assembly located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively applying a braking force to an adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path (see paragraph 0050, disclosing “The tape brake comprises a first brake 501 and a second brake 502—the first brake 501 is arranged to engage the tape from the other side of the tape to co-operate with the first launch member to provide the launch operation—both of the first launch member and the first brake are movable and are arranged to cooperatively launch the tape during the launching operation.”); and
a tape span between the intermittent brake assembly (brake 501) and the applicator head (at press roller 30) for adhesive tape elongation.
See Figures 1 and 2, below:
Verrall does not disclose wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head, although Verrall does disclose a cutting section, a brake assembly, and the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head. Additionally, Verrall teaches that these elements are functionally related, teaching in paragraph 0055 and 0086 that:
[0055] The tape brake comprises the first brake 501 and the second brake 502. The tape brake is arranged to brake the tape when the tape cutter is at or near the cutting position. The braking force is sufficient to bring the tape to a standstill or at least to decrease the tape speed (compared to its regular dispensing speed) to a desired speed to allow a cleaner cut. The brake has the effect of reducing the tape speed as the cutter reaches the cutting position (i.e. first engages the tape during the cutting operation), or before the cutter reaches the cutting position.
…
[0086] The invention relies on co-ordination of movement between the tape launcher, the tape cutter and the tape brake, and this will now be described in detail.
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller as such an arrangement would also achieve co-ordination of movement between the tape launcher, the tape cutter and the tape brake.
As to claim 9 (which is now dependent from independent claim 11, above), Verrall discloses comprising a guide wheel (launch roller 21) in the adhesive tape path that is located between the adhesive spool unwind and the tape applicator head such that an adhesive tape moving along the adhesive tape path will wrap at least a portion of an outer circumference of the guide wheel. See paragraph 0063, disclosing:
[0063] As previously described, in this embodiment, the first brake assists in the launching operation. The first brake and the tape launcher together form a launch module. The launch module comprises a launch frame 508. The launch roller 21 and the first brake 501 are both mounted to the launch frame 508. The first brake 501 is pivotally mounted to the launch frame 508 such that it pivots relative to the roller 21 and between its applied (FIG. 5b) and unapplied (FIG. 5a) positions.
See also Figures 5a-d below:
Claim(s) 12 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verrall (US 20210130121 A1) in view of Samson-Himmelstjerna (DE 102011079544 A1).
As to claim 12, Verrall discloses a tape applicator (“adhesive tape dispenser”) comprising:
an adhesive tape (“adhesive tape 12”);
an adhesive tape spool unwind (see paragraph 0043, disclosing “a feed spool 16 arranged to hold the adhesive tape 12.”);
an adhesive tape path (by roller 26)from the adhesive tape spool unwind to a tape applicator head (including deposition zone 8 and press roller 30; see paragraphs 0082-83, disclosing:
[0082] Once the tape has made initial contact with the object (passing through the deposition zone in a neatly presented manner in this embodiment), the tape adheres to the object.
[0083] In this embodiment, the assembly also comprises a second press roller 30, which is located downstream of the deposition zone 8. The second press roller 30 presses the recently adhered tape piece against the object 6 to facilitate reliable and consistent adhesion therebetween. In other embodiments, no press mechanism may be provided, or a different press mechanism may be provided, e.g. a non-roller presser.
) ;
a cutting section (see “sheath 222 and a retractable blade 22 therein”) located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively severing an adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path. (See paragraphs 0076-79, disclosing:
[0076] In this embodiment, the tape cutter is movable between a cutting position, in which the tape cutter is arranged to cut the tape to a desired length, and a non-cutting position. The tape cutter comprises a sheath 222 and a retractable blade 22 therein. The movement of the blade and sheath are controlled such that the blade is retracted in the sheath in the non-cutting position. As the tape cutter moves from the non-cutting position to the cutting position: initially the blade is retracted in the sheath; and subsequently, prior and near to the cutting position, the blade is arranged to exit the sheath to cut the tape. As the tape cutter moves from the cutting position to the non-cutting position immediately after cutting the tape, the blade is arranged to retract into the sheath and subsequently the blade remains retracted in the sheath as the tape cutter moves to the non-cutting position.
[0077] In this embodiment, the blade comprises a spring-loaded retractable blade, wherein the blade is exposed from the sheath only near the cutting position immediately before and after cutting the tape.
[0078] The assembly frame comprises a cutting sheath slot 512 in the back plate. The cutting sheath 222 is slidably mounted in the cutting sheath slot 512.
[0079] Movement of the tape cutter is driven by the motor 24 as previously described. The motor is linked to the blade 22 via drive shaft 25. The motor is a servomotor (or similar actuator) and drives between two extreme positions (e.g. Top Dead Centre and Bottom Dead Centre) that correspond to the cutting and non-cutting positions. In this example, the non-cutting position is at one extreme motor position. As the motor moves to the other extreme position, the sheath 222 is driven to slide through the cutting sheath slot 512. The sheath 222 reaches the end of the slot before the motor reaches its extreme position. The slot 512 thereby provides a mechanical stop against further movement of the sheath. Therefore, further movement of the motor towards its extreme position drives movement only of the blade 22 (not the sheath). The spring-loaded blade is therefore driven (against the action of the spring) out of the sheath 222 until the extreme motor position, which aligns with the cutting position (see FIGS. 4b, 6c and 7). (In this position, note that the tape launcher is in the braked position as described in more detail later.) Whilst the blade is in the sheath, it is not exposed; the blade is exposed only when needed—risk of injury to users is thereby reduced.
);
an intermittent brake assembly located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively applying a braking force to an adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path (see paragraph 0050, disclosing “The tape brake comprises a first brake 501 and a second brake 502—the first brake 501 is arranged to engage the tape from the other side of the tape to co-operate with the first launch member to provide the launch operation—both of the first launch member and the first brake are movable and are arranged to cooperatively launch the tape during the launching operation.”); and
a tape span between the intermittent brake assembly (brake 501) and the applicator head (at press roller 30) for adhesive tape elongation.
See Figures 1 and 2, below:
Verrall is capable of being used wherein a length, L, of a cutting blade in the cutting section is effective to only partially severe a width, W, of the adhesive tape. In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein a length, L, of a cutting blade in the cutting section is effective to only partially severe a width, W, of the adhesive tape would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
However, Verrall does not disclose the full limitation of a cutting section located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively severing the adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path, wherein a length, L, of a cutting blade in the cutting section is effective to only partially severe a width, W, of the adhesive tape such that an uncut portion of the width W remains intact.
However, Samson-Himmelsterjerna would disclose and make obvious the full limitation of a cutting section located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively severing the adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path, wherein a length, L, of a cutting blade in the cutting section is effective to only partially severe a width, W, of the adhesive tape such that an uncut portion of the width W remains intact. Samson-Himmelsterjerna teaches that “with two gaps in the cutting edge, which ensure that the adhesive tape remains intact at these locations” and that “During the cutting process, the cutting edge of the knife presses the adhesive tape together with release paper into these notches so that there is no cut through of the adhesive tape at this point.”
See the translation, disclosing:
The knife and / or the bearing surface are preferably shaped such that, when cut into the adhesive tape, in particular two narrow webs of the adhesive tape remain in relation to the width of the adhesive tape, preferably with a width of one millimeter each, whereby the release paper is not or not substantially cut becomes. The knife can also have the shape of a razor blade, with two gaps in the cutting edge, which ensure that the adhesive tape remains intact at these locations. In another embodiment, the knife has a smooth continuous cutting edge, while in the support surface one, two or more circumferential notches are present. During the cutting process, the cutting edge of the knife presses the adhesive tape together with release paper into these notches so that there is no cut through of the adhesive tape at this point.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized the full limitation of a cutting section located between the adhesive tape spool unwind and the tape applicator head for selectively severing the adhesive tape traversing the adhesive tape path, wherein a length, L, of a cutting blade in the cutting section is effective to only partially severe a width, W, of the adhesive tape such that an uncut portion of the width W remains intact as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement and in order to enable a cut of the adhesive tape partially as taught by Samson-Himmelstjerna by the use of a cutter that can also have the shape of a razor blade, with two gaps in the cutting edge, which ensure that the adhesive tape remains intact at these locations.
As to claim 20, Verrall does not disclose wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head, although Verrall does disclose a cutting section, a brake assembly, and the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head. Additionally, Verrall teaches that these elements are functionally related, teaching in paragraph 0055 and 0086 that:
[0055] The tape brake comprises the first brake 501 and the second brake 502. The tape brake is arranged to brake the tape when the tape cutter is at or near the cutting position. The braking force is sufficient to bring the tape to a standstill or at least to decrease the tape speed (compared to its regular dispensing speed) to a desired speed to allow a cleaner cut. The brake has the effect of reducing the tape speed as the cutter reaches the cutting position (i.e. first engages the tape during the cutting operation), or before the cutter reaches the cutting position.
…
[0086] The invention relies on co-ordination of movement between the tape launcher, the tape cutter and the tape brake, and this will now be described in detail.
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the cutting section is located prior to the intermittent brake assembly in the adhesive tape path from the adhesive tape spool unwind to the tape applicator head as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller as such an arrangement would also achieve co-ordination of movement between the tape launcher, the tape cutter and the tape brake.
Claim(s) 13-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verrall (US 20210130121 A1) as applied to claims 11 and 9 above, and further in view of Jiang (US 20160122150 A1) and Hatayama (JP 2000351245 A).
With respect to claim 13, Verrall does not disclose the additional limitation of wherein the cutting section comprises: a cutting head comprising a base surface and a cutting blade extending from the base surface, the cutting blade having a blade base where the cutting blade intersects with and extends from the base surface, and the cutting blade having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface; a pinching head comprising a first pinching projection and a second pinching projection separated by a blade slot; a Y-axis extending from a midpoint of the blade base and extending orthogonal to the base surface, a longitudinal blade axis extending from the midpoint to a center point of the cutting edge, and a first angle greater than 0 degrees between the Y-axis and the longitudinal blade axis; a Z-axis tangent to the base surface, passing through the midpoint, and parallel to the blade base, a cutting edge axis passing through the center point and tangent to the cutting edge, and a second angle less than 80 degrees between the Z-axis and the cutting edge axis; and an adhesive tape spool unwind for dispensing the adhesive tape, wherein at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is movable from a first position with the cutting blade disposed outside of the blade slot to a second position with the cutting blade disposed at least partially within the blade slot.
Jiang discloses a packing tape dispenser (100) comprising: an upper part (102) comprising a base surface and a cutting blade (110) extending from the base surface, the cutting blade (110) having a blade base where the cutting blade (110) intersects with and extends from the base surface, and the cutting blade (110) having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface; a lower part (130) comprising a first protruding strip (134) and a second protruding strip (138) separated by a slot; and a roll of tape (150) for dispensing a tape (156), wherein at least one of the upper part (102) and the lower part (130) is movable from a first position with the cutting blade (110) disposed outside of the slot to a second position with the cutting blade (110) disposed at least partially within the slot (see paragraphs [0013]-[0016] and figures 1-2B).
Jiang, however, does not disclose "a Y-axis extending from a midpoint of a blade base and extending orthogonal to a base surface, a longitudinal blade axis extending from the midpoint to a center point of a cutting edge, and a first angle greater than 0 degrees between the Y-axis and the longitudinal blade axis; and a Z-axis tangent to the base surface, passing through the midpoint, and parallel to the blade base, a cutting edge axis passing through the center point and tangent to the cutting edge, and a second angle less than 80 degrees between the Z-axis and the cutting edge axis”. However, the different feature would be easily derived from Hatayama (see paragraph [0019] and figures 1-2: an angle 0 greater than 0 degrees between a surface (V) perpendicular to a traveling direction of a recording medium (P) and a cut surface of a fixed blade (12), and an angle y less than 80 degrees between a surface (121) of the fixed blade (12) and a sliding surface (122)). Additionally, rearrangement of parts and changes in size and shape are often obvious in the absence of unexpected results. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the cutting section comprises: a cutting head comprising a base surface and a cutting blade extending from the base surface, the cutting blade having a blade base where the cutting blade intersects with and extends from the base surface, and the cutting blade having a cutting edge disposed above the base surface; a pinching head comprising a first pinching projection and a second pinching projection separated by a blade slot; a Y-axis extending from a midpoint of the blade base and extending orthogonal to the base surface, a longitudinal blade axis extending from the midpoint to a center point of the cutting edge, and a first angle greater than 0 degrees between the Y-axis and the longitudinal blade axis; a Z-axis tangent to the base surface, passing through the midpoint, and parallel to the blade base, a cutting edge axis passing through the center point and tangent to the cutting edge, and a second angle less than 80 degrees between the Z-axis and the cutting edge axis; and an adhesive tape spool unwind for dispensing the adhesive tape, wherein at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is movable from a first position with the cutting blade disposed outside of the blade slot to a second position with the cutting blade disposed at least partially within the blade slot as suggested by Jiang and Hatayama in order to make effective cuts.
As to claim 14, Verrall, Jiang and Hatayama does not disclose wherein the first angle lies in a range from about 3 degrees to about 8 degrees.
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the first angle lies in a range from about 3 degrees to about 8 degrees would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts. Alternatively, it would have been obvious to optimize and perform routine experimentation to determine an optimal angle.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the first angle lies in a range from about 3 degrees to about 8 degrees as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts or by routine experimentation and optimization of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
As to claim 15, Verrall, Jiang and Hatayama does not disclose wherein the second angle lies in a range from about 10 degrees to about 18 degrees.
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the second angle lies in a range from about 10 degrees to about 18 degrees would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the second angle lies in a range from about 10 degrees to about 18 degrees as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement.
As to claim 16, Verrall discloses wherein the cutting blade is in alignment with the blade slot. See paragraph 0078, disclosing:
[0078] The assembly frame comprises a cutting sheath slot 512 in the back plate. The cutting sheath 222 is slidably mounted in the cutting sheath slot 512.
As to claim 17, Verrall as modified by Jiang and Hatayama in the rejection of claim 13 above makes obvious wherein the adhesive tape is positioned between the pinching head and the base surface when at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is in the second position.
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the adhesive tape is positioned between the pinching head and the base surface when at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is in the second position would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the adhesive tape is positioned between the pinching head and the base surface when at least one of the cutting head and the pinching head is in the second position as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
As to claim 18, Verrall, Jiang and Hatayama does not disclose further comprising a push button for actuating at least one of the pinching head and the cutting head for cutting the adhesive tape. However, Jiang does disclose a push element. See paragraph 0016, disclosing “During a tape cutting operation, the front end of the lower part 130 is pushed upward, so that the groove comes to pocket at least the lower edge of the cutting blade 110, i.e., at least the serrated lower edge of the cutting blade 110 is lower than an upper edge of at least one of the protruding strips 134 and 138.”
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement further comprising a push button for actuating at least one of the pinching head and the cutting head for cutting the adhesive tape would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized further comprising a push button for actuating at least one of the pinching head and the cutting head for cutting the adhesive tape as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
As to claim 19, Verrall, Jiang and Hatayama does not disclose wherein the push button is coupled to the pinching head. However, Jiang does disclose a push element. See paragraph 0016, disclosing “During a tape cutting operation, the front end of the lower part 130 is pushed upward, so that the groove comes to pocket at least the lower edge of the cutting blade 110, i.e., at least the serrated lower edge of the cutting blade 110 is lower than an upper edge of at least one of the protruding strips 134 and 138.”
In any event, changes in size and shape and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein the push button is coupled to the pinching head would have been an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the push button is coupled to the pinching head as an obvious change in size and shape and rearrangement of parts of the disclosed arrangement of wherein the brake pad presses directly on the outer circumference of the transfer roller.
Claim(s) 18 and 19 is/are alternatively rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Verrall (US 20210130121 A1),Jiang (US 20160122150 A1) and Hatayama (JP 2000351245 A) as applied to claims 13-19 above, and further in view of Langerak (US 20040129386 A1).
As to claim 18, Verrall, Jiang and Hatayama does not disclose further comprising a push button for actuating at least one of the pinching head and the cutting head for cutting the adhesive tape. However, Jiang does disclose a push element. See paragraph 0016, disclosing “During a tape cutting operation, the front end of the lower part 130 is pushed upward, so that the groove comes to pocket at least the lower edge of the cutting blade 110, i.e., at least the serrated lower edge of the cutting blade 110 is lower than an upper edge of at least one of the protruding strips 134 and 138.”
In any event, Langerak discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The pivot arm, 34, is connected to a push button, 32, to effect cutting of the tape (see Paragraph [0032]; Figure 5). The button is accessible from outside of a housing while the lever is inside the housing (Figures 1 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a push button for actuating at least one of the pinching head and the cutting head for cutting the adhesive tape, as taught by Langerak that the tape can be protected from contaminates.
As to claim 19, Verrall, Jiang and Hatayama does not disclose wherein the push button is coupled to the pinching head. However, Jiang does disclose a push element. See paragraph 0016, disclosing “During a tape cutting operation, the front end of the lower part 130 is pushed upward, so that the groove comes to pocket at least the lower edge of the cutting blade 110, i.e., at least the serrated lower edge of the cutting blade 110 is lower than an upper edge of at least one of the protruding strips 134 and 138.” Moreover, the pinching head of Jiang also performs the cutting operation. Thus, the button would be coupled to the pinching head.
In any event, Langerak discloses a tape dispenser (Abstract). The pivot arm, 34, is connected to a push button, 32, to effect cutting of the tape (see Paragraph [0032]; Figure 5). The button is accessible from outside of a housing while the lever is inside the housing (Figures 1 and 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein the push button is coupled to the pinching head as taught by Langerak so that the tape can be protected from contaminates.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK