DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
The claims of 29July 2024 are entered.
The election of 15 June 2026 is entered.
Claims 50-67 and 69-86 have been canceled. Claims 1-49 and 68 are pending. Claims 1-4, 23-26, 46-49, and 68 are withdrawn without traverse. Claims 5-22 and 27-45 are being examined on the merits.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II (claims 5-22 and 27-45) and compound I in the reply filed on 15 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4, 22-26, 46-49, and 68 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 15 June 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
1. Claims 5-14 and 27-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) OR 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marshall et al. (WO 2021/007435 A1, published 14 January 2021, filed 9 July 2020, priority to 10 July 2019, hereafter referred to as ‘435).
The ‘435 application discloses Compound 11 that is identical to instant Compound 1, including the cytotoxin portion targeting topoisomerase 1 and the linked peptide Pv1 (see e.g. Example 11). ‘435 further discloses that Compound 11 is effective at treatment of a number of cancers when administered daily (see e.g. Examples F through J). The ‘435 application also discloses that the dosing of any of the compounds contained therein can range from 1 mg/kg to about 50 mg/kg and that appropriate dosages can be readily determined by one of ordinary skill in the art as needed (see e.g. p.108 lines 1-3 and 26-28). This anticipates claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, ‘435 discloses that Compound can also be administered intravenously (see e.g. p.197 lines 7-8).
With respect to claims 7-13, as noted above ‘435 discloses both a 1 mg/kg dosage as well as instructions that appropriate dosing can be readily determined by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, i.e. one of ordinary skill in the art can also at once envision dosing below 1 mg/kg as claimed.
With respect to claim 14, daily dosing is reasonably a continuous dosing schedule.
With respect to claim 27, as noted above ‘435 discloses 1-50 mg/kg dosing. This can readily be converted to 5 mg/m2 to 100 mg/m2 (see Nair and Jacob for evidence, J. Basic Clin Pharm. 7:27-31).
With respect to claim 28, as noted above ‘435 discloses that IV administration can be a route for delivery.
With respect to claims 29-35, as noted above ‘435 discloses variable dosing as well as indicating that one of ordinary skill in the art can readily determine dosing as needed.
2. Claims 5-14 and 27-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) OR 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Marshall et al. (US 2021/0009719 A1, published 14 January 2021, filed 9 July 2020, priority to 10 July 2019, hereafter referred to as ‘719).
The ‘719 application discloses Compound 11 that is identical to instant Compound 1, including the cytotoxin portion targeting topoisomerase 1 and the linked peptide Pv1 (see e.g. Example 11). ‘719 further discloses that Compound 11 is effective at treatment of a number of cancers when administered daily (see e.g. Examples F through J). The ‘719 application also discloses that the dosing of any of the compounds contained therein can range from 1 mg/kg to about 50 mg/kg and that appropriate dosages can be readily determined by one of ordinary skill in the art as needed (see e.g. [0271] and [0274]). This anticipates claim 5.
With respect to claim 6, ‘719 discloses that Compound can also be administered intravenously (see e.g. [0585]).
With respect to claims 7-13, as noted above ‘719 discloses both a 1 mg/kg dosage as well as instructions that appropriate dosing can be readily determined by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, i.e. one of ordinary skill in the art can also at once envision dosing below 1 mg/kg as claimed.
With respect to claim 14, daily dosing is reasonably a continuous dosing schedule.
With respect to claim 27, as noted above ‘719 discloses 1-50 mg/kg dosing. This can readily be converted to 5 mg/m2 to 100 mg/m2 (see Nair and Jacob for evidence, J. Basic Clin Pharm. 7:27-31).
With respect to claim 28, as noted above ‘719 discloses that IV administration can be a route for delivery.
With respect to claims 29-35, as noted above ‘719 discloses variable dosing as well as indicating that one of ordinary skill in the art can readily determine dosing as needed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-22 and 36-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marshall et al. (WO 2021/007435 A1, published 14 January 2021, filed 9 July 2020, priority to 10 July 2019) OR Marshall et al. (US 2021/0009719 A1, published 14 January 2021, filed 9 July 2020, priority to 10 July 2019) and Lobacki et al. (US 2020/0405778 A1, published 31 December 2020, filed 17 August 2020, priority to 10 October 2018, hereafter referred to as ‘778).
The relevance of ‘435 or ‘719 is set forth above.
The difference between the prior art references and the claimed invention is that neither discloses continuous dosing or an intermittent dosing schedule.
The ‘778 application suggests treatment of onocology-treatment related conditions, including through administration of topoisomerase inhibitors (see e.g. [0007]. ‘778 also suggests increasing the efficacy of an anti-cancer therapy by using dosing schedules (see e.g. [0276]). In particular, intermittent dosing schedules of 1-14 days followed by resting periods of 1-14 days are suggested, as well as continuous dosing (see e.g. [0276]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of treatment of ‘435 or ‘719 by utilizing the dosing schedule as suggested by ‘778 in order to provide a specified treatment plan. The rationale comes from ‘435 or ‘719 already treating cancer and the skilled artisan recognizing that dose timing is important for proper treatment, which is provided by ‘778. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because determination of dosing schedules is well within the level of ordinary skill in the art and concomitant to determining an appropriate dose.
With respect to claims 14 and 36, as noted above ‘778 suggests a continuous dosing schedule.
With respect to claims 15-22 and 38-45, as noted above ‘778 suggests intermittent dosing schedules encompassing the ranges as claimed.
With respect to claim 37, once weekly dosing falls within the range of ‘778.
Double Patenting
1. Claims 5-13 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,634,508 B2 in view of Marshall et al. (WO 2021/007435 A1).
The ‘508 patent claims a compound matching Compound I as instantly claimed (see e.g. claims 13 and 15).
The difference between ‘508 and the claimed invention is that ‘508 does not claim a level of the compound nor does it claim a method of treating cancer.
The relevance of ‘435 is set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the compound of ‘508 could have readily be used in a method of treating cancer as disclosed in ‘435 since both ‘508 and ‘435 utilize the same compound. The overlapping compound gives the skilled artisan a rationale to use the method of ‘508. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because of the identical compounds. The invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 6-13 and 27-35, as noted above the ‘435 application offers a disclosure leading to the claimed dosages, including those in mg/m2.
2. Claims 5-13 and 27-35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 17, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,410,262 B2 in view of Marshall et al. (WO 2021/007435 A1).
The ‘262 patent claims a method of treating cancer utilizing a compound identical to Compound I as instantly claimed (see e.g. claims 1, 17, and 18).
The difference between ‘262 and the claimed invention is that ‘262 does not claim a specific dosage.
The relevance of ‘435 is set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the method of ‘262 could have been modified to utilize the dosing as in ‘435. The rationale comes from the overlapping compounds and goal of treating cancer. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the common method and compound containing in both ’262 and ‘435. The invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 6-13 and 27-25, as set forth above ‘435 provides for overlapping dosages and conversion to mg/m2.
3. Claims 5-13 and 27-35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 51 of copending Application No. 19/281,226 in view of Marshall et al. (WO 2021/007435 A1).
The ‘226 application claims a method of treating ovarian cancer, breast cancer, colorectal cancer, lung cancer, kidney cancer, Ewing’s sarcoma, and solid tumors of childhood by administering a compound that is identical to Compound I as instantly claimed (see e.g. claim 51).
The difference between ‘226 and the claimed invention is that ‘226 does not claim a dosage level.
The relevance of ‘435 is set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that the method of ‘226 could have been modified to utilize the dosing as in ‘435. The rationale comes from the overlapping compounds and goal of treating cancer. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success given the common method and compound containing in both ’226 and ‘435. The invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 6-13 and 27-25, as set forth above ‘435 provides for overlapping dosages and conversion to mg/m2.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
4. Claims 14-22 and 36-45 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 13 and 15 of U.S. Patent No. 11,634,508 B2 OR claims 1, 17, and 18 of U.S. Patent No. 12,410,262 B2 in view of Marshall et al. (WO 2021/007435 A1), and further in view of Lobacki et al. (US 2020/0405778 A1, published 31 December 2020, filed 17 August 2020, priority to 10 October 2018).
The relevance of the ‘508 or ‘262 patent in view of ‘435 is set forth above. The difference between the claimed patents and the instant claims is that ‘508 or ‘262 in view of ‘435 does not suggest dosing regimens.
The relevance of ‘778 is set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of ‘508 or ‘262 in view of ‘435 by including the dosing regimens suggested by ‘778. The rationale comes from the skilled artisan seeking a time period for administration of the claimed compositions in order to provide a defined treatment plan. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because determination of dosing regimens is well within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 14 and 36, as noted above ‘778 suggests a continuous dosing schedule.
With respect to claims 15-22 and 38-45, as noted above ‘778 suggests intermittent dosing schedules encompassing the ranges as claimed.
With respect to claim 37, once weekly dosing falls within the range of ‘778.
5.Claims 15-22 and 36-48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 51 of copending Application No. 19/281,226 in view of Marshall et al. (WO 2021/007435 A1), and further in view of Lobacki et al. (US 2020/0405778 A1, published 31 December 2020, filed 17 August 2020, priority to 10 October 2018).
The relevance of ‘226 and ‘435 is set forth above.
The difference between the ‘226 and ‘435 references and the claimed invention is that neither claims or discloses dosing regimens.
The relevance of ‘778 is set forth above.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the method of ‘226 in view of ‘435 by including the dosing regimens suggested by ‘778. The rationale comes from the skilled artisan seeking a time period for administration of the claimed compositions in order to provide a defined treatment plan. There would have been a reasonable expectation of success because determination of dosing regimens is well within the level of ordinary skill in the art. The invention would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to claims 14 and 36, as noted above ‘778 suggests a continuous dosing schedule.
With respect to claims 15-22 and 38-45, as noted above ‘778 suggests intermittent dosing schedules encompassing the ranges as claimed.
With respect to claim 37, once weekly dosing falls within the range of ‘778.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/ZACHARY J MIKNIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1658