This office action is in response to remarks filed on 02/26/2026.
Claims 1-2, 4-11, 13-15, and 21-27 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-15 are amended. Claims 3, 12, 16-20, are canceled. Claims 21-27 are added.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1-2, 4-11, and 13-15 have been considered based on amendments.
Claims 21-27 have been added and considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 14-15, 21, and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US12191943B2) (hereinafter "Park '943") in view of Tomeba et al (US20220060297A1) (hereinafter "Tomeba").
Regarding claim 1, Park '943 discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and (Col. 71, Ln. 16-23: The first wireless device 3010 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108.)
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable to cause the UE to (Col. 71, Ln. 16-23: The processor 102 may control the memory 104 and/or the transceiver 106 and may be configured to implement descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operation flows disclosed in the present disclosure.):
receive a channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration that indicates a codebook type associated with a codebook (Col. 56, Ln. 27-33: a UE may receive, from a base station, plurality of parameter values including the fall back value for each of codebook configuration parameters for configuring a codebook, may calculate CSI again by applying the fall back value when the CSI calculated by the received parameter is greater than the resource allocated for CSI reporting, and may report the CSI on the allocated resource.);
receive CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) over a set of CSI-RS resources based at least in part on the CSI reporting configuration (Col. 1, Ln. 66-67: receiving, from the base station, a reference signal based on the configuration information … Col. 68, Ln. 56-58: The UE may receive a reference signal (e.g., SSB, CSI-RS, TRS and/or PTRS) from a base station in order to report the CSI based on the configuration information),
identify a set of coefficients associated with the codebook based at least in part on the set of CSI-RS resources; and (Col. 73, Ln. 65-67 and Col. 74, Ln. 1-2: The communication unit may include a communication circuit 112 and a transceiver(s) 114. For example, the communication circuit 112 may include the one or more processors 102 and 202 and/or one or more memories 104 and 204 of FIG. 30. Col. 56, Ln. 27-33: a UE may receive, from a base station, plurality of parameter values including the fall back value for each of codebook configuration parameters for configuring a codebook, may calculate CSI again by applying the fall back value when the CSI calculated by the received parameter is greater than the resource allocated for CSI reporting, and may report the CSI on the allocated resource.)
a CSI report on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein the CSI report comprises CSI and the set of coefficients (Col. 2, Ln. 60-67 and Col. 3, Ln. 1-13: A user equipment (UE) for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system … and report the calculated CSI to the base station, wherein the CSI consists of a first part and a second part, wherein when a capacity of the resource allocated for transmitting the CSI is smaller than a size of a payload of the CSI calculated based on the plurality of parameters, the size of the payload of the second part is reduced by applying at least one parameter until the size of the payload of the CSI becomes smaller than the capacity of the resource. Col. 3, Ln. 47-50: The present disclosure proposes a configuration for CSI reporting contents, omission and a scheme for reducing overhead when a scheme for reducing overhead of the Type II codebook is used. Col. 31, Ln. 21-22: SP CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH, long PUCCH, or PUSCH. Col. 54, Ln. 58-63: the codebook parameter may include at least one of a value for determining a dimension of a compressed coefficient matrix, the number of combination coefficients for calculating a PMI, the size of a fast Fourier transform (FFT), oversampling information, or the number of beams selected among a plurality of beams for calculating the PMI.).
Park '943 fails to disclose a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value;
transmit, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
However, Tomeba discloses a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value ([0075] The base station apparatus 1A transmits (configures) an NZP CSI-RS resource configuration for the resource for the NZP CSI-RS. The NZP CSI-RS resource configuration includes some or all of mapping of one or multiple NZP CSI-RS resources, a CSI-RS resource configuration ID for each NZP CSI-RS resource, and the number of antenna ports. The CSI-RS resource mapping may be information indicating an OFDM symbol and a subcarrier (e.g., a resource element) in a slot in which the CSI-RS resource is allocated. The CSI-RS resource configuration ID is used to identify the NZP CSI-RS resource.);
transmit, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type ([0080] The codebook configuration includes a codebook type and a configuration of the codebook. The codebook type indicates a type 1 codebook or a type 2 codebook. The codebook configuration also includes a configuration of the type 1 codebook or type 2 codebook. [0221] For example, the base station apparatus can configure a frequency density for feeding back the sub-band amplitude coefficient through higher layer signaling (e.g., a codebook configuration). For example, the frequency density is 1, 2, or 3. In a case that the frequency density is 1, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in all sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 2, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to two sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 3, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to three sub-bands.).
Park '943 and Tomeba are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for acquiring channel state information by a base station by feeding back the CSI measured by a terminal to the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943 with Tomeba to create a user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value; transmit, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve frequency efficiency or throughput by suppressing an overhead associated with feedback from a terminal apparatus in a case that the base station acquires highly accurate channel state information.
Regarding claim 4, Park '943 discloses the UE, wherein the CSI report is transmitted based at least in part on periodic reporting or semi-persistent reporting (Col. 31, Ln. 16-17: The periodic CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH and long PUCCH. Col. 31, Ln. 21-22: Next, SP CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH, long PUCCH, or PUSCH.).
Regarding claim 14, Park '943 discloses a network entity (NE) for wireless communication, comprising:
at least one memory; and (Col. 71, Ln. 16-23: The first wireless device 3010 may include one or more processors 102 and one or more memories 104 and additionally further include one or more transceivers 106 and/or one or more antennas 108.)
at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and operable to cause the NE to (Col. 71, Ln. 16-23: The processor 102 may control the memory 104 and/or the transceiver 106 and may be configured to implement descriptions, functions, procedures, proposals, methods, and/or operation flows disclosed in the present disclosure.):
transmit a channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration that indicates a codebook type associated with a codebook (Col. 56, Ln. 27-33: a UE may receive, from a base station, plurality of parameter values including the fall back value for each of codebook configuration parameters for configuring a codebook, may calculate CSI again by applying the fall back value when the CSI calculated by the received parameter is greater than the resource allocated for CSI reporting, and may report the CSI on the allocated resource.);
transmit CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) over a set of CSI-RS resources based at least in part on the CSI reporting configuration (Col. 1, Ln. 66-67: receiving, from the base station, a reference signal based on the configuration information … Col. 24, Ln. 20-22: To perform one of the above purposes of a CSI-RS, a terminal (e.g., a UE) receives CSI related configuration information from a base station);
a CSI report on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein the CSI report comprises CSI and a set of coefficients associated with the codebook (Col. 2, Ln. 60-67 and Col. 3, Ln. 1-13: A user equipment (UE) for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system … and report the calculated CSI to the base station, wherein the CSI consists of a first part and a second part, wherein when a capacity of the resource allocated for transmitting the CSI is smaller than a size of a payload of the CSI calculated based on the plurality of parameters, the size of the payload of the second part is reduced by applying at least one parameter until the size of the payload of the CSI becomes smaller than the capacity of the resource. Col. 3, Ln. 47-50: The present disclosure proposes a configuration for CSI reporting contents, omission and a scheme for reducing overhead when a scheme for reducing overhead of the Type II codebook is used. Col. 31, Ln. 21-22: SP CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH, long PUCCH, or PUSCH. Col. 54, Ln. 58-63: the codebook parameter may include at least one of a value for determining a dimension of a compressed coefficient matrix, the number of combination coefficients for calculating a PMI, the size of a fast Fourier transform (FFT), oversampling information, or the number of beams selected among a plurality of beams for calculating the PMI.).
Park '943 fails to disclose a network entity (NE) for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value; and
receive, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
However, Tomeba discloses a network entity (NE) for wireless communication, comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value ([0075] The base station apparatus 1A transmits (configures) an NZP CSI-RS resource configuration for the resource for the NZP CSI-RS. The NZP CSI-RS resource configuration includes some or all of mapping of one or multiple NZP CSI-RS resources, a CSI-RS resource configuration ID for each NZP CSI-RS resource, and the number of antenna ports. The CSI-RS resource mapping may be information indicating an OFDM symbol and a subcarrier (e.g., a resource element) in a slot in which the CSI-RS resource is allocated. The CSI-RS resource configuration ID is used to identify the NZP CSI-RS resource.);
receive, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type ([0080] The codebook configuration includes a codebook type and a configuration of the codebook. The codebook type indicates a type 1 codebook or a type 2 codebook. The codebook configuration also includes a configuration of the type 1 codebook or type 2 codebook. [0221] For example, the base station apparatus can configure a frequency density for feeding back the sub-band amplitude coefficient through higher layer signaling (e.g., a codebook configuration). For example, the frequency density is 1, 2, or 3. In a case that the frequency density is 1, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in all sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 2, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to two sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 3, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to three sub-bands.).
Park '943 and Tomeba are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for acquiring channel state information by a base station by feeding back the CSI measured by a terminal to the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943 with Tomeba to create a network entity (NE) for wireless communication, comprising: wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value; and receive, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve frequency efficiency or throughput by suppressing an overhead associated with feedback from a terminal apparatus in a case that the base station acquires highly accurate channel state information.
Regarding claim 15, Park '943 discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
receiving, a channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration that indicates a codebook type associated with a codebook (Col. 56, Ln. 27-33: a UE may receive, from a base station, plurality of parameter values including the fall back value for each of codebook configuration parameters for configuring a codebook, may calculate CSI again by applying the fall back value when the CSI calculated by the received parameter is greater than the resource allocated for CSI reporting, and may report the CSI on the allocated resource.);
receiving CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) over a set of CSI-RS resources based at least in part on the CSI reporting configuration (Col. 1, Ln. 66-67: receiving, from the base station, a reference signal based on the configuration information … Col. 24, Ln. 20-22: To perform one of the above purposes of a CSI-RS, a terminal (e.g., a UE) receives CSI related configuration information from a base station);
identifying a set of coefficients associated with the codebook based at least in part on the set of CSI-RS resources; and (Col. 56, Ln. 27-33: a UE may receive, from a base station, plurality of parameter values including the fall back value for each of codebook configuration parameters for configuring a codebook, may calculate CSI again by applying the fall back value when the CSI calculated by the received parameter is greater than the resource allocated for CSI reporting, and may report the CSI on the allocated resource.)
a CSI report on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein the CSI report comprises CSI and the set of coefficients (Col. 2, Ln. 60-67 and Col. 3, Ln. 1-13: A user equipment (UE) for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system … and report the calculated CSI to the base station, wherein the CSI consists of a first part and a second part, wherein when a capacity of the resource allocated for transmitting the CSI is smaller than a size of a payload of the CSI calculated based on the plurality of parameters, the size of the payload of the second part is reduced by applying at least one parameter until the size of the payload of the CSI becomes smaller than the capacity of the resource. Col. 3, Ln. 47-50: The present disclosure proposes a configuration for CSI reporting contents, omission and a scheme for reducing overhead when a scheme for reducing overhead of the Type II codebook is used. Col. 31, Ln. 21-22: SP CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH, long PUCCH, or PUSCH. Col. 54, Ln. 58-63: the codebook parameter may include at least one of a value for determining a dimension of a compressed coefficient matrix, the number of combination coefficients for calculating a PMI, the size of a fast Fourier transform (FFT), oversampling information, or the number of beams selected among a plurality of beams for calculating the PMI.).
Park '943 fails to disclose a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value;
transmit, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
However, Tomeba discloses a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value ([0075] The base station apparatus 1A transmits (configures) an NZP CSI-RS resource configuration for the resource for the NZP CSI-RS. The NZP CSI-RS resource configuration includes some or all of mapping of one or multiple NZP CSI-RS resources, a CSI-RS resource configuration ID for each NZP CSI-RS resource, and the number of antenna ports. The CSI-RS resource mapping may be information indicating an OFDM symbol and a subcarrier (e.g., a resource element) in a slot in which the CSI-RS resource is allocated. The CSI-RS resource configuration ID is used to identify the NZP CSI-RS resource.);
transmitting, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type ([0080] The codebook configuration includes a codebook type and a configuration of the codebook. The codebook type indicates a type 1 codebook or a type 2 codebook. The codebook configuration also includes a configuration of the type 1 codebook or type 2 codebook. [0221] For example, the base station apparatus can configure a frequency density for feeding back the sub-band amplitude coefficient through higher layer signaling (e.g., a codebook configuration). For example, the frequency density is 1, 2, or 3. In a case that the frequency density is 1, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in all sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 2, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to two sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 3, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to three sub-bands.).
Park '943 and Tomeba are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for acquiring channel state information by a base station by feeding back the CSI measured by a terminal to the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943 with Tomeba to create a method performed by a user equipment (UE), the method comprising: wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value; transmitting, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve frequency efficiency or throughput by suppressing an overhead associated with feedback from a terminal apparatus in a case that the base station acquires highly accurate channel state information.
Regarding claim 21, Park '943 discloses a method performed by a network entity, the method comprising:
transmitting a channel state information (CSI) reporting configuration that indicates a codebook type associated with a codebook (Col. 56, Ln. 27-33: a UE may receive, from a base station, plurality of parameter values including the fall back value for each of codebook configuration parameters for configuring a codebook, may calculate CSI again by applying the fall back value when the CSI calculated by the received parameter is greater than the resource allocated for CSI reporting, and may report the CSI on the allocated resource.);
transmitting CSI reference signals (CSI-RSs) over a set of CSI-RS resources based at least in part on the CSI reporting configuration (Col. 1, Ln. 66-67: receiving, from the base station, a reference signal based on the configuration information … Col. 24, Ln. 20-22: To perform one of the above purposes of a CSI-RS, a terminal (e.g., a UE) receives CSI related configuration information from a base station);
a CSI report on a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH), wherein the CSI report comprises CSI and the set of coefficients (Col. 2, Ln. 60-67 and Col. 3, Ln. 1-13: A user equipment (UE) for transmitting channel state information (CSI) in a wireless communication system … and report the calculated CSI to the base station, wherein the CSI consists of a first part and a second part, wherein when a capacity of the resource allocated for transmitting the CSI is smaller than a size of a payload of the CSI calculated based on the plurality of parameters, the size of the payload of the second part is reduced by applying at least one parameter until the size of the payload of the CSI becomes smaller than the capacity of the resource. Col. 3, Ln. 47-50: The present disclosure proposes a configuration for CSI reporting contents, omission and a scheme for reducing overhead when a scheme for reducing overhead of the Type II codebook is used. Col. 31, Ln. 21-22: SP CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH, long PUCCH, or PUSCH. Col. 54, Ln. 58-63: the codebook parameter may include at least one of a value for determining a dimension of a compressed coefficient matrix, the number of combination coefficients for calculating a PMI, the size of a fast Fourier transform (FFT), oversampling information, or the number of beams selected among a plurality of beams for calculating the PMI.).
Park '943 fails to disclose a method performed by a network entity, the method comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value;
receiving, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
However, Tomeba discloses a method performed by a network entity, the method comprising:
wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value ([0075] The base station apparatus 1A transmits (configures) an NZP CSI-RS resource configuration for the resource for the NZP CSI-RS. The NZP CSI-RS resource configuration includes some or all of mapping of one or multiple NZP CSI-RS resources, a CSI-RS resource configuration ID for each NZP CSI-RS resource, and the number of antenna ports. The CSI-RS resource mapping may be information indicating an OFDM symbol and a subcarrier (e.g., a resource element) in a slot in which the CSI-RS resource is allocated. The CSI-RS resource configuration ID is used to identify the NZP CSI-RS resource.);
receiving, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type ([0080] The codebook configuration includes a codebook type and a configuration of the codebook. The codebook type indicates a type 1 codebook or a type 2 codebook. The codebook configuration also includes a configuration of the type 1 codebook or type 2 codebook. [0221] For example, the base station apparatus can configure a frequency density for feeding back the sub-band amplitude coefficient through higher layer signaling (e.g., a codebook configuration). For example, the frequency density is 1, 2, or 3. In a case that the frequency density is 1, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in all sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 2, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to two sub-bands. In a case that the frequency density is 3, the terminal apparatus feeds back the amplitude coefficient in a ratio of one to three sub-bands.).
Park '943 and Tomeba are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for acquiring channel state information by a base station by feeding back the CSI measured by a terminal to the base station.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943 with Tomeba to create a method performed by a network entity, the method comprising: wherein the set of CSI-RS resources comprises one or more non-zero power (NZP) CSI-RS resources associated with a frequency density value; receiving, in response to the frequency density value satisfying a threshold value and based at least in part on the codebook type.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve frequency efficiency or throughput by suppressing an overhead associated with feedback from a terminal apparatus in a case that the base station acquires highly accurate channel state information.
Regarding claim 23, Park '943 discloses the NE, wherein the CSI report is transmitted based at least in part on periodic reporting or semi-persistent reporting (Col. 31, Ln. 16-17: The periodic CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH and long PUCCH. Col. 31, Ln. 21-22: Next, SP CSI reporting is performed on short PUCCH, long PUCCH, or PUSCH.).
Claims 2 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park '943 in view of Tomeba as applied to claims 1, 14, 15, or 21 above, and further in view of Park et al (US20190132031A1) (hereinafter "Park '031").
Regarding claim 2, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the codebook type is indicated using a higher--layer parameter of a codebook configuration within the CSI reporting configuration.
However, Park '031 discloses the UE, wherein the codebook type is indicated using a higher--layer parameter of a codebook configuration within the CSI reporting configuration ([0332] An example of using a CDI codebook without co-phasing may use codebook configuration (i.e., when a higher layer parameter ‘PMI-Config’ is set to 1 or ‘W2alternativeCodebookEnabledCLASSB_K1’ is set to ‘TRUE’) for Class B CSI reporting using W2-only feedback of only W2 (i.e., a second PMI value i_2) defined in Rel-13.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Park '031 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmitting and receiving channel state information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Park '031 to create the UE, wherein the codebook type is indicated using a higher--layer parameter of a codebook configuration within the CSI reporting configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to conserve the limited computational power or capacity of the UE.
Regarding claim 22, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the NE, wherein the codebook type is indicated using a higher--layer parameter of a codebook configuration within the CSI reporting configuration.
However, Park '031 discloses the NE, wherein the codebook type is indicated using a higher--layer parameter of a codebook configuration within the CSI reporting configuration ([0332] An example of using a CDI codebook without co-phasing may use codebook configuration (i.e., when a higher layer parameter ‘PMI-Config’ is set to 1 or ‘W2alternativeCodebookEnabledCLASSB_K1’ is set to ‘TRUE’) for Class B CSI reporting using W2-only feedback of only W2 (i.e., a second PMI value i_2) defined in Rel-13.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Park '031 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of transmitting and receiving channel state information.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Park '031 to create the NE, wherein the codebook type is indicated using a higher--layer parameter of a codebook configuration within the CSI reporting configuration.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to conserve the limited computational power or capacity of the UE.
Claims 5 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park '943 in view of Tomeba as applied to claims 1, 14, 15, or 21 above, and further in view of Onggosanusi et al (US20160359538A1) (hereinafter "Onggosanusi").
Regarding claim 5, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the CSI report is associated with one or more of: a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format.
However, Onggosanusi discloses the UE, wherein the CSI report is associated with one or more of: a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format
a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or ([0116] In legacy LTE systems, precoding codebooks are utilized for CSI reporting. Two categories of CSI reporting modes are supported: PUSCH-based aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) and PUCCH-based periodic CSI (P-CSI). In each category, different modes are defined based on frequency selectivity of CQI and/or PMI, that is, whether wideband (one CSI parameter calculated for all the “set S subbands”) or subband (one CSI parameter calculated for each “set S subband”) reporting is performed.)
channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Onggosanusi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel state information reporting and codebook design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Onggosanusi to create the UE, wherein the CSI report is associated with one or more of: a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to simplify the report of a matrix by reducing the dimensionality.
Regarding claim 24, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the NE, wherein the CSI report is associated with one or more of: a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format.
However, Onggosanusi discloses the NE, wherein the CSI report is associated with one or more of: a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format
a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or ([0116] In legacy LTE systems, precoding codebooks are utilized for CSI reporting. Two categories of CSI reporting modes are supported: PUSCH-based aperiodic CSI (A-CSI) and PUCCH-based periodic CSI (P-CSI). In each category, different modes are defined based on frequency selectivity of CQI and/or PMI, that is, whether wideband (one CSI parameter calculated for all the “set S subbands”) or subband (one CSI parameter calculated for each “set S subband”) reporting is performed.)
channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Onggosanusi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel state information reporting and codebook design.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Onggosanusi to create the NE, wherein the CSI report is associated with one or more of: a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) format indicator corresponding to a wideband format; or
a channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the wideband format.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to simplify the report of a matrix by reducing the dimensionality.
Claims 6-7, 9, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park '943 in view of Tomeba as applied to claims 1, 14, 15, or 21 above, and further in view of Singh et al (US20230275636A1) (hereinafter "Singh").
Regarding claim 6, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands per channel quality indicator (CQI) sub-band corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of PMI sub-bands per CQI sub-band corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Singh discloses the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands per channel quality indicator (CQI) sub-band corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of PMI sub-bands per CQI sub-band corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0164] The method of any of Embodiments 1-9, wherein for a given BWP, a maximum N subbands are available, and wherein performing CSI estimation for the number of subbands comprises performing CSI estimation across the N subbands and reporting the CSI report comprises reporting wideband CQI and/or PMI across N subbands, subband CQIs and/or PMI for M subbands, where the M<N subbands are one of signaled to the UE or determined by the UE. [0012] Periodic CSI reports are sent on the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (or on PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) when there is PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic resource setting(s). Semi-persistent CSI reports can be sent on PUCCH or PUSCH (with or without PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic or semi-static resource setting(s).).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing CSI estimation and reporting the CSI report for a number of subbands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Singh to create the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands per channel quality indicator (CQI) sub-band corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of PMI sub-bands per CQI sub-band corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce CSI feedback overhead and CSI calculation complexity.
Regarding claim 7, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first rank of the codebook corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second rank of an additional codebook corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Singh discloses the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first rank of the codebook corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second rank of an additional codebook corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0164] The method of any of Embodiments 1-9, wherein for a given BWP, a maximum N subbands are available, and wherein performing CSI estimation for the number of subbands comprises performing CSI estimation across the N subbands and reporting the CSI report comprises reporting wideband CQI and/or PMI across N subbands, subband CQIs and/or PMI for M subbands, where the M<N subbands are one of signaled to the UE or determined by the UE. [0012] Periodic CSI reports are sent on the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (or on PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) when there is PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic resource setting(s). Semi-persistent CSI reports can be sent on PUCCH or PUSCH (with or without PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic or semi-static resource setting(s). [0153] In yet other embodiments where a maximum number N subbands are available for a given BWP, the processing circuitry 103 may perform CSI estimation across the N subbands and report the CSI report by reporting a wideband PMI, CQI and rank indicator, RI, and a subband CQI with the lowest CSI index conditioned on the wideband PMI and the RI.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing CSI estimation and reporting the CSI report for a number of subbands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Singh to create the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first rank of the codebook corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second rank of an additional codebook corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce CSI feedback overhead and CSI calculation complexity.
Regarding claim 9, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of frequency-domain basis indices corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of frequency-domain basis indices corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Singh discloses the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of frequency-domain basis indices corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of frequency-domain basis indices corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0152] In other embodiments where a maximum number N subbands are available for a given BWP, the processing circuitry 103 may perform CSI estimation across the N subbands and report the CSI report by reporting subband CQIs and/or PMI for M subbands, where M<N. [0120] the UE determines a sub-set of the subbands configured for the CSI measurement resources of CSI report configuration for which CSI is requested, wherein the sub-set of subbands are those subbands that at least partly overlaps (in frequency domain) with the set S. [0097] the index of the best subband may also be reported by the UE as part of the CSI feedback. [0112] Network configures only the number of subbands for UE to evaluate/report, while the UE chooses the M preferred subbands out-of the N subbands to report. … In yet a further embodiment, the UE reports the positions of the M selected subbands using a combinatorial index r defined as
where the set { si }i=0 M-1, (1≤ si ≤N, si< si+1) contains the M sorted subband indices).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing CSI estimation and reporting the CSI report for a number of subbands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Singh to create the UE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of frequency-domain basis indices corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of frequency-domain basis indices corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce CSI feedback overhead and CSI calculation complexity.
Regarding claim 25, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the NE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands per channel quality indicator (CQI) sub-band corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of PMI sub-bands per CQI sub-band corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Singh discloses the NE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands per channel quality indicator (CQI) sub-band corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of PMI sub-bands per CQI sub-band corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0164] The method of any of Embodiments 1-9, wherein for a given BWP, a maximum N subbands are available, and wherein performing CSI estimation for the number of subbands comprises performing CSI estimation across the N subbands and reporting the CSI report comprises reporting wideband CQI and/or PMI across N subbands, subband CQIs and/or PMI for M subbands, where the M<N subbands are one of signaled to the UE or determined by the UE. [0012] Periodic CSI reports are sent on the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (or on PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) when there is PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic resource setting(s). Semi-persistent CSI reports can be sent on PUCCH or PUSCH (with or without PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic or semi-static resource setting(s).).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing CSI estimation and reporting the CSI report for a number of subbands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Singh to create the NE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first number of precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands per channel quality indicator (CQI) sub-band corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second number of PMI sub-bands per CQI sub-band corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce CSI feedback overhead and CSI calculation complexity.
Regarding claim 26, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the NE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first rank of the codebook corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second rank of an additional codebook corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
However, Singh discloses the NE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first rank of the codebook corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second rank of an additional codebook corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) ([0164] The method of any of Embodiments 1-9, wherein for a given BWP, a maximum N subbands are available, and wherein performing CSI estimation for the number of subbands comprises performing CSI estimation across the N subbands and reporting the CSI report comprises reporting wideband CQI and/or PMI across N subbands, subband CQIs and/or PMI for M subbands, where the M<N subbands are one of signaled to the UE or determined by the UE. [0012] Periodic CSI reports are sent on the physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (or on PUSCH (physical uplink shared channel) when there is PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic resource setting(s). Semi-persistent CSI reports can be sent on PUCCH or PUSCH (with or without PUSCH data) and can be linked to periodic or semi-static resource setting(s). [0153] In yet other embodiments where a maximum number N subbands are available for a given BWP, the processing circuitry 103 may perform CSI estimation across the N subbands and report the CSI report by reporting a wideband PMI, CQI and rank indicator, RI, and a subband CQI with the lowest CSI index conditioned on the wideband PMI and the RI.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Singh are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of performing CSI estimation and reporting the CSI report for a number of subbands.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Singh to create the NE, wherein a first maximum configured value of a first rank of the codebook corresponding to the CSI report is less than a second maximum configured value of a second rank of an additional codebook corresponding to an additional CSI report configured to be reported over a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH).
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce CSI feedback overhead and CSI calculation complexity.
Claim 8 and 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park '943 in view of Tomeba as applied to claims 1, 14, 15, or 21 above, and further in view of Liu et al (US20230009991A1) (hereinafter "Liu").
Regarding claim 8, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the CSI report comprises precoding matrix indicator (PMI)-based coefficients corresponding to at least one dimension corresponding to one or more frequency-domain basis indices.
However, Liu discloses the UE, wherein the CSI report comprises precoding matrix indicator (PMI)-based coefficients corresponding to at least one dimension corresponding to one or more frequency-domain basis indices ([0008] In one embodiment, W is a precoding matrix of X×N3P×N3, N3 represents a quantity of a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands; Wf represents a frequency domain basis vector, which is composed of M Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) vectors, and a terminal determines a set of M DFT base vectors according to a parameter M configured by a base station; {tilde over (W)}2 represents a linear combination coefficient after compressing N3 PMI sub-band coefficients to which beams of 2L selected CSI-RS ports respectively correspond by using Wf.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel reciprocity-based precoding matrix configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Liu to create the UE, wherein the CSI report comprises precoding matrix indicator (PMI)-based coefficients corresponding to at least one dimension corresponding to one or more frequency-domain basis indices.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the calculation complexity of the terminal, reduce the feedback overhead of the terminal, and also improve system performance.
Regarding claim 27, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the NE, wherein the CSI report comprises precoding matrix indicator (PMI)-based coefficients corresponding to at least one dimension corresponding to one or more frequency-domain basis indices.
However, Liu discloses the NE, wherein the CSI report comprises precoding matrix indicator (PMI)-based coefficients corresponding to at least one dimension corresponding to one or more frequency-domain basis indices ([0008] In one embodiment, W is a precoding matrix of X×N3P×N3, N3 represents a quantity of a precoding matrix indicator (PMI) sub-bands; Wf represents a frequency domain basis vector, which is composed of M Discrete Fourier Transform (DFT) vectors, and a terminal determines a set of M DFT base vectors according to a parameter M configured by a base station; {tilde over (W)}2 represents a linear combination coefficient after compressing N3 PMI sub-band coefficients to which beams of 2L selected CSI-RS ports respectively correspond by using Wf.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Liu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of channel reciprocity-based precoding matrix configuration.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Liu to create the NE, wherein the CSI report comprises precoding matrix indicator (PMI)-based coefficients corresponding to at least one dimension corresponding to one or more frequency-domain basis indices.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to reduce the calculation complexity of the terminal, reduce the feedback overhead of the terminal, and also improve system performance.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park '943 in view of Tomeba as applied to claims 1, 14, 15, or 21 above, and further in view of Echigo et al (WO2022208687A1) (hereinafter "Echigo").
Regarding claim 10, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the frequency density value is equal to one quarter.
However, Echigo discloses the UE, wherein the frequency density value is equal to one quarter (Pg. 9: FIG. 10B indicates the frequency domain density of CSI-RS. "dot25" and "dot33" that can be specified by this parameter correspond to densities=0.25 and 0.33, respectively. Pg. 13: CSI-RS of the present disclosure includes Non Zero Power (NZP) CSI-RS, Zero Power (ZP) CSI-RS,CSI-Interference Management (CSI-IM), channel measurement resources ( Channel MeasurementResource (CMR)), interference measurement resource (IMR), etc. may be interchanged.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Echigo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of using AI/ML technology to achieve high-precision channel estimation with fewer resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Echigo to create the UE, wherein the frequency density value is equal to one quarter.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement.
Regarding claim 11, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein a CSI-RS resource mapping corresponding to the one or more NZP CSI-RS resources comprises an indication of a resource-block level offset, and wherein the resource-block level offset has values of 0, 1, 2, or 3.
However, Echigo discloses the UE, wherein a CSI-RS resource mapping corresponding to the one or more NZP CSI-RS resources comprises an indication of a resource-block level offset, and wherein the resource-block level offset has values of 0, 1, 2, or 3 (Pg. 7: resource mapping information (for example, RRC information element "CSI-RS-ResourceMapping") for setting resource element (RE) mapping of CSI-RS resources in the time and frequency domains, and CSI-RS resources period and offset information (eg, RRC information element “CSI-ResourcePeriodicityAndOffset”) for setting the period and offset of the CSI-RS may be configured for each CSI-RS. Pg. 15: By PUCCH, channel state information (CSI), acknowledgment information (for example, HybridAutomatic Repeat reQuest ACKnowledgement (HARQ-ACK), ACK/NACK, etc.) and schedulingrequest (Scheduling Request ( SR)) may be transmitted. Pg. 9: In addition, "nX" (X is an integer), which is a value that these can take, indicates an RB level offset).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Echigo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor using AI/ML technology to achieve high-precision channel estimation with fewer resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Echigo to create the UE, wherein a CSI-RS resource mapping corresponding to the one or more NZP CSI-RS resources comprises an indication of a resource-block level offset, and wherein the resource-block level offset has values of 0, 1, 2, or 3.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement.
Regarding claim 13, Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, fails to disclose the UE, wherein the codebook type is a port-selection codebook.
However, Echigo discloses the UE, wherein the codebook type is a port-selection codebook (Pg. 5: In the present disclosure, "density" may mean the density or number of at least one of time resources, frequency resources, code resources, and ports (antenna ports). Also, in the present disclosure, resource may mean resource/port, and port may mean resource/port.).
Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, and Echigo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor using AI/ML technology to achieve high-precision channel estimation with fewer resources.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Park '943, as modified by Tomeba, with Echigo to create the UE, wherein the codebook type is a port-selection codebook.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to improve system performance through CSI-RS overhead reduction, inter-cell interference reduction, and coverage improvement.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 14, 15, and 21, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419