DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In paragraph [117] please replace “and then and single-stage cold rolled” with “and then single-stage cold rolled”.
Instances of “a ratio of steel sheet thickness to iron loss (W15/50)” in paragraphs [22], [23], [41], [44], appear intended as “a ratio of iron loss (W15/50) to steel sheet thickness”. See the rejection of claim 6 under 35 USC 112(b).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 1 recites “the iron steel sheet is composed of (001) grains”. “The transitional phrase "composed of" has been interpreted in the same manner as either "consisting of" or "consisting essentially of," depending on the facts of the particular case” (MPEP 2111.03(IV)). Present claim 4 claims an area fraction of the (001) grains is 80% or more. As claim 4 explicitly recites a range of area fraction of (001) grain which encompasses values less than 100%, the “iron steel sheet is composed of (001) grains” must necessarily be open to grain orientations other than (001) grains; therefore, “the iron steel sheet is composed of (001) grains” will be interpreted as the iron steel sheet is consisting essentially of (001) grains, which limits the claimed steel sheet to a sheet of (001) grains and other inclusions that do not materially affect the basic and novel characteristic(s) of the claimed invention steel sheet. As the specification does not identify which textures to entirely exclude, or whose inclusion would materially change the basic and novel characteristics of the claimed steel, the steel sheet will be interpreted as open to other textures.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 claims “a ratio of steel sheet thickness to iron loss (W15/50) thereof is in a range of 4 to 20 Watts/kg/mm”; however, Watts/kg/mm is the units for a ratio of iron loss (W15/50) to thickness, not thickness to iron loss. Table 3 in the present disclosure provides units of iron loss to thickness, not thickness to iron loss. Both the original Korean priority application and the PCT application of which the present application is a national stage filing claim a ratio of iron loss to thickness, not thickness to iron loss. It cannot be determined from claim 6 as worded if applicant intended to claim a ratio of iron loss to thickness or a ratio of thickness to iron loss. If applicant intended to claim a ratio of thickness to iron loss, it is not clear how a ratio of thickness to iron loss can attain the claimed units.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Postech (KR101842417B1). Postech is cited in the IDS filed October 27, 2023. References to Postech are directed to the examiner-supplied English language translation, and to Tables and Figures in Korean language original.
Regarding claim 1, Postech discloses an electrical steel sheet (abstract, claim 1, [0001], [0014]). The steel sheet disclosed by Postech comprises based on weight, alloying amounts shown in the table below:
Alloying Element
Postech
Present Claim 1
Si
2.0 to 3.5% [0014], [0036-37]
2.0% to 4.0%
Mn
0.02 to 0.50% [0014], [0038-39]
more than 0.5% and 2.0% or less
S
0.001% or less (excluding 0%) [0014], [0042-43]
0.01% or less (excluding 0%)
C
0.004% or less (excluding 0%) [0014], [0040-41]
0.01% or less (excluding 0%)
N
0.004% or less (excluding 0%) [0014], [0044-45]
0.01% or less (excluding 0%)
Fe and impurities
Remainder [0014], [0046]
Balance
Ranges for Si, S, C, N, and Fe disclosed by Postech [0014], [0036-37], [0040-46] directly meet values recited in claim 1. The amount of Mn disclosed by Postech [0014], [0038-39] so closely approaches the range for Mn recited in claim 1, that an electric steel having a Mn concentration of 0.500% (within the range disclosed by Postech [0014], [0037-38]) would be expected to have the same properties as a steel with a concentration of Mn infinitesimally greater than 0.500 (such as 0.5001%, which is within the claimed Mn range). When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists, and a prima facie case of obviousness exists where the claimed ranges or amounts do not overlap with the prior art but are merely close. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Inventive examples of Postech further provide support for the expectation that the properties would be the same. Note particularly the thickness (두께), grain size (결정립 크기), magnetic flux density B50 (자속 밀도 B50), and iron loss W15/50 (철손 W15/50), of inventive example 3 (발명 예 3) in Table 3 or inventive example 15 (발명 예15) in Table 8 of Postech.
Postech discloses that the iron steel sheet is composed of {100} grains [0014]. For a cubic lattice structure, such as the BCC structure of Fe-Si alloys, the {100} surface direction family ((100), (010), (001)) all refer to the same grains due to 90
°
rotational symmetry of a cubic lattice. Further support for the (001) grain as the {100} grain family disclosed by Postech is seen in Figs. 2 and 6 of Postech for which intensities are reported as (001) directions and compared with (101) and (111) directions. Paragraph [14] of the present disclosure further admits that Postech is “composed of the (001) texture”. Postech discloses an angle formed by the <001> crystal direction in the {100} texture showing the maximum surface strength with respect to the rolling direction is any one angle in the range of 0 degrees to 30 degrees [0014]. As <001> is a [100] direction, and the {100} grain orient member shown in figures of Postech is a (001) grain, the angle formed by the <001> crystal direction in the {100} texture showing the maximum surface strength with respect to the rolling direction of 0 degrees to 30 degrees disclosed by Postech [0014] encompasses the claimed range for an angle (θ) satisfying 0°≤θ≤8°, the angle (θ) being formed between a rolling direction and a [100] crystal orientation exhibiting a maximum surface intensity in a (001) texture. See also Postech’s description of example 15 in paragraph [0124]. Postech discloses that the thickness of the steel sheet is 0.05 to 0.3 mm [0015], which encompasses 0.05 to 0.25 mm, and Postech discloses producing the steel sheet by two-stage cold rolling (“single-stage cold rolling without intermediate annealing or two-stage cold rolling including intermediate annealing” [0017]).
Paragraph [14] of the present specification sets suggests Mn concentration as the claimed limitation which defines over Postech. Present claim 1 claims Mn in “more than 0.5% and 2.0% or less”, and Postech discloses an amount of Mn of “0.02 to 0.50%” [0014], [0038-39]. The composition range of Mn disclosed by Postech is as close to the presently claimed Mn composition range as mathematically possible without intersecting. Postech further discloses example steel sheets in Tables 2-10 with physical properties (magnetic flux density, core loss, grain size, thickness) that are closer to the properties of the inventive steel sheets of the present disclosure than the comparative example 1. As a comparison of the results disclosed by Postech (Tables 2-10) with the results of the inventive steel sheet of the present disclosure do not appear to differ to a statistical and practical significance, and the Mn concentration disclosed by Postech [0014], [0038-39] infinitesimally approaches the concentration recited in claim 1, absent a showing that the presently claimed amount of Mn yield nonobvious results commensurate in scope with the claimed range, the presently claimed amount of Mn would have been obvious over the approaching range disclosed by Postech [0014], [0038-39]. See MPEP 2144.05(I) second paragraph for further discussion on situations wherein a prior art range which is close but does not overlap may render a claim obvious.
Regarding claim 2, Postech discloses that the average grain diameter is 9 to 50 times larger than the thickness of the electrical steel sheet [0016], which lies entirely within a range of 1 to 50 times. Though Postech is silent as to the degree of penetration of the grains, as a diameter 9 to 50 times larger than the thickness is an order of magnitude larger than the thickness, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of filing, that the grains disclosed by Postech [0016] would to some extent penetrate through a thickness of the relatively thin (with respect to the grains) sheet thickness comprising those grains.
Regarding claim 3, Postech discloses that the thickness of the steel sheet is 0.05 to 0.3 mm [0015] and that the average grain diameter is 9 to 50 times the thickness of the steel sheet [0016]. Postech therefore discloses a range of grain diameters from 0.45 to 15 mm (0.05*9=0.45; 0.3*50=15) which overlaps the claimed range of 0.3 to 5 mm. When claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 4, Postech is silent on the area fraction of (001) grain. Figs. 2 and 6 do not show textures which are not (001) grains. Postech discloses that it is desirable that {111} plane or {211} be low [0010], and several examples in Tables 2-10 of Postech have 0 intensity for {110} planes. Considering the intensity of (001) planes disclosed by Postech (Figs. 2, 6, as {100} intensities in Figs. 2-10), the examples with a zero intensity for {110} planes (Tables 2-10), and Postech’s desire to keep {111} and {211} planes low [0010], it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing that the majority of the steel sheet disclosed by Postech comprise a (001) structure. As Figs. 2 and 6 do not appear to disclose a grain structure which is not a (001) structure, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect the steel sheet disclosed by Postech to have an area fraction of the (001) grains which lies in a range of 80% or more.
Regarding claim 5, Postech discloses several inventive examples (발명 예) wherein the electrical steel sheet has a magnetic flux density B50 (자속 밀도 B50) of 1.70 Tesla or more (Each of examples 1-8, 12-16, 17-20, 22-28, 31, Tables 1-4, 7-10). As Postech considers these examples inventive, the ranges disclosed by Postech, applied above, encompass/overlap values wherein the electrical steel sheet has a magnetic flux density (B50) of 1.70 Tesla or more.
Regarding claim 6, Postech discloses steel sheet thickness (두께) and iron loss W15/50 (철손 W15/50) for inventive examples (Tables 2-10), thereby indirectly disclosing ratio of steel sheet iron loss W15/50 to thickness for inventive examples (Tables 2-10). Postech discloses several inventive examples (발명 예) wherein a ratio of steel sheet thickness to iron loss (W15/50) thereof is in a range of 4 to 20 Watts/kg/mm, in addition to the magnetic flux density limitation of present claim 5, on which claim 6 depends (Each of examples 1-8, 12-16, 17-20, 22-28, 31, Tables 1-4, 7-10). As Postech considers these examples inventive, the ranges disclosed by Postech, applied above, encompass/overlap values wherein a ratio of steel sheet thickness to iron loss (W15/50) thereof is in a range of 4 to 20 Watts/kg/mm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20120312432 in paragraph [0094] discloses a Fe-Si alloy such as that presently claimed and that of the prior art reference(s) applied above. Paragraph [0094] of US20120312432 notes that Fe has a BCC crystal structure [0016], that for alloys having a BCC crystal structure, cubic surface are equivalent and that {100} and {001} surfaces are the same [0094].
WO2021193829A1 in describing Fig. 1 indicates that (001) and (100) surface directions are equivalent. See MPEP 2154.01(a) for why a WIPO publication of a PCT application designating the United States is available as prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2) as of the filing date of the reference.
/SEAN P. O'KEEFE/ Examiner, Art Unit 1738
/SALLY A MERKLING/ SPE, Art Unit 1738