DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. US 2023/0296963 in view of Henderson et al. US 2011/0141584.
Regarding claim 27, Li teaches a camera module (see title, abstract and para [0130-0131]), comprising:
a photosensitive assembly, comprising a circuit board and a photosensitive chip electrically connected to the circuit board (para [0135] teaches: that the camera module 200 further includes an image sensor and a circuit board);
a frame carrier assembly mounted on the photosensitive assembly, wherein the frame carrier assembly comprises a first frame carrier (paras. [0135] and [0137]: the circuit board is fastened to the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20, and the motor 20 includes, inter alia, a frame 22 and a carrier 23; thus, the frame/carrier structure is mounted with respect to the photosensitive assembly);
an optical camera lens held on a photosensitive path of the photosensitive assembly by being mounted in the first frame carrier, wherein the optical camera lens is provided with an optical axis (paras. [0005] and [0131]: teaches that the carrier is used to install the camera lens, and para. [0131]: expressly teaches that the camera lens 10 has an optical axis 10a); and
a driving assembly, comprising a first driving element (paras. [0137], [0143]-[0151]: teaches X-direction piezoelectric driver 29 of the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor 20). Li further teaches that the first driving element is configured to, after being driven, move in a two-dimensional trajectory in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis in a manner of bending vibration along two directions, and thereby drive the optical camera lens to move in a first direction perpendicular to the optical axis (paras. [0025-0030], specifically para. [0028]: teaches that the frame can move in X and Y directions, that the X direction, Y direction, and Z direction are perpendicular to teach other, and that because the carrier is installed inside the frame, the X direction piezoelectric drive and the Y direction piezoelectric driver can drive the camera lens to move on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis of the camera lens).
However, Li fails to teach that the first driving element is frictionally coupled to the first frame carrier through the first prepressing component, and thereby drives the first frame carrier by friction.
In the same field of endeavor, Henderson teaches a lens actuator module having a lens carriage frictionally coupled to a piezoelectric linear actuator through a preload structure (see title, abstract, Figs. 1A-1B, 3A-5, and paras. [0011-0012], [0051-0052] and [0063-0066]). Henderson further teaches a lens carriage frictionally coupled to the linear actuator at a contact point using a preload force (para [0011]: “a linear actuator and a lens carriage frictionally coupled to the linear actuator at a contact point using a preload force at the contact point”; para. [0064]: “lens carriage 205 is frictionally coupled to linearly actuating piezo motor 101 at contact point 104”); Henderson also teaches that the preload force is generated by a prepressing structure, such as spring and/or permanent magnets (para. [0065]: “the preload force 110 is generated at the contact point 104 … with at least one spring among spring 119 and/or permanent magnets 219”); and Henderson taches that the lens carriage holds the lens having the optical axis (para [0051]: “Lens carriage 105 … accepts a threaded optical lens assembly having the optical axis 106). Henderson further teaches direct frictional drive at the interface between the actuator and the lens carriage through opposing contact members (para. [0052], para [0064]; see also claim 21). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the camera module of Li by frictionally coupling Li’s piezoelectric driving element to the lens-holding carrier through a preload/prepressing component as taught by Henderson, so that the lateral piezoelectric drive is transmitted through a stable preloaded friction interface to the lens carrier.
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Li teaches the camera module according to claim 27, Li further teaches a frame and carrier structure capable of movement in multiple directions perpendicular to the optical axis (para 0025-0028: teaches that the frame can move in X and Y directions and the X direction, Y direction, and Z direction are perpendicular to teach other), separate piezoelectric drivers configured to drive motion along orthogonal directions (paras. 0143-0148: teaches an X direction piezoelectric driver and a Y direction piezoelectric driver arranged to drive motion in different direction). Li, however, does not explicitly teach that the frame carrier assembly further comprises a second frame carrier externally arranged on the first frame carrier and an outer frame carrier externally arranged on the second frame carrier, the driving assembly further comprises second driving element and a second prepressing component configured to frictionally drive the second frame carrier through a prepressing component.
In the same field of endeavor, Henderson teaches a lens actuator module having a lens carriage frictionally coupled to a piezoelectric actuator through a preload structure, wherein the preload force is generated by springs and/or permanent magnets to maintain contact between the actuator and movable member (see para 0011, 0051-0052, and 0063-066). Henderson further teaches that the lens carriage holding the lens may be driven through frictional contact at the interface between a piezoelectric actuator and the movable carriage (para. [0064]: “lens carriage 205 is frictionally coupled to linearly actuating piezo motor 101 at contact point 104”), Henderson also teaches that the preload force is generated by a prepressing structure, such as spring and/or permanent magnets (para. [0065]: “the preload force 110 is generated at the contact point 104 … with at least one spring among spring 119 and/or permanent magnets 219”). Thus, Henderson taches the use of piezoelectric driving elements with corresponding prepressing components to frictionally drive a movable lens carrier structure. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the camera module of Li to include an additional friction-driven piezoelectric driving element and associated preload structures taught by Henderson, arranged to drive the carrier structure along a second direction perpendicular to the first direction, thereby enabling tow-axis motion of the lens within a plane perpendicular to the optical axis. One of ordinary kill in the art would have been motivated to implement such an arrangement because Li already teaches lens motion along orthogonal X and Y direction for image stabilization, and Henderson teaches reliable frictional couple using preload structures for piezoelectric actuator driving a lens carrier. Combining Henderson’s friction-preload actuator structure with Li’s multi-directional piezoelectric drive would have predictable provided stable and reliable transmission of motion along both axes, thereby improving the controllability and reliability of the camera module’s optical image stabilization system.
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Li teaches the camera module according to claim 28, Li further teaches the first driving element and the second driving element are designed as piezoelectric actuators (para 0143-0148: teaches an X direction piezoelectric driver and a Y direction piezoelectric driver of the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor). Li further teaches that the piezoelectric actuator comprises an actuating system that performs bending deformation along orthogonal directions to generate motion (para. 0030 and 0145: teaches that current of different phases and amplitude are input to piezoelectric structures whose deformation directions are orthogonal, thereby synthesizing movement of an elliptical track or rectangular track). Li further teaches that the actuating system moves in a two-dimensional trajectory in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis (para. 0025-0028: teaches that the frame can move in X and Y directions, which are perpendicular to the optical axis, and that the X direction and Y direction piezoelectric driver drive the camera lens to move on a plane perpendicular to the optical axis).
Li however, does not explicitly teach that the piezoelectric actuator further comprises a driving circuit system controlling the actuating system.
In the same field of endeavor, Henderson teaches a piezoelectric actuator system in which an actuator is driven by electrical signals supplied by a control or driving circuit to generate controlled motion of a lens carriage (see para. 0051, 0052 and 0063-0066: describing a piezoelectric linear actuator receiving electrical excitation to actuate a lens carriage through frictional contact). Henderson therefore teaches that piezoelectric actuator systems include electrical driving circuity used to control actuator motion. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide the piezoelectric drivers of Li with a driving circuit system as taught by Henderson to control the actuating system, because piezoelectric actuator inherently requires electrical excitation and control circuitry to generate the bending vibration used to produce the desired motion. One of ordinary skill in the art would have implemented such circuitry in Li’s camera module to control the phase and amplitude of the signals applied to the piezoelectric drivers, thereby enabling precise control of the two-dimensional vibration trajectory used to move the camera lens in directions perpendicular to the optical axis. Such a modification would have predictably improved controllability and stability of the piezoelectric actuation system used to position the lens within the camera module.
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Li teaches the camera module according to claim 29, and Li further teaches that the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor includes piezoelectric driving structures that generate bending deformation to produce motion of a contact portion that drives a movable carrier structure (paras. 0030 and 0143-0148). In particular, Li teaches that piezoelectric driving elements deform along orthogonal direction under electrical excitation to generate motion trajectories such as elliptical or rectangular track at contact portion (para 0030: teaches that current of different phases and amplitudes are input to piezoelectric elements whose deformation direction are orthogonal to synthesize movement of an elliptical track or rectangular track on a touch block). The touch block driven by the piezoelectric structures constitutes a friction driving portion that interacts with the movable carrier structure of the motor (see para 0137 and 0143, describing the carrier and touch block structures of the ultrasonic piezoelectric motor).
Li however, does not explicitly teach that the actuating system comprises a piezoelectric plate structure and a friction driving portion fixed to the piezoelectric plate structure. In the same field of endeavor, Henderson teaches a piezoelectric actuator system including a piezoelectric actuator body and a contact portion that frictionally engages a movable lens carriage (see title, abstract and para 0011, 0051-0052, and 0063-0066), that the piezoelectric actuator includes a contact member or contact point forming a friction driving portion that directly engages the lens carriage, and that the lens carriage is frictionally coupled to the actuator as the contact point using a preload force (para 0011: teaches a lens carriage frictionally coupled to the linear actuator at a contact using a preload force; para 0064: teaches that the lens carriage is frictionally coupled to the motor at contact point 104). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to implement the piezoelectric driving elements to Li using a piezoelectric plate structure having a friction driving portion as taught by Henderson, such that the friction driving portion is frictionally coupled to the movable carrier structure of the camera module. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made this modification because Henderson teaches that providing a dedicated friction driving portion at the actuator interface ensures reliable transmission of motion from the piezoelectric actuator to the movable lens carriage through frictional engagement.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 31-38, 42-45, 47, 48, 50 and 51 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 31, the camera module according to claim 30, wherein the piezoelectric plate structure has a first side surface extending along its depth direction and a second side surface extending along its height direction and adjacent to the first side surface, wherein the piezoelectric plate structure has a first resonance frequency along its depth direction and a second resonance frequency along its height direction, and wherein the second resonance frequency is greater than the first resonance frequency.
Conclusion
/EPHREM Z MEBRAHTU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872