Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims are generally narrative and indefinite, failing to conform with current U.S. practice. They appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with grammatical and idiomatic errors.
Claim 1 contains the phrase: “an inhalation device with at least one liquid jet device”. It’s not clear if liquid jet device is part of the claimed inhalation device. For purpose of examination, the Examiner will assume the Applicant meant to recite “an inhalation device comprising at least one liquid jet device”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 9 and 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sudlow et al. (WO 2019162368).
Regarding claim 1, Sudlow discloses an inhalation device (11, fig. 4) with at least one liquid jet device for producing drops of a liquid on demand (page 21, line 16), said liquid jet device comprising:
a fluid chamber, an ejection nozzle and a supply channel embedded in a substrate, the inhalation device further comprising at least one heating element arranged to pre-heat said liquid to a predetermined temperature prior to ejection through said ejection nozzle (page 26).
Regarding claim 2, Sudlow discloses the liquid jet device is in the form of piezo-electric element (by reference sign 60, fig. 4) (corresponding to the claimed a micro-electromechanical system “MEMS”).
Regarding claim 3, Sudlow discloses the heating element is a resistor embedded in a substrate of said (piezo-electric element “MEMS”) so as to pre-heat to the predetermined temperature at least a part of the liquid present in cavities formed in the substrate (page 26).
Regarding claim 9, Sudlow discloses an air conduit and a mouthpiece chamber in which air from said air conduit is mixed with the generated liquid drops (fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Sudlow discloses a reservoir configured to store an amount of said liquid and a reservoir heating element arranged to heat the liquid in said reservoir to a predetermined liquid reservoir temperature (page 26).
Regarding claim 12, Sudlow discloses the inhalation device a comprising at least one further second liquid jet device for producing drops of a liquid on demand, said further at least one second liquid jet device comprising a fluid chamber, an ejection nozzle and a supply channel embedded in a further substrate (see figs. 8-10).
Regarding 13, Sudlow discloses a second heating element arranged to pre-heat a liquid to a further predetermined temperature prior to ejection through the ejection nozzle in the further substrate (see figs. 8-10).
Regarding claim 14, Sudlow discloses at least one second liquid jet device are provided configured for producing drops from respective different liquids (see figs. 8-10).
Regarding claim 15, Sudlow discloses at least one second liquid jet device are provided configured for producing drops from the same liquid (102, 104, fig. 8).
Regarding claim 16, Sudlow discloses the at least one second liquid jet device are in the form of a micro-electromechanical system are formed in the same substrate (102, 104, fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sudlow et al. (WO 2019162368) in view of Wu (U.S Pub. No. 20200049568).
Regarding claim 4, Sudlow does not expressly discloses a temperature sense resistor. Wu discloses a resistance temperature detector (“RTD”) (corresponding to the claimed temperature sense resistor “TSR”) operating in a dual role as a temperature sensor and a heat source [0025]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the TSR taught by Wu in the device of Sudlow for its dual role property.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sudlow and Wu discloses the resistor is a heating resistor arranged in a vicinity of said fluid chamber and configured to heat an amount of the liquid in said fluid chamber to at least a vaporization temperature, so that a vapour bubble expels a drop of the liquid through the ejection nozzle (page 30 and figs. 13-16 of Sudlow).
Regarding claim 6, Sudlow discloses a control unit configured to drive said resistor so that said amount of the liquid in the firing chamber is pre-heated to said predetermined temperature prior to heating said amount of the liquid to at least the vaporization temperature (page 26, lines 29 – page 27, line 7).
Regarding claim 10, Sudlow discloses the surface tension of the fluid is dependent on the temperature and the air temperature effects the size of aerosol (page 24 and pages 30-31). (original) The inhalation device according to claim 9, wherein the air conduit comprises a further heating element arranged to pre-heat the air guided by the air conduit into the mixing chamber.
Regarding claims 7-8, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to apply lower voltage in a pre-heating stage than that of the vaporization stage; therefore the control unit is configured to apply a voltage pulse with variable width to said resistor, and wherein a pre-heating pulse is shorter than a vaporization pulse; wherein said pre-heating pulse is approximately half as long as said vaporization pulse.
Regarding claim 17, Sudlow discloses a liquid jet device, a circuit board and a mixing chamber (figs. 7 and 11) wherein the at least one liquid jet device produce drops into said mixing chamber. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to rearrangement of parts to arrive to the at least one liquid jet device is mounted on a printed circuit board, inlet air is guided through an opening of said printed circuit board, and a mixing chamber is arranged atop the printed circuit board so that the at least one liquid jet device produce drops into said mixing chamber. See In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) and In re Kuhle, 526 F.2d 553, 188 USPQ 7 (CCPA 1975).
Double Patenting
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18288661 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they have the same scope of invention.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/PHU H NGUYEN/ Examiner, Art Unit 1747