DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities: “[Equation 1]…device” is outside the sentence of claim 17 and each claim must end with a period (see MPEP 608.01(M): Each claim begins with a capital letter and ends with a period. ). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 10, 18 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0099985 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Li discloses an image projection device, comprising: a light source (see fig.4 or fig.25) configured to output light corresponding to an image (see para.[0221]: “Embodiments consistent with the disclosure include an integrated display panel as a self-emissive imager device”); and an optical system (see the optical system of 2540 in fig.25: since the LEDs serve as the image devices “self-emissive devices”(see para.[0221]) the optical system of 2540 is configured as an optical system) disposed in front of the light source and configured to project the image, wherein the light source comprises: a substrate (116 or 110) comprising a plurality of pixels ([0224]: In some embodiments, a display panel includes an array of single pixel light emitting devices, such as the light emitting mesa 101. ); and a plurality of semiconductor light emitting devices in the plurality of pixels of the substrate (the plurality of pixels are comprised by semiconductor light emitting devices (LEDS, OLEDS): see para.[0011]: “The display panel …includes an array of pixel light sources (e.g., LEDs, OLEDs)”; [0272]: In some embodiments, the light emitting layer 120 may emit green, blue or red light. The light emitted from the light emitting layer 120 may pass through and/or around the top electrode layer 115 and arrive at the micro-lens 102 (as described in FIG. 1A, not shown in FIG. 3). The light emitted from the light emitting layer 120 may also arrive at the at least one reflective cup 111 and/or 112 and be reflected upwardly to the micro-lens 102 or/and another lens (not shown in FIG. 3). In some embodiments, the light emitting mesa 101 may comprises two or more light emitting layers emitting distinct colors.), respectively, wherein the substrate is disposed to be inclined with respect to the optical system (see substrate 110 and the disposition of 2430 in fig.24 and 2540 in fig.25), and wherein the semiconductor light emitting device (see the device comprised by 120 emitting condensed light via 111 and 112) is configured to emit a first condensed light having a first beam angle inclined with respect to the substrate (see the beams generated by 120 which are at least inclined by 90 degrees and see beams reflected by 112 and 111; see para.[0250]: “reflection from the reflective cups can also increase the light emitting efficiency and brightness by focusing the light emission into a certain direction. For example, some of the light emitted from the light emitting mesa 101 may arrive at and be reflected upward by the reflective cup parts 111 and 112.”)
With respect to claim 2, Li discloses the image projection device of claim 1, wherein the first condensed light emitted at the inclined first beam angle is configured to be perpendicularly incident on the optical system (see the light incident on 2502-1 and 102 which further comprises the optical system in fig.25).
With respect to claim 3, Li discloses the image projection device of claim 1, wherein the light source comprises an electrode (see 115) disposed on the substrate (see 115 disposed on 116 and 110 via 117) and spaced apart from the semiconductor light emitting device (see 120, spaced by 117 in fig.25).
With respect to claim 10, Li discloses the image projection device of claim 3, wherein the light source comprises a lens (see 102 and lens supporting structure, 108, 109, and 111) surrounding the semiconductor light emitting device (see 102 and lens supporting structure, 108, 109, and 111), and the lens (see 102) is configured to emit a second condensed light having a second beam angle (see the angle of the light in fig.25, emitted from 102) inclined with respect to the substrate (see 110 fig.25).
With respect to claim 18, Li discloses the image projection device of claim 1, wherein the light source comprises: an insulating layer (see 117 in fig.25) surrounding the semiconductor light emitting device; and a connection electrode (see the electrode component between 115 and 120 in fig.25) disposed on the insulating layer (117 in fig.25) and configured to connect the electrode (115) and the semiconductor light emitting device (120).
With respect to claim 20, Li discloses the image projection device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light emitting device comprises at least one or more of a red semiconductor light emitting device, a green semiconductor light emitting device, and a blue semiconductor light emitting device ([0272] : In some embodiments, the light emitting layer 120 may emit green, blue or red light.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (United States Patent Application Publication 2022/0099985 A1).
With respect to claim 19, Li discloses the image projection device of claim 1, wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a side surface having an area comparable to the area of an upper surface ([0360]: As shown in FIG. 21, in some embodiments, the polygon shape cross-section is a trapezoid shape having an inclined top surface 2130 without consideration of the carve-out of the micro-lens 102.: see the a side surface that comparable larger than the top surface) but does not explicitly disclose a side surface having an area larger than the area of an upper surface.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the semiconductor light emitting device a side surface having an area comparable to the area of an upper surface, since it would predictably facilitate heat dissipation and since such a modification would have involved a mere change in-the size of-a component which size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-9 and 11-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
With respect to claim 4, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious an image projection device, comprising: a light source configured to output light corresponding to an image; and an optical system disposed in front of the light source and configured to project the image, wherein the light source comprises: a substrate comprising a plurality of pixels; and a plurality of semiconductor light emitting devices in the plurality of pixels of the substrate, respectively, wherein the substrate is disposed to be inclined with respect to the optical system, and wherein the semiconductor light emitting device is configured to emit a first condensed light having a first beam angle inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the light source comprises an electrode disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from the semiconductor light emitting device, wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a first isosceles triangle having a first-first side surface, a first-second side surface and a first-third side surface, the first-first side surface and the first-second side surface having the same length, and the first-third side surface having a length different from the first-first side surface or the first-second side surface.
The closest prior art of record, Li, discloses an image projection device, comprising: a light source (see fig.4 or fig.25) configured to output light corresponding to an image (see para.[0221]: “Embodiments consistent with the disclosure include an integrated display panel as a self-emissive imager device”); and an optical system (see 2540 in fig.25) disposed in front of the light source and configured to project the image, wherein the light source comprises: a substrate (110) comprising a plurality of pixels ([0224]: In some embodiments, a display panel includes an array of single pixel light emitting devices, such as the light emitting mesa 101. ) wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a trapezoidal cross sectional area (see fig.21) but does not disclose or suggestion wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a first isosceles triangle having a first-first side surface, a first-second side surface and a first-third side surface, the first-first side surface and the first-second side surface having the same length, and the first-third side surface having a length different from the first-first side surface or the first-second side surface.
Claims 5-9 contain allowable subject matter as they depend from an allowable claim.
With respect to claim 11, the prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious an image projection device, comprising: a light source configured to output light corresponding to an image; and an optical system disposed in front of the light source and configured to project the image, wherein the light source comprises: a substrate comprising a plurality of pixels; and a plurality of semiconductor light emitting devices in the plurality of pixels of the substrate, respectively, wherein the substrate is disposed to be inclined with respect to the optical system, and wherein the semiconductor light emitting device is configured to emit a first condensed light having a first beam angle inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the light source comprises an electrode disposed on the substrate and spaced apart from the semiconductor light emitting device, wherein the light source comprises a lens surrounding the semiconductor light emitting device, and the lens is configured to emit a second condensed light having a second beam angle inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a first isosceles triangle having a first-first side surface, a first-second side surface and a first-third side surface, the first-first side surface and the first-second side surface having the same length, and the first-third side surface having a length different from the first-first side surface or the first-second side surface.
The closest prior art of record, Li, discloses an image projection device, comprising: a light source (see fig.4 or fig.25) configured to output light corresponding to an image (see para.[0221]: “Embodiments consistent with the disclosure include an integrated display panel as a self-emissive imager device”); and an optical system (see 2540 in fig.25) disposed in front of the light source and configured to project the image, wherein the light source comprises: a substrate (110) comprising a plurality of pixels ([0224]: In some embodiments, a display panel includes an array of single pixel light emitting devices, such as the light emitting mesa 101. ) wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a trapezoidal cross sectional area (see fig.21), wherein the light source comprises a lens (see 102 and supporting structure) surrounding the semiconductor light emitting device, and the lens (see 102) is configured to emit a second condensed light having a second beam angle (see the angle of the light in fig.21) inclined with respect to the substrate (see fig.21) but does not disclose wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a first isosceles triangle having a first-first side surface, a first-second side surface and a first-third side surface, the first-first side surface and the first-second side surface having the same length, and the first-third side surface having a length different from the first-first side surface or the first-second side surface.
Claims 12-16 contain allowable subject matter as they depend from an allowable claim.
With respect to claim 17, the prior art of record does not disclose or suggest the image projection device of claim 3, wherein the semiconductor light emitting device comprises a first semiconductor light emitting device and a second semiconductor light emitting device, the electrode comprises a first electrode disposed on one side of the first semiconductor light emitting device and a second electrode disposed between the first semiconductor light emitting device and the second semiconductor light emitting device, and the first semiconductor light emitting device is spaced apart from the second electrode by a distance L or more according to Equation 1: [Equation 1]
L=H/tan q
H: Height of the second electrode
q: Beam angle of condensed light emitted from the first semiconductor light emitting device.
The closest prior art of record, Li, discloses an image projection device, comprising: a light source (see fig.4 or fig.25) configured to output light corresponding to an image (see para.[0221]: “Embodiments consistent with the disclosure include an integrated display panel as a self-emissive imager device”); and an optical system (see 2540 in fig.25) disposed in front of the light source and configured to project the image, wherein the light source comprises: a substrate (110) comprising a plurality of pixels ([0224]: In some embodiments, a display panel includes an array of single pixel light emitting devices, such as the light emitting mesa 101. ) wherein the semiconductor light emitting device has a trapezoidal cross sectional area (see fig.21), wherein the light source comprises a lens (see 102 and supporting structure) surrounding the semiconductor light emitting device, and the lens (see 102) is configured to emit a second condensed light having a second beam angle (see the angle of the light in fig.21) inclined with respect to the substrate (see fig.21) , wherein the semiconductor light emitting device comprises a first semiconductor light emitting device and a second semiconductor light emitting device, the electrode comprises a first electrode disposed on one side of the first semiconductor light emitting device and a second electrode disposed between the first semiconductor light emitting device and the second semiconductor light emitting device, and the first semiconductor light emitting device is spaced apart from the second electrode by a distance L or more according to Equation 1: [Equation 1]
L=H/tan q
H: Height of the second electrode
q: Beam angle of condensed light emitted from the first semiconductor light emitting device.
Conclusion
/JERRY L BROOKS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2882