DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1, 4-6, 15, 30, 32, 35-39, and 41-43 are amended. Claims 3, 14, 16-18, 29, and 31 are cancelled. Claims 19-28 are withdrawn due to an earlier restriction requirement.
The amendments to claims 4, 6, 15, 30, 32, and 34-48 overcome the previous claim objections and 112(b) rejections.
Claims 1, 2, 4-13, 15, 30, and 32-47 are pending for examination below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 29 September 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 10 of the Remarks that the combination of Xin with other cited references is improper because Xin does not teach or suggest oxidative dehydrogenation of catalytic reactions involving ethane, as the system of Xin is designed for pyrolysis (cracking) of ethane, and thus the combination lacks a reasonable expectation of success.
In response, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. As previously acknowledged by the Examiner in the Non-Final Action, Xin does not specifically teach using the diluted stream for oxidative dehydrogenation, but teaches providing a similar feed stream comprising light hydrocarbons and dilution steam, and teaches that a humidifying (saturation) tower is known to be used to add the dilution steam to the light hydrocarbons (Abstract). Xin further teaches that the process of dilution in the humidifying (saturation) tower reduces the pressure of steam and thus the energy consumption related to mixing the steam with the light hydrocarbons (paragraphs [0007], [0010]). As also discussed by the Examiner in the Non-Final Action, the motivation of Xin is clearly applicable to the claimed process of ethane oxidative dehydrogenation when dilution steam is added to the hydrocarbons, because each process takes dilution steam and adds it to light hydrocarbons as a feed, and the step of performing the dilution is not affected by the reaction which is performed after the dilution. Thus, the Examiner’s position remains that the art of Xin is relevant and analogous to the claimed process and the process of Yan, because Xin is reasonably pertinent to the problem of diluting the ethane feed with steam of the current invention and the teachings of Yan in view of Zellhuber. See MPEP 2141.01(a)(I) for further discussion of what constitutes analogous art.
Claim Objections
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
With regard to claim 2, the claim recites “The method of claim 1, comprising introducing the mixed feed to the ODH reactor…and wherein the mixture upstream of the feed heat exchanger comprises ethane saturated with water.” However, claim 1 as amended already recites “adding water to ethane to give a mixture;…adding oxygen to the mixture to give a mixed feed for the ODH reactor; dehydrogenating the ethane to ethylene…in the ODH reactor…” and “wherein adding water to ethane comprises saturating the ethane with the water…”. These phrases already explicitly or implicitly contain the limitations recited above for claim 2. Thus, the above quoted limitations in claim 2 are redundant and should be removed to make the claim more concise.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Simanzhenkov et al. (US 2019/0135715) and Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation).
With regard to claim 1, Yan teaches a method for ethane oxidative dehydrogenation (paragraph [0002]) comprising the following steps (See Figure 3 and Example 3 in corresponding paragraphs [0086]-[0091]):
a) mixing water in the form of water vapor 2, oxygen-containing gas 3, and ethane 1 to obtain a mixed feed (paragraphs [0086]-[0087]). The instant claims teach that steam is considered a form of water (instant claim 8). Thus, the adding of water vapor is considered to be equivalent to adding water as claimed.
b) preheating the mixed feed in preheater 6’ (paragraph [0087]) which is a feed heat exchanger which exchanges heat with the effluent from the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor (Fig 3).
c) passing the heated mixed feed to the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor 8 comprising a catalyst to perform oxidative dehydrogenation (paragraph [0087]).
d) discharging a product gas 9 comprising ethylene, ethane, acetic acid, water, CO, and CO2 (paragraph [0087]).
Yan fails to teach i) flowing only the ethane and water mixture through the heat exchanger before adding oxygen or ii) that the water vapor is added to the ethane by saturating ethane with the water in an ethane saturator tower.
. With regard to the order of preheating i), Simanzhenkov teaches a process for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0001]). Simanzhenkov teaches that steam (water vapor) can be added to an individual reactant component such as ethane, oxygen, or a combination thereof, and then introduced into the ODH reactor (paragraph [0037]). Simanzhenkov also teaches that, alternatively, water can be added to the ethane and then the mixture is preheated to form the steam, before entering the reactor with the other components (paragraph [0037]). Thus, Simanzhenkov contemplates that mixing all the components as in Yan is equivalent to the claimed steps of mixing water and ethane, preheating, and then passing the mixture to the reactor alongside oxygen.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the preparation steps of Simanzhenkov in the process of Yan, because each of Yan and Simanzhenkov teach ethane oxidative dehydrogenation, Yan teaches mixing all the components together before preheating, and Simanzhenkov teaches that mixing water and ethane, preheating, and then adding oxygen is an equivalent preparation process which will produce the desired result of a mixed feed comprising ethane, steam, and oxygen, as claimed, without undue experimentation and with a reasonable expectation of success.
With regard to the ethane saturator tower ii), Xin teaches a process for diluting light hydrocarbons with steam (water vapor) (Abstract). Xin teaches that a humidifying (saturation) tower is known to be used to add the dilution steam to the light hydrocarbons (Abstract). Xin further teaches that the process of dilution in the humidifying (saturation) tower reduces the pressure of steam and thus the energy consumption related to mixing the steam with the light hydrocarbons (paragraphs [0007], [0010]). Xin does not specifically teach using the diluted stream for oxidative dehydrogenation, however, the motivation of Xin is clearly applicable to the claimed process of ethane oxidative dehydrogenation when dilution steam is added to the ethane, because each process takes dilution steam and adds it to light hydrocarbons as a feed, and the step of performing the dilution is not affected by the reaction which is performed after the dilution. Thus, the art of Xin is relevant and analogous to the claimed process and the process of Yan, because Xin is reasonably pertinent to the problem of diluting the ethane feed with steam of the current invention and the teachings of Yan (see MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to produce a saturated ethane stream in an ethane saturation tower, because each of Yan and Xin teach adding dilution steam to a light hydrocarbon to form a feed stream comprising light hydrocarbon and steam, and Xin teaches that forming the stream by saturation in a saturation tower reduces the pressure of steam and thus the energy consumption while enhancing practicality of the process compared to the traditional practice of mixing the steam with the light hydrocarbons as in Yan (paragraphs [0007], [0010]).
With regard to claim 6, Yan teaches adding the water vapor 2 to the ethane 1 in a conduit 4 upstream of the heat exchanger 6’ (feed heat exchanger) which is a cross heat exchanger that utilizes the effluent as a heating medium (Fig. 3). Yan does not specifically teach heating the ethane and water mixture in a second heat exchanger upstream of the heat exchanger 6’ (feed heat exchanger). However, this is merely a duplication of parts, where a second heat exchanger is present, which is prima facie obvious absent any evidence of criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
With regard to claim 8, Yan teaches adding water vapor 2 (steam) to a conduit 4 conveying the ethane. Yan does not explicitly teach that the steam comes from a steam drum. However, steam drums are commonly known in the art to be used to hold steam before use in processes where steam is used as a diluent. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a steam drum to hold the steam of Yan before using it in the process.
With regard to claim 10, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov does not specifically teach adding water to ethane, preheating in a heat exchanger, then adding steam to ethane, and then further preheating in a heat exchanger. However, as water can be in the form of steam (see claim 8), then this is merely a duplication of parts, where steam is added to ethane, heated, and then further steam is added to ethane with further heating, which is prima facie obvious absent any evidence of criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
With regard to claim 11, Yan fails to teach adding water to the oxygen before adding the oxygen to the ethane and water mixture.
Simanzhenkov teaches that steam (water vapor) can be added to an individual reactant component such as oxygen, and then introduced into the ODH reactor with the other components (paragraph [0037]). Thus, Simanzhenkov contemplates that it is known to mix water with oxygen before adding the oxygen vapor to the reactor, and Yan teaches adding the oxygen stream 3 to a conduit 4 comprising the mixture of water and ethane (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add water to the oxygen stream 3 of Yan because Yan and Simanzhenkov each teach oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to ethylene in the presence of oxygen and steam, and Simanzhenkov teaches that it is known to add water to the oxygen stream before adding the remaining components to the reactor (paragraph [0037]).
With regard to claim 13, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches adding steam to the oxygen stream (Simanzhenkov paragraph [0037]). Yan in view of Simanzhenkov does not explicitly teach that the steam comes from a steam drum. However, steam drums are commonly known in the art to be used to hold steam before use in processes where steam is used as a diluent. Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use a steam drum to hold the steam of Yan before using it in the process.
Claims 2, 15, 30-35, 37, 39, and 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Simanzhenkov et al. (US 2019/0135715) and Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zellhuber et al. (US 2019/0382324).
With regard to claim 2, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches the method above.
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov fails to teach recycling water from the effluent as the water added to the ethane feed.
Zellhuber teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to ethylene and acetic acid (Abstract). Zellhuber further teaches separating water from acetic acid in an acetic acid recovery unit, and recycling the water to the preheating unit as the water or steam dilution stream for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor (paragraphs [0057] and [0051]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to separate and recycle water from the effluent to the oxidative dehydrogenation process as the water in the feed, because Yan and Zellhuber each teach oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to an effluent comprising ethylene, acetic acid, and water, and Zellhuber teaches separating and recycling the water as the dilution steam for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor as an alternative to fresh water (paragraphs [0051], [0057]).
With regard to claim 15, Yan teaches the method above. Yan further teaches:
a) separating the product 9 in a gas-liquid separation tank 14 (flash drum) to produce a condensate 18 comprising most of the acetic acid and water and a process gas 15 comprising the remaining components of ethylene, ethane, CO, CO2, and a small amount of acetic acid and water (paragraphs [0035], [0088]).
b) passing the process gas 15 to an absorption tower 20 to remove the residual acetic acid and water from the process gas 15 (paragraphs [0035], [0088]).
c) discharging the liquid (paragraph [0035], [0088]).
Yan fails to teach utilizing the discharged stream as recycle water for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor feed.
Zellhuber teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to ethylene and acetic acid (Abstract). Zellhuber further teaches separating an acetic acid process water, separating the water from the acetic acid in an acetic acid recovery unit, and recycling the water to the preheating unit as the water or steam dilution stream for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor (paragraphs [0057] and [0051]). Zellhuber further teaches that acetic acid is a desirable product that can be recovered (paragraph [0057]). Yan teaches the preheating unit is a heat exchanger with the effluent (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to separate and recycle water from the effluent to the oxidative dehydrogenation process as the water in the feed passed to the preheating heat exchanger, because Yan and Zellhuber each teach oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to an effluent comprising ethylene, acetic acid, and water, and separating acetic acid and water, and Zellhuber teaches separating and recycling the water as the dilution steam for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor as an alternative to fresh water (paragraphs [0051], [0057]).
With regard to claims 30, 39, and 41, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin teaches the method above, where the recycled water and ethane are combined before adding the oxygen (Simanzhenkov paragraph [0037]). Yan further teaches:
a) passing the effluent from the process through the heat exchanger 6’ to recover heat by heating the feed and water mixture (instant claims 39 and 41).
b) discharging waste water comprising acetic acid from the process (paragraph [0088]).
Yan fails to teach recycling water from the discharged stream to the reactor as the water stream added to the ethane.
Zellhuber teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to ethylene and acetic acid (Abstract). Zellhuber further teaches separating an acetic acid process water, separating the water from the acetic acid in an acetic acid recovery unit, and recycling the water to the preheating unit as the water or steam dilution stream for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor (paragraphs [0057] and [0051]). Zellhuber further teaches that acetic acid is a desirable product that can be recovered (paragraph [0057]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to recycle water from the effluent to the oxidative dehydrogenation process as the water in the feed, because Yan and Zellhuber each teach oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to an effluent comprising ethylene, acetic acid, and water, and separating acetic acid and water, and Zellhuber teaches separating and recycling the water as the dilution steam for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor as an alternative to fresh water (paragraphs [0051], [0057]).
Yan in view of Zellhuber fails to explicitly teach that recovering the heat reduces energy consumption or that recovering the water reduces water consumption. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would expect these results from performing the recovering steps of Yan in view of Zellhuber, as these are well known results of heat recovery and water recovery in chemical processes, absent any evidence to the contrary.
With regard to claim 32, Yan teaches recovering the heat in the heat exchanger 6’ as above. Yan does not specifically teach heating the mixed feed in “another” heat exchanger to recover the heat. However, this is merely a duplication of parts, where a second heat exchanger is present and used in the same manner as the heat exchanger 6’, which is prima facie obvious absent any evidence of criticality or unexpected results (see MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B)).
With regard to claim 33, Yan further teaches:
a) separating the product 9 in a gas-liquid separation tank 14 (flash drum) to produce a condensate 18 comprising most of the acetic acid and water and a process gas 15 comprising the remaining components of ethylene, ethane, CO, and CO2 (paragraphs [0035], [0088]).
With regard to claim 34, Yan further teaches:
a) separating the product 9 in a gas-liquid separation tank 14 (flash drum) to produce a condensate 18 comprising most of the acetic acid and water and a process gas 15 comprising the remaining components of ethylene, ethane, CO, CO2, and a small amount of acetic acid and water (paragraphs [0035], [0088]).
b) passing the process gas 15 to an absorption tower 20 to remove the residual acetic acid and water from the process gas 15 by washing with a water absorbent (paragraphs [0035], [0088]).
c) discharging the liquid (paragraph [0035], [0088]).
Yan fails to teach i) recycling the water from the absorbent tower (scrubber) to the process as the feed water or ii) recovering the water from the condensate and using it as the absorbent water.
With regard to i), Zellhuber teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to ethylene and acetic acid (Abstract). Zellhuber further teaches quenching the process gas with water, separating the water from the acetic acid in the quench water, and recycling the water to the preheating unit as the water or steam dilution stream for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor (paragraphs [0056], [0057], and [0051]). Thus, Zellhuber teaches it is known to recycle the water from the acetic acid scrubber (quench) as the feed water.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to recycle water from the quench bottoms (scrubber bottoms) to the oxidative dehydrogenation process as the water in the feed, because Yan and Zellhuber each teach oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to an effluent comprising ethylene, acetic acid, and water, and separating acetic acid and water, and Zellhuber teaches separating and recycling the water as the dilution steam for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor as an alternative to fresh water (paragraphs [0051], [0057]).
With regard to ii), while Yan and Zellhuber do not explicitly teach using the water from the effluent as the absorbent or scrubber water, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use the water separated from the effluent as taught by Zellhuber as the absorbent water in Yan, because Yan teaches using water as the absorbent and Zellhuber teaches that separating water from acetic acid in the effluent is known and using the water is useful in place of freshwater (paragraphs [0056]-[0057]).
With regard to claims 35 and 37, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Zellhuber teaches the method of claim 30 above, where water vapor (water of instant claim 35, steam of instant claim 37) is added to the ethane upstream of adding the oxygen (Simanzhenkov), and wherein the recycle water is used to form the dilution steam (Zellhuber paragraph (paragraphs [0051], [0057]).
With regard to claim 36, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov, Xin, and Zellhuber teaches the method of claim 30 above, where water vapor (steam) is added to the ethane in the ethane saturator tower (Xin Abstract), and wherein the recycle water is used to form the dilution steam (Zellhuber paragraph (paragraphs [0051], [0057]).
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Simanzhenkov et al. (US 2019/0135715) and Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zander et al. (US 2016/0207035).
With regard to claims 4 and 5, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin teaches the method above, where the water is added to the ethane in a saturator tower.
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin fails to teach heating the water in a heat exchanger with the effluent before adding the water to the ethane.
Zander teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0104]). Zander further teaches that the system comprises preheating water in heat exchanger 9 before mixing with ethane in a conduit, and sending the mixture to heat exchanger 12 before reactor 1, where heat exchanger 9 exchanges effluent heat with the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat the water before adding the water to the ethane and preheating, because Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin teaches adding water to the ethane before preheating, and Zander teaches it is known and suitable cool the effluent by preheating water before further use of the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Claims 7, 9, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Simanzhenkov et al. (US 2019/0135715) and Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation) as applied to claims 6, 8, and 11 above, and further in view of Zander et al. (US 2016/0207035).
With regard to claim 7, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin teaches the method of claim 6 above, where the water is added to the ethane in a conduit (Fig. 3).
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin fails to teach heating the water in a heat exchanger with the effluent before adding the water to the ethane.
Zander teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0104]). Zander further teaches that the system comprises preheating water in heat exchanger 9 before mixing with ethane in a conduit, and sending the mixture to heat exchanger 12 before reactor 1, where heat exchanger 9 exchanges effluent heat with the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat the water before adding the water to the ethane and preheating, because Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches adding water to the ethane before preheating, and Zander teaches it is known and suitable cool the effluent by preheating water before further use of the water in the oxidative dehydrogenation process (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
With regard to claim 9, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin teaches the method of claim 8 above, where the steam is added to the ethane in a conduit.
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and fails to teach heating the water in a heat exchanger with the effluent before adding the water to the steam drum.
Zander teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0104]). Zander further teaches that the system comprises preheating water in heat exchanger 9, where heat exchanger 9 exchanges effluent heat with the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat the water before passing to the steam drum before further use of the steam, because Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches adding preheating the water alone before further use as steam, and Zander teaches it is known and suitable cool the effluent by preheating water before further use of the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
With regard to claim 12, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin teaches adding water to oxygen before (upstream) adding the ethane stream and sending to the reactor as in claim 11.
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Xin fails to teach heating the water and oxygen in a heat exchanger with the effluent before adding the water and oxygen to the ethane.
Zander teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0104]). Zander further teaches that the system comprises preheating water in heat exchanger 9 before mixing with ethane in a conduit, and sending the mixture to heat exchanger 12 before reactor 1, where heat exchanger 9 exchanges effluent heat with the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat the water and oxygen mixture of Yan in view of Simanzhenkov before adding the water and oxygen mixture to the ethane, because Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches adding water to the oxygen before mixing with the ethane and preheating, and Zander teaches it is known and suitable cool the effluent by preheating water before further use of the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Claim 38 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Simanzhenkov et al. (US 2019/0135715), Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation), and Zellhuber et al. (US 2019/0382324) as applied to claim 30 above, and further in view of Rogers (US 4,021,500).
With regard to claim 38, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Zellhuber teaches the method of claim 30 above, wherein the recycle water is used to form the dilution steam (Zellhuber paragraph (paragraphs [0051], [0057])..
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Zellhuber fails to teach vaporizing the recycle water in a steam dilution drum to give the dilution steam.
Rogers teaches a method of oxidative dehydrogenation of hydrocarbons (column 1, lines 1-5), separating water from the effluent of the dehydrogenation reactor, and passing it to the steam generator which vaporizes the water, and then passing it to the steam drum, where the steam from the steam drum is used as dilution steam in the process (column 1, line 40-column 2, line 6). Roger further teaches that recycling the water as steam removes the need to dispose of the separated water, which is expensive in time and labor (column 1, lines 9-15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to pass the recycled water stream of Zellhuber to a steam drum before recycling as in Rogers, because each of Zellhuber and Rogers teaches recycling water to the oxidative dehydrogenation process, and Rogers teaches that forming the water into steam which is used in the process removes the need to dispose of the separated water, which is expensive in time and labor (column 1, lines 9-15).
Claims 40 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Simanzhenkov et al. (US 2019/0135715), Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation), and Zellhuber et al. (US 2019/0382324) as applied to claim 39 above, and further in view of Zander et al. (US 2016/0207035).
With regard to claim 40, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov and Zellhuber teaches the method of claim 39 above, where the recycle water is added to the ethane.
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov fails to teach heating the recycle water in a heat exchanger with the effluent before adding the water to the ethane.
Zander teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0104]). Zander further teaches that the system comprises preheating water in heat exchanger 9 before mixing with ethane in a conduit, and sending the mixture to heat exchanger 12 before reactor 1, where heat exchanger 9 exchanges effluent heat with the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat the water before adding the water to the ethane and preheating, because Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches adding water to the ethane before preheating, and Zander teaches it is known and suitable cool the effluent by preheating water before further use of the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
With regard to claim 42, Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches adding water to oxygen before adding the ethane stream and sending to the reactor (Simanzhenkov paragraph [0037].
Yan in view of Simanzhenkov fails to teach heating the water and oxygen in a heat exchanger with the effluent before adding the water to the ethane.
Zander teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0104]). Zander further teaches that the system comprises preheating water in heat exchanger 9 before mixing with ethane in a conduit, and sending the mixture to heat exchanger 12 before reactor 1, where heat exchanger 9 exchanges effluent heat with the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to heat the water and oxygen mixture of Yan in view of Simanzhenkov before adding the water and oxygen mixture to the ethane and preheating, because Yan in view of Simanzhenkov teaches adding water to the oxygen before mixing with the ethane and preheating, and Zander teaches it is known and suitable cool the effluent by preheating water before further use of the water (Figure 3, paragraph [0079]).
Claims 43 and 45-47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation) and Zellhuber et al. (US 2019/0382324).
With regard to claim 43, Yan teaches a process for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0086]) comprising
a) mixing water in the form of water vapor 2, oxygen-containing gas 3, and ethane 1 to obtain a mixed feed (paragraphs [0086]-[0087]). The instant claims teach that steam is considered a form of water (instant claim 8). Thus, the adding of water vapor is considered to be equivalent to adding water as claimed.
b) preheating the mixed feed in preheater 6’ (paragraph [0087]) which is a heat exchanger which exchanges heat with the effluent from the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor (Fig 3).
c) passing the heated mixed feed to the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor 8 comprising a catalyst (paragraph [0087]) and discharging a product gas 9 comprising ethylene, ethane, acetic acid, water, CO, and CO2 (paragraph [0087]).
d) separating the product 9 in a gas-liquid separation tank 14 (flash drum) to produce a condensate 18 comprising most of the acetic acid and water and a process gas 15 comprising the remaining components of ethylene, ethane, CO, CO2, and a small amount of acetic acid and water (paragraphs [0035], [0088]).
e) discharging the condensate 18 (paragraph [0088]).
Yan fails to teach i) the water vapor is added to the ethane by saturating ethane with the water in an ethane saturator tower or ii) recycling water from the discharged stream as the dilution water.
With regard to the ethane saturator tower i), Xin teaches a process for diluting light hydrocarbons with steam (water vapor) (Abstract). Xin teaches that a humidifying (saturation) tower is known to be used to add the dilution steam to the light hydrocarbons (Abstract). Xin further teaches that the process of dilution in the humidifying (saturation) tower reduces the pressure of steam and thus the energy consumption related to mixing the steam with the light hydrocarbons (paragraphs [0007], [0010]). Xin does not specifically teach using the diluted stream for oxidative dehydrogenation, however, the motivation of Xin is clearly applicable to the claimed process of ethane oxidative dehydrogenation when dilution steam is added to the ethane, because each process takes dilution steam and adds it to light hydrocarbons as a feed, and the step of performing the dilution is not affected by the reaction which is performed after the dilution. Thus, the art of Xin is relevant and analogous to the claimed process and the process of Yan, because Xin is reasonably pertinent to the problem of diluting the ethane feed with steam of the current invention and the teachings of Yan (see MPEP 2141.01(a)(I)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to produce a saturated ethane stream in an ethane saturation tower, because each of Yan and Xin teach adding dilution steam to a light hydrocarbon to form a feed stream comprising light hydrocarbon and steam, and Xin teaches that forming the stream by saturation in a saturation tower reduces the pressure of steam and thus the energy consumption while enhancing practicality of the process compared to the traditional practice of mixing the steam with the light hydrocarbons as in Yan (paragraphs [0007], [0010]).
With regard to the recycled water ii), Zellhuber teaches a method for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to ethylene and acetic acid (Abstract). Zellhuber further teaches separating an acetic acid process water, separating the water from the acetic acid in an acetic acid recovery unit, and recycling the water to the preheating unit as the water or steam dilution stream for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor (paragraphs [0057] and [0051]). Zellhuber further teaches that acetic acid is a desirable product that can be recovered (paragraph [0057]). Yan teaches the preheating unit is a heat exchanger with the effluent (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to separate and recycle water from the effluent to the oxidative dehydrogenation process as the water in the feed passed to the preheating heat exchanger, because Yan and Zellhuber each teach oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to an effluent comprising ethylene, acetic acid, and water, and separating acetic acid and water, and Zellhuber teaches separating and recycling the water as the dilution steam for the oxidative dehydrogenation reactor as an alternative to fresh water (paragraphs [0051], [0057]).
With regard to claims 45-47, Yan in view of Zellhuber teaches heating the ethane and recycle water mixture in heat exchanger 6’ against the effluent from the dehydrogenation reactor (paragraph [0087] and Fig. 3). This is equivalent to recovering heat from the effluent by heat exchange of the recycle water and ethane mixture of instant claims 45-47.
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yan et al. (CN 112142547, cited on IDS of 10/27/2023, machine translation provided herein) in view of Xin et al. (CN 110257100, machine translation) and Zellhuber et al. (US 2019/0382324) as applied to claim 43 above, and further in view of Simanzhenkov et al. (US 2019/0135715).
With regard to claim 44, Yan in view of Zellhuber teaches the method of claim 43 above.
Yan fails to teach adding water to the oxygen before adding the oxygen to the ethane and water mixture.
Simanzhenkov teaches a process for oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane (paragraph [0001]). Simanzhenkov teaches that steam (water vapor) can be added to an individual reactant component such as oxygen, and then introduced into the ODH reactor with the other components (paragraph [0037]). Thus, Simanzhenkov contemplates that it is known to mix water with oxygen before adding the oxygen vapor to the reactor, and Yan teaches adding the oxygen stream 3 to a conduit 4 comprising the mixture of water and ethane (Fig. 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to add the recycle water of Zellhuber to the oxygen stream 3 of Yan because Yan, Zellhuber, and Simanzhenkov each teach oxidative dehydrogenation of ethane to ethylene in the presence of oxygen and water, Zellhuber teaches recycling the water as feed dilution water, and Simanzhenkov teaches that it is known to add water to the oxygen stream before adding the remaining components to the reactor (paragraph [0037]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Alyssa L Cepluch/Examiner, Art Unit 1772
/IN SUK C BULLOCK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1772