DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement submitted has been considered by the Examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 14, 16 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang USPN 2022/0376880 in view of Matsumura USPN 12389395.
Consider claim 1, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor and the memory being configured to: at least one of a first component (read as TCI state) of the at least one power control parameter associated with a first transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state or Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states, for example, the one more universal TCI states as described above, are indicated for the uplink communication beams. These uplink power control parameters are used to determine transmit power of the different uplink control channels, such as the PUCCH to provide an example, uplink data channels, such as the PUSCH to provide an example, (PUCCH, PUSCH), and/or signals, such as the SRS…one or more of the uplink power control parameters, for example, pathloss, P0, and or alpha to provide some examples, can be configured in the one or more universal TCI states…”; Examiner Note: emphasis added for the requirement of “at least one of” and “or” recitations); and apply, to one of the plurality of uplink channels, an uplink transmission power setting associated with at least one of the first component of the at least one power control parameter or
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose transmit, to a base station, an indication of a UE capability associated with at least one power control parameter.
In the related field of endeavor, Matsumura disclose transmit, to a base station, an indication of a UE capability associated with at least one power control parameter (see claim 5: “…terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs reporting of capability information, and the capability information indicates that the terminal supports the multiple TCI states for the DMRS port for the reception of the PDSCH…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to improve the TCI based uplink power control of Zhang with the TCI based UE capability signaling of Matsumura in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide a more robust wireless communication system.
Examiner Note: See detailed rejection analysis of independent claim 1 for any of the remaining independent claim rejections.
Consider claim 16, Zhang discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a base station, comprising: a memory; and at least one processor coupled to the memory, the at least one processor and the memory being configured to:
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose transmit/receive, to/from a base station, an indication of a UE capability associated with at least one power control parameter.
In the related field of endeavor, Matsumura disclose transmit, to a base station, an indication of a UE capability associated with at least one power control parameter (see claim 5: “…terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs reporting of capability information, and the capability information indicates that the terminal supports the multiple TCI states for the DMRS port for the reception of the PDSCH…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to improve the TCI based uplink power control of Zhang with the TCI based UE capability signaling of Matsumura in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide a more robust wireless communication system.
Consider claim 29, Zhang discloses a method of wireless communication at a base station, comprising:
However, Zhang does not explicitly disclose transmit, to a base station, an indication of a UE capability associated with at least one power control parameter.
In the related field of endeavor, Matsumura disclose transmit, to a base station, an indication of a UE capability associated with at least one power control parameter (see claim 5: “…terminal according to claim 1, wherein the processor performs reporting of capability information, and the capability information indicates that the terminal supports the multiple TCI states for the DMRS port for the reception of the PDSCH…).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time before the effective filing date of the claimed subject matter to improve the TCI based uplink power control of Zhang with the TCI based UE capability signaling of Matsumura in order to arrive at the instant recitation to provide a more robust wireless communication system.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-13, 15, 17-28, and 30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: See respective claim recitation.
Conclusion
Any response to this Office Action should be faxed to (571) 273-8300 or mailed to:
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
Examiner should be directed to Fayyaz Alam whose telephone number is (571) 270-1102. The Examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9:30am to 7:00pm.
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Oneal Mistry can be reached on (313) 446-4912. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is (571) 273-8300.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding should be directed to the receptionist/customer service whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
Fayyaz Alam
January 7, 2025
/FAYYAZ ALAM/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2674