DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claim 29 in the reply filed on 1/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-4 and 14-28 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 1/28/2026.
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/CN2022/117854 (09/08/2022) which claims priority to CN202111202516.0 (10/15/2021) as reflected in the filing receipt issued on 6/27/2024.
The certified copy of the foreign priority document is not in English. Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 29 is directed to a method for improving and treating leukotrichia and/or alopecia, but does not set forth any active method steps for how the process is practiced. “Using” is a broad term that encompasses many possible methods of improving or treating leukotrichia and alopecia. For this reason, it is unclear how the claimed method is to be performed, rendering the claim indefinite. Applicant is directed to MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Additionally, the term “improving” in claim 29 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “improving” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. Improving is not defined in the disclosure to provide an objective measure of how improvement is assessed, or a threshold for what is considered improving versus not improving.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claims do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because claim 29 is directed to a method of improving and treating alopecia and/or leukotrichia, but does not set forth any active method steps for how the process is practiced. The claim recites “using glucoraphanin and myrosinase”, however, this is a use with no active, positive steps delimiting how the use is actually practiced, and is not a proper process claim. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Deleyrolle et al., US 2018/0133194 A1.
Regarding claim 29, Deleyrolle teaches administering compounds for treatment of inflammatory diseases by administering to a subject a composition comprising one or more compounds including glucoraphanin (GRP) (p. 1 para. 3; pp. 9-10 claims 1-2). Deleyrolle teaches that inflammatory diseases treated with the compositions include autoimmune diseases including alopecia (p. 4 para. 38; p. 10 claims 4-5). Deleyrolle teaches that hydrolysis of GRP requires the activity of myrosinase enzymes (p. 3 para. 20). Deleyrolle teaches administering GRP to a subject being treated, and that GRP is subsequently metabolized by myrosinase (p. 3 para. 29). Therefore, Deleyrolle teaches a method for improving and treating alopecia using glucoraphanin and myrosinase.
Conclusion
Claim 29 is rejected. No claims are allowed.
/EMILY F EIX/Examiner, Art Unit 1653
/SHARMILA G LANDAU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1653