Response to Amendment and Arguments
The amendment filed 02/10/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-2, 4-5, 7-23 and 25-26 are currently pending in this application.
Applicant’s arguments, see Pages 11-18, filed 02/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 4-5 and 7-22 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1, 4-5 and 7-22 have been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 2 and 23 and new claims 25-26 have been considered but are moot. Regarding limitations of the instant case in view of the amended Claims and upon further considerations, a new ground(s) of rejection, necessitated by the amendments is made in view of different interpretation of the previously applied references and/or new prior art as presented in this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsai (US 2016/0011398).
Regarding claim 2, Tsai teaches an optical system (Fig. 2A-2B, [0110-0120, 0039, 0063], Tables 3-4) comprising, in order from an object side (the side corresponding to the object-side surface 211 in Fig. 2A), a first lens group (the lens group corresponding to 210 in Fig. 2A), a stop (200 in Fig. 2A), and a rear group (the lens group corresponding to 220, 230, 240 and 250 in Fig. 2A),
the optical system (Fig. 2A) having an air gap(Fig. 2A) between a lens (210 in Fig. 2A) disposed closest to an image-plane side (the side corresponding to 280 in Fig. 2A) of one (Fig. 2A) or more lenses included in the first lens group (the lens group corresponding to 210 in Fig. 2A) and the stop (200 in Fig. 2A),
a lens (210 in Fig. 2A) closest to the object side (the side corresponding to the object-side surface 211 in Fig. 2A) has positive refractive power (Fig. 2A, [0112]),
a lens (250 in Fig. 2A) closest to the image-plane side (the side corresponding to 280 in Fig. 2A) has positive refractive power ([0116]), and
the following conditional expression being satisfied:
1.35<TL/y<1.85 ([0120, 0039, 0063], TL/ImgH=1.82 shown in the table below [0120])
where
TL is a distance from a lens surface closest to the object side to an image plane at focusing on an object at infinity ([0039, 0063]), and
y is a maximum image height ([0039, 0063], ImgH is the maximum image height).
Regarding claim 26, Tsai teaches an optical system (Fig. 2A-2B, [0110-0120, 0039, 0063], Tables 3-4) comprising, in order from an object side (the side corresponding to the object-side surface 211 in Fig. 2A), a first lens group (the lens group corresponding to 210 in Fig. 2A) composed of a single positive lens (210 in Fig. 2A, [0112]) and a rear group (the lens group corresponding to 220, 230, 240 and 250 in Fig. 2A),
wherein the rear group (the lens group corresponding to 220, 230, 240 and 250 in Fig. 2A) comprises, in order from the object side (the side corresponding to the object-side surface 211 in Fig. 2A), a second lens group (the lens group corresponding to 220 and 230 in Fig. 2A), a third lens group having negative refractive power (the lens group corresponding to 240 in Fig. 2A, [0115]), and a fourth lens group (the lens group corresponding to 250 in Fig. 2A),
the second lens group (the lens group corresponding to 220 and 230 in Fig. 2A) comprises at least one positive lens (230 in Fig. 2A, [0114]) and at least one negative lens (220 in Fig. 2A, [0113]),
the third lens group (the lens group corresponding to 240 in Fig. 2A, [0115]) consists of one or two negative meniscus lenses concave on the object side (Fig. 2A),
the fourth lens group (the lens group corresponding to 250 in Fig. 2A) consists of, in order from the object side, a single positive lens and a single negative lens, or a single positive lens (250 in Fig. 2A, [0116]), and
all of the following conditional expressions being satisfied:
1.35<TL/y<1.85 ([0120, 0039, 0063], TL/ImgH=1.82 shown in the table below [0120])
0.45<f4/f<1.70 (in Table 3, f4 being the focal length of the Len 5/250 is 4.10, in the Table below [0120], f=3.17, therefore, f4/f=4.1/3.17=1.29)
where TL is a distance from a lens surface closest to the object side to an image plane at focusing on an object at infinity ([0039, 0063]),
y is a maximum image height ([0039, 0063], ImgH is the maximum image height),
f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens group (the lens group corresponding to 250 in Fig. 2A, in Table 3, the focal length of Len 5/250 is 4.10), and
f is a focal length of the entire optical system (in the Table below [0120], f=3.17).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matsusaka (US 2013/0335588) in view of Take (US 2009/0257125).
Regarding claim 23, Matsusaka teaches a method (Fig. 12, Example 8, [0031, 0121-0123, 0151-0153]) for manufacturing an optical system (Fig. 12, Example 8, [0031, 0121-0123, 0151-0153]) comprising, in order from an object side (the object side in Fig. 12), a first lens group (the group corresponding to L1 in Fig. 12), a stop (ST in Fig. 12, [0121, 0131]), and a rear group (the group corresponding to L2, L3 and L4 in Fig. 12),
the method further comprising one of features A, B, or C (Fig. 12, Example 8, [0031, 0121-0123, 0151-0153]),
wherein
the feature A comprises arranging such that:
the rear group comprises, in order from the object side, a second lens group, a third lens group having negative refractive power, and a fourth lens group,
the third lens group comprises a negative meniscus lens concave on the object side that is closest to the object side in the third lens group,
the fourth lens group consists of two positive lenses, a single positive lens and a single negative lens, or a single positive lens, and
all of the following conditional expressions are satisfied:
0.35<Bf/y<0.70
1.35<TL/y<1.85
0.45<f4/f<1.70
where
Bf is a back focus in air-equivalent length,
y is a maximum image height, and
TL is a distance from a lens surface closest to the object side to an image plane at focusing on an object at infinity,
f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens group, and
f is a focal length of the entire optical system,
the feature B comprises arranging such that:
the optical system has an air gap between a lens disposed closest to an image-plane side of one or more lenses included in the first lens group and the stop,
a lens closest to the object side has positive refractive power,
a lens closest to the image-plane side has positive refractive power, and
the following conditional expression is satisfied:
1.35<TL/y<1.85
where
TL is a distance from a lens surface closest to the object side to an image plane at focusing on an object at infinity, and
y is a maximum image height, and
the feature C (Fig. 12, Example 8, [0031, 0121-0123, 0151-0153]) comprises arranging such that:
all of the following conditional expressions being satisfied:
0.44<Bf/y<0.70 ([0152], Bf=1.357 mm, y=2.434 mm, TL=4.133 mm; therefore, TL/y=1.7, Bf/y=0.56)
1.35<TL/y<1.85 ([0152], Bf=1.357 mm, y=2.434 mm, TL=4.133 mm; therefore, TL/y=1.7, Bf/y=0.56)
where
Bf is a back focus in air-equivalent length ([0152]),
y is a maximum image height ([0152]), and
TL is a distance from a lens surface closest to the object side to an image plane at focusing on an object at infinity ([0152]).
Matsusaka does not teach that the method comprising arranging so that the rear group comprises at least one cemented lens.
Take teaches that (Fig. 3, [0159, 0047-0049]) a method (Fig. 3, [0159, 0047-0049]) comprising arranging so that a rear group (the group corresponding to L3, L4 and L5 in Fig. 3, [0159]) comprises at least one cemented lens ([0159]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Take for the system of Matsusaka such that in the system of Matsusaka, the method comprising arranging so that the rear group comprises at least one cemented lens. The motivation is to provide variant forms of lens design to make the image lens compact, minimize performance change during a lens shift, and has high optical performance on an entire screen (Take, [0159, 0048]).
Regarding claim 25, Matsusaka teaches an optical system (Fig. 12, Example 8, [0031, 0121-0123, 0151-0153]) comprising, in order from an object side (the object side in Fig. 12), a first lens group (the group corresponding to L1 in Fig. 12), a stop (ST in Fig. 12, [0121, 0131]), and a rear group (the group corresponding to L2, L3 and L4 in Fig. 12), and
all of the following conditional expressions being satisfied:
0.44<Bf/y<0.70 ([0152], Bf=1.357 mm, y=2.434 mm, TL=4.133 mm; therefore, TL/y=1.7, Bf/y=0.56)
1.35<TL/y<1.85 ([0152], Bf=1.357 mm, y=2.434 mm, TL=4.133 mm; therefore, TL/y=1.7, Bf/y=0.56)
where
Bf is a back focus in air-equivalent length ([0152]),
y is a maximum image height ([0152]), and
TL is a distance from a lens surface closest to the object side to an image plane at focusing on an object at infinity ([0152]).
Matsusaka does not teach that the rear group comprising at least one cemented lens.
Take teaches that (Fig. 3, [0159, 0047-0049]) a rear group (the group corresponding to L3, L4 and L5 in Fig. 3, [0159]) comprising at least one cemented lens ([0159]).
Before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to the artisan of ordinary skill to employ the above elements as taught by Take for the system of Matsusaka such that in the system of Matsusaka, the rear group comprising at least one cemented lens. The motivation is to provide variant forms of lens design to make the image lens compact, minimize performance change during a lens shift, and has high optical performance on an entire screen (Take, [0159, 0048]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1, 4-5 and 7-22 are allowed.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 1, 4-5 and 7-22, none of the prior art discloses or suggests that an optical system comprising, in order from an object side, a first lens group, a stop, and a rear group, the rear group comprising at least one cemented lens, wherein the rear group comprises, in order from the object side, a second lens group, a third lens group having negative refractive power, and a fourth lens group, the third lens group comprises a negative meniscus lens concave on the object side that is closest to the object side in the third lens group, the fourth lens group consists of two positive lenses, a single positive lens and a single negative lens, or a single positive lens, and wherein “all of the following conditional expressions being satisfied: 0.35<Bf/y<0.70, 1.35<TL/y<1.85, 0.45<f4/f<1.70, where Bf is a back focus in air-equivalent length, y is a maximum image height, TL is a distance from a lens surface closest to the object side to an image plane at focusing on an object at infinity, f4 is a focal length of the fourth lens group, and f is a focal length of the entire optical system” in combination with the other required elements of the claim.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SHAN LIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2871