DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (Claims 1-8) in the reply filed on 6/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sookraj (US 20180155490, US Patent Application #1 from IDS dated 12/3/2024).
Regarding Claims 1, 2, 4, and 8,
Sookraj teaches a polymer composed of β-propiolactone monomers and a polyol (Abstract). Sookraj also teaches that the polyol can be glycerol or a sugar alcohol such as sorbitol, xylitol (Paragraph 45), which would result in a structure where R is a sugar or glycerol, A is a direct bond, and where k is 3 or more, meeting the requirements of the instant claims. Sookraj also teaches that the polymer has a number average molecular weight of 500 to 250,000 g/mol (Paragraph 45) but most preferably less than 50,000 (Paragraph 46), which would include values of n of the range of the instant claim. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that polymer properties such as strength and toughness would be affected by the molecular weight of the polymer and would select a molecular weight that afforded the desired characteristics. As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portion of the ranges because the selection of the overlapping portions of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2144.05.I.
Regarding Claim 3,
Sookraj teaches that polymer can be prepared by condensation polymerization of the corresponding lactone (Paragraph 45).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6,
Sookraj teaches that the polymer should have a number average molecular weight of 500 to 250,000 g/mol (Paragraph 45), but it is more preferred to be 20,000 or less (Paragraph 46), overlapping with the range requirement of claim 6. Further, while Sookraj is silent on the weight average and absolute molecular weight of the polymer, with a molecular weight value of less than 20,000 g/mol, a wide range of polydispersity values would give weight average molecular weight and absolute molecular weight within the range of the instant claims. One of ordinary skill in the art would select a molecular weight that afforded the desired material properties such as strength and toughness. It would therefore have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have selected the overlapping portions of the ranges because the selection of the overlapping portion of ranges has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sookraj (US 20180155490) as applied to claims 1-6 and 8 above, and as further evidenced by Odian (Principles of Polymerization Chapter 2).
Regarding Claim 7,
Sookraj is silent on the polydispersity of the polymer. However, the instant claim cites a very broad range of polydispersity values and the ordinarily skilled artisan would recognize that a step polymerization would trend towards a polydispersity value of 2 as evidenced by Odian (Page 82, Section 2-7b). As such, it would have been obvious prior to the effective filing date of the instant application to have a polymer with a polydispersity value within the range of the instant claim.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-8 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3 and 5-8 of copending Application No. 18/385,794 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because in both cases, the claims are directed towards a poly(3-hydroxypropionic acid)polymer that is reacted with a polyol to form a branched copolymer. The branched polymer uses a polyol which can be a sugar alcohol such as xylitol, sorbitol, and cyclodextrin as well as others such as cholic acid and tetrahydroxyperylene. Both applications require the same molecular weight ranges and polydispersity indices and number of repeat units. As such, the reference application limitations include those of the instant application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sodergard (US 20080221265) teaches a hyperbranched polymer that can be synthesized using polyols such as sugar alcohols and monomers including β-propiolactone.
/A.J.B./Examiner, Art Unit 1765
/JOHN M COONEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765