DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgments are made that this application claims the priority to the following:
.
Information Disclosure Statement
Filed information disclosure statements (IDS) comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97, 1.98 and MPEP § 609. Accordingly, they have been placed in the application file and the information therein has been considered as to the merits.
Response to Restriction
Applicant's response to restriction requirement and election of group I corresponding to claims 1-7 and 14-21, without traverse, in the reply filed on 05/11/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 8 and 10-13 are withdrawn from consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
The claims 1-7 and 14-21 are examined on merits in this office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 14-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mezo (US2016/0368960A1) in view of Avanti [Innovative Strategies for Stabilization of Therapeutic Peptides in Aqueous Formulations, 1 Jan 2012; see applicants filed IDS dated 05/11/2016].
For claims 1-3:
Mezo teaches the following compound and its pharmaceutical composition:
[see page 11, Example 2 and SEQ ID NO:6; see paragraphs 0067-0068, 0149-0150, and claims 12-13].
The above chemical formula is identical to applicants chemical formula of OXM3.
Mezo teaches 10 mM Tris (aka tromethamine) and 3 mg/mL m-cresol in testing the solubility of 10 mg/mL peptide [0212-0217 and Table 2(b)], which is interpreted as compositions.
Mezo further teaches that water as a suitable carrier and mannitol or sorbitol as suitable excipients for their pharmaceutical composition [see 0150].
In the above, 05-5 mg/mL TRIS equals to ~4 mM to 41 mM of TRIS, wherein mol wt of TRIS is 121.14. So, 10 mM of TRIS from Mezo falls within the claimed range. Also, water is interpreted as applicants solvent, and mannitol is interpreted as applicants stabilizer.
Difference is that Mezo silent on (i) chelating agent and (ii) specific concentration ranges of stabilizer and chelating agent.
With regard to (i) of above, chelating agents, such as EDTA or its sodium salt, are well known in the art in protein formulations. For example, Avanti teaches strategies to improve peptide stability in aqueous formulations and mentioned that chelating agents, viz., EDTA, citric acid, and tartaric acid etc., one of the component since it lowers the risk of free radical oxidation [see page 26 in section 3]. Therefore, one would be motivated to incorporate EDTA or its salt form to avoid free radical oxidation.
With regard to (ii) of above, generally, concentrations of components for a given process is considered as result effective variables, and the differences in their amounts will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such differences in result-effective variables are critical. "Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Accordingly, this type of modification would have been well within the purview of the skilled artisan and no more than an effort to optimize results. As formulating optimal compositions for medicaments is routine in the art of pharmacology, the claims are considered to be prima facie obvious.
For claim 4:
Mezo further teaches tween-20 in solubility testing of their peptides [see 0215], which is interpreted as formulation comprising surfactant, viz., tween-20.
For claim 5:
Mezo teaches 10 mg/mL of peptide [0217].
For claim 6:
Mezo teaches pH 7.4 and 8 [see Table 2(b)].
For claims 7 and 14:
As explained under For claims 1-3 above, Mezo teaches applicants OXM3, Tris, mannitol, water as a solvent etc., but silent on EDTA and propylene glycol in their compositions. However, Avanti cures this deficiency. Avanti in “strategies to improve peptide stability in aqueous formulations” teaches EDTA as a chelating agent and its advantages [see section 3.2.4] and co-solvents such as low molecular weight PEG were shown reduce the aggregation of several peptides, and further teaches propylene glycol as one of the polyol for stabilizing peptides [see section 3.1.3]. Therefore, one would be motivated to incorporate EDTA or its salt form and propylene glycol or its equivalents as a co-solvent in the formulation to avoid aggregation and stabilize peptide.
With regard to concentrations and pH see the provided reasoning for concentrations in For claims 1-3 and for pH in For claim 6.
For claim 15-16:
Mezo teaches 10 mg/mL of peptide [0217], which falls within the claimed ranges.
For claims 17-18:
As explained under For claims 1-3 above, Mezo teaches applicants OXM3, Tris, mannitol, water as a solvent etc., but silent on EDTA and propylene glycol in their compositions. However, Avanti cures this deficiency. Avanti in “strategies to improve peptide stability in aqueous formulations” teaches EDTA as a chelating agent and its advantages [see section 3.2.4] and co-solvents such as low molecular weight PEG were shown reduce the aggregation of several peptides, and further teaches propylene glycol as one of the polyol for stabilizing peptides [see section 3.1.3]. Therefore, one would be motivated to incorporate EDTA or its salt form and propylene glycol or its equivalents as a co-solvent in the formulation to avoid aggregation and stabilize peptide.
With regard to concentrations see the provided reasoning in For claims 1-3.
For claim 19:
See For claim 4 above.
For claim 20:
Mezo teaches pH 7.4 and 8 [see Table 2(b)].
For claim 21:
See For claims 7 and 14 above.
Based on the above established facts from the cited prior art, it appears that all the claimed elements, i.e, applicants individual components in the composition and their advantages in peptide formulations, were known in the prior art, and one skilled person in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known relationships, with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art.
The motivation to combine the teachings of art can arise from the expectation that the prior art elements will perform their expected functions to achieve their expected results when combined for their common known purpose. See MPEP 2144.07. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention by taking the advantage of the teaching of the above cited reference and to make the instantly claimed method with a reasonable expectation of success.
The strongest rationale for combining references is a recognition, expressly or impliedly in the prior art or drawn from a convincing line of reasoning based on established scientific principles or legal precedent, that some advantage or expected beneficial result would have been produced by their combination. In re Sernaker, 702 F.2d 989, 994-95, 217 USPQ 1, 5-6 (Fed. Cir. 1983).
Conclusion
/SUDHAKAR KATAKAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1658