Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1 (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 7/30/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-10 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-6 are examined on the merits below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hirose et al. (US 2020/0028152 A1) in view of Park et al. (US 2023/0178718 A1).
As to claim 1. Hirose et al. discloses a negative electrode slurry for a lithium-ion secondary battery (abstract), comprising: a negative electrode active material comprising a lithium-doped silicon oxide [(0158]); a solvent comprising water [0160]; a binder ([0160] SBR); and carbon nanotubes (CNT), and wherein the negative electrode slurry has a pH of 10 or more [0160].
While Hirose et al. discloses the carbon nanotubes, it is not stated that these are of the single wall type.
Park et al. discloses an anode for a secondary battery and teaches the use of single-walled carbon nanotubes [0158] in the anode active material slurry [0158]. Or that the carbon nanotubes are for a gas adsorbent.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to replace the carbon nanotubes with the single walled carbon nanotube because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. (see MPEP § 2143, B.). In this case, a carbon nanotube is replaced for a single carbon nanotube in an anode slurry.
When the reference discloses all the limitations of a claim except a property or function, and the examiner cannot determine whether or not the reference inherently possesses properties which anticipate or render obvious the claimed invention but has basis for shifting the burden of proof to applicant as in In re Fitzgerald, 619 F.2d 67, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980). See MPEP § 2112- 2112.02. In this case the carbon nanotubes can also have the property of the gas absorbent.
As to claim 2. Modified Hirose et al. discloses the slurry according to claim 1, wherein an amount of the single-walled carbon nanotubes ranges from 0.1 wt. % to 2.0 wt. % based on a total weight of a solid content in the slurry. (Hirose discloses the CNT with 1 wt. % and Park discloses 0.5 wt. % - [0158])
As to claim 3. Modified Hirose et al. discloses slurry according to claim 1, wherein the negative electrode active material further comprises a graphite-containing material ([0159]- artificial or natural graphite).
As to claim 4. Hirose et al. discloses the slurry according to claim 3, wherein a weight ratio of the graphite-containing material to the lithium-doped silicon oxide ranges from 98:2 to 50:50. (20 percent silicon based active material -silicon oxide to 80 percent of the carbon-based material-graphite - [0159])
As to claim 5. Modified Hirose discloses the slurry according to claim 3, wherein an amount of the single-walled carbon nanotubes ranges from 0.01 wt. % to 0.5 wt. % based on a total weight of a solid content in the slurry (Park et al. discloses the addition of the single walled carbon nanotube of 0.5 wt. % [0158]).
As to claim 6. Hirose et al. discloses the slurry according to claim 1, which further comprises thickener, CMC [0160].
Conclusion
/Maria Laios/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1727