2. The Office Action is in response to amendment filed on 01/20/2026.
Response to Amendment
3. The amendment filed on 01/20/2026, Claims 1-4, 8, 11, 12, 14, 15, 21, 22, 24, 26, 27, 29, and 30 have been amended; therefore, 1-30 are pending.
4. Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/20/2026, pages 10-16 have been fully considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §112(b)
Applicant has amended claim 21 properly. Therefore, the 112(b) rejection on claim 21 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC §103
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim under 35 U.S.C. § 103 has been fully considered.
Applicant argued that the prior arts (Malik et al. (US 20150303741) and in view of ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495)) does not disclose the amended limitations in independent claims 1 and 26, as: “transmit an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE, wherein the EH capability comprises a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy”, since:
“the Office Action fails to show discloses or suggests "an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE, wherein the EH capability comprises a capability related to support for full- duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy" (emphasis added), as recited in the amended claims 1 and 26. Similarly, the paragraphs of Ickin describing "Action 310" of figure 3C discloses that "the network node 110 receives a request for wireless charging from a wireless device 130 or UAV 131" which implicitly indicates a capability to harvest energy, but fail to disclose or suggest "an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE, wherein the EH capability comprises a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy" (emphasis added), as recited in the amended claims 1 and 26”;
“The Office Action fails to show that the additional citations to FIGs. 4 and 5 of Malik
relating to "full-duplex operation" in the rejection of claims 2-4 address full-duplex operation and certainly fails show that the citations disclose or suggest "an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE, wherein the EH capability comprises a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy"”
Examiner’s Response:
After update search, . Examiner believes that the combination of Malik et al. (US 20150303741), ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495) and CHEN et al. ( WO 2016071686) teach the aforementioned limitations in independent claims 1, 26. Follows are reason:
Malik discloses of full-duplex, for example, it discloses in many places that the system supports OFDM (for example, Abstract, … an orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) signal transmission). OFDM usually used in a full-duplex system.
the combination of Malik, ICKIN and CHEN discloses that “transmit an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE, wherein the EH capability comprises a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy”. Malik, for example, discloses that transmit an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE in fig. 5, step 510 and paragraph 0046, as: “an indicator from a wireless device indicating whether or not the wireless device has a compatible energy signal receiver to harvest energy from an energy signal”; CHEN discloses that “the capability comprises a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy” in Fig. 1, fig. 2 and fig. 8. In fig. 1, it shows a full-duplex system and in fig. 2/fig. 8, it shows that it supports both full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy; also suggested in page 6, as: “Figure 8 illustrates apparatus for harvesting energy from a self-signal (SS) and a co- operative signal (CS) at a device in a Full Duplexing mobile communication network”.
Therefore, the combination of Malik, ICKIN and CHEN discloses that “transmit an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE, wherein the EH capability comprises a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy” in independent claims 1 and 26.
Applicant argued that the prior arts (Malik et al. (US 20150303741) and in view of ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495)) does not disclose the amended limitations in independent claims 14and 29, as: “transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device, wherein the ET capability of the ET device comprises an ET
capability to support a set of waveforms for ET”, since:
“the Office Action cites to step 810 of FIG. 8 and paragraph [0069] of Malik and step 301-307 of FIG. 3A of Ickin. See Office Action, pages 5 and 6. However, while the cited portions of Malik and Ickin disclose a signaling indicating that a device is capable of energy transfer, the Office Action has failed to show that the cited portions disclose or suggest "[transmitting] an indication of an ET capability of the ET device, wherein the ET capability of the ET device comprises an ET capability to support a set of waveforms for ET" (emphasis added), as recited in the amended claims 14 and 29”;
Examiner’s Response:
After reviewing the prior arts and current claim limitations, Examiner believes that the combination of Malik et al. (US 20150303741), ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495) teach the aforementioned limitations in independent claims 14, 29. Follows are reason:
The combination of Malik, ICKIN discloses that “transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device, wherein the ET capability of the ET device comprises an capability to support a set of waveforms for ET”. Malik, for example, discloses that transmit an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE in fig. 5, step 510 and paragraph 0046, as: “an indicator from a wireless device indicating whether or not the wireless device has a compatible energy signal receiver to harvest energy from an energy signal”; the ET support a set of waveforms, show in fig. 2, in paragraph 0029, as: “in the example of FIG. 2, the energy signal 215 occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234… the energy transmitting device may transmit more energy by using a larger energy signal (not shown) occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234”; which means the ET supports different waveforms (occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234 and occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234); also in paragraph 0026, as: “the typical communication signals between energy transmitting device 101 and wireless device 110 may be OFDM waveforms having a predetermined range of frequencies established for the wireless communication channel between energy transmitting device 101 and wireless device 110”, since it uses OFDM waveforms having a predetermined range of frequencies, therefore, it supports different waveforms.
Therefore, the combination of Malik, ICKIN discloses that “transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device, wherein the ET capability of the ET device comprises an capability to support a set of waveforms for ET” in independent claims 14 and 29.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in Application No. 18288948 filed on 10/30/2023.
Priority # Filling Data Country
20210100431 2021-06-28 GR
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-5, 13, 26, are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik et al. (US 20150303741) and in view of ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495) and further in view of CHEN et al. (WO 2016071686).
Regarding claim 1, Malik teaches an apparatus (fig. 1, fig. 11) for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1, 110), comprising: a memory (fig. 11, 1106);
and at least one processor coupled to the memory (fig. 11, 1102) and configured to:
transmit an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE (fig. 5, step 510, … an indicator from a wireless device indicating whether or not the wireless device has a compatible energy signal receiver to harvest energy from an energy signal);
support full duplex (Abstract, … an orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) signal transmission). OFDM usually used in a full-duplex system);
and receive, based on the transmitted indication (fig. 5, step 510; paragraph 0046, … the energy transmitting device may receive an indicator from a wireless device indicating whether or not the wireless device has a compatible energy signal receiver to harvest energy from an energy signal), transmitted RF energy from at least one RF energy transfer (ET) node (fig. 5, step 550).
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of user equipment initial the transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE .
ICKIN discloses of user equipment initial the transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE (fig. 3C, step 310; in which, the UE initial the transmission of indication; page 11, … the network node 110 receives a request for wireless charging from a wireless device 130 or UAV 131).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that user equipment initial the transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE as a modification to the apparatus for the benefit of that UE has control of the procedure of energy harvest (page 11).
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy.
CHEN discloses of a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy (Fig. 1, fig. 2 and fig. 8. In fig. 1, it shows a full-duplex system and in fig. 2/fig. 8, it shows that it supports both full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy; also suggested in page 6, as: “Figure 8 illustrates apparatus for harvesting energy from a self-signal (SS) and a co- operative signal (CS) at a device in a Full Duplexing mobile communication network”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy as a modification to the apparatus for the benefit of that UE receives/transmits data as while as energy harvest (page 11).
Regarding claim 26, Malik teaches a method of wireless communication (fig. 1, fig. 11) at a user equipment (UE) (fig. 1, 110), comprising: transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE (fig. 5, step 510, … an indicator from a wireless device indicating whether or not the wireless device has a compatible energy signal receiver to harvest energy from an energy signal);
support full duplex (Abstract, … an orthogonal frequency division multiplexed (OFDM) signal transmission). OFDM usually used in a full-duplex system);
and receiving, based on the transmitted indication (fig. 5, step 510; paragraph 0046, … the energy transmitting device may receive an indicator from a wireless device indicating whether or not the wireless device has a compatible energy signal receiver to harvest energy from an energy signal), transmitted (RF) energy from at least one RF energy transfer (ET) node (fig. 5, step 550).
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of user equipment initial the transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE .
ICKIN discloses of user equipment initial the transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE (fig. 3C, step 310; in which, the UE initial the transmission of indication; page 11, … the network node 110 receives a request for wireless charging from a wireless device 130 or UAV 131).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that user equipment initial the transmitting an indication of an energy harvesting (EH) capability of the UE as a modification to the method for the benefit of that UE has control of the procedure of energy harvest (page 11).
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy.
CHEN discloses of a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy (Fig. 1, fig. 2 and fig. 8. In fig. 1, it shows a full-duplex system and in fig. 2/fig. 8, it shows that it supports both full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy; also suggested in page 6, as: “Figure 8 illustrates apparatus for harvesting energy from a self-signal (SS) and a co- operative signal (CS) at a device in a Full Duplexing mobile communication network”).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that a capability related to support for full-duplex (FD) operation and for harvesting of radio frequency (RF) energy as a modification to the system for the benefit of that UE receives/transmits data as while as energy harvest (page 11).
Regarding claim 2, the combination Malik, ICKIN and CHEN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, CHEN further discloses that the FD operation comprises simultaneous transmission and reception of data (fig. 1).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Malik, ICKIN and CHEN teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that the EH capability is for same bandwidth part (BWP) or a same carrier as for the FD operation (paragraph 0030, …. the transmitted energy signal 215 may be a digitally spread signal transmitted at the center frequency of the channel of operation of the OFDM communication device; note: the EH receives the energy signal with the same bandwidth).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Malik, ICKIN and CHEN teaches the limitations recited in claim 2 as discussed above. In addition, CHEN further discloses that the EH capability indicates that the UE supports one of: transmitting the data and the harvesting of the RF energy simultaneously, (FD) communication at a different time than the harvesting of the RF, or the FD communication and the harvesting of the RF energy simultaneously (as shown in fig. 2, harvest the RF energy and FD communication simultaneously).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Malik, ICKIN and CHEN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that the EH capability of the UE indicates one or more of: a set of time-and-frequency resources which are available for EH; one or more carriers that the UE supports for EH; a number of carriers that the UE simultaneously supports for EH; and one or more waveforms supported by the UE for EH (paragraph 0030, …. the transmitted energy signal 215 may be a digitally spread signal transmitted at the center frequency of the channel of operation of the OFDM communication device. As a point of reference, an IEEE 802.11n/ac OFDM based WLAN system may define a suppress frequency sub-range of approximately 937.5 MHz at the center of the frequency range associated with each communication channel; the UE’s capacity to receive the transmitted energy signal is indicated in step 510/520, in fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Malik, ICKIN and CHEN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above. In addition, ICKIN further discloses that apply an EH configuration based on one or more of: a traffic type, a semi-persistent scheduling configuration, a traffic density for the UE, or an error rate of communication at the UE (fig. 3c, step 310-311; page 8, … The action 310 may also take place when low traffic load within the communications. For example, the low traffic load may occur at night, afternoon and the like).
The motivation of combination is the same as in claim 1’s rejection.
9. Claims 14-17, 19-20, 22-25, 29-30 are rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik et al. (US 20150303741) and in view of ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495)
Regarding claim 14, Malik teaches an apparatus (fig. 1, fig. 11) for wireless communication at an energy transfer (ET) device (fig. 1, 101), comprising:
a memory (fig. 11, 1106);
and at least one processor coupled to the memory (fig. 11, 1102) and configured to:
transmit an indication of an ET exist of the ET device (fig. 8, step 810; paragraph 0069); wherein the ET capability of the ET device comprises an ET capability to support a set of waveforms for ET (fig. 2, and in paragraph 0029, as: “in the example of FIG. 2, the energy signal 215 occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234… the energy transmitting device may transmit more energy by using a larger energy signal (not shown) occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234”; which means the ET supports different waveforms (one waveform occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234 and other waveforms occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234); also in paragraph 0026, as: “the typical communication signals between energy transmitting device 101 and wireless device 110 may be OFDM waveforms having a predetermined range of frequencies established for the wireless communication channel between energy transmitting device 101 and wireless device 110”, since it uses OFDM waveforms having a predetermined range of frequencies, therefore, it supports different waveforms);
receive a request to transmit RF energy to an energy harvesting (EH) capable UE (fig. 8, 820; paragraph 0070, …the energy transmitting device may send an overhead or broadcast message and collect responses from at least a subset of the wireless devices indicating whether or not the subset of wireless devices support wireless energy transfer.);
and transmit, based on the received request, RF energy to the EH-capable UE (fig. 8, step 890).
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device.
ICKIN discloses transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device (fig. 3a, step 301-307; in which, the ET transmit signal to indicate an ET capability of the ET device by producing first amount of energy and doing some adjustment).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device as a modification to the apparatus for the benefit of that ET can perform energy transmitting with higher efficiency (page 10).
Regarding claim 29, Malik teaches a method (fig. 1, fig. 11) of wireless communication at an energy transfer (ET) device (fig. 1, 101), comprising:
transmit an indication of an ET exist of the ET device (fig. 8, step 810; paragraph 0069);
transmit an indication of an ET exist of the ET device (fig. 8, step 810; paragraph 0069); wherein the ET capability of the ET device comprises an ET capability to support a set of waveforms for ET (fig. 2, and in paragraph 0029, as: “in the example of FIG. 2, the energy signal 215 occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234… the energy transmitting device may transmit more energy by using a larger energy signal (not shown) occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234”; which means the ET supports different waveforms (one waveform occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234 and other waveforms occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234); also in paragraph 0026, as: “the typical communication signals between energy transmitting device 101 and wireless device 110 may be OFDM waveforms having a predetermined range of frequencies established for the wireless communication channel between energy transmitting device 101 and wireless device 110”, since it uses OFDM waveforms having a predetermined range of frequencies, therefore, it supports different waveforms);
receive a request to transmit RF energy to an energy harvesting (EH) capable UE (fig. 8, 820; paragraph 0070, …the energy transmitting device may send an overhead or broadcast message and collect responses from at least a subset of the wireless devices indicating whether or not the subset of wireless devices support wireless energy transfer.);
and transmit, based on the received request, RF energy to the EH-capable UE (fig. 8, step 890).
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device.
ICKIN discloses transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device (fig. 3a, step 301-307; in which, the ET transmit signal to indicate an ET capability of the ET device by producing first amount of energy and doing some adjustment).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that transmit an indication of an ET capability of the ET device as a modification to the method for the benefit of that ET can perform energy transmitting with higher efficiency (page 10).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 14 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that wherein the ET capability indicates one or more of: a capability to switch between waveforms in the set of waveforms for ET supported by the ET device; and a switch time to switch between the waveforms in the set of waveforms for ET supported by the ET device (fig. 2, and in paragraph 0029, as: “in the example of FIG. 2, the energy signal 215 occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234… the energy transmitting device may transmit more energy by using a larger energy signal (not shown) occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234”; which means the ET supports different waveforms (one waveform occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234 and other waveforms occupying a larger portion of the frequency sub-range 234 and it can switch from one waveform (from 236 to a larger portion of 234).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 14 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that the ET capability indicates a set of one or more carriers or bandwidth parts (BWPs) for which ET is supported (paragraph 0030, …. the transmitted energy signal 215 may be a digitally spread signal transmitted at the center frequency of the channel of operation of the OFDM communication device).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 16 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that wherein the ET capability indicates a number of carriers or a number of BWPs simultaneously supported for ET (paragraph 0029, …the energy signal 215 occupies a portion 236 of the frequency sub-range 234. In one embodiment, the energy signal may more efficiently deliver energy by limiting the bandwidth-spread of the energy to a narrow frequency sub-range (such as portion 236). In other words, a wireless device may recover energy from a narrow-band energy signal more efficiently than a wide-band energy signal).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 16 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that indicate a set of frequencies supported for data transmission (as shown in fig. 2, 202A/202B are the set of frequencies supported for data transmission; paragraph 0026, … the energy signal may occupy an unused portion of a frequency range associated with communication signals… refrain from transmitting communication signals via unused or reserved frequencies within the predetermined range of frequencies).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 14 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that transmit an indication of a current ability of the ET device to serve as an ET node based on a power level of the ET device (fig. 8; paragraph 0074, … provide initial energy for new energy receiving capable device that may roam into vicinity of the energy transmitting device, while still being at a low energy level).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 14 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that the received request indicates at least one of: an additional a set of waveforms supported by the EH-capable UE, a requested charging rate, a requested charging duration, or a set of resources available for receiving the RF energy at the EH-capable UE (paragraph 0030, …. the transmitted energy signal 215 may be a digitally spread signal transmitted at the center frequency of the channel of operation of the OFDM communication device. As a point of reference, an IEEE 802.11n/ac OFDM based WLAN system may define a suppress frequency sub-range of approximately 937.5 MHz at the center of the frequency range associated with each communication channel; which is an additional set of waveforms supported by the EH-capable).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 14 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that the request is received from a base station and indicates the EH-capable UE (fig. 8, step 820; the device is a base station, as in paragraph 0095, … the electronic device 1100 may be an energy transmitting device such as an access point, home base station…)
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 14 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that receive a set of ET resource configurations; and receive an additional indication of at least one particular ET resource configuration (paragraph 0030, …. the transmitted energy signal 215 may be a digitally spread signal transmitted at the center frequency of the channel of operation of the OFDM communication device. As a point of reference, an IEEE 802.11n/ac OFDM based WLAN system may define a suppress frequency sub-range of approximately 937.5 MHz at the center of the frequency range associated with each communication channel; the UE’s capacity to receive the transmitted energy signal is indicated in step 510/520, in fig. 5; also, available time can be interpreted as resource, as shown in fig. 9B), wherein transmitting the RF energy is further based on the received indication of the particular ET resource configuration (fig. 8, step 870, paragraph 0075, …the schedule may be developed to transmit the energy signal during time periods that will not interfere with normal operation of the non-capable device(s)).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 24 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that each ET resource configuration in the set of ET resource configurations includes information regarding first resources available for ET (fig. 9C, 971, the time available for ET) and second resources available for data transmission and reception (fig. 9C, 924. 944, time available for data transmission and reception).
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 29 as discussed above. In addition, Malik further discloses that receiving a set of ET resource configurations (fig. 8, step 820; paragraph 0070, the energy transmitting device may send an overhead or broadcast message and collect responses from at least a subset of the wireless devices indicating whether or not the subset of wireless devices support wireless energy transfer; which device support ET and which does not support ET is a set of ET resource configurations), wherein each ET resource configuration in the set of ET resource configurations includes information regarding first resources available for ET (fig. 9C, 971, the time available for ET) and second resources available for data transmission and reception (fig. 9C, 924. 944, time available for data transmission and reception);
and receiving an additional indication of at least one particular ET resource configuration (paragraph 0070, …collect responses from at least a subset of the wireless devices indicating whether or not the subset of wireless devices support wireless energy transfer), wherein transmitting the RF energy is further based on the received indication of the particular ET resource configuration (fig. 8, step 870).
10. Claim 6 is rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik et al. (US 20150303741) and in view of ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495) and further in view of CHEN et al. (WO 2016071686) and further in view of Hull et al. (US 20160254844).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Malik, ICKIN C and HEN teaches the limitations recited in claim 1 as discussed above.
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of transmit a requested charging rate.
Hull discloses of transmit a requested charging rate (fig. 7, step 701-702; paragraph 0067, ..the emitter notifies the device (e.g., smart phone) that it's locked on frequency F at a charging rate. Next, a software application on the device (e.g., smart phone 103) is given information (e.g., task id for TAG_ID, energy cost, acceptable wait time, charging rate)…).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that transmit a requested charging rate as a modification to the method for the benefit of that UE/ET has control of the procedure of energy harvest speed (paragraph 0067).
11. Claim 7 is rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik et al. (US 20150303741) and in view of ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495) and further in view of CHEN et al. (WO 2016071686) and further in view of Hull et al. (US 20160254844) and further in view of Monson et al. (US 20210393968).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Malik, ICKIN, CHEN and Hull teaches the limitations recited in claim 6 as discussed above.
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of indicates the requested charging rate for each of a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) or a plurality of carriers.
Monson discloses of indicates the requested charging rate for each of a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) or a plurality of carriers (paragraph 0140, .. charging device 20 may estimate whether to increase or decrease the frequency shift for subsequent RF signals based on … charging levels … Increases in charging rates in response to a change in RF signal frequency…; in which, increasing/decreasing charging rates is for each frequency band such that it indicates the requested charging rate for each band).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that indicates the requested charging rate for each of a plurality of bandwidth parts (BWPs) or a plurality of carriers as a modification to the method for the benefit of that increasing the efficiency of energy transfer (paragraph 0140).
12. Claims 18 is rejected are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Malik et al. (US 20150303741) and in view of ICKIN et al. (WO 2022108495) and further in view of XU et al. (CN 109831826).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Malik and ICKIN teaches the limitations recited in claim 16 as discussed above.
It is noticed that Malik does not disclose explicitly of indicates a transmission power characteristic for each of a plurality of BWPs or a plurality of carriers.
XU discloses of indicates a transmission power characteristic for each of a plurality of BWPs or a plurality of carriers (page 3, .. the base station to the k-th user downlink transmission power on the sub-carrier n …).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to one of ordinary skill in the art to incorporate the technology that indicates a transmission power characteristic for each of a plurality of BWPs or a plurality of carriers as a modification to the method for the benefit of that UE/ET collect energy efficiently (page 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
13.
Claim 8 and its dependent claim 9-12 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Claim 27 and its dependent claim 28 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
Claim 21 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claim.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matters:
For Claim 8 and its dependent claim 9-12, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the limitations of “receive information regarding a set of EH resource-and-capability configurations, wherein each EH resource-and-capability configuration in the set of EH resource-and-capability configurations indicates (1) a set of time-and-frequency resources and (2) a set of capabilities associated with the indicated set of time-and-frequency resources; and receive an additional indication of a particular EH resource-and-capability configuration in the set of EH resource-and-capability configurations, wherein receiving the transmitted RF energy is further based on the received indication of the particular EH resource-and-capability configuration.”
For Claim 27 and its dependent claim 28 , the prior art does not disclose or suggest the limitations of “receiving information regarding a set of EH resource-and-capability configurations, wherein each EH resource-and-capability configuration in the set of EH resource-and-capability configurations indicates (1) a set of time-and-frequency resources and (2) a set of capabilities associated with the indicated set of time-and-frequency resources, wherein the set of capabilities comprises one or more of data transmission, data reception, or energy reception; and receiving an additional indication of a particular EH resource-and-capability configuration in the set of EH resource-and-capability configurations, wherein receiving the transmitted RF energy is further based on the received indication of the particular EH resource-and-capability configuration.”
For Claim 21, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the limitations of “stop transmission of the RF energy based on a timer expiring following a transmission of a last indication of the current ability of the ET device to serve as the ET node and before a subsequent transmission of a next indication of the current ability of the ET device to serve as the ET node.”
14. Conclusion
. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
15. Contact Information
/ZAIHAN JIANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2488