DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 and 3-15 are pending as amended on 9/22/2026. Claims 7-10 and 12-15 stand withdrawn from consideration.
The previously set forth rejections have been modified to reflect the incorporation of limitations from claim 2 into claim 1. The new grounds of rejection were necessitated by amendment, and therefore, this action is properly made final.
Any rejections and/or objections made in the previous Office action and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 has been amended to recite several properties, including a refractive index above 1.7. Originally presented claim 2 recited a refractive index above 1.7 in the near infrared spectrum. However, claim 1 as presently amended is broader than original claim 2 because amended claim 1 does not limit the wavelengths in which the S-NBD2 must have the recited refractive index.
Because claim 1 is not commensurate in scope with the originally filed disclosure, the claim contains subject matter which was not described in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventors, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 1 (and dependent claims 3-6 and 11) therefore fail to comply with the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al (WO 2020/191340).
Pyun teaches that there is a need for IR transmissive materials to create lighter device components (lens, windows) for mass production of IR imaging systems, and for IR transmissive materials that can be fabricated into a variety of forms, such as optically flat windows, and curved lenses [0005].
Pyun teaches an IR imaging or sensing device comprising a chalcogenide hybrid organic/inorganic polymer and having at least 5% transmission in the LWIR region ranging from about 8 to about 12 micron [0006, 0021] (i.e., 8000 to 12,000 nm). In [0024], Pyun again teaches at least 5% transmission in the LWIR region, but characterizes the LWIR region as ranging from about 500 nm to about 12 micron in wavelength. The range of 500 nm to about 12 micron taught in [0024] encompasses both the region characterized as the LWIR region in Pyun’s preceding paragraphs, as well as the near infrared region, which is defined as 700-1600 nm in the instant specification.
In [0027], Pyun teaches that the optical substrate is substantially transparent in the visible and infrared spectrum, and often has at least 50% transmission in the visible wave range (400 to 700 nm). In [0029] and [0059], Pyun teaches an optical lens which has a refractive index of at least 1.7 (or between 1.7 and 2) and which is “substantially transparent in an infrared or visible spectrum.” See also claims 28 and 29 of Pyun, which recite transparency in the infrared or visible spectrum.
Pyun’s disclosures in [0027], [0029], [0059] and claims 28 and 29 generally refer to the “visible spectrum” along with the “infrared spectrum,” and do not limit the “infrared spectrum” to any specific region of the infrared spectrum. Pyun also specifically teaches transmission/transparency in both the visible spectrum of 400-700 nm [0027] and in the narrower LWIR region of the infrared spectrum ranging from 8000 to 12000 nm [0028]. The presently claimed NIR region (700 to 1600 nm) shares an endpoint (700 nm) with the visible spectrum range disclosed by Pyun. Additionally, the entire presently claimed NIR range would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill as a region within the general “infrared spectrum,” as well as within the broad range of 500 nm to 12000 nm (encompassing both visible and infrared wavelengths) taught by Pyun in [0024]. Therefore, while Pyun’s disclosed range of wavelengths associated with the LWIR in [0024] (500-12,000 nm) is inconsistent with the range of LWIR wavelengths in paragraphs [0021] and [0028] (8,000-12,000 nm), one would have reasonably expected (considering Pyun’s entire discussion in [0024-29, 59] and claims 28-29) Pyun’s disclosed optical substrate to exhibit at least 5% transmission (or to be “substantially transparent”) over the entire range of visible and infrared wavelengths from about 500 nm to about 12,000 nm, as taught by Pyun in [0024] (which includes the instant NIR region of 700-1600 nm).
Pyun discloses S-NBD2 as an optical sulfur copolymer which contains S-S bonds, including S50-NBD250 synthesized via inverse vulcanization from elemental sulfur and NBD2 (see [0065, 0067]). Pyun further discloses producing an IR lens by forming an optical sulfur copolymer [0059 “b” through “d”] (corresponding to instant step (a)) and forming the copolymer into an optical lens [0059 “e” through “g”] (corresponding to instant step (b)).
Pyun teaches that the lens is substantially transparent in the infrared and visible spectrum [0059]. The properties recited in instant claims 1 and 3-5 are met by Pyun’s S50-NBD250, as evidenced by the properties described in the instant specification for the same material:
The CTE is 39*10-6/C [0017-18] (between 30*10-6/C and 50*10-6/C),
The refractive index is 1.73 at 850 nm [0024] (above 1.7 and less than 1.9),
The absorption coefficient is on the order of 0.05 cm-1 [0036] (meeting less than or equal to 0.05 cm-1), and
The Tg is 105 C [0017] (meeting at least 85 C).
Pyun teaches that the disclosed polymers are IR transmissive and suitable for mass production of IR imaging systems, in particular LWIR imaging systems [0044]. Pyun fails to specifically teach using the disclosed polymer in “near IR” (NIR) imaging systems, however, given Pyun’s general teaching that the polymer is suitable for IR imaging systems, and further given Pyun’s teaching that the polymers are transparent in visible wave range (400-700 nm) and in the infrared spectrum (including wavelengths ranging from 500 nm to 12 µm, which encompasses wavelengths of 700-1600 nm defined as NIR in the instant specification), it would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art to have used an optical device formed from S50-NBD250, as taught by Pyun, in any region of the infrared spectrum where the polymer is transmissive, including near infrared.
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pyun et al (WO 2020/191340) in view of Griebel et al (New Infrared Transmitting Material via Inverse Vulcanization of Elemental Sulfur to Prepare High Refractive Index Polymers, Adv. Mater. 2014, 26, 3014–3018).
The rejection of claims 1 and 3-6 over Pyun above is incorporated here by reference.
Pyun fails to specifically teach utilizing S-NBD2 in an active imaging device in the near IR spectrum.
Like Pyun, Griebel discloses polymeric materials for IR applications which have a high refractive index and contain a high content of S-S bonds, prepared by inverse vulcanization. Griebel discloses that the S-S bonds in the copolymer are largely IR inactive in the near and mid-infrared regime and impart a high refractive index to the macromolecule (p 3014). Griebel demonstrates high quality active imaging in the near IR regions using the polymeric material, which maintains high optical transparency at 1550 nm (p 3017).
Considering that S-NBD2 contains S-S bonds and is characterized by Pyun as being transparent in the visible wave range (400-700 nm) and in the infrared spectrum (including wavelengths ranging from 500 nm to 12 µm), and further considering Pyun’s teaching that the disclosed polymers are IR transmissive and suitable for mass production of IR imaging systems [0044], the person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to utilize Pyun’s polymeric material in an IR imaging device in any IR region in which the polymer has high transparency, including near IR. Griebel’s disclosure establishes that high refractive index polymers having S-S bonds and prepared by inverse vulcanization were known to be useful for active imaging applications in the near IR regions (p 3017), and, that widely used materials for IR optical applications (e.g., inorganic semiconductors and chalcogenide glasses) are inherently more expensive, toxic, and difficult to process in comparison to organic polymeric materials (p 3014, first paragraph). It would have been obvious to the person having ordinary skill in the art, therefore, to have utilized Pyun’s S-NBD2 to replace inorganic semiconductors/chalcogenide glasses in a device capable of IR imaging, including active imaging in the near IR region as taught by Griebel, in order to reduce costs and/or toxicity, and/or, in order to improve processability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/22/2026 and Declaration filed on 9/23/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding the rejection over Pyun:
Applicant argues (remarks p 4 and Declaration) that the generally accepted spectral range for the Near infrared (NIR) spectrum is 700-1600 nm and the generally accepted range for the Longwave infrared (LWIR) spectrum is 7000 to 14000 nm. Applicant argues that Pyun’s description of LWIR as extending from 500-12000 nm is inaccurate and not consistent with the generally accepted spectral ranges. Applicant argues that Pyun’s materials were developed for high LWIR transmission; there is no discussion of applications of these materials in the NIR, nor graphs/figures which address the NIR spectrum.
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered. The examiner is persuaded by Applicant’s argument and Declaration that Pyun’s characterization of the LWIR region as being from 500 nm to 12 micron [0024] is inaccurate. Applicant has provided persuasive evidence that generally accepted spectral ranges are known in the art (see Declaration paragraphs 14-15). Pyun also describes the visible wave range as from 400 to 700 nm in [0027] and describes a LWIR region as being from about 8 to 12 microns in [0028]. The ranges in [0027-28] of Pyun are consistent with generally accepted ranges for the visible and LWIR regions.
However, as noted in the rejection of record, in [0027] Pyun teaches an optical substrate which has “a substantially transparent optical body in the visible and infrared spectrum.” In [0029], Pyun teaches an optical lens which has a refractive index of at least 1.7 and which is “substantially transparent in an infrared or visible spectrum.” See also claims 28 and 29 of Pyun, which recite transparency in the infrared or visible spectrum. Pyun therefore contains a disclosure (including claims) of the “infrared spectrum” wherein the “infrared spectrum” is not limited to a specific portion, such as the LWIR, of the infrared spectrum. Therefore, while one would have understood Pyun’s disclosed range of wavelengths associated with the LWIR in [0024] to be inconsistent with generally accepted range of LWIR wavelengths, one would have reasonably expected (considering the entire discussion in [0024-29, 59] and claims 28-29) Pyun’s disclosed optical substrate to exhibit at least 5% transmission over the entire disclosed range of visible and infrared wavelengths from about 500 nm to about 12 microns (which includes the NIR region of 700-1600 nm).
Regarding the rejection over Pyun in view of Griebel:
Applicant argues (remarks p 5) that Griebel fails to disclose the use of S-NBD2 and the properties recited in claim 1. However, as set forth in the rejection of record, primary reference Pyun teaches S-NBD2 which has the presently recited properties; Griebel was not relied on for a disclosure of S-NBD2. Therefore, this argument does not address or appear to consider the way Griebel was relied on as a secondary reference, in combination with primary reference Pyun, to establish the non-obviousness of the claimed subject matter in the rejection of record. Because the actual findings in the rejection over Pyun in view of Griebel have not been addressed, Applicant’s argument fails to overcome the rejection of record.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RACHEL KAHN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766