DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant's cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: the dependency is not clear. For examination purposes, Claim 10 depends from claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morishita (US20200227621, hereinafter Morishita) in view of Kawada et al. (US20080061263, hereinafter Kawada).
Regarding claim 1, Morishita discloses piezoelectric thin-film element (Fig. 1), comprising: a first electrode layer (2); a piezoelectric thin film (3) stacked on the first electrode layer; and a second electrode layer (4) stacked on the piezoelectric thin film.
However, Morishita fails to disclose the performance index of the piezoelectric film as between 10% and 80.1%. Kawada discloses a piezoelectric ceramic composition having a performance index of 22.3%. In paragraph [0017], Kawada discloses the equation
d
=
k
p
ε
T
Y
. Rearranging the equation, P=(kp)2. Specifically, in Table 2, Morita discloses kp(%) values, equivalent to a performance index of the ceramic is between 10% to 80.1%. The lead-free piezoelectric ceramic composition disclosed by Kawada has superior properties and is better for the environment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to utilize the ceramic composition disclosed by Kawada in the piezoelectric thin film element disclosed by Morishita since the piezoelectric characteristics of the ceramic were demonstrated to be superior and is considered environmentally friendly.
Regarding claim 3, Morishita discloses an intermediate layer comprising SrRuO₃ and LaNiO₃ (paragraph [0082]).
Regarding claim 4, Morishita discloses the piezoelectric thin film contains a metal oxide having a perovskite structure, the metal oxide contains bismuth, potassium, titanium, iron, and an element M, and the element M is at least one element between magnesium and nickel. (Abstract, paragraph [0045])
Regarding claim 5, please refer to the abstract and paragraphs [0051-52].
Regarding claim 6, Morita discloses c/a >1 (paragraph [0051]).
Regarding claim 7, the thickness of the piezoelectric thin film is between 10nm-10mm. (paragraph [0060])
Regarding claim 8, the claimed limitation is not a structural limitation and therefore given little patentable weight.
Regarding claims 9 and 10, the combination of Morishita and Kawada describes the claimed invention. See paragraph [0086] of Morishita.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/J. San Martin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837