DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 04/22/2026 has been considered by the examiner and made of record in the application file.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 20 is improper because it depends from canceled claim 13. Applicant canceled claim 13 but did not amend the dependency of claim 20. Accordingly, claim 20 contains an improper dependency and should be amended to depend from an existing claim.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7,11,20,45,47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20190182800, hereinafter Park) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190239204, hereinafter Zhang) in further view of Yuan et al. (CN 110519712, hereinafter Yuan)
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses an information processing method, comprising: transmitting, by an access network device and between the access device and a core network device, paging auxiliary information for paging a user equipment (Par. 219: Lines 1-17 and Lines 29-32; The base station (access network device) sends and exchanges paging assistance information (paging auxiliary information) with the core network entity to facilitate paging of the UE);
wherein transmitting the paging auxiliary information for paging the UE comprises;
auxiliary information for paging a UE in an inactive state or auxiliary information for paging a UE in an idle state (Par. 163: Lines 9-13; A UE in a RRC inactive state may receive a paging; Par. 163: Lines 3-8; A UE in a RRC idle state may receive a paging Par. 219: Lines 7-17; The network uses the paging assistance elements (beams IDs/cell ID) to perform paging and move the UE to a connected state; Idle and inactive modes are both RRC non connected modes); and
transmitting a message for paging the UE according to paging the UE in the inactive state or paging the UE in the idle state (Page: 163: Lines 3-15; If the device is in RRC_Idle state or RRC_Inactive state, paging can still be received; The access network device sends pages to the mobile terminal if it is in a Idle or Inactive state).
Park teaches idle-state paging and inactive-state paging as separate alterative paging situations. Park teaches a paging instruction containing idle-state or inactive-state paging information but not both. Park also discloses transmitting a message for paging the UE in idle or in inactive mode but not transmitting two messages at the same time for paging the UE in idle and inactive modes, respectively.
Specifically, Park does not disclose wherein transmitting the paging auxiliary information for paging the UE comprises:
wherein the paging instruction carries both auxiliary information for paging a UE in an inactive state and auxiliary information for paging a UE in an idle state; and
transmitting two paging messages at the same time, respectively, according to the auxiliary information for paging the UE in the inactive state and the auxiliary information for paging the UE in the idle state.
Zhang, however, discloses the ability to transmit multiple paging messages at the same time (Par. 230: Multiple paging messages can be transmitted simultaneously in the same time-domain unit).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of Park to transmit multiple paging messages simultaneously, as taught by Zhang. Park already teaches paging a UE in an RRC_Idle state and paging a UE in an RRC_Inactive state using paging assistance information exchanged between the access network device and the core network device. Zhang further teaches that multiple paging messages may be transmitted simultaneously in the same time-domain unit. Applying Zhang's simultaneous paging transmission technique to Park's paging procedures would have predictably improved paging efficiency, reduced paging latency, and enabled concurrent delivery of paging information associated with different paging situations. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to configure the paging instruction to carry auxiliary information associated with both idle-state paging and inactive-state paging and to transmit two paging messages at the same time respectively according to the auxiliary information for paging the UE in the inactive state and the auxiliary information for paging the UE in the idle state.
Park in view of Zhang does not disclose receiving a paging instruction sent by the core network device in response to the core network determining that the UE is in an inactive state.
Yuan, however, discloses receiving a paging instruction sent by the core network device in response to the core network determining that the UE is in an inactive state (Page 9: Lines 17-18; If the AMF (core network) determines the UE is in RRC-Inactive state, the RAN (access network device) is notified by the AMF to page the UE through the N2 interface message (paging instruction)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the paging procedure of Park in view of Zhang to incorporate Yuan's inactive-state paging technique in order to improve coordination between the core network and the access network for managing inactive UEs. Doing so would have enabled the core network to efficiently trigger paging based on its knowledge of the UE state, thereby reducing unnecessary signaling procedures and improving utilization of network resources while preserving the ability to promptly re-establish communication with the UE.
Regarding claim 7 as applied to claim 1, Park discloses wherein transmitting the paging auxiliary information for paging the UE comprises at least one of:
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a radio connection control inactive state transition request message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via an initial context setup response message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a UE context modification response message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a UE context modification indication message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a context suspend request message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a retrieve UE information message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a handover request acknowledge message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a path switch request message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”);
or sending the paging auxiliary information to the core network device via a dedicated message (Par. 219: Lines 1-7; The access network (base station) transmits to the core network entity a dedicated message – specifically described as a UE context release request or UE context release complete message – that includes paging-assistance elements such as cell ID and beam identifiers; Because these paging-assistance elements are carried within a specific, named signaling message sent over N2/S1 interface, this shows the paging auxiliary information being transmitted via a dedicated message).
Regarding claim 11, the rejection of claim 1 addresses the limitations presented in claim 11. Therefore, the limitations of claim 11 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 20 as applied to claim 13, Park discloses transmitting the paging auxiliary information for paging the UE comprises at least one of:
receiving a dedicated message carrying the page auxiliary information (Par. 219: Lines 1-7; The access network (base station) transmits to the core network entity a dedicated message – specifically described as a UE context release request or UE context release complete message – that includes paging-assistance elements such as cell ID and beam identifiers; Because these paging-assistance elements are carried within a specific, named signaling message sent over N2/S1 interface, this shows the paging auxiliary information being transmitted via a dedicated message).
The remaining limitations are given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”.
Regarding claim 45, the rejection of claim 1 addresses the limitations presented in claim 45. Therefore, the limitations of claim 45 have been addressed.
Regarding claim 47 as applied to claim 11, Park discloses a communication device, comprising a processor, a transceiver, a memory, and an executable program stored in the memory and capable of being executed by the processor, wherein the processor, through executing the executable program, performs the method according to claim 11 (A device capable of performing the recited functions necessarily includes the recited components).
Claims 4,5,6,15,16,17,18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US 20190182800, hereinafter Park) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20190239204, hereinafter Zhang) in further view of Yuan et al. (CN 110519712, hereinafter Yuan) in further view of Zee et al. (CN 109845361, hereinafter Zee)
Regarding claim 4 as applied to claim 1, Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan does not disclose wherein the paging auxiliary information comprises at least one of:
paging group information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging group information is configured to indicate a paging group in which the UE monitors the paging message; or
paging period information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging period information is at least configured to indicate a paging frame for the UE to monitor a paging message.
Zee, however, discloses wherein the paging auxiliary information comprises at least one of:
paging group information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging group information is configured to indicate a paging group in which the UE monitors a paging message (Page 3: Lines 21-26; The eNB (access network device) transmits to the core network device (MME) paging auxiliary information in the form of an informational element within a UE context management message; The information includes the cell ID (CGI) and tracking area ID (TAI), which together define the set of cells or paging group in which the UE is expected to be located and to monitor paging messages); or
paging period information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging period information is at least configured to indicate a paging frame for the UE (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan’s disclosure of transmitting paging-assistance information between an access network and a core network with Zee’s explicit teaching of conveying paging-group or paging-period information (TAI/CGI or frequency/offset parameters) as part of the paging-assistance data. This would achieve standardized signaling of paging areas and paging cycles between network elements, reduced paging latency, and improved network efficiency.
Regarding claim 5 as applied to claim 4, Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan does not disclose wherein the group paging information comprises at least one of:
A group identification, configured to indicate a paging group in which the UE is located.
Zee, however, discloses wherein the group paging information comprises at least one of:
A group identification, configured to indicate a paging group in which the UE is located (Page 3: Lines 21-26; The eNB (access network device) transmits to the core network device (MME) paging auxiliary information in the form of an informational element within a UE context management message; The information includes the cell
ID (CGI) and tracking area ID (TAI), which together act as a group identification defining paging group in which the UE monitors paging messages).
The remaining limitations have been given no patentable weight due to the optional language “or”.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan’s paging-assistance signaling so that it includes a group identification as taught by Zee. This would improve paging efficiency without altering Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan’s underlying operation.
Regarding claim 6 as applied to claim 5, Park discloses paging a UE in an inactive state (Par. 163: Lines 9-13; A UE in a RRC inactive state may receive a paging; Par. 219: Lines 7-17; The network uses the paging assistance elements (beams IDs/cell ID) to perform paging and move the UE to a connected state) and in an idle state (Par. 163: Lines 3-8; A UE in a RRC idle state may receive a paging; Par. 219: Lines 7-17; The network uses the paging assistance elements (beams IDs/cell ID) to perform paging and move the UE to a connected state).
Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan does not disclose that the paging assist elements are framed as “paging group information indicative of a paging group”.
Zee, however, discloses explicit paging group information fields sent over S1AP (Page 3: Lines 21-26; In a S1AP message, The eNB (access network device) transmits to the core network device (MME) paging auxiliary information in the form of an informational element within a UE context management message; The information includes the cell ID (CGI) and tracking area ID (TAI), which together define the set of cells or paging group in which the UE is expected to be located and to monitor paging messages).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Zee’s generic “paging assistance elements” using the standard, fielded S1AP with Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan’s ability to page to inactive/idle UEs. This would narrow the paging area and improve paging efficiency/latency in idle/inactive states.
Regarding claim 15 as applied to claim 11, Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan does not disclose wherein the paging auxiliary information comprises at least one of:
paging group information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging group information is configured to indicate a paging group in which the UE monitors the paging message; or
paging period information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging period information is at least configured to indicate a paging frame for the UE to monitor a paging message.
Zee, however, discloses wherein the paging auxiliary information comprises at least one of:
paging group information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging group information is configured to indicate a paging group in which the UE monitors a paging message (No patentable weight given due to the optional language “or”); or
paging period information assigned for the UE, wherein the paging period information is at least configured to indicate a paging frame for the UE to monitor a paging message (Page 12: Lines 10-13; The core sends paging frequency/offset to the access node; Paging frequency/offset are paging cycle/occasion parameters. These parameters define the paging frame(s)/time instances when the UE monitors paging).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined Park in view of Zhang in view of Yuan’s core-to-access-network transmission with the paging period information as taught by Zee. This would ensure time-synchronization paging behaviors across nodes and paging failures are reduced.
Regarding claim 16 as applied to claim 15, no patentable weight is given due to the optional language “or” in claim 15. Claim 16 has not been reached because the rejection of claim 15 relies on the “paging period information” alternative, while claim 16 narrows the “paging group information” alternative.
Regarding claim 17 as applied to claim 15, no patentable weight is given due to the optional language “or” in claim 15. Claim 17 has not been reached because the rejection of claim 15 relies on the “paging period information” alternative, while claim 17 narrows the “paging group information” alternative.
Regarding claim 18 as applied to claim 15, no patentable weight is given due to the optional language “or” in claim 15. Claim 18 has not been reached because the rejection of claim 15 relies on the “paging period information” alternative, while claim 18 narrows the “paging group information” alternative.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FABIAN BOTELLO/Examiner, Art Unit 2648
/WESLEY L KIM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2648