DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 5-6 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claims 5-6 and 9, it is suggested to amend “expands” to - -is configured to expand- -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-11 are currently pending in the application and are being examined on the merits in this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the hole". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Regarding dependent claims 3-9, these claims do not remedy the deficiencies of parent claim 1 noted above, and are rejected for the same rationale.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(1) as being anticipated by Shimizu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0095356).
Regarding claim 1, Shimizu teaches a battery module (220) (paragraph [0052) (see figure 4(a)) comprising:
a battery cell stack (100) in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (see figure 4(a)) (paragraph [0050]);
a module frame (i.e., case, lid, flat plate) (20, 21, 30) that houses the battery cell stack (paragraph [0033], [0047]-[0048], [0063]); and
a rupture sheet (i.e., plate member) (70) (paragraph [0049], [0056]) formed between the battery cell stack and the module frame (see figure 4(a)), wherein the rupture sheet comprises a shape memory alloy (SMA) (paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 2, Shimizu teaches the module frame is formed with a plurality of holes (i.e., connection passages) (40) (paragraph [0048]-[0055]), and the portion of the rupture sheet corresponding to the position of the hole contains the shape memory alloy (see figure 5(a)) (paragraph [0049]-[0050]).
Regarding claim 3, Shimizu teaches the rupture sheet comprises, a plurality of rupture layers (70b) (paragraph [0056]) (see figure 5(b); and a rupture induction member (70a) formed between the plurality of rupture layers (see figure 5(b)) (paragraph [0056]), wherein the rupture induction member is formed of the shape memory alloy (paragraph [0069]).
Regarding claim 4, Shimizu teaches the rupture induction member is formed in a portion of the rupture sheet corresponding to the position of the hole in the module frame (see figure 5(a)) (paragraph [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 10, Shimizu teaches the rupture sheet is formed between the upper portion of the battery cell stack and the module frame (see figure 5(a)) (paragraph [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 11, Shimizu teaches a battery pack (paragraph [0002]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5-7 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shimizu et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication 2013/0095356).
Regarding claim 5, the claim merely recites the predictable functional operation of the known shape memory alloy performing its intended venting function. As indicated above, Shimizu teaches the rupture induction member comprising the SMA. Although the specifics as recited in the instant claim is not expressly stated in Shimizu, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the activation/opening of the shape memory alloy during battery venting expands during gas venting necessarily produces a dimensional change of the rupture induction member sufficient to deform/expand the rupture sheet and create a vent opening (see figure 5(a)) (paragraph [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 6, the claim merely recites the expected functional relationship between the known structure and the known material from which is formed. As indicated above, Shimizu teaches the rupture induction member comprising the SMA. Although the specifics as recited in the instant claim is not expressly stated in Shimizu, it would have been obvious that the rupture induction member would undergo the dimensional change produced by the activated SMA because such dimensional change is an known an intended operating characteristics of a SMA.
Regarding claim 7, Shimizu teaches the venting hole is formed in plural numbers (see figure 5(a)) (paragraph [0055]-[0056]).
Regarding claim 9, Shimizu teaches the rupture induction member that is actuated by high-temperature gas (paragraph [0035]). Although Shimizu does not teach a temperature of 100 degrees or more, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to select temperature of the rupture induction member to corresponds the anticipated temperature of vent gases. The temperature of a rupture induction member, which is made of a SMA, is a known result effective variable that may be selected through alloy composition and processing to achieve a desired activation point. Selecting an opening/expansion point of 100 degrees or greater would have been a matter of routine experimentation absent evidence that the claimed temperature is critical or produces unexpected results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. In other words, claim 1 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form to incorporate:
all the limitations of claim 1-3, 5 and 7-8, or
Applicant is encouraged to consider amending claim 1 accordingly to place the application in condition of allowance.
The prior art is silent with regards to the combination of features of (1) above. In particular, “the plurality of venting holes are formed in a portion of the rupture sheet corresponding to the position of the hole, and the plurality of venting holes formed in the portion of the rupture sheet corresponding to the position of the hole forms a venting portion.” in combination with the features of claims 1-3, 5 and 7.
Pertinent Prior Art
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Smith et al. (U.S. Patent Application 2018/0351219). Smith teaches a battery module (abstract) with vent holes (304) (paragraph [0052]) (see figure 3B).
Conclusion
/CHRISTIAN ROLDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723