Claims 1-13 are pending, of which claims 1 and 9 are independent claims.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in KR 10-2021-0098280 on July 27, 2021; KR 10-2021-0098282 on July 27, 2021; and KR 10-2021-0104447 on August 9, 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references cited in the information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 10/31/2023 and 11/07/2024 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
The following claims are objected to for lack of antecedent support or for redundancies. The Examiner recommends the following changes:
Claim 4, line 5, insert “range” after “difference”.
Claim 5, line 5, insert “range” after “difference”.
Claim 6, line 5, insert “range” after “difference”.
Claim 11, line 5, insert “range” after “difference”.
Claim 12, line 5, insert “range” after “difference”.
Claim 13, line 5, insert “range” after “difference”.
Appropriate correction is respectfully requested.
35 USC § 112(f) Analysis
Claims 1-8 are interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), as reciting means for performing a specified function.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Referring to independent claim 1, this claim recites the claim limitation “a control device which…controls…”. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function.
Referring to claim 2, this claim recites the claim limitation “a control module which…compares…”. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function.
Referring to claim 3, this claim recites the claim limitations “a calculation module which calculates…” and “an operation module which controls…”. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed functions.
Referring to claims 4-6, these claims simply add more detail to the functions that the operation module performs.
Referring to claim 7, this claim recites “an operation state determining device which determines…”, “a collection device which collects…”, and “a learning device which trains…”. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed functions.
Referring to claim 8, this claim recites “a power measurement module which measures…”. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for the claimed function. Also, paragraph [0058] expressly indicates that the power measurement module is not illustrated. This claim also simply adds more detail to the functions that the control module performs.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim limitations “a control device which…controls…” recited in claim 1; “a control module which…compares…” recited in claim 2 and also referred to in claim 8; “a calculation module which calculates…” and “an operation module which controls…” recited in claim 3 and also referred to in claims 4-6; “an operation state determining device which determines…”, “a collection device which collects…”, and “a learning device which trains…” recited in claim 7; and “a power measurement module which measures…” recited in claim 8 invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed corresponding functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the corresponding functions.
The corresponding structure for the means-plus-function limitations must disclose an algorithm for performing the claimed specific computer function that is sufficient to transform a general-purpose computer to a special purpose computer. The instant specification appears to provide a description of an algorithm, but there is no mention of a computer or microprocessor programmed with the algorithm. MPEP 2181 (“However, if there is no corresponding structure disclosed in the specification (i.e., the limitation is only supported by software and does not correspond to an algorithm and the computer or microprocessor programmed with the algorithm), the limitation should be deemed indefinite as discussed above, and the claim should be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b).”)
The use of the term “control device”, “control module”, “calculation module”, “operation module”, “operation state determining device”, “collection device”, “learning device”, and “power measurement module” are not adequate computer or microprocessor structures for performing the acquisition of sensor data, the calculation, and the storing because they do not describe a particular computer or microprocessor structure for performing the corresponding algorithmic functions. The specification does not provide sufficient details such that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand which computer structure or structures perform(s) the claimed functions. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. As described above, the disclosure does not provide adequate structure to perform the claimed function as recited in claims 1-8: “a control device which…controls…” recited in claim 1; “a control module which…compares…” recited in claim 2 and also referred to in claim 8; “a calculation module which calculates…” and “an operation module which controls…” recited in claim 3 and also referred to in claims 4-6; an operation state determining device which determines…”, “a collection device which collects…”, and “a learning device which trains…” recited in claim 7; and “a power measurement module which measures…” recited in claim 8. The specification does not demonstrate that applicant has made an invention that achieves the claimed functions because the invention is not described with sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. (KR 20190044032 A) (“Lee”) in view of Gupta et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0221184 A1) (“Gupta”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Lee teaches:
An indoor environment control system, comprising: Lee: Paragraph [0030] (“FIG. 1 is a view showing a configuration of an air conditioner according to the present invention. FIG. 2 is a view showing a control configuration of an air conditioner according to a first embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 4 is a view showing a control structure of an air conditioner and a kitchen hood according to a second embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 5 is a view showing a control method of the air conditioner according to the second embodiment of the present invention Flow chart.”)
an indoor environment device including a ventilator, an air purifier, and a kitchen hood; Lee: Paragraph [0003] (“Such an air conditioner is provided with a sensor for detecting indoor environmental conditions, and when the value detected by the sensor is out of the reference value, the air conditioner is operated to ventilate or purify the indoor air.” Which reads on “a ventilator, an air purifier”.) Lee: Paragraph [0014][ (“It is another object of the present invention to provide a control method of an air conditioner which can effectively exhaust pollutants generated when cooking by means of a kitchen hood.”)
a thermal comfort device which includes a heater, an air cooler, a humidifier, and a controller; and Lee: Paragraph [0034] (“The air conditioner 100-1 of the present invention collectively refers to a device having a ventilation function and further having an air cleaning function. Of course, dehumidification, humidification, cooling and heating functions may be further provided.” which read on “a heater, an air cooler, a humidifier”.) Lee: Paragraph [0046] (“The measured values detected by the sensors 131, 132, 133, and 134 are received by the controller 140 of the air conditioner 100-1,…”)
a control device which, when indoor temperature and humidity are within a preset comfort range, controls an operation of at least one of the indoor environment device and the thermal comfort device based on an indoor fine dust concentration ... Lee: Paragraph [0046] (“When the user uses the gas range to cook in step S301, the sensors 131, 132, 133, and 134 of the air conditioner 100-1 detect two or more environmental conditions of the indoor environmental conditions such as temperature, fine dust concentration, gas concentration, do. The measured values detected by the sensors 131, 132, 133, and 134 are received by the controller 140 of the air conditioner 100-1, and the process proceeds to step S302.”) Lee: Paragraph [0047] (“In step S302, the control unit 140 of the air conditioner 100-1 determines whether the indoor environmental conditions received from the sensors 131, 132, 133, and 134 satisfy predetermined criteria. In this case, the predetermined standard may be set to a specific value of temperature, fine dust concentration, gas concentration, or humidity, or may be set based on the increase rate. ”) Lee: Paragraph [0048] (“… when the fine dust concentration is increased at a rate of Δ X μg / m 3 per unit time or when the gas concentration is increased at a rate of Δ X ppm per unit time, …it can be judged that the dish is being cooked. ”) Lee: Paragraph [0049] (“As a result of the determination of the indoor environmental condition, if the predetermined criterion is satisfied, the indoor environmental condition detection state is maintained. Otherwise, the flow advances to step S303. ”) Lee: Paragraph [0050] (“In this case, it can be judged whether or not two or more environmental conditions, such as temperature, fine dust concentration, gas concentration, and humidity, are out of the above-mentioned standard. For example, when cooking is performed, it is determined that the cooking process is proceeding when the temperature, the fine dust concentration, or the fine dust and gas concentration are out of the standard at the same time, and the process proceeds to step S303.”) Lee: Paragraph [0051] (“In this case, if it is determined that the two or more environmental conditions are all out of the set criteria, the alarm may be generated to inform the user that the kitchen hood 200-1 needs to be operated.”) Lee: Paragraph [0052] (“The blower 110 of the air conditioner 100-1 is operated in step S303. In this case, the air conditioner 100-1 operates the air supply blower 110a to supply outdoor air to the room. When the user recognizing the alarm activates the kitchen hood 200-1, the indoor air is discharged to the outside by the suction means.”) [The temperature and humidity being within the set criteria or within the standard, but the fine dust and gas concentration being out of the standard at the same time, the control unit controlling the kitchen hood and the air conditioner 100-1 operates the air supply blower 110a to supply outdoor air to the room reads on “a control device which, when indoor temperature and humidity are within a preset comfort range, controls an operation of at least one of the indoor environment device and the thermal comfort device based on an indoor fine dust concentration…”.]
Lee does not expressly indicate that the outdoor air includes both indoor and outdoor fine dust concentrations. However, Gupta describes a dynamic ventilation control for a building. Gupta teaches:
a control device which, when indoor temperature and humidity are within a preset comfort range, controls an operation of at least one of the indoor environment device and the thermal comfort device controls an operation of at least one of the indoor environment device and the thermal comfort device based on an indoor fine dust concentration and an outdoor fine dust concentration. Gupta: Paragraph [0041] (“The illustrative method 40 includes tracking one or more interior environmental conditions within the building space and one or more exterior environmental conditions outside of the building space during operation of the HVAC system, as indicated at block 42. The one or more interior environmental conditions may include indoor air temperature. The one or more interior environmental conditions may include indoor humidity. The one or more interior environmental conditions may include concentrations of one or more indoor pollutants such as but not limited to CO2, particular matter (PM 2.5 and PM 10) and volatile organic compounds (VOCs). The one or more interior environmental conditions may include occupancy such as a people count and/or a people density in the building. The one or more exterior environmental conditions may include outdoor air temperature. The one or more exterior environmental conditions may include outdoor humidity. The one or more exterior environmental conditions may include one or more outdoor pollutants. These are just examples.”) Gupta: Paragraph [0071] (“When in the Health mode, a goal may be to maximize outdoor air intake without compromising thermal comfort requirements within the building space 12, or within a zone within the building space 12... In some cases, it may not be beneficial to bring in more outdoor air because occupant comfort may suffer and/or it energy costs associated with operating the HVAC system may substantially increase with little benefit. In other cases, when the outdoor air is at a temperature and/or humidity that requires little or no conditioning, it may be beneficial to bringing in more outdoor air to help meet temperature and other indoor comfort conditions.”) Gupta: Paragraph [0071] (“In some cases, when in Health mode, zone level indoor air quality is not directly constrained with respect to CO2 concentration, PM2.5 concentration and TVOC (total volatile organic compound) concentration. Rather, it is understood that these concentrations will naturally drop below IAQ limits simply by bringing in sufficient fresh air from outdoors. Of course, if the outdoor air is particularly polluted on a particular day or time of day, this may impact how much fresh air should be brought in.”) Gupta: Paragraph [0033] (“The controller 14 may operate in accordance with various HVAC standards such as but not limited to ASHRAE 62.1 to provide appropriate volumes of fresh air to the building space 12. Providing fresh air can provide the interior of the building space 12 with healthier air that contains relatively less of various contaminants than the interior air in the building space 12 would otherwise have, as outdoor air can be substantially cleaner than indoor air.”) [Providing fresh air in response to outdoor air cleaner (with less contaminants) than the indoor air reads on “based on an indoor fine dust concentration and an outdoor fine dust concentration”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee and Gupta before them, to control operation of an indoor environmental device and a thermal device based on based on an indoor fine dust concentration and an outdoor fine dust concentration because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would improve productivity and health of building occupants by automatically determining a ventilation rate for a building, given the current indoor and outdoor conditions, and dynamically controlling the HVAC system in accordance with the determined ventilation rate. Gupta Paragraphs [0033] and [0005].
Regarding claim 2, Lee and Gupta teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 2 depends. Lee further teaches:
The indoor environment control system of claim 1, wherein the control device includes: a sensor module which measures the temperature, the humidity, the indoor fine dust concentration, …; and Lee: Paragraph [0044] (“The sensors 131, 132, 133, and 134 are for detecting indoor environmental conditions. The sensors 131, 132, 133, 134 include a temperature sensor 131 for detecting the temperature of the room, a dust sensor 132 for detecting the concentration of dust in the room, A gas sensor 133, and a humidity sensor 134 for detecting the humidity of the room.”)
Lee does not expressly show a sensor module to measure outdoor fine dust concentration and a control module which when the temperature and the humidity are within the comfort range, compares the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration to control an operation of at least one of the ventilator, the air purifier, and the kitchen hood. However, Gupta teaches:
a sensor module which measures … and the outdoor fine dust concentration; and Gupta: Paragraph [0038] (“The illustrative HVAC control system 10 also includes one or more sensors 28 that are disposed outside of the building space 12 in order to provide signals representing one or more exterior environmental conditions to the input 20. At least some of the sensors 28 may be hard-wired to the input 20... The sensors 28 may include temperature sensors, humidity sensors, CO.sub.2 sensors and sensors configured to detect other pollutants such as particulate matter (PM), volatile organic compounds (VOCs) and the like.”)
a control module which when the temperature and the humidity are within the comfort range, compares the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration to control an operation of at least one of the ventilator, the air purifier, and the kitchen hood. Gupta: Paragraph [0041], [0070], [0071], and [0033] [As described in claim 1.] Gupta: Paragraph [0006] (“Once the current maximum allowed ventilation rate is predicted, an outdoor air ventilation damper of the HVAC system is controlled to provide ventilation up to or at the current maximum allowed ventilation rate.”) Gupta: Paragraph [0007] (“In another example, a method provides a dynamic ventilation rate for a building space using a Heating, Ventilating and/or Air Conditioning (HVAC) system.”)
The motivation to combine Lee and Gupta as provided in independent claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Gupta, and further in view of Lee (US Patent Publication No. 2021/0190360 A1) (“Lee ‘360”).
Regarding claim 3, Lee and Gupta teach all the claimed features of claim 2, from which claim 3 depends. Lee and Gupta do not expressly teach the features of claim 3. However, Lee ‘360 describes an artificial intelligence device capable of predicting a dust concentration and allowing a ventilation system and an air cleaning system to operate cooperatively with each other according to a prediction result. Lee ‘360 teaches:
The indoor environment control system of claim 2, wherein the control module includes:
a calculation module which calculates a concentration difference by comparing the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration; and Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0341] (“Specifically, the processor 180 may compare the predicted internal dust concentration with a corresponding external dust concentration (S910).”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0351] (“In addition, when the indoor dust concentration is higher than the outdoor dust concentration, operating the ventilation system rather than operating the air cleaning system may cause a rapid purification of indoor air, and power consumption may be reduced by opening the opening/closing door such as a window, instead of operating an air cleaner.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0352] (“According to the present invention, by comparing the indoor dust concentration with the outdoor dust concentration and selectively operating the ventilation system and the air cleaner according to a comparison result, it is possible to perform optimal air conditioning and reduce the power consumption.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0352] (“According to the present invention, by comparing the indoor dust concentration with the outdoor dust concentration and selectively operating the ventilation system and the air cleaner according to a comparison result, it is possible to perform optimal air conditioning and reduce the power consumption.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0406] (“The processor may input an internal temperature to a temperature prediction model to predict a subsequent internal temperature.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0407] (“Further, the processor may allow the ventilation system and the air cleaning system to operate cooperatively with each other using the predicted internal dust concentration and the predicted subsequent internal temperature.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0408] (“… the processor may allow the ventilation system not to operate in consideration of the predicted subsequent internal temperature, despite a situation in which the ventilation system should operate.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0409] (“More specifically, it is assumed that a predicted internal dust concentration is higher a corresponding external dust concentration.”) [As shown in FIG. 1, the processor reads on “a calculation module”.]
an operation module which controls an operation of at least one of the ventilator, the air purifier, and the kitchen hood according to the concentration difference. Lee ‘360: Paragraphs [0352] and [0407]-[0409] [As described above.] [As shown in FIG. 1, the processor reads on “an operation module”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee, Gupta, and Lee ‘360 before them, to include a calculation module which calculates a concentration difference by comparing the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration; and an operation module which controls an operation of at least one of the ventilator, the air purifier, and the kitchen hood according to the concentration difference because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would cause a rapid purification of indoor air, and power consumption would be reduced. Also it would perform an optimal air conditioning. Lee ‘360 Paragraphs [0351] and [0009].
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee, in view of Gupta and Lee ‘360, and further in view of Kim et al. (KR 20210021880 A) (“Kim”).
Regarding claim 4, Lee, Gupta, and Lee ‘360 teach all the claimed features of claim 3, from which claim 4 depends. Lee, Gupta, and Lee ‘360 do not expressly teach the features of claim 4. However, Kim describes a kitchen hood and a ventilation device, and a control method therefor. Kim teaches:
The indoor environment control system of claim 3, wherein
when the concentration difference is within a first reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator and the kitchen hood according to the first reference concentration difference to be turned on. Kim: Page 7, last paragraph (“According to the present invention, a kitchen hood 100 configured to suck indoor air and exhaust it to the outside includes a hood air sensor 110 that detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100 ) In the hood air filter 120 that removes pollutants from the air sucked into the interior, and the indoor air sensor 210 that detects the pollutant concentration (H1) measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the indoor air quality. It includes a control unit 130 for controlling the operation of the hood 100 according to the measured pollutant concentration H2.”) Kim: Page 8, first paragraph (“In addition, the ventilation device 200 for ventilating the indoor air according to the present invention, according to the pollutant concentration H1 measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the pollutant concentration measured by the indoor air sensor 210 And a control unit 240 for controlling the operation of the ventilation device 200.”) Kim: Page 8, ninth paragraph (“The hood air sensor 110 may be provided as a sensor for detecting air pollutants that adversely affect human health, such as fine dust and carbon dioxide (CO2), carbon monoxide (CO2), and volatile organic compounds (TVOC).”) Kim: Page 9, tenth through twelfth paragraphs (“The control unit 130 compares the concentration (H1) of the contaminant measured by the hood air sensor 110 with the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of steps, and the hood air sensor 110 The measured concentration H1 of the pollutant may be configured to operate the exhaust mode of the step corresponding to the pollutant concentration range in the hood. The contaminant concentration ranges 171, 172, and 173 in the hood of the plurality of steps may be configured in which the concentration gradually increases. As an example, the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of stages is a contaminant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood and a second stage hood consisting of a concentration range representing the relative pollution degree of good, normal, and bad, respectively. It may be configured to include the pollutant concentration range 172 and the pollutant concentration range 173 in the third stage hood.”) Kim: Page 12, fourteen and fifteenth paragraphs (“The multiple-stage exhaust modes 161, 162, and 163 may have a configuration in which the amount of exhaust per hour by the hood 100 increases step by step as the concentration of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 increases. For example, when the concentration (H1) of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the pollutant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood, which is a good stage, the hood 100 is reduced to the first stage, which is a weak stage. When the hood is operated in the first stage exhaust mode 161 and the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the concentration range 172 of the pollutant in the second stage hood, which is a normal stage, the hood (100) is operated in the second stage exhaust mode 162, which is an intermediate stage, and the pollutant concentration range in the third stage hood in which the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 is in a bad stage ( When 173) is satisfied, the hood 100 is operated in the third stage exhaust mode 163, which is a strong stage.”) [The indoor air sensor 210 detecting the pollutant concentration measured by the hood air sensor 110, which detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100, and the indoor air quality determines “the concentration difference”. The concentration of pollutant detected in the hood based on air sucked into and out of the hood satisfying the pollutant concentration range 171 and controlling the ventilation device and the exhaust mode of the hood at a second stage based on the detected pollutant concentration read on “a first reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator and the kitchen hood according to the first reference concentration difference to be turned on”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee, Gupta, Lee ‘360, and Kim before them, for when the concentration difference is within a first reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator and the kitchen hood according to the first reference concentration difference to be turned on because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would further improve air quality when cooking. Kim Page 13, thirteenth paragraph.
Regarding claim 5, Lee, Gupta, and Lee ‘360 teach all the claimed features of claim 3, from which claim 5 depends. Lee, Gupta, and Lee ‘360 do not expressly teach the features of claim 5. However, Kim describes a kitchen hood and a ventilation device, and a control method therefor. Kim teaches:
The indoor environment control system of claim 3, wherein
when the concentration difference is within a second reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator, the kitchen hood, and the air purifier according to the second reference concentration difference to be turned on. Kim: Page 7, last paragraph (“According to the present invention, a kitchen hood 100 configured to suck indoor air and exhaust it to the outside includes a hood air sensor 110 that detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100 ) In the hood air filter 120 that removes pollutants from the air sucked into the interior, and the indoor air sensor 210 that detects the pollutant concentration (H1) measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the indoor air quality. It includes a control unit 130 for controlling the operation of the hood 100 according to the measured pollutant concentration H2.”) Kim: Page 8, first paragraph (“In addition, the ventilation device 200 for ventilating the indoor air according to the present invention, according to the pollutant concentration H1 measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the pollutant concentration measured by the indoor air sensor 210 And a control unit 240 for controlling the operation of the ventilation device 200.”) Kim: Page 8, ninth paragraph (“The hood air sensor 110 may be provided as a sensor for detecting air pollutants that adversely affect human health, such as fine dust and carbon dioxide (CO2), carbon monoxide (CO2), and volatile organic compounds (TVOC).”) Kim: Page 9, tenth through twelfth paragraphs (“The control unit 130 compares the concentration (H1) of the contaminant measured by the hood air sensor 110 with the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of steps, and the hood air sensor 110 The measured concentration H1 of the pollutant may be configured to operate the exhaust mode of the step corresponding to the pollutant concentration range in the hood. The contaminant concentration ranges 171, 172, and 173 in the hood of the plurality of steps may be configured in which the concentration gradually increases. As an example, the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of stages is a contaminant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood and a second stage hood consisting of a concentration range representing the relative pollution degree of good, normal, and bad, respectively. It may be configured to include the pollutant concentration range 172 and the pollutant concentration range 173 in the third stage hood.”) Kim: Page 12, fourteen and fifteenth paragraphs (“The multiple-stage exhaust modes 161, 162, and 163 may have a configuration in which the amount of exhaust per hour by the hood 100 increases step by step as the concentration of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 increases. For example, when the concentration (H1) of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the pollutant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood, which is a good stage, the hood 100 is reduced to the first stage, which is a weak stage. When the hood is operated in the first stage exhaust mode 161 and the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the concentration range 172 of the pollutant in the second stage hood, which is a normal stage, the hood (100) is operated in the second stage exhaust mode 162, which is an intermediate stage, and the pollutant concentration range in the third stage hood in which the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 is in a bad stage ( When 173) is satisfied, the hood 100 is operated in the third stage exhaust mode 163, which is a strong stage.”) Kim: Page 10, third and fourth paragraphs (“The control unit 130 operates the hood air filter 120 when the contaminant concentration H1 measured by the hood air sensor 110 is higher than a preset contaminant reference concentration in the hood, and the hood air sensor ... In addition, the control unit 130, when the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 is higher than the reference concentration of the pollutant in the hood is maintained for a predetermined period of time or longer, the hood air filter ( 120) may be made to operate.”) [The indoor air sensor 210 detecting the pollutant concentration measured by the hood air sensor 110, which detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100, and the indoor air quality determines “the concentration difference”. The concentration of pollutant detected in the hood based on air sucked into and out of the hood and controlling the ventilation device, the exhaust mode of the hood, and the filter at a third stage based on the detected pollutant concentration read on “a second reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator, the kitchen hood, and the air purifier according to the second reference concentration difference to be turned on”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee, Gupta, Lee ‘360, and Kim before them, for when the concentration difference is within a second reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator, the kitchen hood, and the air purifier according to the second reference concentration difference to be turned on because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would further improve air quality when cooking. Kim Page 13, thirteenth paragraph.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Gupta and further in view of Park et al. (US Patent Publication No. 2022/0307716 A1) (“Park”).
Regarding claim 7, Lee and Gupta teach all the claimed features of claim 1, from which claim 7 depends. Lee and Gupta do not expressly teach the features of claim 7. However, Park describes a control device and method for an air conditioner. Park teaches:
The indoor environment control system of claim 1, further comprising:
an operation state determining device which determines an operation state of at least one of the heater and the air cooler, Park: Paragraph [066] (“The air conditioner 100 may be configured to detect indoor environment information. For example, the indoor environment information may include an indoor temperature, an indoor humidity, a user occupancy state, and the like. In addition, the air conditioner 100 may be configured to obtain user control information. For example, the user control information may include an on/off state, an operation mode (e.g., cooling mode, heating mode, dehumidifying mode, etc.), …”)
wherein the operation state determining device includes: a sensor which measures arbitrary indoor and outdoor environment data; Park: Paragraph [0080] (“The sensor 110 may be configured to detect the indoor environment information. In addition, the sensor 110 may be configured to detect a number or scale of people positioned indoors. For example, the sensor 110 may include a temperature sensor, a humidity sensor, an atmospheric pressure sensor, a thermal detection sensor, a proximity sensor, a motion sensor, an infrared sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, and the like. Meanwhile, other than the air conditioner 100, an outdoor unit, a cooling tower, a chiller, an automatic Thermostat, a remote controller, and the like may also include the temperature sensor, the humidity sensor, and the like, and detect the indoor and outdoor environment information. Alternatively, the indoor and outdoor environment information may be received from an external device or an external server.”)
a collection device which collects operation state data of an air conditioning device which cools and heats the indoor; and Park: Paragraph [0068] (“The air conditioner 100 may be configured to predict an indoor temperature over time through a temperature prediction model trained based on the detected indoor environment information, the received outdoor environment information, and the user control information. The temperature prediction model may predict the indoor temperature by learning the previously collected indoor and outdoor environment information, and the user control information.”) Park: Paragraph [0100] (“Referring to FIG. 4, the air conditioner 100 may include a data collection module 131, a data management module 132, a temperature prediction model 133, an energy prediction model 134, an optimal control schedule setting module 135, and an algorithm setting module 136. The respective modules or models may be stored in the memory. The processor may be configured to perform functions by loading the respective modules or models to identify the optical temperature control schedule.”) Park: Paragraph [0101] (“The data collection module 131 may be configured to collect data necessary in the algorithm operation. The data collection module 131 may be configured to collect data such as the indoor and outdoor environment information from the sensor or the external device. The data management module 132 may be configured to store and manage the collected data. If necessary, the data management module 132 may be configured to process and use the data.”)
a learning device which trains a machine learning model based on the environment data and the operation state data to generate a learning model to predict the operation state of the air conditioning device for the environment data. Park: Paragraph [0068] [As described above.] Park: Paragraph [0008] (“The control device includes a communication interface configured to communicate with an external device, and a processor configured to control the communication interface to receive indoor and outdoor environment information and user control information, and the processor is configured to predict an indoor temperature over time through a temperature prediction model trained based on the received indoor and outdoor environment information and the user control information, obtain a plurality of corresponding candidate setting temperatures based on the predicted indoor temperature over time, obtain a plurality of temperature control schedules based on the plurality of obtained candidate setting temperatures, predict energy consumption of the plurality of obtained temperature control schedules, respectively, through a trained energy prediction model, identify a temperature control schedule with the smallest predicted energy consumption as an optimal temperature control schedule, and control the communication interface to transmit control information over time to an air conditioner during a pre-set power saving operation time based on the identified optimal temperature control schedule.”) Park: Paragraph [0073] (“The control device 200 may be configured to transmit the outdoor environment information to the air conditioner 100. In addition, the control device 200 may be configured to generate and train the temperature prediction mode and the energy prediction model.”) Park: Paragraph [0083] (“The processor 130 may be configured to predict the indoor temperature over time through the temperature prediction model trained based on the indoor and outdoor environment information and the user control information, and obtain the plurality of corresponding candidate setting temperatures based on the predicted indoor temperature over time. The candidate setting temperature may be the control temperature. The plurality of candidate setting temperatures may be a temperature (when in cooling mode) of less than or equal to or a temperature (when in heating mode) of greater than or equal to a change temperature of the indoor temperature which is predicted when the air conditioner 100 is turned-off based on the predicted indoor temperature over time.”)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee, Gupta, and Park before them, to include an operation state determining device which determines an operation state of at least one of the heater and the air cooler, wherein the operation state determining device includes: a sensor which measures arbitrary indoor and outdoor environment data; a collection device which collects operation state data of an air conditioning device which cools and heats the indoor; and a learning device which trains a machine learning model based on the environment data and the operation state data to generate a learning model to predict the operation state of the air conditioning device for the environment data because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would optimize energy consumption during a power saving operation time such as when there are no occupants. Park Paragraph [0036]
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Lee ‘360.
Regarding independent claim 9, Lee teaches:
An operation method of an indoor environment control system, comprising: Lee: Paragraph [0030] (“FIG. 1 is a view showing a configuration of an air conditioner according to the present invention. FIG. 2 is a view showing a control configuration of an air conditioner according to a first embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 4 is a view showing a control structure of an air conditioner and a kitchen hood according to a second embodiment of the present invention. FIG. 5 is a view showing a control method of the air conditioner according to the second embodiment of the present invention Flow chart.”)
measuring indoor temperature and humidity, an indoor fine dust concentration, and …; Lee: Paragraph [0044] (“The sensors 131, 132, 133, and 134 are for detecting indoor environmental conditions. The sensors 131, 132, 133, 134 include a temperature sensor 131 for detecting the temperature of the room, a dust sensor 132 for detecting the concentration of dust in the room, A gas sensor 133, and a humidity sensor 134 for detecting the humidity of the room.”)
determining whether the temperature and the humidity are within a preset comfort range;… Lee: Paragraph [0047] (“In step S302, the control unit 140 of the air conditioner 100-1 determines whether the indoor environmental conditions received from the sensors 131, 132, 133, and 134 satisfy predetermined criteria. In this case, the predetermined standard may be set to a specific value of temperature, fine dust concentration, gas concentration, or humidity, or may be set based on the increase rate.”) Lee: Paragraph [0049] (“As a result of the determination of the indoor environmental condition, if the predetermined criterion is satisfied, the indoor environmental condition detection state is maintained. Otherwise, the flow advances to step S303. ”)
Lee does not expressly show measuring outdoor fine dust concentration and calculating a concentration difference by comparing the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration when the temperature and the humidity are within the comfort range; and controlling an operation of at least one of a ventilator, an air purifier, and a kitchen hood included in an indoor environment device based on the concentration difference. However, Gupta describes a dynamic ventilation control for a building. Gupta teaches:
measuring…an outdoor fine dust concentration;… Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0318] (“The processor 180 of the artificial intelligence device 100 may acquire an external environmental factor through the communication unit.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0319] (“Herein, external environmental factors may include at least one of an external (outdoor) dust concentration, a gas concentration, and a temperature.”)
calculating a concentration difference by comparing the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration when the temperature and the humidity are within the comfort range; and Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0226] (“For example, the sensor unit 730 may include a temperature sensor 732 for sensing a temperature of a space in which the air cleaner 700 is installed, and a humidity sensor 734 for sensing a humidity of the space.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0287] (“FIGS. 6 and 7 are diagrams for describing a method of generating an environmental factor prediction model according to an embodiment of the present invention.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0312] (“In the same principle, the environmental factor prediction model may include a temperature prediction model. Here, the temperature prediction model may be a neural network that is trained to predict a future temperature by using a time-varying temperature as training data.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0313] (“In addition, the environmental factor prediction model may include an indoor environmental factor prediction model that is a neural network trained to predict a future indoor environmental factor using indoor environmental factors (indoor dust, suspended dust, fine dust, ultra-fine dust, gas, carbon dioxide, volatile organic compound, temperature, or the like) as training data.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0314] (“In addition, the environmental factor prediction model may include an outdoor environmental factor prediction model that is a neural network trained to predict a future outdoor environmental factor using outdoor environmental factors (outdoor dust, suspended dust, fine dust, ultra-fine dust, gas, carbon dioxide, volatile organic compound, temperature, or the like) as training data.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0341] (“Specifically, the processor 180 may compare the predicted internal dust concentration with a corresponding external dust concentration (S910).”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0351] (“In addition, when the indoor dust concentration is higher than the outdoor dust concentration, operating the ventilation system rather than operating the air cleaning system may cause a rapid purification of indoor air, and power consumption may be reduced by opening the opening/closing door such as a window, instead of operating an air cleaner.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0352] (“According to the present invention, by comparing the indoor dust concentration with the outdoor dust concentration and selectively operating the ventilation system and the air cleaner according to a comparison result, it is possible to perform optimal air conditioning and reduce the power consumption.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0406] (“The processor may input an internal temperature to a temperature prediction model to predict a subsequent internal temperature.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0407] (“Further, the processor may allow the ventilation system and the air cleaning system to operate cooperatively with each other using the predicted internal dust concentration and the predicted subsequent internal temperature.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0408] (“… the processor may allow the ventilation system not to operate in consideration of the predicted subsequent internal temperature, despite a situation in which the ventilation system should operate.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0409] (“More specifically, it is assumed that a predicted internal dust concentration is higher a corresponding external dust concentration.”) Lee ‘360: Paragraph [0410]
(“When the predicted internal dust concentration is higher than the corresponding external dust concentration and a difference between the predicted internal temperature and a corresponding external temperature is greater than or equal to a preset value, the processor may not allow the ventilation system to operate. In this case, the processor may allow only the air cleaner to operate or may not allow both the air cleaner and the ventilation system to operate.”) [The processor 180 may compare the predicted internal dust concentration with a corresponding external dust concentration reads on “calculating a concentration difference by comparing the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration”.]
controlling an operation of at least one of the ventilator, the air purifier, and the kitchen hood based on the concentration difference. Lee ‘360: Paragraphs [0352] and [0407]-[0409] [As described above.] [As shown in FIG. 1, the processor reads on “an operation module”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee and Lee ‘360 before them, to include measuring outdoor fine dust concentration and calculating a concentration difference by comparing the indoor fine dust concentration and the outdoor fine dust concentration when the temperature and the humidity are within the comfort range; and controlling an operation of at least one of the ventilator, the air purifier, and the kitchen hood based on the concentration difference because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would cause a rapid purification of indoor air, and power consumption would be reduced. Also it would perform an optimal air conditioning. Lee ‘360 Paragraphs [0351] and [0009].
Regarding claim 10, Lee and Lee ‘360 teach all the claimed features of claim 9, from which claim 10 depends. Lee further teaches:
The operation method of an indoor environment control system of claim 9, further comprising: operating at least one of a heater, an air cooler, a humidifier, and a dehumidifier so that the temperature and the humidity fall into the comfort range when the temperature and the humidity are not within the comfort range. Lee: Paragraph [0002] (“The air conditioner is a device that adjusts the room temperature and humidity according to the user's request, or keeps the room pleasant by ventilating or purifying the room air.”) Lee: Paragraph [0034] (“The air conditioner 100-1 of the present invention collectively refers to a device having a ventilation function and further having an air cleaning function. Of course, dehumidification, humidification, cooling and heating functions may be further provided.”)
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee and Lee ‘360, and further in view of Kim.
Regarding claim 11, Lee and Lee ‘360 teach all the claimed features of claim 9, from which claim 11 depends. Lee and Lee ‘360 do not expressly teach the features of claim 11. However, Kim describes a kitchen hood and a ventilation device, and a control method therefor. Kim teaches:
The operation method of an indoor environment control system of claim 9, wherein in the controlling of an operation, when the concentration difference is within a first reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the ventilator and the kitchen hood operate to be turned on according to the first reference concentration difference. Kim: Page 7, last paragraph (“According to the present invention, a kitchen hood 100 configured to suck indoor air and exhaust it to the outside includes a hood air sensor 110 that detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100 ) In the hood air filter 120 that removes pollutants from the air sucked into the interior, and the indoor air sensor 210 that detects the pollutant concentration (H1) measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the indoor air quality. It includes a control unit 130 for controlling the operation of the hood 100 according to the measured pollutant concentration H2.”) Kim: Page 8, first paragraph (“In addition, the ventilation device 200 for ventilating the indoor air according to the present invention, according to the pollutant concentration H1 measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the pollutant concentration measured by the indoor air sensor 210 And a control unit 240 for controlling the operation of the ventilation device 200.”) Kim: Page 8, ninth paragraph (“The hood air sensor 110 may be provided as a sensor for detecting air pollutants that adversely affect human health, such as fine dust and carbon dioxide (CO2), carbon monoxide (CO2), and volatile organic compounds (TVOC).”) Kim: Page 9, tenth through twelfth paragraphs (“The control unit 130 compares the concentration (H1) of the contaminant measured by the hood air sensor 110 with the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of steps, and the hood air sensor 110 The measured concentration H1 of the pollutant may be configured to operate the exhaust mode of the step corresponding to the pollutant concentration range in the hood. The contaminant concentration ranges 171, 172, and 173 in the hood of the plurality of steps may be configured in which the concentration gradually increases. As an example, the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of stages is a contaminant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood and a second stage hood consisting of a concentration range representing the relative pollution degree of good, normal, and bad, respectively. It may be configured to include the pollutant concentration range 172 and the pollutant concentration range 173 in the third stage hood.”) Kim: Page 12, fourteen and fifteenth paragraphs (“The multiple-stage exhaust modes 161, 162, and 163 may have a configuration in which the amount of exhaust per hour by the hood 100 increases step by step as the concentration of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 increases. For example, when the concentration (H1) of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the pollutant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood, which is a good stage, the hood 100 is reduced to the first stage, which is a weak stage. When the hood is operated in the first stage exhaust mode 161 and the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the concentration range 172 of the pollutant in the second stage hood, which is a normal stage, the hood (100) is operated in the second stage exhaust mode 162, which is an intermediate stage, and the pollutant concentration range in the third stage hood in which the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 is in a bad stage ( When 173) is satisfied, the hood 100 is operated in the third stage exhaust mode 163, which is a strong stage.”) [The indoor air sensor 210 detecting the pollutant concentration measured by the hood air sensor 110, which detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100, and the indoor air quality determines “the concentration difference”. The concentration of pollutant detected in the hood based on air sucked into and out of the hood satisfying the pollutant concentration range 171 and controlling the ventilation device and the exhaust mode of the hood at a second stage based on the detected pollutant concentration read on “a first reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator and the kitchen hood according to the first reference concentration difference to be turned on”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee, Gupta, Lee ‘360, and Kim before them, for when the concentration difference is within a first reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator and the kitchen hood according to the first reference concentration difference to be turned on because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would further improve air quality when cooking. Kim Page 13, thirteenth paragraph.
Regarding claim 12, Lee and Lee ‘360 teach all the claimed features of claim 9, from which claim 12 depends. Lee and Lee ‘360 do not expressly teach the features of claim 12. However, Kim describes a kitchen hood and a ventilation device, and a control method therefor. Kim teaches:
The operation method of an indoor environment control system of claim 9, wherein in the controlling of an operation, when the concentration difference is within a second reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the ventilator, the kitchen hood, and the air purifier operate to be turned on according to the second reference concentration difference. Kim: Page 7, last paragraph (“According to the present invention, a kitchen hood 100 configured to suck indoor air and exhaust it to the outside includes a hood air sensor 110 that detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100 ) In the hood air filter 120 that removes pollutants from the air sucked into the interior, and the indoor air sensor 210 that detects the pollutant concentration (H1) measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the indoor air quality. It includes a control unit 130 for controlling the operation of the hood 100 according to the measured pollutant concentration H2.”) Kim: Page 8, first paragraph (“In addition, the ventilation device 200 for ventilating the indoor air according to the present invention, according to the pollutant concentration H1 measured by the hood air sensor 110 and the pollutant concentration measured by the indoor air sensor 210 And a control unit 240 for controlling the operation of the ventilation device 200.”) Kim: Page 8, ninth paragraph (“The hood air sensor 110 may be provided as a sensor for detecting air pollutants that adversely affect human health, such as fine dust and carbon dioxide (CO2), carbon monoxide (CO2), and volatile organic compounds (TVOC).”) Kim: Page 9, tenth through twelfth paragraphs (“The control unit 130 compares the concentration (H1) of the contaminant measured by the hood air sensor 110 with the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of steps, and the hood air sensor 110 The measured concentration H1 of the pollutant may be configured to operate the exhaust mode of the step corresponding to the pollutant concentration range in the hood. The contaminant concentration ranges 171, 172, and 173 in the hood of the plurality of steps may be configured in which the concentration gradually increases. As an example, the contaminant concentration range (171, 172, 173) in the hood of the plurality of stages is a contaminant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood and a second stage hood consisting of a concentration range representing the relative pollution degree of good, normal, and bad, respectively. It may be configured to include the pollutant concentration range 172 and the pollutant concentration range 173 in the third stage hood.”) Kim: Page 12, fourteen and fifteenth paragraphs (“The multiple-stage exhaust modes 161, 162, and 163 may have a configuration in which the amount of exhaust per hour by the hood 100 increases step by step as the concentration of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 increases. For example, when the concentration (H1) of pollutants measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the pollutant concentration range 171 in the first stage hood, which is a good stage, the hood 100 is reduced to the first stage, which is a weak stage. When the hood is operated in the first stage exhaust mode 161 and the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 satisfies the concentration range 172 of the pollutant in the second stage hood, which is a normal stage, the hood (100) is operated in the second stage exhaust mode 162, which is an intermediate stage, and the pollutant concentration range in the third stage hood in which the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 is in a bad stage ( When 173) is satisfied, the hood 100 is operated in the third stage exhaust mode 163, which is a strong stage.”) Kim: Page 10, third and fourth paragraphs (“The control unit 130 operates the hood air filter 120 when the contaminant concentration H1 measured by the hood air sensor 110 is higher than a preset contaminant reference concentration in the hood, and the hood air sensor ... In addition, the control unit 130, when the concentration (H1) of the pollutant measured by the hood air sensor 110 is higher than the reference concentration of the pollutant in the hood is maintained for a predetermined period of time or longer, the hood air filter ( 120) may be made to operate.”) [The indoor air sensor 210 detecting the pollutant concentration measured by the hood air sensor 110, which detects pollutants in the air sucked into the hood 100, and the hood 100, and the indoor air quality determines “the concentration difference”. The concentration of pollutant detected in the hood based on air sucked into and out of the hood and controlling the ventilation device, the exhaust mode of the hood, and the filter at a third stage based on the detected pollutant concentration read on “a second reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator, the kitchen hood, and the air purifier according to the second reference concentration difference to be turned on”.]
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Lee, Gupta, Lee ‘360, and Kim before them, for when the concentration difference is within a second reference concentration difference range and the indoor fine dust concentration is higher than the outdoor fine dust concentration, the operation module operates the ventilator, the kitchen hood, and the air purifier according to the second reference concentration difference to be turned on because the references are in the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention and they are focused on analyzing environmental parameters.
One of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have been motivated to do this modification because it would further improve air quality when cooking. Kim Page 13, thirteenth paragraph.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
Provided that the rejections under 35 USC 112(b) and 35 USC 112(a) are overcome with respect to claims 6 and 8, claims 6, 8, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent Publication No. 2021/0356158 A1 to Kwon et al. describes in Paragraph [0007] “Further, the present invention provides an indoor air quality control method using an intelligent air cleaner which can recommend an appropriate ventilation time by comparing a predicted indoor dust concentration with a degree of outside air pollution.” Kwon also describes in Paragraph [0158] “Further, when the predicted indoor dust concentration progress is determined to be a tendency to degrade, the processor can compare the indoor dust concentration progress with KMA server data. When an indoor dust concentration is higher than an outside dust concentration, further operation of the air cleaner is ended and it can be determined that ventilation is required. However, the indoor dust concentration is lower than the outside dust concentration, it can be determined that ventilation is not required.”
/ALICIA M. CHOI/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117