DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of species I, claims 2-3, 5-7 in the reply filed on 4-3-2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “position estimation target identification unit”,” position estimation policy setting unit”, “position estimation unit” in claims 1-3, 5-7 and 15-16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-7 and 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo 20220053294.
As to claim 1, Guo discloses a communication control apparatus comprising at least one processor (See figures 1, 3A-5 & paragraphs 0051, 0054, 0061, 0076-0081, 0085-0096, 0098, 0104-0116, 0124-0130; The GMLC, AMF and LMF can be considered as one core network device 13 (i.e the claimed communication control apparatus), according to figure 1 '13' & paragraphs 0051, 0054. The core network device receives (performed by one of the GMLC entities of the core network device, see also paragraphs 0051 and 0054 regarding the GMLC) a positioning request (from an external client) for a UE (i.e. thus, the core network device implicitly identifies a position estimation target), selects a positioning method from a plurality of available methods based on certain criteria (i.e. a positioning estimation policy), such as precision requirements, performance requirements, response time etc. and ultimately also determines the location of the terminal device (performed by the LMF entity of the core network device). Note: Regarding the plurality of network entities being considered as a single core network device, it is brought to the attention of the applicant that the current application also isn't clear about whether the claimed communication control apparatus is a single network entity or a combination of more than one (see e.g. paragraph 0036 of the present application: " ... each of the functional units 3A to 3D of the communication control apparatus 3 is realized by AF (Application Function) outside the 5GC and NEF (Network Exposure Function) and/or NWDAF inside the 5GC.", which appears to also be mapping the different sub-units of the claimed device to different network entities.).) that performs:
by a position estimation target identification unit, identifying a position estimation target equipped with a communication function (See figures 1, 3A-5 & paragraphs 0051, 0054, 0061, 0076-0081, 0085-0096, 0098, 0104-0116, 0124-0130; Same reasoning as above);
by a position estimation policy setting unit, setting a position estimation policy for the identified position estimation target (See figures 1, 3A-5 & paragraphs 0051, 0054, 0061, 0076-0081, 0085-0096, 0098, 0104-0116, 0124-0130; Same reasoning as above); and by a position estimation unit, estimating a position of the position estimation target in accordance with the set position estimation policy (See figures 1, 3A-5 & paragraphs 0051, 0054, 0061, 0076-0081, 0085-0096, 0098, 0104-0116, 0124-0130; Same reasoning as above). Guo discloses units in multiple devices. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to integrate the units, since it has been held that forming in one piece an article, which has formerly been formed in two pieces and put together, involves only routine skill in the art. Howard v. Detroit Stove Works, 150 U.S. 164 (1893). The term “integral” is sufficiently broad to embrace constructions united by such means as fastening and welding. In re Hotte, 177 USPQ 326, 328 (CCPA 1973). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to integrate the units to minimize cost and enhance reliability; thereby, increasing customer satisfaction.
As to claim 2, Guo discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position estimation policy setting unit selects and sets the position estimation policy of the identified position estimation target from a plurality of position estimation policies (See paragraphs 0076-0081, 0085-0096; i.e. the positioning requirements).
As to claim 3, Guo discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position estimation policy specifies estimation basis information to be used in the estimation of position by the position estimation unit (See paragraphs 0076-0081, 0085-0096; i.e. the positioning requirements).
As to claim 5, Guo discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position estimation policy specifies a calculation method in the estimation of position by the position estimation unit (See paragraphs 0076-0081, 0085-0096; i.e. the multiple available positioning methods, from which the network device selects one).
As to claim 6, Guo discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position estimation policy specifies estimation accuracy of the position by the position estimation unit (See paragraphs 0076-0081, 0085-0096; i.e. the positioning requirements).
As to claim 7, Guo discloses the communication control apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the position estimation policy specifies position estimation information to be output by the position estimation unit (See paragraphs 0076-0081, 0085-0096; i.e. the positioning requirements).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, they are the corresponding method and computer-readable medium of apparatus claim 1. Therefore, claims 15-16 are rejected for the same reasons as shown above.
Conclusion
MARCOS L. TORRES
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2647
/MARCOS L TORRES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647