DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/13/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 12-14 have been amended. Claims 4, 11 and 15 are canceled. Claims 1-3, 5-10 and 12-14 are pending in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026, have been fully considered and entered but they are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5, 7-8, 10, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost et al. (US 20240040587 A1) hereinafter Rastegardoost.
Regarding claim 1,
Rastegardoost teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (UE, Fig. 1B), the method comprising:
Receiving a first higher layer configuration of a number of hybrid automatic repeat request (HARQ) processes ([0066]);
receiving first single downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a plurality of physical downlink shared channels (PDSCHs): and receiving the plurality of PDSCHs based on the first single DCI, wherein a first HARQ process identifier (ID) is indicated by the first single DCI, and wherein the first HARO process ID indicated by the first single DCI is applied to a first PDSCH among the plurality of PDSCHs and the first HARQ process ID is increased by 1 sequentially for each subsequent PDSCH of the plurality of PDSCHs in scheduled order, with a modulo operation (For multiple PUSCHs/PDSCHs scheduled by a single DCI, NDI and/or RV may be signaled per PUSCH/PDSCH. A number of NDI bits and/or RV bits in the DCI may be determined based on the configured TDRA table. HARQ process ID signaled in the DCI may apply to a first scheduled PUSCH/PDSCH of the multiple PUSCHs/PDSCHs scheduled by the DCI. HARQ process ID may be incremented by 1 for subsequent PUSCHs/PDSCHs in the scheduled order (with modulo operation as needed [0261]) of the number of HARQ processes configured by the first higher layer configuration (For example, modulo operation may be used if the number of scheduled PUSCHs are more than the available/configured number of HARQ IDs [0252]. This is makes it obvious to one with ordinary skills in the art to set the modulo operation of the number of HARQ processes for PUSCH and PDSCH).
Regarding claim 3, is rejected under the same reasoning as claim 1, where Rastegardoost [0261] teaches the same method for multiple PUSCH and multiple PDSCH.
Regarding claims [5, 7] “Base station method”, [8, 10] “UE device”, and [12, 14] “base station”, are rejected under the same reasoning as claims [1, 3] “UE method”, where Rastegardoost teaches method and device for UE and base station (Fig. 1B; [0049]-[0055]).
Claims 2, 6, 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rastegardoost in view of in view of Matsuda et al. (US 20220294569 A1) hereinafter Matsuda.
Regarding claim 2,
Rastegardoost teaches all the features of claim 1, as outlined above.
Rastegardoost des not explicitly teach transmitting capability information associated with a supported maximum number of HARQ processes, wherein the supported maximum number of HARQ processes for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) communication is 32.
Matsuda teaches transmitting capability information associated with a supported maximum number of HARQ processes, wherein the supported maximum number of HARQ processes for a non-terrestrial network (NTN) communication is 32 (the number of HARQ processes may be switched to 32 [0269]-[0271] for NTN [0261).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to add the teachings of Matsuda to the teachings of Rastegardoost. One would have been motivated to do so, with a reasonable expectation of success, because it would enhance performance for non-terrestrial networks, NTNs (Matsuda [0003]).
Regarding claims [6] “Base station method”, [9] “UE device”, and [13] “base station”, are rejected under the same reasoning as claim [2] “UE method”, where Rastegardoost teaches method and device for UE and base station (Fig. 1B; [0049]-[0055]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to AYMAN A ABAZA whose telephone number is (571)270-0422. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 8-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Deborah Reynolds, can be reached at 571-272-0734. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465