DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1, 7, and 10 are amended. Claims 2-6, and 8-9 are as previously presented. Claim 12 is newly added. Therefore, claims 1-12 are pending and considered herein.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 09/30/2025 has been entered and overcomes all previously set forth 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks: p. 2-3, filed 09/30/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of further search and consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “annular sealing rib” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: "piercing means" in claim 1 (including depending claims).
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
The following 3-Prong Test is used to detail the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) pertaining to the limitation “piercing means” in claim 1 (and dependent claims):
The generic place holder, “means,” is identified and is not indicative of any specific known, limiting feature.
“means” is modified by the functional language “piercing.” The generic placeholder is set forth by the function it performs.
Sufficient structure for achieving the claimed function follows the aforementioned limitation, as recited by the claim limitation: “the piercing means comprises a piercing tip.”
Thus, the limitation “piercing means” in claim 1 is given the broadest reasonable interpretation set forth by the structure of the “piercing tip,” provided by claim 1 (and dependent claims).
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
"connection means" in claim 11
The following 3-Prong Test is used to detail the invocation of 35 U.S.C. 112(f) pertaining to the limitation “connection means” in claim 11:
The generic place holder, “means,” is identified and is not indicative of any specific known, limiting feature.
“means” is modified by the functional language “connection.” The generic placeholder is set forth by the function it performs.
A lack of sufficient structure for achieving the claimed function follows the aforementioned limitation.
Thus, the limitation “connection means” in claim 11 is given the broadest reasonable interpretation set forth by the specifications to mean: “snap-fitting, screwing, bayonet, etc.,” Applicant’s specifications, p. 11 para. 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Sugawara et al. (US 12179993 B2).
Regarding claim 1, Sugawara discloses fluid product dispenser comprising: a fluid product reservoir (inner container 14) comprising a neck (neck part 14d) defining an opening (refer to fig. 1B) and an upper annular edge (upper end surface 14e), the reservoir being provided with a blocking member (lid 15) which seals the opening of the neck (col. 8 ll. 21-36), the blocking member comprising a pierceable membrane (closure part 15d), the pierceable membrane is disposed inside the neck axially away from the upper annular edge (refer to fig. 1A), an assembly comprising a dispensing member (stem 22 and stem rubber 26), received in the blocking member of the reservoir (refer to figs. 1A and 2A), the assembly comprising piercing means (seal opening part 127) for piercing the pierceable membrane (refer to figs. 3A-3B), wherein the piercing means comprise a piercing tip (bottom surface 27a) formed at the lower end of a sheath (valve 121 and cap 112) in which the dispensing member is received (refer to fig. 2A).
Regarding claim 2, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Sugawara further discloses wherein the sheath comes into sealed annular radial contact with the blocking member (via seal 28, col. 12 ll. 21-27).
Regarding claim 3, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Sugawara further discloses wherein the blocking member comprises a sleeve (both the seal part 15a and fitting cylindrical part 15a1) which extends into the neck from the upper annular edge, the pierceable membrane being connected to a lower end of the sleeve (refer to fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 7, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Sugawara further discloses wherein the blocking member comprises an annular collar (annular disk part 17) that rests on the upper annular edge (refer to fig. 2B and col. 10 ll. 60-66) and a sleeve (both the seal part 15a and fitting cylindrical part 15a1), connected to the annular collar which extends into the neck (refer to fig. 2B).
Regarding claim 8, in addition to the limitations of claim 7, Sugawara further discloses a ring (valve holder 18) mounted around the neck and which comes into engagement with the annular collar to press it against the upper annular edge (refer to fig. 3B).
Regarding claim 9, in addition to the limitations of claim 7, Sugawara further discloses wherein the annular collar internally forms an annular sealing rib on its internal wall (refer to the annotated figure below),
the sheath coming into sealed annular radial contact with this annular sealing rib (refer to col. 12 l. 64 to col. 13 l. 10, describing the sealed nature).
Regarding claim 10, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Sugawara further discloses wherein the sheath is formed by a casing (cap 120) that comprise an opening for the dispensing member and a connection system for the reservoir (fig. 7 and col. 13 ll. 11-33, wherein the cap 120 connected to the container body 16).
Regarding claim 11, in addition to the limitations of claim 10, Sugawara further discloses wherein the casing is provided with a case (cover part 42) provided with an insertion/extraction opening (in which container body 16 is inserted into) and defining an insertion/extraction axis X (along the central axis of container body 16), the fluid product reservoir being engaged in the case through the insertion/extraction opening and removably connected to the connection system (refer to fig. 7), the reservoir comprising connection means (threads on neck part 13d) and a bottom accessible at the insertion/extraction opening to exert an axial thrust on the reservoir in order to cause the connection means to cooperate with the connection system (refer to fig. 7, wherein a user can apply a trust while inserting the container body 16 into the cap 120).
Regarding claim 12, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Sugawara further discloses wherein the dispenser member is a pump or a valve (stem 22 and stem rubber 26 and col. 14 ll. 14-27).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 12179993 B2), as applied in claim 1, further in view of Klingaman (US 3966089 A).
Regarding claim 4, in addition to the limitations of claim 3, Sugawara further discloses wherein the neck projects from a shoulder (shoulder part 14c), however, remains silent to the sleeve extending substantially over the entire height of the neck and the pierceable membrane being positioned substantially at this shoulder. Klingaman teaches the sleeve (cradle 18) extending substantially over the entire height of the neck (refer to figs. 1 and 4) and the pierceable membrane (capsule 20) being positioned substantially at this shoulder (refer to fig. 1). The courts have held that when the only difference between the claimed invention and the prior art is a rearrangement of parts, that the location of the feature is not patentably significant. See MPEP 2144.01(VI)(C), discussing In reJapikse, 181 F.2d 1019, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the device to include the seal part substantially at the shoulder. Applicant has appeared to have placed no criticality on this location and as evidenced by the teachings of Klingaman above which show such a location to be suitable for sealing between the claimed components.
Additionally, it would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the sleeve to be over the entire height of the neck. In doing so, one can efficiently utilizes the space at the top of the bottle, allowing for the connection of a dispensing top (refer to Klingaman: fig. 1).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 12179993 B2).
Regarding claim 5, in addition to the limitations of claim 3, Sugawara further discloses, in the embodiment of figure 8, wherein the sleeve forms an annular sealing rib (engaging projections 15h) on its internal wall (refer to fig. 8), the sheath coming into sealed annular radial contact with this annular sealing rib (via engaging projection 18g). It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device to include ribbing, as the disclosure of Sugawara allows for such modification between embodiments (col. 43 ll. 21-51)
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugawara (US 12179993 B2), as applied in claim 1, further in view of Easter (US 3655096 A).
Regarding claim 6, in addition to the limitations of claim 1, Sugawara remains silent to the pierceable membrane has a conical shape facing the inside of the reservoir, however, Easter teaches the pierceable membrane (cartridge 20) has a conical shape facing the inside of the reservoir (fig. 3). It would have been prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the pierceable membrane to have a conical shape facing the inside of the reservoir. In doing so, one skilled in the art can utilize the space within the reservoir, conserving space in which the dispensing mechanism can exist.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Smith (US 7607555 B2) for the piercing means and Faurie (US 20040074925 A1) for the piercing, receiving, and connecting means.
/CHRISTOPHER S. PARISI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/DAVID P ANGWIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754