DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
While there is support to recite that a specific protruding portion, i.e. protruding portion configured as a steel ball, protrudes “through an opening formed through the housing plate” (page 3, lines 17-19), there is no support to broadly recite any protruding portion. i.e. protruding portion in any configuration, protrudes “through an opening formed through the housing plate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fukuoka et al. (US 20180287111 A1).
Regarding claim 1:
Fukuoka et al. discloses:
In Figure 20 above, a battery pack 200, i.e. multiple battery modules, comprising a stacked body 100S, i.e. battery cell stack comprising a plurality of battery cells arranged and stacked in first direction, i.e. the z-direction ([0115]).
In Figure 20 above, an upper pressure plate 251, lower pressure plate 152, and side plates 153, i.e. a module housing configured to accommodate the battery cell stack ([0117]).
In Figure 20 above, a deformation prevention structure comprised of an intermediate member 280, i.e. pressing plate, and elastic member 270, i.e. flat spring, disposed between the upper pressure plate 251, lower pressure plate 152, and side plates 153, i.e. a module housing, and a unit cell 110, i.e. outermost peripheral battery cell among the plurality of battery cells ([0117], [0118]).
In Figure 20 above, the upper pressure plate 251, lower pressure plate 152, and side plates 153, i.e. a module housing, comprising an upper pressure plate, i.e. housing plate, adjacent to the unit cell 110, i.e. outermost peripheral battery cell ([0117], [0122]).
In Figure 21A above, the deformation prevention structure comprising an intermediate member 280, i.e. pressing plate, welded to the elastic member 270 at contact point a1, and the elastic member 270 further welded to the adjacent upper pressure plate 251, i.e. housing plate, at contact point a1, i.e. the pressing plate is fixed to the housing plate and supported on the battery cell stack ([0125]).
In Figure 20 and 21A above, at least one elastic member 270, 271, 272, sometimes referred to as plate springs ([0119] lines 6-7), i.e. a flat spring, disposed between the intermediate member 280, i.e. pressing plate, and upper pressure plate 251, i.e. housing plate ([0117], [0118]).
In Figure 23 above, the upper pressure plate 251 comprises a hole 251e, i.e. an opening formed through the housing plate, used when clamping and transporting the battery pack 200. The hole 251e is configured such that a clamp member 706, i.e. at least one protruding portion, on the equipment side can enter inside the chassis at, for example, the four corners of the upper pressure plate 251, as illustrated in FIG. 23, i.e. protruding from an outer surface of the housing plate. In the clamp member 706 that clamps the battery pack 200, there are cases in which the distal end of the clamping location has an L shape, for example, as illustrated by the chain double-dashed line in FIG. 23. By configuring the hole 251e as described above, the clamp member 706 on the equipment side is able to enter the hole 251e and lift up the upper pressure plate 251 by hooking the flat portion of the L shape onto the inner wall of the upper pressure plate 251 ([0123]).
In Figure 23 above, the elastic member 272 and the intermediate member 280, i.e. pressing plate, are welded at the contact point a1, and the elastic member 271 is further welded to the adjacent upper pressure plate 251, i.e. housing plate. Therefore, the clamp 706, protruding from an outer surface of the upper pressure plate, is supported on the intermediate member 280 ([0117], [0118]).
Regarding claim 2:
Fukuoka et al. discloses:
In Figure 2A above, the upper pressure plate 151, i.e. housing plate, has a pressing surface 151a, i.e. a cover main body, elongated in a longitudinal direction of the outermost peripheral battery cell as seen in Figure 20 above; and in Figure 2A a holding portion 151b, i.e. strut parts, on opposite ends of the upper pressure plate ([0082]).
In Figure 20 above, the intermediate member 280, i.e. pressing plate, necessarily has a pressing main body, and it is elongated in the longitudinal direction of the outermost peripheral battery cell at an interval from the pressing surface, i.e. cover main body, of the upper pressure plate 251, and supported on the unit cell 110, i.e. outermost peripheral battery cell ([0122], [0123]).
In Figure 2A above, a locating hole 151c, i.e. fixing part, at each end of the pressing surface 151a, i.e. cover main body are fixed to a holding portion 151b, i.e. strut part, of the upper pressure plate 151, i.e. housing plate ([0082]).
Regarding claim 10:
Fukuoka et al. discloses a spacer 121, 122, i.e. gap prevention member, ([0039], Figure 7A) is disposed between the unit cell 110, i.e. outermost peripheral battery cell, and the intermediate member 280, i.e. pressing plate ([0113], [0122]).
Regarding claim 11:
Fukuoka et al. discloses Figure 20 above is a perspective view illustrating the battery module of claim 1 as set forth above ([0114]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 18th, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Fukuoka et al. fails to disclose the distinguishing features of amended claim 1, including “the deformation prevention structure comprises:… at least one protruding portion supported on the pressing plate and protruding from an outer surface of the housing plate through an opening formed through the housing plate.”
However, in light of applicant's amendment, new grounds of rejection are set forth above regarding Fukuoka. Specifically in Figure 23 above, the upper pressure plate 251 comprises a hole 251e, i.e. an opening formed through the housing plate, used when clamping and transporting the battery pack 200. The hole 251e is configured such that a clamp member 706, i.e. at least one protruding portion, on the equipment side can enter inside the chassis at, for example, the four corners of the upper pressure plate 251, as illustrated in FIG. 23, i.e. protruding from an outer surface of the housing plate. In the clamp member 706 that clamps the battery pack 200, there are cases in which the distal end of the clamping location has an L shape, for example, as illustrated by the chain double-dashed line in FIG. 23. By configuring the hole 251e as described above, the clamp member 706 on the equipment side is able to enter the hole 251e and lift up the upper pressure plate 251 by hooking the flat portion of the L shape onto the inner wall of the upper pressure plate 251 ([0123]).
In Figure 23 above, the elastic member 272 and the intermediate member 280, i.e. pressing plate, are welded at the contact point a1, and the elastic member 271 is further welded to the adjacent upper pressure plate 251, i.e. housing plate. Therefore, the clamp 706, protruding from an outer surface of the upper pressure plate, is supported on the intermediate member 280 ([0117], [0118]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lee et al. (EP 3863108 A1) discloses an end plate, i.e. housing plate, that may be provided with a reinforcing rib to increase rigidity ([0063] lines 1-2). However, Lee et al. does not teach a rib having at least one accommodation portion provided on a surface of the housing plate that faces the pressing plate, and the at least one protruding portion is configured as a steel ball accommodated in the at least one accommodation portion and partially protruding through an opening formed through the housing plate.
/MADISON ELIZABETH BROWN/Examiner, Art Unit 1787
/CALLIE E SHOSHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1787