DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, 16, and 23 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “A method for rejection of responding to a paging”, however it seems to make more sense a “A method of responding to a paging with a rejection” or the like;
Claim 10 recites “A method for rejection of responding to a paging”, however it seems to make more sense a “A method of responding to a paging rejection” or the like;
Claim 16 recites recites “A method for rejection of responding to a paging”, however it seems to make more sense a “A method of responding to a paging rejection” or the like;
Claim 23 recites on line 6 “rejection of responding to the paging” however it seems to make more sense a “responding to a paging with a rejection” or the like.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-11, 15-17, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by “Sony” (SA WG2 Meeting #135 S2-1909466).
As to claim 1, (Original) Sony discloses A method for rejection of responding to a paging, executed by a terminal device (UE), comprising:
receiving a paging message sent by an access network device (see Fig 2 “4. Paging message” / “4. RAN B pages UE B”); and
sending a service request message (“5. Busy” / “5. UE… sends a Service Request towards the AMF with the new cause “busy”…”) to the access network device (AMF), wherein the service request message comprises a paging reject response identifier (busy). See Fig 2 / 6.X.3 Procedures.
As to claim 2, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the paging reject response identifier is configured to indicate a rejection of responding to the paging message (… “is not able to enter CM_CONNECTED”). See #5. On page 4.
As to claim 3, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 1, before sending the service request message to the access network device, further comprising: switching from a first radio resource control (RRC) state to a second RRC state (see page 3, Note 1: “It is possible that UE A uses agreed RAN2 Rel-16 method requesting to release the RRC connection and enter RRC-INACTIVE).
As to claim 4, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the terminal device receives the paging message in an RRC inactive state (see page 3, Note 1: “It is possible that UE A uses agreed RAN2 Rel-16 method requesting to release the RRC connection and enter RRC-INACTIVE).
As to claim 5, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 3, wherein the first RRC state is an RRC inactive state, and the second RRC state is an RRC connected state. See 6.x.2.
As to claim 6, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 1, wherein the terminal device has a first communication card (A) and a second communication card (B), and the terminal device receives the paging message by employing the second communication card (B). See Page 4/ Fig 2. “0. A multi-USIM device…”
As to claim 7, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 6, further comprising: determining whether to make a rejection of responding to the paging message based on a service state of the first communication card and a paging reason, wherein the paging reason is comprised in the paging message. See 4a.
As to claim 9, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 1, further comprising: determining whether to make a rejection of responding to the paging message based on a paging reason, wherein the paging reason (network assistance information) is comprised in the paging message. See 4a.
As to claim 10, (Original) Sony discloses A method for rejection of responding to a paging, executed by an access network device, comprising:
sending a paging message to a terminal device (4.); and
receiving a service request message sent by the terminal device, wherein the service request message comprises a paging reject response identifier (5.). See Fig 2.
As to claim 11, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 10, wherein the paging reject response identifier is configured to indicate a rejection (busy) of responding to the paging message. See (5.).
As to claim 15, (Currently Amended) Sony discloses The method of any of claim 10, further comprising:
sending the service request message to a core network device (AMF). See (6.)
As to claim 16, (Original) Sony discloses A method for rejection of responding to a paging, executed by a core network device (AMF), comprising:
receiving a service request message sent by an access network device, wherein the service request message comprises a paging reject response identifier. See Fig 2: (6.).
As to claim 17, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 16, wherein the paging reject response identifier is configured to indicate a rejection of responding to a paging message. See “5.”.
As to claim 23, (Currently Amended) Sony discloses A communication terminal device (UE), inherently comprising:
a transceiver; a memory; and a processor, connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively, and configured to control the transceiver to receive and transmit wireless signals and implement the method for rejection of responding to the paging according to claim 1 by executing computer-executable instructions in the memory. See Background.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8, 14, and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony as applied above to claim 1 and further in view of Casati (2024/0137910).
As to claim 8. (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 1, is silent to yet in an analogous art Casati discloses wherein the service request message further comprises paging filtering information, wherein the paging filtering information is configured to filter the paging message for the terminal device. See [0212]. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sony such that the service request message further comprises paging filtering information, wherein the paging filtering information is configured to filter the paging message for the terminal device as taught by Casati for the purpose of enabling the filtering…
As to claim 14, (Original) Sony disclose The method of claim 10, is silent to yet in an analogous art Casati discloses wherein the service request message further comprises paging filtering information, and the method further comprises: filtering the paging message for the terminal device based on the paging filtering information. See [0212]. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sony such that the service request message further comprises paging filtering information, wherein the paging filtering information is configured to filter the paging message for the terminal device on the paging filtering information as taught by Casati for the purpose of enabling the filtering…
As to claim 18, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 16, wherein the service request message is generated when a terminal device makes a rejection of responding to a paging message (5. Busy), Sony is silent yet in an analogous art Casati discloses the service request message further comprises paging filtering information, and the method further comprises: filtering the paging message for the terminal device based on the paging filtering information. See [0212]. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sony such that the service request message further comprises paging filtering information, wherein the paging filtering information is configured to filter the paging message for the terminal device on the paging filtering information as taught by Casati for the purpose of enabling the filtering…
As to claim 19, (Original) the combination of Sony and Casati discloses The method of claim 18, Sony further discloses comprising: stopping paging the terminal device and discarding cached downlink data based on the paging reject response identifier. See “7.”.
Claim(s) 12 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sony as applied above to claim 1 and further in view of Li et al. (11641638), hereinafter “Li”
As to claim 12, (Original) Sony discloses The method of claim 10, is silent to yet in an analogous art Li discloses wherein after sending the paging message to the terminal device, further comprising: controlling an RRC link for the terminal device to switch from a first RRC state to a second RRC state, (claim 13) wherein the first RRC state is an RRC inactive state, and the second RRC state is an RRC connected state. See col 13 lines 37-51: “… After receiving a paging message, the terminal device is switched from RRC inactive state to the RRC connected state…”. Before the effective filing date of the instant invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify Sony wherein after sending the paging message to the terminal device, further comprising: controlling an RRC link for the terminal device to switch from a RRC inactive state to a RRC connected state as taught by Li in order for the UE to receive data.
Conclusion
LESTER G. KINCAID
Primary Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/LESTER G KINCAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2649