DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed on 01/28/2026.
Claims 4-8 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4, 6, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kittichokechai et al. (US 2023/0171778 A1; hereafter KITT).
With respect to claim 4, KITT discloses a terminal apparatus (412-4, 412-2, 412-1 of FIG. 4; 412 of FIG. 5) comprising:
a receiver (2500, 2510 in FIG. 25) configured to receive a radio resource control (RRC) message including a higher layer parameter (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value); and
a transmitter (2500, 2508 in FIG. 25) configured to transmit a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (1604 of FIG. 16; 502 in FIG. 5),
wherein a transmission of the PUCCH is repeated (PUCCH Rep#1, PUCCH Rep#2 in FIG. 9; PUCCH Rep#1, PUCCH Rep#2 in FIG. 10),
a length of a time domain window is configured by the higher layer parameter (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value),
a start position of the time domain window is a first slot for the transmission of the PUCCH being repeated (paragraphs [0132] and [0135]),
a hopping interval is a same length as the time domain window (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value), and
a physical resource block (PRB) related to repetition of the transmission of the PUCCH is switched between a first PRB and a second PRB in every one of the hopping interval (paragraph [0141], see the first PRB and second PRB for even and odd numbered sub-slots).
With respect to claim 6, KITT discloses a base station apparatus (402-1, 402-2 in FIG. 4; 402 in FIG. 5) comprising:
a transmitter (2212 in FIG. 22) configured to transmit a radio resource control (RRC) message including a higher layer parameter (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value); and
a receiver (2214 in FIG. 22) configured to receive a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (1604 of FIG. 16; 502 in FIG. 5), wherein
a transmission of the PUCCH is repeated (PUCCH Rep#1, PUCCH Rep#2 in FIG. 9; PUCCH Rep#1, PUCCH Rep#2 in FIG. 10),
a length of a time domain window is configured by the higher layer parameter (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value),
a start position of the time domain window is a first slot for the transmission of the PUCCH being repeated (paragraphs [0132] and [0135]),
a hopping interval is a same length as the time domain window (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value), and
a physical resource block (PRB) related to repetition of the transmission of the PUCCH is switched between a first PRB and a second PRB in every one of the hopping interval (paragraph [0141], see the first PRB and second PRB for even and odd numbered sub-slots).
With respect to claim 8, KITT discloses a communication method (Abstract, Title) used in a terminal apparatus (412-4, 412-2, 412-1 of FIG. 4; 412 of FIG. 5), the communication method comprising:
receiving a radio resource control (RRC) message including a higher layer parameter (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value); and
transmitting a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) (1604 of FIG. 16; 502 in FIG. 5), wherein
a transmission of the PUCCH is repeated (PUCCH Rep#1, PUCCH Rep#2 in FIG. 9; PUCCH Rep#1, PUCCH Rep#2 in FIG. 10),
a length of a time domain window is configured by the higher layer parameter (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value),
a start position of the time domain window is a first slot for the transmission of the PUCCH being repeated (paragraphs [0132] and [0135]),
a hopping interval is a same length as the time domain window (1600, 1602 in FIG. 16; 500 in FIG. 5; paragraphs [0118] and [0121] and [0122]; see the RRC parameter ‘nrofSubslots value), and
a physical resource block (PRB) related to repetition of the transmission of the PUCCH is switched between a first PRB and a second PRB in every one of the hopping interval (paragraph [0141], see the first PRB and second PRB for even and odd numbered sub-slots).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KITT in view of LIN et al. (US 2025/0279872 A1; hereafter LIN).
With respect to claim 5, KITT does not disclose the terminal apparatus according to claim 4, wherein the terminal apparatus maintains phase continuity and power consistency within the time domain window.
LIN discloses wherein the terminal apparatus maintains phase continuity and power consistency within the time domain window (708 in FIG. 7; paragraphs [0255], [0256], [0257], [0258], [0259], [0260], [0277] and [0306]).
LIN teaches the benefit of improved data reception performance by using coherent transmissions (paragraph [0029] and [0030]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use coherent setting as taught by LIN with the apparatuses of KITT to produce an expected result.
With respect to claim 7, KITT does not disclose the base station apparatus according to claim 6,
wherein the receiver is configured to receive the PUCCH with an expectation that phase continuity and power consistency are maintained within the time domain window.
LIN discloses wherein the receiver is configured to receive the PUCCH with an expectation that phase continuity and power consistency are maintained within the time domain window (708 in FIG. 7; paragraphs [0255], [0256], [0257], [0258], [0259], [0260], [0277] and [0306]).
LIN teaches the benefit of improved data reception performance by using coherent transmissions (paragraph [0029] and [0030]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use coherent setting as taught by LIN with the apparatuses of KITT to produce an expected result.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 01/28/2026, with respect to the rejection of claims 4, 6, and 8 under Taherzadeh Boroujeni et al. have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground of rejection is made in view of Kittichokechai et al..
Conclusion
/BRIAN T O CONNOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465 May 23, 2026