DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Preliminary Amendment filed November 1, 2023 has been entered and considered with the Office Action below.
Drawings
The drawings were received on November 1, 2023. These drawings are accepted.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the last two sentences of the Abstract are considered purported merits. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 6-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Strommegjerde et al. (US 2019/0084016, Strom).
Regarding claim 1: Strom discloses a method of operating an electric heating system having at least first and second sections 101 – Fig 13 disposed in neighboring longitudinal succession along a subsea pipeline Fig 13, Abstract, [0042]-[0047], the method comprising, in repeating cycle [0150], [0183], [0226]:
for a first period of time, supplying greater heating power to the first section than to the second section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power on to the first section and power off to the second; and then
decreasing the level of heating power supplied to the first section while increasing the level of heating power supplied to the second section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power will decrease while turning power off in first section and power will increase while turning power on in second section; and then
for a second period, of time, supplying greater heating power to the second section than to the first section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power off to the first section and power on to the second; and then
decreasing the level of heating power supplied to the second section while increasing the level of heating power supplied to the first section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power will increase while turning power on in first section and power will decrease while turning power off in second section,
so that the levels of heating power supplied to the first and second sections are in mutually-opposed alternation throughout the cycle on versus off.
Regarding claim 2: The method deactivating turning off or being off the second section for the first period and deactivating turning off or being off the first section before and for the second period.
Regarding claim 6: The method comprising increasing heating power supplied to the first section power will increase when the power is turned on to the first section while reducing heating power supplied to the second section power will decrease when power is turned off to the second section in a transition between the end of the second period and the beginning of the first period.
Regarding claim 7: The method comprising reducing heating power supplied to the first section power will decrease when power is turned off to the first section while increasing heating power supplied to the second section power will increase when the power is turned on to the second section in a transition between the end of the first period, and the beginning of the second period.
Regarding claim 8: The method comprising varying levels of heating power supplied to the first and second sections throughout the cycle cycling between power on and power off.
Regarding claim 9: The method comprising keeping a level of heating power supplied to the first section substantially constant throughout the first period power on – no disclosure of varying the power supplied to a section during the on cycle.
Regarding claim 10: The method comprising keeping a level of heating power supplied to the second section substantially constant throughout the second period power on – no disclosure of varying the power supplied to a section during the on cycle.
Regarding claim 11: The method comprising supplying a greater maximum level of heating power to the first section than to the second section during the first period, the power to the first section will be greater than the power to the second.
Regarding claim 12: The method comprising maintaining aggregate power supplied to the system at a substantially constant level throughout the cycle [0150], [0183].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strom in view of Nolte (US 2010/0084393).
Regarding claim 4: Strom discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the method including adjusting timing of the cycle in response to measuring temperature of fluid within or flowing from the pipeline.
Nolte discloses a method and system similar to that of Strom. Nolte discloses using temperature measurements via 50 of the pipeline to determine how long the heating or cooling cycles of sections of a pipeline should be Abstract, [0003]-[0006].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Strom so that the method included adjusting timing of the cycle in response to measuring temperature of fluid within or flowing from the pipeline, as taught by Nolte, in order to have ensured that power was not wasted [0005].
Regarding claim 5: Strom discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the method including adjusting levels of heating power supplied to the first and second sections in response to measuring temperature of fluid within or flowing from the pipeline.
Nolte discloses a method and system similar to that of Strom. Nolte discloses using temperature measurements via 50 of the pipeline to determine how long the heating or cooling cycles of sections of a pipeline should be as well as the amount of power to supply to the sections Abstract, [0003]-[0006], [0012]-[0014].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Strom so that the method included adjusting levels of heating power supplied to the first and second sections in response to measuring temperature of fluid within or flowing from the pipeline, as taught by Nolte, in order to have ensured that power was not wasted [0005].
This modification would have resulted in a change to the power supplied to the sections during each on cycle.
Claim(s) 13-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strom in view of Radan et al. (US 2015/0016812, Radan).
Regarding claim 13: Strom discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the method including powering the first and second sections via an automated subsea switchboard. Strom does disclose using a control system [0211].
Radan discloses a method and system similar to that of Strom. The system of Radan is controlled automatically by a subsea control unit 50 and associated switchboard 54 – Fig 2, [0036], [0070].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Strom so that the method incudes powering the first and second sections via an automated subsea switchboard, as taught by Radan, in order to have been able to heat pipeline sections that are at greater distances from the main power supply [0008].
Regarding claims 14 and 18: Strom discloses an electric heating system Fig 13, Abstract for a subsea pipeline, the system comprising:
at least first and second heating sections 101 – Fig 13 that are disposed in neighboring longitudinal succession along the pipeline Fig 13, Abstract, [0042]-[0047]; and
a controller [0211] that is configured to control the supply of power to the first and second sections in a repeating cycle [0150], [0183], [0226] in which:
for a first period of time, supplying greater heating power to the first section than to the second section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power on to the first section and power off to the second; and then
decreasing the level of heating power supplied to the first section while increasing the level of heating power supplied to the second section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power will decrease while turning power off in first section and power will increase while turning power on in second section; and then
for a second period, of time, supplying greater heating power to the second section than to the first section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power off to the first section and power on to the second; and then
decreasing the level of heating power supplied to the second section while increasing the level of heating power supplied to the first section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power will increase while turning power on in first section and power will decrease while turning power off in second section,
so that the levels of heating power supplied to the first and second sections are in mutually-opposed alternation throughout the cycle on versus off.
Strom discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the system including a switchboard and the controller being configured to control the switchboard to supply power to the sections.
Radan discloses a method and system similar to that of Strom. The system of Radan is controlled automatically by a subsea control unit 50 and associated switchboard 13, 54 – Fig 2, 3, [0036], [0053], [0070].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Strom so that the method incudes powering the first and second sections via an automated subsea switchboard, as taught by Radan, in order to have been able to heat pipeline sections that are at greater distances from the main power supply [0008].
Regarding claim 15: Wherein the switchboard 54 of Radan is on a surface installation Fig 2 of Radan, above the water.
Regarding claim 16: Wherein the switchboard 13 of Radan is at a subsea location Fig 2, 3, [0053] of Radan.
Regarding claim 17: Wherein the switchboard is configured to operate the cycle autonomously [0036] of Radan.
Regarding claim 18: Strom, as modified, discloses a subsea pipeline Fig 1 of Strom, Fig 2 of Radan fitted with at least one of the above described heating system.
Claim(s) 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strom in view of Radan as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Nolte.
Regarding claim 19: Strom, as modified, discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the pipeline further comprising at least one temperature sensor mounted on or downstream of the pipeline and connected to the switchboard to send production fluid temperature feedback to the switchboard.
Nolte discloses a method and system similar to that of Strom. Nolte discloses using temperature measurements taken by transducers 50 mounted on or downstream of the pipeline Fig 2 to send fluid temperature feedback to a controller 40, 26, Abstract, [0003]-[0006].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the system of Strom to include at least one temperature sensor mounted on or downstream of the pipeline and connected to the switchboard to send production fluid temperature feedback to the switchboard, as suggested by Nolte, so the timing of the cycle and power supplied can be adjusted in order to have ensured that power was not wasted [0005].
Regarding claim 20: Wherein the switchboard is configured to respond to said feedback by adjusting timing of the cycle Abstract, [0003]-[0006] of Nolte.
Regarding claim 21: Wherein the switchboard is configured to respond to said feedback by adjusting levels of heating power supplied to the first and second sections Abstract, [0003]-[0006], [0012]-[0014] of Nolte.
Claim(s) 22 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strom in view of Radan and Nolte.
Regarding claim 22: Strom discloses an offshore hydrocarbon production installation [0115] comprising a subsea pipeline 101 – Fig 13 with an electrical heating system Fig 13, Abstract, the pipeline includes at least first and second heating sections 101 – Fig 13 that are disposed in neighboring longitudinal succession along the pipeline Fig 13, Abstract, [0042]-[0047], the electrical heating system including:
a controller [0211] that is configured to control the supply of power to the first and second sections in a repeating cycle [0150], [0183], [0226] in which:
for a first period of time, supplying greater heating power to the first section than to the second section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power on to the first section and power off to the second; and then
decreasing the level of heating power supplied to the first section while increasing the level of heating power supplied to the second section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power will decrease while turning power off in first section and power will increase while turning power on in second section; and then
for a second period, of time, supplying greater heating power to the second section than to the first section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power off to the first section and power on to the second; and then
decreasing the level of heating power supplied to the second section while increasing the level of heating power supplied to the first section [0150], [0183], [0226] – power will increase while turning power on in first section and power will decrease while turning power off in second section,
so that the levels of heating power supplied to the first and second sections are in mutually-opposed alternation throughout the cycle on versus off.
Strom discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the system including a switchboard and the controller being configured to control the switchboard to supply power to the sections and at least one temperature sensor mounted on or downstream of the pipeline and connected to the switchboard to send production fluid temperature feedback to the switchboard.
Radan discloses a method and system similar to that of Strom. The system of Radan is controlled automatically by a subsea control unit 50 and associated switchboard 13, 54 – Fig 2, 3, [0036], [0053], [0070].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified Strom so that the method incudes powering the first and second sections via an automated subsea switchboard, as taught by Radan, in order to have been able to heat pipeline sections that are at greater distances from the main power supply [0008].
Strom discloses all of the limitations of the above claim(s) except the system including at least one temperature sensor mounted on or downstream of the pipeline and connected to the switchboard to send production fluid temperature feedback to the switchboard.
Nolte discloses a method and system similar to that of Strom. Nolte discloses using temperature measurements taken by transducers 50 mounted on or downstream of the pipeline Fig 2 to send fluid temperature feedback to a controller 40, 26, Abstract, [0003]-[0006].
It would have been considered obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have further modified the system of Strom to include at least one temperature sensor mounted on or downstream of the pipeline and connected to the switchboard to send production fluid temperature feedback to the switchboard, as suggested by Nolte, so the timing of the cycle and power supplied can be adjusted in order to have ensured that power was not wasted [0005].
Regarding claim 23: Wherein the heating system is powered via an umbilical that extends from a power unit at the surface and connects to the heating system between the first and second sections [0125].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 3 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest a method for operating an electrical heating system on a subsea pipeline that includes at least first and second sections, wherein the method includes continuing to supply heating power to the second section for a first period of time and to the first section for a second period of time as recited in the claimed method.
Conclusion
/JENNIFER H GAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619
JHG
2/5/2026