DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 10, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being anticipated by Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al.
Zerfass et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0231664 A1) is directed toward a fuel cell electrode assembly (abstract). Ong et al. (US Pub. 2001/0028973A1) is direct toward stacking and manifolding unitized solid oxide fuel cells (title).
Regarding Claim 1, Zerfass et al. discloses a Solid Oxide Cell (“SOC”) stack comprising (i.e.: fuel cell stack 100 in ¶64 with various aspects of Claim 1 depicted in FIG. 1-6):
plurality of stacked cell units (i.e.: a plurality of fuel cell units 102 which are stacked in the vertical direction 104 in a pile as described in ¶64);
each cell unit comprises a cell layer (i.e.: each of the fuel cell units 102 comprises a housing 106 which has an upper housing part 108 and a lower housing part 110 with an electrochemical unit 112 sandwiched between the two housing parts (¶66). The electrochemical unit 112 comprises a substrate 114, a contact material 116 that is arranged on the side of the substrate 114 facing the lower housing part 110 and a cathode electrolyte anode unit 118 in ¶66);
and an interconnect layer depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 of Zerfass et al. The interconnect layer is comprised of interconnect and a spacer. The spacer maps onto the folded flat metal sheet 120 with peripheral edge 124 (¶67-69) and the interconnect maps onto folded rectangular sheet metal 132 extending into element 136 (¶73-76);
one interconnect layer separates one cell layer from the adjacent cell layer in the cell stack as depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 where the spacer 120 and the interconnect 132/136 which wrap around the cell layer 114/116/118 and separate it from the adjacent cell layer);
wherein the interconnect layer comprises an integrated interconnect and spacer made from one piece of plate with the thickness, T (i.e..: the interconnect layer depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 is comprised of interconnect and a spacer. The spacer maps onto the folded flat metal sheet 120 with peripheral folded edge 124 (¶67-69) and the interconnect maps onto folded rectangular sheet metal 132 extending into element 136 (¶73-76). The spacer when not bent has a thickness termed T as per the language of Claim 1);
the spacer is formed by at least a part of the edges of the interconnect which is bent 180° a number, N, of times to provide a spacer covering at least a part of the edges of the interconnect, so said spacer and interconnect together form an edge of at least a part of the integrated interconnect and spacer (i.e.: the metal sheet 120 is provided along its outer edges with a peripheral folded edge 124 which is formed by bending out an outermost boundary region of the metal sheet 120 from the plane of the metal sheet 120 along a bending line 126 and then folding it back against the lower surface 128 of the metal sheet 120 in ¶68. In this instance N is equal to 1 since the flat sheet is bent only once upon itself meaning a single 180 degree bend)
with a thickness equal to or less than (1+N) times the thickness of the plate T (i.e.: the unbent flat metal sheet 120 used to make the spacer has a thickness T using the language of Claim 1. Upon the formation of a single 180 degree bend [i.e.: peripheral edge 124] in the sheet to form the actual spacer as depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6, the resultant thickness of the folded spacer is 2T. The requirement for the spacer to be N+1 or less than the thickness of the plate is met since N=1 in this instance and a sheet with thickness T when folded one upon itself [i.e.: a single 180 degree bend) has an apparent thickness of 2T or [1+1]T as per Claim 1).
and wherein at least one of said layers in at least one cell unit has at least one primary gas inlet opening and wherein at least one adjacent layer in the same cell unit has at least one secondary gas inlet opening (i.e.: periodic removal of the folded edge 124 serves to form respective fuel gas inlet openings 130 and respective exhaust gas outlet openings that are located opposite the fuel gas inlet openings 130 in the housing 106 of the fuel cell unit 102 as per ¶69 and FIGS. 5-7 show the adjacent lower housing sheet has cutout that meet up to complete the flow entry pathway).
However, Zerfass et al. shows perfect overlap of the cell layer rather than an offset or partial overlapping arrangement (i.e.: wherein said primary gas inlet opening and said secondary gas inlet opening partly overlap, nor the overlap defines a common gas inlet zone where inlet gas flows from the primary gas inlet opening to the secondary gas inlet opening).
It is well known in the fuel cell and electrolyzer arts that partial overlapping of adjacent cells in a fuel cell stack provides ease of manifolding and controlling of thermal distribution. Ong et al. is directed toward stacking and manifolding of unitized solid oxide fuel cells (title) so it is analogous art to Zerfass et al. In particular, Ong et al. depicts a fuel cell stack (23) embodiment in FIG. 2 and it is further described in ¶35-¶37. As per ¶35, the overall configuration of the cells 10 of Ong et al. may be generally described as spiral. Such a configuration means that the cells 10 are angularly offset to one another about an axis that extends perpendicular to the planes in which the cells 10 lie (¶35) with the offset variable (i.e.: analogous to partial overlap of the instant application and Claim 1). Ong et al. further explains in ¶36 that the embodiment of FIG. 2 depicts each of the immediately adjacent cells 10 as only partially overlapping one another. Therefore, Ong et al, indicates the outer perimeter of one cell 10 does not completely match the angular position of the outer perimeter of an immediately adjacent cell 10 (¶36). The partial overlap provides ease of manifolding and thermal distribution as per ¶36 of Ong et al. Ong et al. explains in detail in ¶62 how offset stacking improves thermal management.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the complete or perfect overlap of adjacent cells in the fuel cell stack taught by Zerfass et al. by using the partial overlapping arrangement taught by Ong et al. The modified arrangement is reasonably expected to improve the thermal management of the fuel cell/electrolyzer system and easy manifolding of individual cells (¶36 and ¶62 in Ong et al).
Regarding Claim 2, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the cell layer adjacent to said at least one primary gas inlet opening is retracted relative to the edge of the interconnect layer adjacent to said at least one primary gas inlet opening, thereby enabling a glass sealing to seal off the edge of the cell layer adjacent to said at least one primary gas inlet opening as supported by the use of brazing (i.e.: a procedure requiring a low melting glass or flux which allows metal parts to be joined/sealed) further detailed in ¶75 and depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6.
Regarding Claim 3, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack Claim 1, wherein the at least part of the edges of the interconnect is bent 180° one time to provide a spacer covering at least a part of the edges of the interconnect, so said spacer and interconnect together form an edge of at least a part of the integrated interconnect and spacer with a thickness equal to or less than 2 times the thickness of the plate T as evidenced by folding back of the outer boundary regions of metal sheets 120 and 132 (depicted in FIG. 6) since the physical action (of bending) described a single 180 degree bend where the metal sheet folds against itself. By folding the plate(s) back on themselves, the folded thickness is exactly twice the thickness of unfolded plate. Thus, meeting the limitations of Claim 3.
Regarding Claim 4, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer further forms at least one flow distributor (i.e.: distributor elements 146) for manifolding as depicted in FIG. 2/FIG. 3 and discussed in ¶93-100).
Regarding Claim 5, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer further forms at least one flow distributor adapted for external manifolding as described in ¶93 and ¶94 in referencing of removal channels (FIG. 2 and FIG. 3)
Regarding Claim 6, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer further forms at least one flow distributor which defines said common gas inlet zone adapted for internal manifolding.as explained in ¶94 and ¶95 in reference to inlet openings (FIG. 2 and FIG. 3).
Regarding Claim 10, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein at least one of said layers in at least one cell unit has at least one primary gas outlet opening and wherein at least one adjacent layer in the same cell unit has at least one secondary gas outlet opening, wherein said primary gas outlet opening and said secondary gas outlet opening partly overlap, the overlap defines a common gas outlet zone where outlet gas flows from the primary gas outlet opening to the secondary gas outlet opening as explained above in Claim 1 by the modification of the fuel cell stack 100 of Zerfass by using the offset alignment of adjacent cells disclosed by Ong et al. in ¶35-37 and ¶62 in order to better manage thermal control of the fuel cells stack.
Regarding Claim 12, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the at least one primary gas inlet opening or the at least one primary gas outlet opening is located in the interconnect layer as depicted in FIG. 2. (¶57 and ¶69).
Regarding Claim 13, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by a contiguous fluid tight edge as depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 in the discussion of the folded edges 124 and 138 are fixed together in a gas tight manner (i.e.: fluid tight) (¶68-9; ¶75).
Regarding Claim 14, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by a contiguous fluid tight edge adapted to form a fluid tight seal towards an external manifold as depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 in the discussion of the folded edges 124 and 138 are fixed together in a gas tight manner (i.e.: fluid tight) (¶68-9; ¶75).
Regarding Claim 15, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by a contiguous fluid tight edge adapted to form a fluid tight seal around an internal manifold as depicted in FIG. 5 and FIG. 6 in the discussion of the folded edges 124 and 138 are fixed together in a gas tight manner (i.e.: fluid tight) (¶68-9; ¶75).
Regarding Clam 16, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the spacer is connected to the interconnect not only by the bent part, but additionally on at least one further edge or surface of the spacer facing the interconnect as depicted in FIG. 3, FIG. 5, FIG. 6 and details in ¶66-69 and ¶74-76.
Regarding Claim 18, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, but describes joining the spacer to the interconnect by welding or brazing (i.e.: a braze layer 144) (¶75 and ¶92).
Regarding Claim 19, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. disclose the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the interconnect has grooves on at least one side adapted to facilitate and guide said 180° a number, N, of times bend as supported by the bending line 126 referenced in ¶68 (depicted in FIG. 5).
Regarding Claim 20, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the interconnect has grooves on at least one side adapted to form flow fields for process fluid as supported by ¶67 in the discussion of the housing preform with a central passage through opening 122 through which the cell layer is accessible for contact-making (i.e.: a multi-layers assembly through which gases are capable of flowing).
5. Claims 7, 8, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerfass in view of Ong et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Couse et al.
Zerfass et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0231664 A1) is directed toward a fuel cell electrode assembly (abstract). Ong et al. (US Pub. 2001/0028973A1) is direct toward stacking and manifolding unitized solid oxide fuel cells (title). Couse et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0130152 A1) is directed toward fuel cell interconnects and methods of fabrication (title).
Regarding Claim 7, Zerfass in view of Ong et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, wherein the interconnect layer features an integrated metal spacer formed by folding back an outermost boundary against the surface of the metal sheet. However, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. fails to teach wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by pins.
Modification of a flat metal plate with pins and grooves a means to effectively control the flow of oxidant and reductant gas flow is well known in the art of fuel cells. Coase et al. is directed toward a fuel cell stack (abstract). The fuel cell stack includes an interconnect having various ribs (analogous to pins of the instant application) and channels (analogous to grooves of the instant application) as indicated in the abstract. In ¶52-4 of Coase et al, an exemplary embodiment of an interconnect is depicted in FIG. 9 having gas flow channels 8 and ribs 10. In ¶53, Coase et al. further indicates that interconnects 9 are of uniform thickness and are capable of being aligned or offset from other adjacent interconnects depending on the requirements for the flow field. In ¶9, Coase et al. indicates that the optimization of SOFCs requires that the oxidizing and fuel flows should be precisely controlled. As a result, flow regulating structures, such as interconnects in the fuel cell system should be precisely manufactured as further described in Coase et al. Finally, Coase et al. indicates that the interconnects of the fuel cell system should be manufactured to have a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that matches the CTE of other components in the stack, such as the SOFC electrolyte as a means to control thermal management and make the stack more robust (¶9).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flat plate design of Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. with the rib and channel design disclosed by Coase et al. with the reasonable expectation of precisely controlling the flow field by the design of the interconnect allowing better performance and thermal management of the fuel cell stack.
Therefore, the combination of Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. and Coase et al. render wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by pins obvious as required by Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 8, Zerfass in view of Ong et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, which teaches the integrated spacer structure as described in Claim 7 above. Therefore, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. fails to teach wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by pins formed as wedges which are flow guides for a process fluid flow.
Modification of a flat metal plate with pins and grooves a means to effectively control the flow of oxidant and reductant gas flow is well known in the art of fuel cells. Coase et al. is directed toward a fuel cell stack (abstract). The fuel cell stack includes an interconnect having various ribs (analogous to pins of the instant application) and channels (analogous to grooves of the instant application) as indicated in the abstract. In ¶52-4 of Coase et al, an exemplary embodiment of an interconnect is depicted in FIG. 9 having gas flow channels 8 and ribs 10. In ¶53, Coase et al. further indicates that interconnects 9 are of uniform thickness and are capable of being aligned or offset from other adjacent interconnects depending on the requirements for the flow field. In ¶9, Coase et al. indicates that the optimization of SOFCs requires that the oxidizing and fuel flows should be precisely controlled. As a result, flow regulating structures, such as interconnects in the fuel cell system should be precisely manufactured as further described in Coase et al. Finally, Coase et al. indicates that the interconnects of the fuel cell system should be manufactured to have a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that matches the CTE of other components in the stack, such as the SOFC electrolyte as a means to control thermal management and make the stack more robust (¶9).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flat plate design of Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. with the rib and channel design disclosed by Coase et al. with the reasonable expectation of precisely controlling the flow field by the design of the interconnect allowing better performance and thermal management of the fuel cell stack.
Therefore, the combination of Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. and Coase et al. render wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by pins formed as wedges which are flow guides for a process fluid flow obvious as required by Claim 8.
Regarding Claim 9, Zerfass in view of Ong et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, but indicates the gas inlet openings are formed by periodically removing sections of the folded edges. Therefore, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. fails to teach wherein said flow guides at least partly overlap a part of said at least one primary gas inlet opening and thereby form at least one multiple channel gas inlet.
Modification of a flat metal plate with pins and grooves a means to effectively control the flow of oxidant and reductant gas flow is well known in the art of fuel cells. Coase et al. is directed toward a fuel cell stack (abstract). The fuel cell stack includes an interconnect having various ribs (analogous to pins of the instant application) and channels (analogous to grooves of the instant application) as indicated in the abstract. In ¶52-4 of Coase et al, an exemplary embodiment of an interconnect is depicted in FIG. 9 having gas flow channels 8 and ribs 10. In ¶53, Coase et al. further indicates that interconnects 9 are of uniform thickness and are capable of being aligned or offset from other adjacent interconnects depending on the requirements for the flow field. In ¶9, Coase et al. indicates that the optimization of SOFCs requires that the oxidizing and fuel flows should be precisely controlled. As a result, flow regulating structures, such as interconnects in the fuel cell system should be precisely manufactured as further described in Coase et al. Finally, Coase et al. indicates that the interconnects of the fuel cell system should be manufactured to have a coefficient of thermal expansion (CTE) that matches the CTE of other components in the stack, such as the SOFC electrolyte as a means to control thermal management and make the stack more robust (¶9).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flat plate design of Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. with the rib and channel design disclosed by Coase et al. with the reasonable expectation of precisely controlling the flow field by the design of the interconnect allowing better performance and thermal management of the fuel cell stack.
Therefore, the combination of Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. and Coase et al. render wherein the spacer of the integrated interconnect and spacer is at least partly formed by pins formed as wedges which are flow guides for a process fluid flow obvious as required by Claim 9.
6. Claim 11 and Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerfass in view of Ong et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Precision Micro.
Zerfass et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0231664 A1) is directed toward a fuel cell electrode assembly (abstract). Ong et al. (US Pub. 2001/0028973A1) is direct toward stacking and manifolding unitized solid oxide fuel cells (title). Precision Micro (“Bipolar plate machining: Why fuel cell engineers should consider chemical etching,” Blog Post from 2018 published by Precision Micro. Accessed using Way Back Machine on storage date 01 Dec. 2020. https://web.archive.org/web/20201201173740/https://www.precisionmicro.com/bipolar-plate-manufacture-why-fuel-cell-engineers-should-consider-photo-chemical-etching/) is directed toward metal etching.
Regarding Claim 11, Zerfass et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, but describes punching or cutting out of parts (¶69), so Zerfass et al. does not explicitly disclose forming gas outlet opening by a cut through hole, an etched through hole, a cut through opening, an indentation or a combination of these.
Precision Micro indicates that fuel cells are produced by stacking precise and intricate plates machined with complex grooves or channels and can be variously manufactured using CNC-machining, hydroforming, punching, and stamping, but there are question marks over the scalability and capability of these processes. Precision Micro indicates that etching is a preferred procedure and offers numerous benefits including: low cost tooling, speed of supply, channel complexity, and access to more exotic materials that are difficult to machine (e.g.: titanium).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify punching and cutting of parts taught in Zerfass in view of Ong et al. by using etching as taught by Precision Micro with the reasonable expectation of improving the control over the cost, complexity, and material of making grooves or holes in fuel cell stack parts.
Regarding Claim 21, Zerfass et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, but describes punching or cutting out of parts (¶69), so Zerfass does not explicitly disclose wherein the interconnect has grooves formed by etching on at least one side to form flow fields for process fluid.
Precision Micro indicates that fuel cells are produced by stacking precise and intricate plates machined with complex grooves or channels and can be variously manufactured using CNC-machining, hydroforming, punching, and stamping, but there are question marks over the scalability and capability of these processes. Precision Micro indicates that etching is a preferred procedure and offers numerous benefits including: low cost tooling, speed of supply, channel complexity, and access to more exotic materials that are difficult to machine (e.g.: titanium).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify punching and cutting of parts taught in Zerfass in view of Ong et al. by using etching as taught by Precision Micro with the reasonable expectation of improving the control over the cost, complexity, and material of making grooves or holes in fuel cell stack parts.
7. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerfass as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Simoes.
Zerfass et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0231664 A1) is directed toward a fuel cell electrode assembly (abstract). Ong et al. (US Pub. 2001/0028973A1) is direct toward stacking and manifolding unitized solid oxide fuel cells (title). Simoes (“Diffusion Bonding and Brazing of Advanced Materials,” Metals 2018, 8, article 959, pg. 1-3) discusses joining techniques for metals (pg. 1: title).
Regarding Claim 17, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, but describes joining the spacer to the interconnect by brazing (i.e.: a braze layer 144), but lack a specific teaching on joining metal part by diffusion bonding. Simoes is directed toward joining metals for advanced materials (pg. 1: introduction). In fact, Simoes indicates that : “diffusion bonding and brazing are two straightforward techniques for producing sound and reliable joints since these processes are capable of joining a wide range of materials of interest in the aerospace industry, as well as in many other industrial applications, offering remarkable advantages over conventional fusion welding processes.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute diffusion bonding taught by Simoes for brazing as the means for joining metals as described in Zerfass in view of Ong et al. since both methods are known equivalents for the same purpose (i.e.: joining metals). See MPEP 2144.06.II - SUBSTITUTING EQUIVALENTS KNOWN FOR THE SAME PURPOSE.
8. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zerfass in view of Ong et al. as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al.
Zerfass et al. (US Pub. No. 2007/0231664 A1) is directed toward a fuel cell electrode assembly (abstract). Ong et al. (US Pub. 2001/0028973A1) is direct toward stacking and manifolding unitized solid oxide fuel cells (title). Kim et al. (US Pub. No. 2013/0149631 A1) discloses a device for solid oxide fuel cell or solid oxide electrolysis cell comprising integral one-piece current collector and manifold (title).
Regarding Claim 22, Zerfass et al. in view of Ong et al. discloses the SOC stack according to Claim 1, but does not explicitly discuss the use of the SOC stack for electrolysis. However, Kim et al. directed toward a device for solid oxide fuel cell or solid oxide electrolysis cell (title). Kim et al. indicates in ¶5 that a solid oxide fuel cell is a system that generates electricity by the reaction of fuel (hydrocarbon or hydrogen) with oxygen in the air at a high temperature of 500 to 1,000° C. Similarly, a solid oxide electrolysis cell is a system that electrolyzes steam into hydrogen and oxygen at a high temperature of 500 to 1,000° C. Therefore, SOC stacks are capable of being used as both electrolyzer and fuel cells.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the SOC stack taught by Zerfass as an electrolyzer since Kim et al. indicates SOC stacks used as fuel cells are capable of being electrolyzers when the run in reverse.
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Allen (US Pub. No. ) is directed toward a fuel cell bipolar separator plate and current collector assembly and method of manufacture (title). Baird et al. (US Pub. No. 2020/0212470 A1) is directed toward fuel cell units having angled offset flow channels (title). Bang et al. (“Flow and Pressure Distribution in Fuel Cell Manifolds,” J. Fuel Cell Sci. Tech. 2010, 7, article 061001, pg. 1-8) is directed toward fuel cells (pg. 1: title).
/KEVIN SYLVESTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1794
/JAMES LIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1794