Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Group IV, and species C of Fig. 5, 6 in the reply filed on 2/17/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “soft” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “soft” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear how soft the layer should be to be considered soft. In other words, the criteria to judge the softness is unclear.
The term “hard” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “hard” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. In the instant case, it is not clear how hard the layer should be to be considered hard. In other words, the criteria to judge the hardness is unclear.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper portion of the substrate layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim (note that claim 1 recited upper surface.)
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the upper portion of the carbon nanotube layer". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Any and all claims rejected herein under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, if rejected with art below under sections 35 U.S.C. 102 and/or 35 U.S.C. 103, are rejected as best understood.
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected due to their dependency from a previously rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over M'Saad et al. (US 2009/0278081), referred to hereafter as M'Saad in view of Yu et al. (US 5,441,598), referred to hereafter as Yu.
With regard to claim 1:
M'Saad discloses a composite polishing pad for chemical mechanical polishing (CMP) (see [0006]), comprising: a soft polymer substrate layer (304, see Fig. 3C and [0006], [0009], [0032]) with an upper surface (note that without reciting a plane of reference, any surface could be upper surface since it depends on the installation orientation of the element and elements can be installed in various orientations); a carbon nanotube layer (302) including carbon nanotubes ([0032]) embedded in and bound to the upper portion of the substrate layer; and a hard polymer coating layer (306, [0033]) having the carbon nanotubes protruding outwardly on the upper portion of the carbon nanotube layer embedded and bound thereto (Fig. 3B, 3C, 3D, 3E).
M'Saad does not appear to explicitly disclose that the soft polymer substrate layer includes a plurality of protrusions formed on an upper surface thereof.
However, Yu teaches a polishing pad and further teaches having a plurality of protrusions formed on an upper surface thereof (see claim 5, Fig. 6) in order to create asperities (Col. 1; lines 24-38).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, and add a plurality of protrusions formed on an upper surface of the soft polymer substrate layer, to yield predictable results of polishing objects through asperities.
With regard to claim 4, the combination of M'Saad and Yu further discloses that the carbon nanotubes of the carbon nanotube layer are embedded in the soft polymer substrate layer and the hard polymer coating layer in an irregular net form structure (M'Saad, [0027], Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 5, the combination of M'Saad and Yu further discloses that the irregular net form structure is a structure formed by scattering the carbon nanotubes so that some thereof overlap each other (M'Saad, [0027], Fig. 1).
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Claims 1, 4, and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (US 2021/0323114) in view of Izunome et al. (JP 2019-178223), referred to hereafter as Izunome.
With regard to claim 1:
Kim discloses a composite polishing pad (10) for chemical mechanical polishing (CMP), comprising: a soft polymer substrate layer (200, or 210, [0052]) including a plurality of protrusions (100) formed on an upper surface thereof (Fig. 2-4, 6A/B, 7A/B); a carbon nanotube layer including carbon nanotubes embedded in and bound to the upper portion of the substrate layer ([0053], [0054]).
Kim does not appear to explicitly disclose a hard polymer coating layer having the carbon nanotubes protruding outwardly on the upper portion of the carbon nanotube layer embedded and bound thereto.
However, Izunome teaches a polishing pad and further teaches having a hard polymer coating layer (2) over carbon nanotubes (1) (see [0021], [0033], Fig. 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to combine prior art elements according to known methods, and add a hard polymer coating layer having the carbon nanotubes protruding outwardly on the upper portion of the carbon nanotube layer embedded and bound thereto, to yield predictable results of polishing objects.
With regard to claims 4 and 5:
the combination of Kim and Izunome discloses the composite polishing pad for CMP of claim 1, as set forth above.
the combination of Kim and Izunome does not appear to explicitly disclose that the carbon nanotubes of the carbon nanotube layer are embedded in the soft polymer substrate layer and the hard polymer coating layer in an irregular net form structure, the irregular net form structure is a structure formed by scattering the carbon nanotubes so that some thereof overlap each other.
However, Izunome teaches a polishing pad and further teaches that the carbon nanotubes of the carbon nanotube layer are embedded in the soft polymer substrate layer and the hard polymer coating layer in an irregular net form structure, the irregular net form structure is a structure formed by scattering the carbon nanotubes so that some thereof overlap each other (Fig. 3, 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to use a known technique, namely the carbon nanotubes of the carbon nanotube layer being embedded in an irregular net form structure, the irregular net form structure being a structure formed by scattering the carbon nanotubes so that some thereof overlap each other, to improve similar devices in the same way.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to the attached form PTO-892 for pertinent prior art disclosing similar polishing pads such as US 2007/0153453, US 2009/0035519.
/BEHNOUSH HAGHIGHIAN/
Examiner
Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745