DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The Wu reference:
Applicant argues “Wu does not disclose a method for quantifying microorganisms, as suggested by the Office. Wu discloses a Digital PCR detection and quantification system (Title of the certified English translation of Wu). Wu specifies that "Digital PCR is currently the most advanced nucleic acid quantification method with the highest detection sensitivity" (certified English translation of Wu at paragraph 0003, emphasis added). Thus, Wu discloses quantification of nucleic acids. The present invention provides a method for quantifying microorganisms”.
Upon further review of the reference and in light of applicant’s arguments, the examiner respectfully disagrees as follows: as evidenced in the certified English translation of Wu in page 2, claim 1, Wu teaches “the optical imaging and detection device is disposed at the preset position of the microchannel and configured to acquire fluorescence signals of the microdroplets at the preset position and generate a corresponding scatter plot to calculate the template count of the original bacterial liquid sample”. With regard to applicant’s statement of “Wu specifies that ‘Digital PCR is currently the most advanced nucleic acid quantification method with the highest detection sensitivity’ …Wu discloses quantification of nucleic acids”, the examiner notes claim 13 of the present application recites “analyzing the one or more first droplets using a digital polymerase chain reaction (dPCR)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5-6, 13, 19-20 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wu (CN 111378562 A, a copy of translation is attached herein).
As per claim 1, Wu discloses a method for quantifying microorganisms (abstract: “digital PCR quantitative detecting system”), the method comprising: obtaining a sample containing the microorganisms (abstract & paragraph [0008]: a bacterium liquid sample is obtained); encapsulating the microorganisms in one or more first droplets of a plurality of droplets (abstract: a plurality of droplets are obtained); allowing microorganism growth within the one or more first droplets of the plurality of droplets (abstract & paragraph [0014]: droplet temperature circulation device & aqueous agent injection would allow bacterium growth within the liquid droplets); capturing one or more images of the plurality of droplets (abstract: optical imaging the sample in droplets); performing an image analysis using artificial intelligence on the one or more images, wherein the artificial intelligence was trained (paragraph [0078]: machine learning/artificial intelligence is employed for image analysis); and quantifying the microorganisms (abstract: “using optical imaging and detecting device installed at the preset position of the pipeline at the position of the micro-droplet fluorescence signal collecting and drawing scatter plot corresponding to template the number of calculating bacterium liquid sample”).
As per claim 3, Wu discloses wherein obtaining the sample comprises using an microfluidic device to encapsulate the microorganisms in the one or more first droplets of the plurality of droplets (see figures 3-5).
As per claim 5, Wu discloses wherein the one or more first droplets of the plurality of droplets are emulsified into an engineered oil (paragraph [0015]: “the centrifugal pipe pre-set capacity is not higher than the oil agent of the preset capacity threshold value to form the layered structure covered by the oily agent on surface of the droplet, the aqueous reagent is the mixed reagent of the bacterium liquid sample and a PCR reagent”).
As per claim 6, Wu discloses wherein the plurality of droplets comprises one or more second droplets of the plurality of droplets that do not contain a microorganism, and wherein the one or more second droplets of the plurality of droplets are emulsified into an engineered oil (paragraphs [0065]-[0066]: Wu teaches the additional water drops may be added during a water phase mixed reagent with mineral oil).
As per claim 13, Wu discloses wherein quantifying the microorganism further comprises: analyzing the one or more first droplets using a digital polymerase chain reaction (dPCR) (abstract).
As per claim 19, Wu discloses obtaining from the environmental sample a sample containing microorganisms; and quantifying microorganism in the sample.
As per claim 20, Wu discloses wherein environmental sample is water or sewage (paragraph [0065]: the sample is water).
As per claim 22, Wu discloses wherein the microorganism is bacteria (abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 14-15 and 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wu in view of Embree et al (“Embree” hereinafter, U.S. Publication No. 2017/0196922 A1).
As per claim 2, Wu teaches aqueous agent injection for growing the bacterium. However, Wu does not explicitly teach the aqueous injection contains nutrients nurturing growth of microorganism.
Embree teaches “growth medium” in paragraphs [0080]-[0081] for including nutrients to allow growth of microorganisms.
At the time of the invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify Wu’s system to include nutrients in aqueous. One would be motivated to do so because it would allow different microorganisms to grow to a certain threshold before image processing/counting.
As per claim 4, the combination of Wu and Embree teaches allowing the microorganism to grow into an individual colony (Embree: paragraphs [0180]-[0181]).
As per claim 14, the combination of Wu and Embree teaches a method of analyzing food, the method comprising: obtaining from the food sample containing microorganism (Embree teaches the sample may be a food sample in paragraph [0333]); and quantifying microorganism in the sample (Wu teaches quantifying microorganisms as explained above).
As per claim 15, the combination of Wu and Embree teaches the microorganism is pathogenic or probiotic (Wu teaches the microorganism is bacteria; Embree teaches the microorganism is pathogenic in paragraph [0341]).
For claims 17 & 18, the combination of Wu and Embree teaches obtaining from the human subject sample containing microorganisms (Embree: paragraph [0344]: cows and humans) quantifying microorganism in the sample (see explanation in claim 1 above), determining that the human subject has an infection when the quantified microorganisms is greater than that of a human subject without an infection, and treating the human subject for the infection (Embree in paragraph [0382] teaches treatment is possible for subject with infection).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TOM Y LU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2667