DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “drive connection shaft portion,” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hinner et al. (US Patent No. 2021/0018352 A1).
Re: Claim 1, Hinner discloses the claimed invention including a powder material measuring rotary valve device comprising:
a hollow measuring housing (14) having an open entrance (16) to which a hopper is coupled, and an open exit (18) disposed opposite to the entrance (Fig. 2); and
a distribution module (44) rotatably embedded in the measuring housing based on a first virtual axis (along shaft (7)) perpendicular to a virtual line connecting the entrance to the exit, and having a plurality of unit discharge groove portions (48) disposed at equal intervals along a direction of rotation (Depicted in Fig. 2, para. 24, grooves),
wherein the powder material introduced to the entrance according to a rotation of the distribution module is separately received in a predetermined fixed quantity in each of the unit discharge groove portions and then discharged through the exit in a first-in and first-out method (Fig. 6 depicts grooves with holding a fixed quantity of material).
Re: Claim 2, Hinner discloses the claimed invention including a power generation module (80) disposed to be coaxial with, parallel to or intersecting the first virtual axis and configured to generate a rotational force for rotating the distribution module (Fig. 5, para. 22, power module).
Re: Claim 4, Hinner discloses the claimed invention including a shaft coupling module (46) disposed to be coaxial with the first virtual axis and configured to rotatably support the first virtual axis (Depicted in Fig. 10A); and a conversion module (61) disposed to be coaxial with or parallel to the first virtual axis and configured to convert the rotational force for rotating the distribution module and deliver the rotational force to the distribution module (Fig. 1, Para. 22, converts and delivers rotational force from the motor axis to the distribution module axis).
Claim(s) 1-6, 10-12, 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Treitel (US 2020/0256715 A1).
Re: Claim 1, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including a powder material measuring rotary valve device comprising:
a hollow measuring housing (20) having an open entrance (22) to which a hopper is coupled, and an open exit (24) disposed opposite to the entrance (Figs. 6, para. 59, entrance and outlet); and
a distribution module (311) rotatably embedded in the measuring housing based on a first virtual axis (x) perpendicular to a virtual line connecting the entrance to the exit, and having a plurality of unit discharge groove portions (32) disposed at equal intervals along a direction of rotation (Depicted in Fig. 6-7, Para. 74-75 equally spaced grooves),
wherein the powder material introduced to the entrance according to a rotation of the distribution module is separately received in a predetermined fixed quantity in each of the unit discharge groove portions and then discharged through the exit in a first-in and first-out method (Para. 74-75 depicts grooves with holding a fixed quantity of material, a dose).
Re: Claim 2, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including a power generation module (44a) disposed to be coaxial with, parallel to or intersecting the first virtual axis and configured to generate a rotational force for rotating the distribution module (Fig. 14b, coaxial with first virtual)
Re: Claim 3, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including a rotation sensing module (60) disposed to be coaxial with the first virtual axis and configured to detect a position of the unit discharge groove portion in the measuring housing (Para. 120, modules indicate the position of the grooves); and a speed control module (8) configured to adjust the rotational force generated by the power generation module according to the position of the unit discharge groove portion detected by the rotation sensing module (Para. 127, controller controlling the speed of the power unit bases on sensor data).
Re: Claim 4, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including a shaft coupling module (34) disposed to be coaxial with the first virtual axis and configured to rotatably support the first virtual axis (Depicted in Fig. 10A); and a conversion module (48) disposed to be coaxial with or parallel to the first virtual axis and configured to convert the rotational force for rotating the distribution module and deliver the rotational force to the distribution module (Fig. 14B, Para. 115, converts and delivers rotational force to the distribution module) .
Re: Claim 5, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including the shaft coupling module further includes:
an opening and closing joint member (18) coupled to the measuring housing and configured to rotatably support the first virtual axis (Fig. 3, Para. 58, opening and closing joint member supporting housing); and
a shaft joint member (34) coupled to the conversion module and configured to rotatably support the first virtual axis (Fig. 10A)
Re: Claim 6, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including the opening and closing joint member includes an open/close hole portion (9) communicating with a distribution opening (12) opened to one side of the measuring housing and is formed through the first virtual axis to pass through, and
further includes:
a retainer (19) configured to rotatably support the first virtual axis in the open/close hole portion between the bushing member and the shaft joint member such that centers of the first virtual axis and the open/close hole portion are coaxial (Fig. 11a, Para. 79, retainer rotatably supports the first virtual axis of the shaft).
Re: Claim 10, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including the speed control module includes:
a detection identification portion configured to identify whether a detection signal is generated in response to an amount of rotation of the distribution module (Para. 9, 22 inherently includes a detection portion as the controller can detect a signal is generated in response to an amount of rotation of the distribution module);
a reception control portion configured to maintain the rotational force generated by the power generation module when the detection signal is not generated as an identification result of the detection identification portion (Para. 9, 24, inherently includes a reception control portion as the controller can maintain the rotational force generated by the power generation module); and
an adjustment control portion configured to decrease the rotational force generated by the power generation module to a preset deceleration when the detection signal is generated as an identification result of the detection identification portion (Para. 9, 25 inherently includes an adjustment control portion as the controller can decrease the rotational force generated by the power generation module to a preset deceleration).
Re: Claim 11, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including the speed control module includes:
a detection identification portion configured to identify whether a detection signal is generated in response to an amount of rotation of the distribution module (Para. 9, 22 inherently includes a detection portion as the controller can detect a signal is generated in response to an amount of rotation of the distribution module);
a reception control portion configured to maintain the rotational force generated by the power generation module when the detection signal is generated as an identification result of the detection identification portion (Para. 9, 24, inherently includes a reception control portion as the controller can maintain the rotational force generated by the power generation module); and
an adjustment control portion configured to increase the rotational force generated by the power generation module to a preset acceleration when the detection signal is not generated as an identification result of the detection identification portion (Para. 9, 25 inherently includes an adjustment control portion as the controller can decrease the rotational force generated by the power generation module to a preset deceleration).
Re: Claim 12, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including the rotation sensing module includes:
a sensing paddle (62) rotatably coupled to the measuring housing via a paddle shaft portion that is coaxial with the first virtual axis and configured to be rotatable with the first virtual axis (Fig. 15); and
a speed sensor (61) configured to detect the sensing paddle (Fig. 15),
wherein the sensing paddle includes:
a paddle body (63) coupled to the paddle shaft portion (Fig. 15); and
detection wings (63a) disposed at equal intervals on the paddle body along an outer circumferential surface of the paddle body corresponding to the unit discharge groove portion (Fig. 15, Para. 118, grooves corresponds with wings), and
the speed sensor detects the detection wings (Para. 119, detects the wings).
Re: Claim 15, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including a purge portion (23) for ventilation is provided in at least one of the entrance and the exit (21’’) (Fig. 7).
Re: Claim 16, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including a shaft coupling module (34) disposed to be coaxial with the first virtual axis and configured to rotatably support the first virtual axis (Depicted in Fig. 10A); and a conversion module (48) disposed to be coaxial with or parallel to the first virtual axis and configured to convert the rotational force for rotating the distribution module and deliver the rotational force to the distribution module (Fig. 14B, Para. 115, converts and delivers rotational force to the distribution module) .
Re: Claim 17, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including a shaft coupling module (34) disposed to be coaxial with the first virtual axis and configured to rotatably support the first virtual axis (Depicted in Fig. 10A); and a conversion module (48) disposed to be coaxial with or parallel to the first virtual axis and configured to convert the rotational force for rotating the distribution module and deliver the rotational force to the distribution module (Fig. 14B, Para. 115, converts and delivers rotational force to the distribution module) .
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Treitel (US 2020/0256715 A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kato (US 2005/0247734 A1).
Re: Claim 13, Treitel discloses the claimed invention including the distribution module includes a cylindrical distribution body having a distribution hole portion (21’’) formed therethrough coaxially with the first virtual axis (Fig. 7) except for a plurality of partition wings. However, Kato teaches a plurality of partition wings (16) formed to protrude in a normal direction of the distribution body (15) from an outer circumferential surface of the distribution body such that two mutually adjacent unit discharge groove portions (17) are partitioned (Fig. 5, 12A, Para. 23, wings protruding from the distribution body).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the partition wings of Kato, since Treitel states in para. 77 that the grooves can have any other desired shape, and further Kato states in para. 23 that such a modification provides a non-wearing out design that enhances supply efficiency ensuring the grooves are all filled for proper delivery.
Re: Claim 14, Treitel as modified by Kato in the rejection of claim 13 above discloses the claimed invention including a scraper (18), which is supported in contact with an inner wall (2a) of the measuring housing, is provided at an end of the partition wing (Fig. 5, Para. 29, scraper provided at the end of each wing and in contact with the inner wall).
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hinner (US 2021/0018352) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Vuijk (US 2008/0277512 A1).
Re: Claim 7, Hinner discloses the claimed invention including a conversion body disposed on one side of the measuring housing (Depicted in Fig. 1) and a delivery drive shaft (7) detachable from the distribution module (Figs. 10-11) except for the particulars of the interface between drive shaft and conversion body. However, Vuijk discloses a delivery drive shaft portion (118) rotatably coupled to the conversion body (130) coaxially with the first virtual axis (x) (Fig. 3); and a drive connection shaft portion rotatably coupled to the conversion body in a state that is coaxial with or parallel to a second virtual (m) axis perpendicular to the first virtual axis (Annotated Fig. 3 below)and engaged with the delivery drive shaft portion, and wherein the delivery drive shaft portion is detachably coupled to the distribution module (120) to rotate together with the distribution module (Depicted in Annotated Fig. 3 with separate connection points).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date to include the claimed features above as taught by Vuijk since Hinner teaches a similar power module, conversion module to distribution module layout, and Vuijk states in paragraph 40 that such arrangement is common practice in the art to translate the rotational motion of the motor through 90.degree so that the distribution module is driven in a direction perpendicular to the axis of rotation M-M of the motor.
Re: Claim 8, Hinner as modified by Vuijk in the rejection of claim 7 above the delivery drive shaft portion includes: a conversion connection portion (132) rotatably coupled to the conversion body (Vuijk: Fig. 3); and a distribution coupling connection portion extending coaxially to the conversion connection portion so as to be inserted and supported in a distribution hole portion provided in the distribution module (Vuijk: Annotated fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. References cited on the PTO-892 provide additional examples of rotary dispensers with one or many of the claimed sensing module, power modules, distribution module, etc.
/CHARLES P. CHEYNEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3754