Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “second isolating amplifier” and “amplifier chain” claimed in claim 11 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 2, 3, 11, and 15-18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 2, “the first and second TWPAs” should correctly be “the first and second superconducting TWPAs”.
Regarding claim 3, “the first and second TWPAs” should correctly be “the first and second superconducting TWPAs”.
Regarding claim 11, line 6, “the chain” should correctly be “the amplifier chain”.
Regarding claim 11, line 8, “the chain” should correctly be “the amplifier chain”.
Regarding claim 15, line 2, “(102, 104)” should be deleted.
Regarding claim 16, lines 5 and 6, “(104c)” and “(104d)” should be deleted.
Regarding claim 16, line 3, “a pump tone” should correctly be “the pump tone”, see claim 1, line 10.
Regarding claim 17, line 3, “the pump tones” should be “the pump tone”.
Regarding claim 18, line 1, “(102, 104)” should be deleted.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 4-8, and 11-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, discloses first and second ports. However, it is not clear which port an input signal is fed to the amplifier and a port which amplified output signal of the isolating amplifier apparatus is connected.
Regarding claim 4, also rejected due to its dependency on rejected claim 1.
Regarding claim 5, line 3, discloses “a pump tone source”. However, it is not clear if this “pump tone source” is the same as “a pump tone” claimed in claim 1, line 10. Note, they are both coupled to the second input port. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 6, line 3, discloses “a pump tone source”. However, it is not clear if this “pump tone source” is the same as “a pump tone” claimed in claim 1, line 10. Note, they are both coupled to the first input port. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 7, which discloses “a first pump tone source” and “a second pump tone source”. However, it is not clear if these “first and second pump tone sources” is derived from “a pump tone” claimed in claim 1, line 10, or additional pump tone sources, which submitted drawings fail to show. Clarification is needed. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 8, the phrase “wherein the signal source comprises a cryogenic qubit, with or without additional isolators or filters in between” is not clear because the specification does not disclose claimed subject matters and the drawing(s) does not show isolators and filters claimed. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “at least one second isolating amplifier apparatus according to claim 1” is unclear. Note, claim 1 does not disclose “at least one second isolating amplifier apparatus” claimed. Furthermore, it is not clear if the second isolating amplifier apparatus is identical to the isolating amplifier apparatus of claim 1 to form an amplifier chain. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase “wherein the isolating amplifier apparatus and the at least one second isolating amplifier apparatus form an amplifier chain, wherein in the amplifier chain a signal output of each isolating amplifier apparatus except the last one is coupled to a signal input of an immediately succeeding isolating amplifier apparatus and wherein each isolating amplifier apparatus in the amplifier chain is coupled with at most one immediately preceding and at most one immediately succeeding isolating amplifier apparatus in the amplifier chain”. Note, the underlining parts of the claim are neither disclosed in the specification nor supported by the submitted drawings. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claim 12, which discloses “a pump tone source” and “a second pump tone source”. However, it is not clear if these pump tone sources are derived from “a pump tone” claimed in claim 1, line 10, or additional pump tone sources, which submitted drawings fail to show. Clarification is needed.
Regarding claims 13-15, also rejected due to their dependency on rejected claim 1.
Regarding claim 16, which is a method claim “comprising … an isolating amplifier apparatus according to claim 1”. However, the body of the claim appear to disclose repeated methods that apparatus of claim 1 is already disclosed. Therefore, it is suggested claim 16 should be rewritten independently such that similar claimed subject matters are not repeated.
Regarding claim 17, recited “wherein the pump tone is fed to the first and to the second input ports of the first 2x2 hybrid coupler”. Either the specification is not clear or error made in the claim, because the drawing(s) does not show the pump tone fed to both first and second input ports as claimed. Does applicant mean “a pump tone” comprises first and second pump tones, wherein they are respectively fed to first and second input ports?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 9, 10, 15, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over VAN DER REEP THA et al. (from applicant submitted IDS), hereafter called DER REEP, in view of WESTIG MP et al. (from applicant submitted IDS), hereafter called WESTIG.
Regarding claims 1 and 16, DER REEP discloses claimed invention except a pump tone having the connections as claimed. DER REEP (Fig. 1) discloses an amplifier circuit comprising: a first 2x2 hybrid coupler and a second 2x2 hybrid coupler, each 2x2 hybrid coupler having a first input port, a second input port, a first output port and a second output port. Note, the two 2x2 four port hybrid couplers at the input and the output of the amplifier; a first superconducting travelling wave parametric amplifier, TWPA, comprising an input connected to the first output port of the first 2x2 hybrid coupler and an output connected to the first input port of the second 2x2 hybrid coupler, and a second superconducting travelling wave parametric amplifier, TWPA, comprising an input connected to the second output port of the first 2x2 hybrid coupler and an output connected to the second input port of the second 2x2 hybrid coupler, see both TWPAs in the parallel arms of the balanced amplifier as shown in Figure 1 and their interconnections with the input and output hybrid couplers, wherein in that the isolating amplifier apparatus is configured to convey an idler tone to the first output port of the second 2x2 hybrid coupler, considering that the idler tone is the output of the balanced amplifier, it is conveyed/output to the detector A shown in Figure 1, and to dissipate an input frequency signal from the second output port of the second 2x2 hybrid coupler, the term "dissipating an amplified signal from the second output port" as found in claims 1 and 16 is interpreted in a broad sense as a dissipation of signal (energy) in a further apparatus connected to the port. This apparatus does not necessarily have to be a resistor where the energy is wasted, but can be, e.g. a resistive input impedance of the second of the two detectors, namely "Detector B" as shown in Figure 1.
WESTIG (Fig. 1) discloses missing element, wherein the pump frequency is fed into the system at the input port of the beam-splitter coupler.
DE REEP and WESTIG are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, namely parametric amplifier. Accordingly, it would have been obvious in view of the reference, taken as a whole, to have modified the circuit of DE REEP to have included a pump tone, as taught by WESTIG. Therefore, it would have been obvious to utilize such pump tone for the circuit of DE REEP, as WESTIG has disclosed their use in a similar context. Furthermore, it appears pump tone that is fed to the parametric amplifiers is considered a design engineering and thus it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art.
Regarding claims 2, 3, and 9, wherein 3 and 4-wave mixing TWPAs are well-known in TWPA design/configuration and thus would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skills in the art.
Regarding claims 5 and 6, wherein DE REEP (Fig. 1) also discloses signal source that is coupler to port (1).
Regarding claim 10, built on a single integrated chip is a well-known construction, since it has become standard in the art and would have been an obvious modification in the absence of unexpected results. The integration of an amplifier a single integrated chip helps to enhance its performance, reduce the module size and its overall cost.
Regarding claims 15 and 18, wherein DE REEP coupler is a 90 degree hybrid coupler.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The additional reference(s) cited in PTO-892 show further analogous prior art circuitry.
/KHANH V NGUYEN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843