DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on June 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-8 are pending. Claim 8 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Omori et al (US Patent Application 2016/0375171).
Regarding claims 1-7, Omori et al teaches a water absorbing agent comprising polyacrylic acid salt comprising a FSR of at least 0.28 g/g/s and up to at least 1.0 g/g/s and bulk density of 0.55-7 g/cm3 (Abstract, Paragraph 441). Omori et al further teaches a CRC of not less than 28 g/g and not more than 60 g/g (Paragraph 431). Omori et al further teaches reverse phase suspension polymerization for polymerizing the aqueous monomer solution by suspending the aqueous monomer solution in a hydrophobic organic solvent (Paragraph 247). Omori et al further teaches the water absorbent resin can be in the form of spheres or an agglomerate of the spheres (Paragraph 285). Omori et al further teaches gel grinding with an extruder having a porous plate (Paragraph 271). However, Omori et al fails to specifically disclose the free swell rate (A) and free swell rate ratio.
With regard to the free swell rate (A) and free swell rate ratio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a free swell rate (A) and ratio in Omori et al as Omori et al teaches having a high free swell rate as an objective of the instant invention (Paragraph 161) whereas Omori et al teaches a free swell rate (B) up to at least 1 g/g/s, which overlaps the instantly claimed range; it would only be obvious to the ordinary artisan to increase/adjust the free swell rate (A) and ratio as instantly claimed as a water absorbing resin which high water absorbing ability and speed is less likely to cause gel blocking and suitable for sanitary products. Furthermore, Omori et al teaches a similar method as the instant invention, hence, a similar free swell rate (A) and ratio is expected in Omori et al.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeuchi et al (US Patent Application 2009/0182294).
Regarding claims 1-7, Ikeuchi et al teaches a water absorbing agent particles comprising polyacrylic acid salt comprising a FSR preferably not less than 0.5 g/g/s and not more than 10 g/g/s and bulk density of 0.72-1 g/cm3 (Abstract, Paragraphs 34, 36, 175). Ikeuchi et al further teaches a CRC of 15-60 g/g (Paragraph 172). Ikeuchi et al further teaches reverse phase suspension polymerization for polymerizing the aqueous monomer solution by suspending the aqueous monomer solution in a hydrophobic organic solvent (Paragraphs 26, 117). Ikeuchi et al further teaches the water absorbent resin can preferably be in the form of spheres and the particles may be agglomerated (Paragraphs 131-132). Ikeuchi et al further teaches gel grinding with an extruder having a porous plate (Paragraph 123). However, Ikeuchi et al fails to specifically disclose the free swell rate (A) and free swell rate ratio.
With regard to the free swell rate (A) and free swell rate ratio, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have provided a free swell rate (A) and ratio in Ikeuchi et al as Ikeuchi et al teaches having a high free swell rate as an objective of the instant invention (Paragraph 161) whereas Ikeuchi et al teaches a free swell rate (B) up to 10 g/g/s, which overlaps the instantly claimed range; it would only be obvious to the ordinary artisan to increase/adjust the free swell rate (A) and ratio as instantly claimed as a water absorbing resin which high water absorbing ability and speed is less likely to cause gel blocking and suitable for sanitary products. Furthermore, Ikeuchi et al teaches a similar method as the instant invention, hence, a similar free swell rate (A) and ratio is expected in Ikeuchi et al.
Conclusion
/TANISHA DIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1761 July 14, 2026