DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed November 7, 2025, have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
US 2015/0023641 (“BLAZER”) in view of US 2013/0121654 (“”LICHTENWALNER”).
Regarding claim 1, BLAZER teaches an optical fiber cable (10) comprising: a cable core (20) having a plurality of optical fiber core wires (22) therein; an outer cover (12) which covers the cable core and has a notch (space between elements 24, 26) for an outer edge of a cross section perpendicular to a long axis direction of the outer cover (FIGs. 1-4); and an impression (14) which is marked on the notch of a side surface of the outer cover (FIGs. 1, 2).
BLAZER does not teach that the notch is an L-shaped notch. LICHTENWALNER teaches an optical fiber cable (11), wherein an outer cover (23) thereof has an L-shaped notch (25, 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the notch of BLAZER so as to have an L-shape, as taught by LICHTENWALNER. The motivation would have been to assist in opening the cable so as to access the optical fibers therein, as necessary (par. [0035]).
Regarding claim 2, BLAZER teaches that both ends of the notch are in contact with the inside of a curve of a predetermined radius of curvature (FIGs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 3, BLAZER teaches that the predetermined radius of curvature is a radius of curvature of an inner diameter of a cross section perpendicular to a long axis direction of a conduit in which the optical fiber cable is laid (FIGs. 1-4).
Regarding claim 4, BLAZER teaches an optical fiber cable manufacturing apparatus (150) comprising: an outer cover forming unit (158) which covers a cable core (20), having a plurality of optical fiber core wires (22) therein, with an outer cover (12), and forms a notch (space between elements 24, 26) for an outer edge of a cross section perpendicular to a long axis direction of the outer cover, for at least a part of the outer cover; and an impression marking unit (156) which marks an impression (14) on the notch of a side surface of the outer cover (FIGs.
1-4, 29).
BLAZER does not teach that the notch is an L-shaped notch. LICHTENWALNER teaches an optical fiber cable (11), wherein an outer cover (23) thereof has an L-shaped notch (25, 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the notch of BLAZER so as to have an L-shape, as taught by LICHTENWALNER. The motivation would have been to assist in opening the cable so as to access the optical fibers therein, as necessary (par. [0035]).
Regarding claim 5, BLAZER teaches a method for manufacturing an optical fiber cable (10), the method comprising: covering a cable core (20), having a plurality of optical fiber core wires (22) therein, with an outer cover (12); forming a notch (space between elements 24, 26) for an outer edge of a cross section perpendicular to a long axis direction of the outer cover, for at least a part of the outer cover; and marking an impression (14) on the notch of a side surface of the outer cover (FIGs. 1-4, 29).
BLAZER does not teach that the notch is an L-shaped notch. LICHTENWALNER teaches an optical fiber cable (11), wherein an outer cover (23) thereof has an L-shaped notch (25, 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the notch of BLAZER so as to have an L-shape, as taught by LICHTENWALNER. The motivation would have been to assist in opening the cable so as to access the optical fibers therein, as necessary (par. [0035]).
Regarding claim 6, BLAZER teaches a method for laying an optical fiber cable (10), the method comprising: selecting an optical fiber cable from a plurality of optical fiber cables, having a notch (space between elements 24, 26), for an outer edge of a cross section perpendicular to a long axis direction of at least a part of an outer cover, in accordance with a radius of curvature of an inner diameter of a cross section perpendicular to a long axis direction of a conduit for laying the optical fiber cable (FIGs. 1-4); and laying the selected optical fiber cable on an inner wall of the conduit (FIG. 29).
BLAZER does not teach that the notch is an L-shaped notch. LICHTENWALNER teaches an optical fiber cable (11), wherein an outer cover (23) thereof has an L-shaped notch (25, 27). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date to modify the notch of BLAZER so as to have an L-shape, as taught by LICHTENWALNER. The motivation would have been to assist in opening the cable so as to access the optical fibers therein, as necessary (par. [0035]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY M BLEVINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874